Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1) Pretreatment unit for pretreating sample as in cl. 11
2) Chip installation part for seating the chip as in cl. 11
3) Heating part configured to be movable as in cl. 11
1) A capture passage having a membrane configured to capture an analysis target material, and equivalents thereof (as seen in par.[0021] of Applicant’s pre-grant publication US 2023/0400452).
2) A seating tray, platform, or equivalents thereof (see par.[0151] of Applicant’s pre-grant publication US 2023/0400452).
3) A driver connected to the heating element for moving the heater closer or further away and equivalents thereof (see pars.[0167-0170,0181-0183]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the outlet.”
Claim 3 recites the limitations “the circumferential direction,” and “the length of the connection channel.”
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the outlet of the first delay chamber.”
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the other portions.”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
It appears that Applicant may want to initially establish these elements by way of the article “a” or likewise reference to provide an initial, positive introduction of the sought added features.
With respect to “the other portions,” it appears that applicant should instead recite each particular element by its previously established name.
Further, Claim 8 recites the limitations “each inlet” and “each solution storage unit,” wherein a prior inlet is not established, let alone the inferred plurality thereof given the “each” designation. This is similarly seen with respect to “each solution storage unit,” in which the metes and bounds of the sought chip are indefinitely defined as the claim only sets forth a solution storage unit such that reference to “each” is not understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2020-064466A (and further see attached Google Patents translation thereof), hereafter KR1, in view of Staimer et al. (US 2005/0037484), hereafter Staimer, Carvalho et al. (US 2002/0106786), hereafter Carvalho, Corbett (US 2010/0323923), and Ho (US 2002/0123059).
KR1 discloses a rotary integrated microdevice for gene diagnosis (abstract). With regard to claim 1, KR1 disclose a sample analysis chip comprising a sample storage unit 110, a capture passage 115 communicating with the sample storage unit as claimed and positioned radially outward from the sample storage unit, the capture passage having capture means 118 (i.e. silica beads as in fig. 3 and further related with cl. 6) configured to capture an analysis target. KR1 further discloses a washing liquid storage unit 120 positioned radially inward than the sample storage unit and communicating with the capture passage, a cocktail storage unit 135 positioned radially inward than the sample storage unit and for introducing a cocktail for detection of the analysis target therein (Examiner notes that the positive action of ‘introducing a cocktail…” is drawn to a process step not given patentable weight, wherein the recitation herein is drawn to a capability of the cocktail storage unit to allow introduction of this prospective workpiece in that of a cocktail for detection of the analysis target; KR1 also does utilize gene-amplifying enzymes or indicators for PCR/RT-PCR). KR1 further discloses an eluent storage unit 130 positioned radially inward than the sample storage unit, communicating with the capture passage and for introducing an eluent for separating as claimed (Examiner additionally reasserts the likewise discussion found above with respect to the ‘introducing a cocktail…’) (pars.[0049,0055,0057,0066,0070], figs. 2 and 3, for example).
KR1 further discloses a connection chamber 140 positioned radially outward than the capture passage and cocktail storage unit and communicating with the outlet of the capture passage and the cocktail storage unit. KR1 further discloses a collection chamber 150 positioned radially outward than the connection chamber and communicating with the connection chamber, and into which the eluate comprising the analysis material and the cocktail are introduced (see above discussion wherein the active process is not necessitated in the device claim and wherein it is drawn to a capability thereof that is met by KR1). KR1 further discloses a reaction chamber (i.e. one of 159a-t) positioned radially outward than the collection chamber and communicating with the collection chamber.
With regard to claim 2, KR1 discloses an input channel 156 positioned radially outward than the collection chamber, positioned radially inward than the reaction chamber, communicating with the collection chamber and reaction chamber, and for introducing a mixture of eluate and cocktail as recited therein (see above discussion regarding the recitation reading to the channel’s functionality and without necessitating the active process step), and a connection channel (i.e. one of 158a-158t) connecting the input channel and the reaction chamber.
With regard to claim 3, KR1 discloses a plurality of reaction chambers 159a-t and the plurality of reaction chamber is formed along the circumferential direction of the sample analysis chip and the length of the connection channel is shorter as the distance from the collection chamber 150 increases (see fig. 2 wherein the length of the connection channel is longest at first one 158a that is closest to the collection chamber and shortest at the last one 158t that is furthest away from the collection chamber)
With regard to claim 4, KR1 discloses a disc 1-10A/10B, a first film layer formed on an upper portion of the disk, a second film layer formed on an under portion of the disk, wherein the elements of the analysis chip as claimed (and as modified below with respect to the wax storage unit) are provided in a groove shape in the disk (par.[0047], fig. 1, wherein the processing units 10A/10B are manufactured into a groove shape and adhered to the grooved pattern utilizing a PSA foil (pressure sensitive adhesive foil). With regard to claim 5, KR1 discloses a first delay chamber 127 provided between the washing liquid storage unit and the capture passage, a second delay chamber 133 provided between the eluent storage unit and the capture passage, wherein the sample storage unit, first delay chamber, and second delay chamber are provided in a groove shape on an upper portion of the disk, and the connection chamber is provided in a groove shape extending in an upward direction and a downward direction of the disk so that the sample storage unit, first delay chamber, and second delay chamber are communicating with the connection chamber (par.[0047], fig. 2, for example).
