DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-17 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 3-7, 14, and 15.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed January 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant's arguments with respect Claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument is that the cited combination fails to teach or suggest changing the operating condition in accordance with the presence of an intersecting structure as set forth in amended claim 1. Applicant additionally argues that MIN does not address malfunction of collision reduction support caused by intersecting structures (See Applicant’s Remarks, pages 9-11). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MIN teaches identifying a type of road including an overpass based on position and map information, and modifying braking control in accordance with the determined road type by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on collision likelihood (See MIN paragraphs [0046], [0053], [0054].). In particular, MIN teaches that when traveling on road types associated with lower collision likelihood, such as highways or overpass-type environments, the braking control time is increased, resulting in braking control that is less likely to operate. The change in braking control corresponds to changing from a first operating condition to a second operating condition in which collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle is traveling in an environment including an overpass, which is an intersecting structure that crosses above the traveling road. Thus, MIN teaches modifying the operating condition in response to the presence of the structure. Applicant’s argument that MIN fails to address malfunction of collision reduction support is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. The claims do not require detecting or diagnosing a malfunction, but instead require changing an operating condition such that collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle passes under an intersecting structure. MIN teaches adjusting braking behavior based on environmental conditions, including road structures such as overpasses, which achieves the claimed function. Additionally, Applicant’s arguments are directed to MIN in insolation. As set forth in the rejection, KONO and MILLER teach the remaining elements of claim 1, including detecting a target and controlling collision reduction support based on positional relationships. The combination of KONO, MILLER, and MIN therefore renders the claimed invention obvious. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the dependent claims rely on the same reasoning as presented for independent claim 1, and are therefore unpersuasive for the same reasons discussed above. Accordingly, the combination of KONO, MILLER, and MIN teaches or suggests the limitations of claim 1 as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONO (JP2018188057A) in view of MILLER (US 20160116587 A1) and MIN (US 20190135277 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, KONO teaches A driving support apparatus that performs driving support of a vehicle, the driving support apparatus comprising: specify a traveling course of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0015], “The route guidance device 5 is an electronic control device that forms the core of a well-known navigation system, which provides route guidance to a destination based on a current position detected by a GPS receiver or the like (not shown) and given road map data.”); a controller configured to, in a case where a positional relationship between the target detected by the detector and the vehicle satisfies an operating condition, operate collision reduction support for reducing collision between the detected target and the vehicle by controlling a brake of the vehicle, as a driving support, wherein the controller is configured to: (See at least paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection” and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.).
KONO does not explicitly disclose, however, MILLER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course (See at least paragraph [0006], “A system for detecting one or more environmental parameters may include a detection device configured to transmit and receive one or more signals in a generally vertical direction above a vehicle. Additionally, the system may include a processing device configured to measure a time of flight associated with the transmission and receipt of the one or more signals in the generally vertical direction. A distance travelled by the one or more signals may be determined based, at least in part, on the measured time of flight, and the distance travelled may be compared with a threshold distance to determine an overhead clearance of the vehicle. In response to determining the overhead clearance, a vehicle system may be activated”, paragraph [0024], “Sensor 250 may be mounted to vehicle 100 at or near a top surface of vehicle 100. Additionally, sensor 250 may be configured to transmit signals S0 in a generally upward direction in order to detect the entrance 220 and/or to detect the reduced overhead clearance associated with area of operation 210. Signals S0 may be received by sensor 250 after having been reflected from the surface of entrance 220 and/or from a ceiling of area of operation 210. In some examples, sensor 250 may comprise an acoustic or ultrasonic sensor that is configured to transmit and receive acoustic or ultrasonic signals, in a similar manner as sonar or echo location devices. In other examples, sensor 250 may comprise a laser range finder or other type of optical device configured to measure distance”, paragraph [0025], “The length of time that it takes for signals S0 to return to sensor 250 may be used to determine height H0. Although height H0 is shown as being measured from the floor of area of operation 210, in some examples, height H0 may be used to determine the amount of overhead clearance of vehicle 100, e.g., the distance from the top surface of vehicle 100 to the entrance 220 and/or ceiling of area of operation 210”, and paragraph [0101], “At operation 1140, a vehicle related system may be activated. The vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the reduced overhead clearance. In some examples, the vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the reduced overhead clearance and identifying the one or more environmental parameters.”).
KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0031], “A windshield 112 is disposed at an upper front side of a main body 110, and provides a front view to occupants inside the vehicle 1 and protects the occupants from wind. Exterior mirrors 114 provide a side view and a side rear view of the vehicle 1 to the occupant. Each of the exterior mirrors 114 may be disposed at right and left doors 190. The doors 190 are pivotably disposed at a left and a right of the main body 110, and configured to allow the occupants to enter and exit the vehicle 1 when the doors 190 are open and shield an inside from the outside of the vehicle 1. The doors 190 may be locked/unlocked using door locking devices 192. A method of locking/unlocking of the door locking devices 192 may include a method in which a user approaches the vehicle 1 and directly manipulates a button or lever of each of the door locking devices 192 and a method in which a user remotely locks/unlocks using a remote controller and the like at a position away from the vehicle 1.”); in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood and setting a braking control time accordingly, thereby applying a first operating condition corresponding to a braking control time when no intersecting structure is present.); and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition (See at least paragraph [0046], “In addition, the controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The controller 100 may be configured to calculate a collision possibility of the vehicle 1 based on the position information. The controller 100 may further be configured to detect local characteristics of the road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The local characteristics refers to characteristics of a road provided for traffic such as a crosswalk, an intersection, a branch, a tunnel, an overpass, and a number of lanes provided on the road”, paragraph [0053], “FIGS. 5A-5C are views for describing operations in which a collision possibility and an automatic braking control time are calculated according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5A, FIG. 5A shows an operation through which information related to a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is traveling is obtained. The controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is currently traveling based on GPS signals and map information received by the communication unit 150. The road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling may be a highway, a motorway, a main road, an interchange (IC)/junction (JC), a national road, a tunnel, or an overpass”, and paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Overpasses are identified as a detected road type based on position and map information and collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood for the road type and setting a braking control time accordingly, such that a first operating condition corresponds to a first braking control time when there is no intersecting structure and a second operating condition corresponds to a different braking control time when traveling on a road including an overpass having lower collision likelihood, thereby changing from the first operating condition to the second operating condition such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle passes under the overpass.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and MIN such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), and to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 2, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course based on map information of an area including the specified traveling course (See at least paragraph [0015], “The route guidance device 5 is an electronic control device that forms the core of a well-known navigation system, which provides route guidance to a destination based on a current position detected by a GPS receiver or the like (not shown) and given road map data. The road map data used by the route guidance device 5 for route guidance includes information on links corresponding to roads and nodes corresponding to branching points such as intersections. It also includes information about three-dimensional landmarks associated with roads, such as traffic signs and traffic signals. In this embodiment, it is assumed that the route guidance device 5 will be used to obtain map information representing a road map, information representing the current position of vehicle A on the road map, and information regarding three-dimensional landmarks associated with the road” and paragraph [0036], “In S<b>106 , the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A acquired from the route guidance device 5 . The current position acquired from the route guidance device 5 indicates the current position of the vehicle A on the road map. Specifically, the correction unit 22 compares the structure of the driving section recognized by the driving section recognition unit 11 with the structure of the driving section represented by map information around the current position of vehicle A, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A corresponding to the road map. In addition, the correction unit 22 compares the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark recognized by the surrounding environment recognition unit 12 and vehicle A with the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark represented in the map information and the current position of vehicle A on the road map, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A associated with the road map. Then, the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A associated with the road map based on the derived error.”).
Regarding Claim 6, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO does not explicitly disclose, however, MILLER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller is configured to change the operating condition from the second operating condition to the first operating condition when the vehicle has passed under the intersecting structure (See at least paragraph [0101], “At operation 1140, a vehicle related system may be activated. The vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the reduced overhead clearance. In some examples, the vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the reduced overhead clearance and identifying the one or more environmental parameters”, paragraph [0104], “At operation 1170, the vehicle related system may be deactivated”, and paragraph [0105], “At operation 1180 a secondary vehicle related system may be activated. The secondary vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the increased overhead clearance. In some examples, the secondary vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the increased overhead clearance, identifying the one or more environmental parameters, and/or deactivating the vehicle related system.” A vehicle related system is activated when reduced overhead clearance is detected, thereby changing from the second operating condition to the first operating condition after the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and MIN such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course based on map information of an area including a specified traveling course; wherein the controller is configured to change the operating condition from the second operating condition to the first operating condition when the vehicle has passed under the intersecting structure, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101], [0104], [0105].), and to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 8, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches wherein the collision reduction support as the driving support includes deceleration support of the vehicle and/or a notification that deceleration of the vehicle is necessary (See at least paragraph [0018], “The actuators 7 are a group of devices including drive system actuators that operate the accelerator and transmission of the vehicle A, braking system actuators that operate the brakes, and steering system actuators that operate the steering device. The actuator 7 performs driving operations such as acceleration/deceleration, braking, and steering of the vehicle A in response to commands from the driving assistance device 1 .”).