With regard to claim 7, KR1 discloses injection holes for solution injection are formed in each of the sample storage unit, washing liquid storage unit, cocktail storage unit, and eluent storage unit (see cl. 10). With regard to claim 8, KR1 discloses further comprising a cartridge having each inlet and each storage unit, the each inlet communicates with each solution storage unit and the each inlet is connected to the each injection holes as claimed (and noting as similarly discussed above that the steps of “injecting” are not necessitated herein nor are they provided patentable weight herein the device claims, and the prior art of KR1 is functionally capable thereof with the commensurate structure provided) (see cls. 15&16).
With regard to claim 9, KR1 discloses an inflow channel 126, a delay channel 128, wherein the inflow channel is disposed between the washing liquid storage unit and the delay chamber to “allow the washing liquid injected…” as claimed, wherein the inflow channel includes a first passageway 126a extending away from the first delay chamber in a first circumferential direction and a second passage 126b (having opposite curvature from 126a; see fig. 2) extending toward the first delay chamber in a second circumferential direction opposite to the first at an end of the first passage. KR1 further discloses the delay channel is disposed between the first delay chamber and the capture passage “to allow…” as recited therein wherein such processes are not necessitated or attributed patentable weight in a device claim and the recitation is drawn to a capability, of which is met by the commensurate structure and disclosure of KR1. KR1 further discloses that the delay channel includes a first delay passage extending radially inward (in-bent portion of 128) at the outlet of the first delay chamber and a second delay passage (out-bent portion of 128) extending radially outward than an end of the first delay passage (pars.[0060-0061,0064], fig. 2, for example).
With regard to claims 1 and 6, KR1 does not specifically disclose the capture means within the capture passage is a membrane as claimed (and wherein the membrane is a glass filter as in cl. 6; noting, as discussed above, KR1 discloses capture means as in silica beads as in cl. 6), and a wax storage unit for storing a solid wax therein positioned radially inward than the reaction chamber and communicating with the reaction chamber.
Staimer discloses optical bio-discs including spiral fluidic circuits for performing assays (abstract). Staimer discloses a capture passage provided with chemically modified membrane(s) so as to capture specific analytes therein while passing the remaining unwanted elements (par.[0263]).
Carvalho discloses microfluidics devices of rotating microfluidic discs for performing assays in which the capture substrate for the analyte comprises a glass filter (par.[0109]).
Corbett discloses a thermal cycling device in which to overcome issues of reaction mixture evaporation is to overlie the reaction mixture with oil or wax to act as an evaporation buffer (par.[0161]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to utilize a membrane, and as a glass filter (noting that KR1 already provides for silica beads to the capture means), to form to the capture means such as taught by the analogous art of Staimer and Carvalho to that of bio-discs including fluidic circuits for performing assays in which such a modification represents an obvious alternative form of capture means to likewise provide the desired functionality in capturing the sought analyte while passing the remainder and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to utilize a wax storage as claimed such as suggested by the analogous art of Corbett to a thermal cycling device for PCR wherein KR1 similarly contemplates the usage of an oil storage chamber for preventing evaporation of the mixture and Corbett provides that wax and oil are useful alternatives to one another wherein substitution of a wax storage in lieu of the oil storage would have a reasonable expectation of success in KR1 for providing the desired function of evaporation prevention.
With regard to claim 5, KR1 does not specifically disclose a second film layer on an under portion of the disk.
Ho discloses a microfluidic biochip in which a top thin film 52 and a bottom thin film 54 are provided to seal the compartments and prevent liquid leakage (par.[0021], for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to provide a second thin film on an under portion of the disk such as suggested by the analogous art of Ho to microfluidic biochips in order to securely seal the units and chambers of the chip from above and below to prevent unwanted liquid leakage.
With regard to claim 10, KR1 does not specifically disclose that the reaction chamber is thinner than that of other portions of the sample analysis chip.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine engineering and design choice to modify the reaction chamber of KR1 to be thinner than the of other portions of the sample analysis chip in order to afford relatively better heat transfer as would be appreciated in KR1 that is concerned with PCR and its thermal cycling processes and such modification would have a reasonable expectation of success in KR1.
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR2020-064466A (and further see attached Google Patents translation thereof), hereafter KR1, in view of Carhvalho, Silverbrook et al. (US 2011/0312841), hereafter Silverbrook, Shigeura et al. (US 2005/0161192), hereafter Shigeura, Corbett, and McFall et al. (US 2020/0171503), hereafter McFall.
KR1 has been discussed above. Further, with regard to claim 1, KR1 discloses an apparatus in which a sample analysis chip is installed wherein the sample analysis chip comprises a sample storage unit 110, a pretreatment unit (capture passage 115 with capture means 108 configured for capturing an analysis target material, and providing as an equivalent thereof to a membrane, which is located radially outward than the sample storage unit and the sample introduced into the sample storage unit is pretreated (as likewise discussed above, a step of ‘introduction’ is not actively claimed nor is such a process step attributed patentable weight within this device claim, and such recitation reads on a capability/functionality thereof), a reaction chamber located radially outward than the pretreatment unit and into which the sample pretreated…as claimed (see likewise above discussion). KR1 further discloses the apparatus as claimed, and wherein the recitation “the apparatus analyzes…” is drawn to a process step not afforded patentable weight in a device claim. KR1 discloses the apparatus comprising a chip installation part on which the sample analysis chip is seated wherein the genetic diagnostic device rotates (see section 1. Genetic diagnostic chip Example 1, figs, 1&2), and discloses providing an external heat source to apply the heat corresponding to the temperature necessary for each step of the PCR process (pars.[0045,0050-0051,0084,0133], fig. 2). Further, with regard to claim 11, KR1 discloses detecting the target material by fluorescence detection, which provides a sensor in up and down alignment with the reaction chamber(s) (par.[0134). With regard to claim 15, KR1 discloses a plurality of reaction chambers 159a-t formed along a circumferential direction of the sample analysis chip (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 11, KR1 does not specifically disclose a motor included in a chip installation part.
Carvalho discloses microfluidics devices comprising a rotatable chip with fluidics circuits for performing assays in which the chip is rotated by way of a motor (par.[0069], cl. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to utilize a motor rotate the chip such as suggested by the analogous art of Carvalho to rotating microfluidic chips for performing assays in which KR1 likewise desires to rotate the chip to perform fluid operations and assays and application with well-known drive means as a motor provides a suitable and useful on-board mechanism for controllably rotating the chip as desired.
With regard to claims 12-16, KR1 does not specifically disclose a wax storage unit with a second heater as claimed, and wherein the heater part includes a Peltier element connected to the first heater, and the heating part is installed on an upper side and a lower side of the reaction chamber, respectively, and the first heater extends along the circumferential direction of the sample analysis chip and the area of the first heater is configured to cover at least all of the plurality of reaction chambers as claimed.
Silverbrook discloses lab-on-a-chip devices for assays such as PCR wherein a plurality of PCR reaction chambers are provided and a plurality of heaters are provided to be elongate and parallel with the longitudinal extent of the PCR reaction chambers, and the heaters are independently controllable (par.[0494], for example).
Shigeura discloses heat transfer for thermal cycling wherein the device includes an upper Thermoelectric module 18 and a lower Thermoelectric module 20 (i.e. Peltier element, as known through synonymous terminology) (pars.[0048-0049], fig. 1, for example).
McFall discloses devices and methods for samples processing and analysis, including PCR, wherein heater pairs on either side of the reaction chamber are movable to and from the reaction chambers so a to particularly affect the various thermal cycling steps in the PCR assay (par.[0007,0011], for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to provide a heater part as in claims 12-16 such as suggested by analogous art of Silverbrook, Shigeura, and McFall to PCR thermal cycling devices with on-board fluidic sample processing in which providing a movable heater unit provides the benefit of being able to simply and selectively affect the various thermal cycling steps in the PCR process and providing the heater to extend along the circumferential direction with respect to the plurality reaction chambers assures that all of the reaction chambers may be affected by the heater for the desired cycling procedures or other heating/cooling operations.
It would also be likewise appreciated by KR1 through the teachings of Silverbrook/Shigeura/McFall (i.e. movable heaters) and Corbett (wax for preventing evaporation) that akin to that provided by KR1 in the oil chamber that is utilized to provide oil to prevent evaporation, providing the second heater to at least cover the wax chamber is an obvious engineering design choice so as to achieve the desired result of providing the melted wax to the reaction chambers so as to affect the desired evaporation prevention of the reaction mixture therein.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to utilize a wax storage as in cl. 12 such as suggested by the analogous art of Corbett to a thermal cycling device for PCR wherein KR1 similarly contemplates the usage of a oil storage chamber for preventing evaporation of the mixture and Corbett provides that wax and oil are useful alternatives to one another wherein substitution of a wax storage in lieu of the oil storage would have a reasonable expectation of success in KR1 for providing the desired function of evaporation prevention.
With regard to claim 17, KR1 does not specifically disclose that a thickness of a portion where the reaction chamber of the sample analysis chip is formed is thinner than that of the other portions.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine engineering and design choice to modify the reaction chamber of KR1 to be thinner than the of other portions of the sample analysis chip in order to afford relatively better heat transfer as would be appreciated in KR1 that is concerned with PCR and its thermal cycling processes and such modification would have a reasonable expectation of success in KR1.
With regard to claim 18, KR1 does not specifically disclose an operation processor part configured as claimed.
Shigeura discloses that a computer or other signal processing system may be in communication with the detector in order to provide for further assessment of the detector data (par.[0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR1 to include an operation processor part as claimed such as suggested by Shigeura wherein KR1 already provides a detector for detecting fluorescence correlated to the sample and its presence of a target analyte (i.e. “infected with a disease” in as much as provided herein) and providing a processor to receive such data for manipulation and processing thereof represents an obvious modification in order to provide compatible results to be realized in a quick and reliable fashion through connected computing means.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798