Regarding Claim 9, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches wherein the detector includes a sensor having no resolution in a height direction (See at least paragraph [0013], “The camera 2, radar 3, and sonar 4 are sensors for observing the surrounding environmental conditions necessary for the driving assistance device 1 to perform driving assistance. The camera 2 is an imaging device that captures an image of the area around the vehicle A (for example, the front and rear), and is embodied by, for example, a stereo camera or a monocular camera. The driving assistance device 1 performs well-known image recognition processing on the image captured by the camera 2 to obtain information representing the distance, direction, and distribution of objects present in the vicinity of the vehicle A (e.g., other vehicles, structures attached to the road, and signs painted on the road).” A monocular camera has no resolution in the height direction because it cannot provide explicit height information from a single 2D image.).
Regarding Claim 13, KONO teaches A vehicle comprising the driving support apparatus according to claim 1 (See at least paragraph [0010], “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a configuration of an in-vehicle system.”): Regarding Claim 1, KONO teaches A driving support apparatus that performs driving support of a vehicle, the driving support apparatus comprising: specify a traveling course of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0015], “The route guidance device 5 is an electronic control device that forms the core of a well-known navigation system, which provides route guidance to a destination based on a current position detected by a GPS receiver or the like (not shown) and given road map data.”); a controller configured to, in a case where a positional relationship between the target detected by the detector and the vehicle satisfies an operating condition, operate collision reduction support for reducing collision between the detected target and the vehicle by controlling a brake of the vehicle, as a driving support, wherein the controller is configured to: (See at least paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection” and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.).
KONO does not explicitly disclose, however, MILLER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course (See at least paragraph [0006], “A system for detecting one or more environmental parameters may include a detection device configured to transmit and receive one or more signals in a generally vertical direction above a vehicle. Additionally, the system may include a processing device configured to measure a time of flight associated with the transmission and receipt of the one or more signals in the generally vertical direction. A distance travelled by the one or more signals may be determined based, at least in part, on the measured time of flight, and the distance travelled may be compared with a threshold distance to determine an overhead clearance of the vehicle. In response to determining the overhead clearance, a vehicle system may be activated”, paragraph [0024], “Sensor 250 may be mounted to vehicle 100 at or near a top surface of vehicle 100. Additionally, sensor 250 may be configured to transmit signals S0 in a generally upward direction in order to detect the entrance 220 and/or to detect the reduced overhead clearance associated with area of operation 210. Signals S0 may be received by sensor 250 after having been reflected from the surface of entrance 220 and/or from a ceiling of area of operation 210. In some examples, sensor 250 may comprise an acoustic or ultrasonic sensor that is configured to transmit and receive acoustic or ultrasonic signals, in a similar manner as sonar or echo location devices. In other examples, sensor 250 may comprise a laser range finder or other type of optical device configured to measure distance”, paragraph [0025], “The length of time that it takes for signals S0 to return to sensor 250 may be used to determine height H0. Although height H0 is shown as being measured from the floor of area of operation 210, in some examples, height H0 may be used to determine the amount of overhead clearance of vehicle 100, e.g., the distance from the top surface of vehicle 100 to the entrance 220 and/or ceiling of area of operation 210”, and paragraph [0101], “At operation 1140, a vehicle related system may be activated. The vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the reduced overhead clearance. In some examples, the vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the reduced overhead clearance and identifying the one or more environmental parameters.”).
KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0031], “A windshield 112 is disposed at an upper front side of a main body 110, and provides a front view to occupants inside the vehicle 1 and protects the occupants from wind. Exterior mirrors 114 provide a side view and a side rear view of the vehicle 1 to the occupant. Each of the exterior mirrors 114 may be disposed at right and left doors 190. The doors 190 are pivotably disposed at a left and a right of the main body 110, and configured to allow the occupants to enter and exit the vehicle 1 when the doors 190 are open and shield an inside from the outside of the vehicle 1. The doors 190 may be locked/unlocked using door locking devices 192. A method of locking/unlocking of the door locking devices 192 may include a method in which a user approaches the vehicle 1 and directly manipulates a button or lever of each of the door locking devices 192 and a method in which a user remotely locks/unlocks using a remote controller and the like at a position away from the vehicle 1.”); in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood and setting a braking control time accordingly, thereby applying a first operating condition corresponding to a braking control time when no intersecting structure is present.); and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition (See at least paragraph [0046], “In addition, the controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The controller 100 may be configured to calculate a collision possibility of the vehicle 1 based on the position information. The controller 100 may further be configured to detect local characteristics of the road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The local characteristics refers to characteristics of a road provided for traffic such as a crosswalk, an intersection, a branch, a tunnel, an overpass, and a number of lanes provided on the road”, paragraph [0053], “FIGS. 5A-5C are views for describing operations in which a collision possibility and an automatic braking control time are calculated according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5A, FIG. 5A shows an operation through which information related to a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is traveling is obtained. The controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is currently traveling based on GPS signals and map information received by the communication unit 150. The road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling may be a highway, a motorway, a main road, an interchange (IC)/junction (JC), a national road, a tunnel, or an overpass”, and paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Overpasses are identified as a detected road type based on position and map information and collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood for the road type and setting a braking control time accordingly, such that a first operating condition corresponds to a first braking control time when there is no intersecting structure and a second operating condition corresponds to a different braking control time when traveling on a road including an overpass having lower collision likelihood, thereby changing from the first operating condition to the second operating condition such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle passes under the overpass.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and MIN such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), and to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 14, KONO teaches A driving support method for performing driving support of a vehicle, the method comprising: and operating, in a case where a positional relationship between a detected target and the vehicle satisfies an operating condition, collision reduction support for reducing collision between the detected target and the vehicle by controlling a brake of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection” and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.).
KONO does not explicitly disclose, however, MILLER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein operating the collision reduction support includes determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three- dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a traveling course of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0006], “A system for detecting one or more environmental parameters may include a detection device configured to transmit and receive one or more signals in a generally vertical direction above a vehicle. Additionally, the system may include a processing device configured to measure a time of flight associated with the transmission and receipt of the one or more signals in the generally vertical direction. A distance travelled by the one or more signals may be determined based, at least in part, on the measured time of flight, and the distance travelled may be compared with a threshold distance to determine an overhead clearance of the vehicle. In response to determining the overhead clearance, a vehicle system may be activated”, paragraph [0024], “Sensor 250 may be mounted to vehicle 100 at or near a top surface of vehicle 100. Additionally, sensor 250 may be configured to transmit signals S0 in a generally upward direction in order to detect the entrance 220 and/or to detect the reduced overhead clearance associated with area of operation 210. Signals S0 may be received by sensor 250 after having been reflected from the surface of entrance 220 and/or from a ceiling of area of operation 210. In some examples, sensor 250 may comprise an acoustic or ultrasonic sensor that is configured to transmit and receive acoustic or ultrasonic signals, in a similar manner as sonar or echo location devices. In other examples, sensor 250 may comprise a laser range finder or other type of optical device configured to measure distance”, paragraph [0025], “The length of time that it takes for signals S0 to return to sensor 250 may be used to determine height H0. Although height H0 is shown as being measured from the floor of area of operation 210, in some examples, height H0 may be used to determine the amount of overhead clearance of vehicle 100, e.g., the distance from the top surface of vehicle 100 to the entrance 220 and/or ceiling of area of operation 210”, and paragraph [0101], “At operation 1140, a vehicle related system may be activated. The vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the reduced overhead clearance. In some examples, the vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the reduced overhead clearance and identifying the one or more environmental parameters.”).
KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches detecting a target in front of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0031], “A windshield 112 is disposed at an upper front side of a main body 110, and provides a front view to occupants inside the vehicle 1 and protects the occupants from wind. Exterior mirrors 114 provide a side view and a side rear view of the vehicle 1 to the occupant. Each of the exterior mirrors 114 may be disposed at right and left doors 190. The doors 190 are pivotably disposed at a left and a right of the main body 110, and configured to allow the occupants to enter and exit the vehicle 1 when the doors 190 are open and shield an inside from the outside of the vehicle 1. The doors 190 may be locked/unlocked using door locking devices 192. A method of locking/unlocking of the door locking devices 192 may include a method in which a user approaches the vehicle 1 and directly manipulates a button or lever of each of the door locking devices 192 and a method in which a user remotely locks/unlocks using a remote controller and the like at a position away from the vehicle 1.”); in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in a specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition to the operating condition (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood and setting a braking control time accordingly, thereby applying a first operating condition corresponding to a braking control time when no intersecting structure is present.), and in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course, changing the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition (See at least paragraph [0046], “In addition, the controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The controller 100 may be configured to calculate a collision possibility of the vehicle 1 based on the position information. The controller 100 may further be configured to detect local characteristics of the road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The local characteristics refers to characteristics of a road provided for traffic such as a crosswalk, an intersection, a branch, a tunnel, an overpass, and a number of lanes provided on the road”, paragraph [0053], “FIGS. 5A-5C are views for describing operations in which a collision possibility and an automatic braking control time are calculated according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5A, FIG. 5A shows an operation through which information related to a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is traveling is obtained. The controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is currently traveling based on GPS signals and map information received by the communication unit 150. The road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling may be a highway, a motorway, a main road, an interchange (IC)/junction (JC), a national road, a tunnel, or an overpass”, and paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Overpasses are identified as a detected road type based on position and map information and collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood for the road type and setting a braking control time accordingly, such that a first operating condition corresponds to a first braking control time when there is no intersecting structure and a second operating condition corresponds to a different braking control time when traveling on a road including an overpass having lower collision likelihood, thereby changing from the first operating condition to the second operating condition such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle passes under the overpass.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and MIN such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a traveling course of the vehicle, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), and detecting a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in a specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition to the operating condition, and in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course, changing the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 15, KONO teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the driving support method according to claim 14 (See at least paragraph [0012], “The driving assistance device 1 is an information processing device mainly including a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, semiconductor memories such as flash memory, an input/output interface, and the like (not shown). The driving assistance device 1 is realized, for example, by a microcontroller or the like in which the functions of a computer system are integrated. The functions of the driving assistance device 1 are realized by the CPU executing a program stored in a non-transient physical storage medium such as a ROM or a semiconductor memory. The driving assistance device 1 may include one or more microcontrollers.”): Regarding Claim 14, KONO teaches A driving support method for performing driving support of a vehicle, the method comprising: and operating, in a case where a positional relationship between a detected target and the vehicle satisfies an operating condition, collision reduction support for reducing collision between the detected target and the vehicle by controlling a brake of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection” and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.).
KONO does not explicitly disclose, however, MILLER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein operating the collision reduction support includes determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three- dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a traveling course of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0006], “A system for detecting one or more environmental parameters may include a detection device configured to transmit and receive one or more signals in a generally vertical direction above a vehicle. Additionally, the system may include a processing device configured to measure a time of flight associated with the transmission and receipt of the one or more signals in the generally vertical direction. A distance travelled by the one or more signals may be determined based, at least in part, on the measured time of flight, and the distance travelled may be compared with a threshold distance to determine an overhead clearance of the vehicle. In response to determining the overhead clearance, a vehicle system may be activated”, paragraph [0024], “Sensor 250 may be mounted to vehicle 100 at or near a top surface of vehicle 100. Additionally, sensor 250 may be configured to transmit signals S0 in a generally upward direction in order to detect the entrance 220 and/or to detect the reduced overhead clearance associated with area of operation 210. Signals S0 may be received by sensor 250 after having been reflected from the surface of entrance 220 and/or from a ceiling of area of operation 210. In some examples, sensor 250 may comprise an acoustic or ultrasonic sensor that is configured to transmit and receive acoustic or ultrasonic signals, in a similar manner as sonar or echo location devices. In other examples, sensor 250 may comprise a laser range finder or other type of optical device configured to measure distance”, paragraph [0025], “The length of time that it takes for signals S0 to return to sensor 250 may be used to determine height H0. Although height H0 is shown as being measured from the floor of area of operation 210, in some examples, height H0 may be used to determine the amount of overhead clearance of vehicle 100, e.g., the distance from the top surface of vehicle 100 to the entrance 220 and/or ceiling of area of operation 210”, and paragraph [0101], “At operation 1140, a vehicle related system may be activated. The vehicle related system may be activated in response to determining the reduced overhead clearance. In some examples, the vehicle related system may be activated in response to a combination of determining the reduced overhead clearance and identifying the one or more environmental parameters.”).
KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches detecting a target in front of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0031], “A windshield 112 is disposed at an upper front side of a main body 110, and provides a front view to occupants inside the vehicle 1 and protects the occupants from wind. Exterior mirrors 114 provide a side view and a side rear view of the vehicle 1 to the occupant. Each of the exterior mirrors 114 may be disposed at right and left doors 190. The doors 190 are pivotably disposed at a left and a right of the main body 110, and configured to allow the occupants to enter and exit the vehicle 1 when the doors 190 are open and shield an inside from the outside of the vehicle 1. The doors 190 may be locked/unlocked using door locking devices 192. A method of locking/unlocking of the door locking devices 192 may include a method in which a user approaches the vehicle 1 and directly manipulates a button or lever of each of the door locking devices 192 and a method in which a user remotely locks/unlocks using a remote controller and the like at a position away from the vehicle 1.”); in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in a specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition to the operating condition (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood and setting a braking control time accordingly, thereby applying a first operating condition corresponding to a braking control time when no intersecting structure is present.), and in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course, changing the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition (See at least paragraph [0046], “In addition, the controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The controller 100 may be configured to calculate a collision possibility of the vehicle 1 based on the position information. The controller 100 may further be configured to detect local characteristics of the road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling based on the position information received by the communication unit 150. The local characteristics refers to characteristics of a road provided for traffic such as a crosswalk, an intersection, a branch, a tunnel, an overpass, and a number of lanes provided on the road”, paragraph [0053], “FIGS. 5A-5C are views for describing operations in which a collision possibility and an automatic braking control time are calculated according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5A, FIG. 5A shows an operation through which information related to a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is traveling is obtained. The controller 100 may be configured to determine a type of road R on which the vehicle 1 is currently traveling based on GPS signals and map information received by the communication unit 150. The road on which the vehicle 1 is traveling may be a highway, a motorway, a main road, an interchange (IC)/junction (JC), a national road, a tunnel, or an overpass”, and paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” Overpasses are identified as a detected road type based on position and map information and collision reduction support is controlled by determining collision likelihood for the road type and setting a braking control time accordingly, such that a first operating condition corresponds to a first braking control time when there is no intersecting structure and a second operating condition corresponds to a different braking control time when traveling on a road including an overpass having lower collision likelihood, thereby changing from the first operating condition to the second operating condition such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate when the vehicle passes under the overpass.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and MIN such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a traveling course of the vehicle, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), and detecting a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in a specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition to the operating condition, and in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course, changing the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 17, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches wherein the collision reduction support includes reducing collision between the detected target and the vehicle by controlling an information output device of the vehicle to warn a driver (See at least paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection” and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The controller is the control unit and the detector is the road section recognition unit. The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.).
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONO (JP2018188057A) in view of MILLER (US 20160116587 A1), MIN (US 20190135277 A1), and TOKORO (JP 2008186343 A).
Regarding Claim 3, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches from the first operating condition to the second operating condition (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” The operating condition is changed from the first operating condition to the second operating condition.).
KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, TOKORO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether there is a gradient equal to or greater than a predetermined value between the vehicle and the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, and threshold and control is modified based on the comparison when the gradient is equal to or greater than the predetermined value.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and TOKORO such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to include determining whether there is a gradient equal to or greater than a predetermined value between the vehicle and the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraphs [0038], [0071], [0072].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to reduce object detection error, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraph [0008].).
Regarding Claim 7, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches for the target detected by the detector (See at least paragraph [0036], “In S<b>106 , the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A acquired from the route guidance device 5 . The current position acquired from the route guidance device 5 indicates the current position of the vehicle A on the road map. Specifically, the correction unit 22 compares the structure of the driving section recognized by the driving section recognition unit 11 with the structure of the driving section represented by map information around the current position of vehicle A, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A corresponding to the road map. In addition, the correction unit 22 compares the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark recognized by the surrounding environment recognition unit 12 and vehicle A with the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark represented in the map information and the current position of vehicle A on the road map, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A associated with the road map. Then, the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A associated with the road map based on the derived error.”).
KONO and MILLER do not explicitly disclose, however, MIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and the threshold of the second operating condition is set such that the collision reduction support (See at least paragraph [0054], “When the vehicle 1 is traveling on the highway or the motorway, since the vehicle 1 frequently travels at a constant speed, the controller 100 may be configured to determine that a collision possibility is low compared to the national road and the IC/JC. When the controller 100 determines that the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is low, the vehicle 1 may be configured to calculate an automatic braking control time which is greater than that of when the vehicle 1 is traveling on a road in which a collision possibility is high. Meanwhile, when the vehicle 1 is traveling on the national road or in the tunnel, since a collision possibility is relatively high, the controller 100 may be configured to set a short automatic control time, a user may engage a brake pedal, and thus safe vehicle operation may be performed.” The operating condition is changed from the first operating condition to the second operating condition such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate under the second operating condition, corresponding to a different control threshold for activating the collision support than under the first operating condition.).
KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, TOKORO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the operating condition includes that an index indicating the positional relationship has reached a threshold (See at least paragraph [0011], “According to the object detection device of the present invention, during operation, a first discrimination means, which can take the form of various processing units such as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit), various controllers, or various computer systems such as a microcomputer device, discriminates whether or not an object detected by the detection means is a target. In this case, the first discrimination means is set as being capable of detecting the target object from among the detected objects with a degree of reliability that enables at least a practically significant benefit to be enjoyed, and makes the discrimination according to a predetermined type of discrimination criterion that can take various forms, such as various index values, depending on the state of the detection means”, paragraph [0017], “Here, the "relative relationship" includes a qualitative relationship defined by the first gradient and the second gradient, for example, the first gradient being larger or smaller, or a quantitative relationship such as the difference between the first gradient and the second gradient, and refers to a relationship that has at least a causal relationship with the occurrence of erroneous detection of the target object. For example, the modification means modifies the discrimination criterion by, for example, binary-changing some index value defining the discrimination criterion described above when some index value defining the relative relationship becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, or by changing the index value defining the discrimination criterion continuously or stepwise in accordance with the index value defining the relative relationship”, and paragraph [0047], “Operation of the embodiment> <Outline of obstacle detection process> The ECU 100 is configured to be able to detect an obstacle (i.e., an example of the “object” according to the present invention) on the road surface on which the vehicle 10 is traveling by executing the obstacle detection process. The results of obstacle detection by the obstacle detection process are used to determine whether or not to operate a safety system such as the above-mentioned PCS, or a driving load reduction system such as ACC, LKA, or IPA, as well as the timing or amount of operation, thereby improving the safety of the vehicle 10. Alternatively, the driving operation of the driver of the vehicle 10 is assisted.” The operating condition is whether or not the safety system is operated based on the obstacle detection process. The obstacle detection process as part of the operating condition includes the index value reaching the threshold based on the relative positional relationship.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and TOKORO such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition; and the threshold of the second operating condition is set such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate than under the threshold of the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to include determining a gradient and index compared to a predetermined threshold value which is changed to restrict operating driving support, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraphs [0011], [0017], [0047].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to reduce object detection error, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraph [0008].).
Regarding Claim 16, KONO, MILLER, MIN, and TOKORO teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, TOKORO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the index indicating the positional relationship includes a time-to-collision between the detected target and the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0053], “Returning to FIG. 2, the ECU 100 determines whether or not an obstacle candidate exists as a result of the process in step A11 (step A12). In the process of step A12, the number of peaks of the reflected wave intensity Pr that are equal to or greater than the threshold value S1 is acquired as the number N of obstacle candidates, as described above. 602 At this time, for each of the obstacle candidates, the distance Df representing the distance from the vehicle 10 and the relative speed Vr of the vehicle 10 are also obtained. The number N of obstacle candidates thus obtained, as well as the peak value, the distance Df, and the relative speed Vr corresponding to each of the obstacle candidates, are temporarily stored in the RAM of the ECU 100. 607 It should be noted that an obstacle candidate does not necessarily have to be detected as a peak in the reflected wave intensity” and paragraph [0055], “Next, the ECU 100 obtains the relative speed Vrj of the obstacle candidate corresponding to the current value of the counter j and the vehicle speed Vv detected by the vehicle speed sensor 400 (step A14), and determines whether the absolute value of the difference between the vehicle speed Vv and the relative speed Vrj is less than a reference value C1 (step A15). Here, the reference value C1 is set to zero or a value small enough to be regarded as zero, and the process in step A15 is a process of determining whether or not the target obstacle candidate is a stationary object. More specifically, if the obstacle candidate is a stationary object, the relative speed Vrj with respect to the vehicle 10 is substantially the same as the vehicle speed Vv, and the absolute value thereof becomes relatively small, so that the determination process in step A15 becomes "YES". 634 On the other hand, if the obstacle candidate is a vehicle ahead, etc., the relative speed Vrj is likely to be sufficiently small compared to the vehicle speed Vv, even if there is a difference in the vehicle speed, and the absolute value thereof will be relatively large, so that the determination process in step A15 will be "NO".”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and TOKORO such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition; and the threshold of the second operating condition is set such that the collision reduction support is less likely to operate than under the threshold of the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to include determining a gradient and index compared to a predetermined threshold value which is changed to restrict operating driving support; and the index indicating the positional relationship includes a time-to-collision between the detected target and the vehicle, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraphs [0011], [0017], [0047], [0053], [0055].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to reduce object detection error, as taught by TOKORO (See paragraph [0008].).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONO (JP2018188057A) in view of MILLER (US 20160116587 A1), MIN (US 20190135277 A1), and MATSUNAGA (US 20200255033 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, MATSUNAGA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller is configured to: identify a type of the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course; and change the second operating condition according to the identified type of the intersecting structure (See at least paragraph [0048], “Based on the image information from the cameras 28 and/or the high precision map 22, the region recognition unit 62 recognizes the existence, the type, the size, and the boundary position, etc., of the specified region {the railway crossing 140, the intersection 160, a drawbridge, or the like} positioned in respective directions (forward, leftward, and rightward) in relation to the travel trajectory (direction of progress) of the host vehicle 10”, paragraph [0084], “In the case of the specified region being the railway crossing 140, then in step S8, the left turn entry condition of the host vehicle 10 is set to enable a left turn entry operation to be executed, in the case that the space L3 formed forward in the left turn entry direction 106 of the host vehicle 10 is greater than or equal to a space for two vehicles”, paragraph [0085], “In the case of the specified region being the intersection 160, then in step S8, the left turn entry condition of the host vehicle 10 is set to enable a left turn entry operation to be executed, in the case that the space L3 formed forward in the left turn entry direction 106 of the host vehicle 10 is greater than or equal to a space for two vehicles, or in the case that the space L3 for one vehicle is formed forward in the entry direction, and the other vehicle 20P ahead in the left turn entry direction is in a traveling state”, and paragraph [0092], “The vehicle control device 12 comprises the other vehicle risk determination unit 84 which, in the case that the host vehicle 10 is approaching a left turn from the side road 110, which is the travel path (one travel path) of the host vehicle 10, into the main road 120 which is the other travel path through an intersecting position (intersecting region 110in) that intersects the side road 110, and when it is recognized by the external environment recognition unit 60 that the other vehicle 20F traveling in the main road 120 which is the other travel path is at a more rearward travel position {in FIG. 3, a position just before the railway crossing 140, and in FIG. 4, a position just before the intersection 160} on the main road 120 than the entry point (intersecting region 110in between the side road 110 and the main road 120) of the host vehicle 10, determines the risk to the other vehicle 20F that corresponds to the travel position of the other vehicle 20F, and the entry permission determination unit 86 that determines whether or not to permit the host vehicle 10 to make a left turn entry into the main road 120, which is the travel path of the other vehicle 20F, in accordance with the determined risk to the other vehicle 20F.” A type of structure is identified and the second operating condition is modified according to the identified type of structure.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and MATSUNAGA such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to identify a type of the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course; and change the second operating condition according to the identified type of the intersecting structure, as taught by MATSUNAGA (See paragraphs [0048], [0085], [0092].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to reduce intersection accident risks, as taught by MATSUNAGA (See paragraph [0007].).
Regarding Claim 5, KONO, MILLER, MIN, and MATSUNAGA teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection. KONO teaches (See at least paragraph [0036], “In S<b>106 , the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A acquired from the route guidance device 5 . The current position acquired from the route guidance device 5 indicates the current position of the vehicle A on the road map. Specifically, the correction unit 22 compares the structure of the driving section recognized by the driving section recognition unit 11 with the structure of the driving section represented by map information around the current position of vehicle A, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A corresponding to the road map. In addition, the correction unit 22 compares the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark recognized by the surrounding environment recognition unit 12 and vehicle A with the positional relationship between the three-dimensional landmark represented in the map information and the current position of vehicle A on the road map, and derives the error of the current position of vehicle A associated with the road map. Then, the correction unit 22 corrects the current position of the vehicle A associated with the road map based on the derived error”, paragraph [0038], “In S<b>110 , the target distance setting unit 24 sets a target inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle based on the intersection information derived by the intersection information derivation unit 23 . Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position separated by the target inter-vehicle distance from the position of the leading vehicle does not fall within the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection”, and paragraph [0046], “The structure of the intersection can be recognized based on the surrounding environment observed by the vehicle, and the current position associated with the road map can be corrected. With this configuration, it is possible to improve the accuracy and robustness in identifying the current position and the structure of the intersection compared to conventional configurations that rely solely on map information to identify the current position of the vehicle and the structure of the intersection. Therefore, when providing driving assistance that adjusts the distance from the vehicle ahead, the driving assistance device 1 can appropriately prevent the vehicle from stopping in the middle of an intersection or a connecting section.” Operation of the collision reduction support is restricted.).
KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, MATSUNAGA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identify whether the intersecting structure is a road or a railroad as the type of the intersecting structure; and change the second operating condition (See at least paragraph [0048], “Based on the image information from the cameras 28 and/or the high precision map 22, the region recognition unit 62 recognizes the existence, the type, the size, and the boundary position, etc., of the specified region {the railway crossing 140, the intersection 160, a drawbridge, or the like} positioned in respective directions (forward, leftward, and rightward) in relation to the travel trajectory (direction of progress) of the host vehicle 10” and paragraph [0092], “The vehicle control device 12 comprises the other vehicle risk determination unit 84 which, in the case that the host vehicle 10 is approaching a left turn from the side road 110, which is the travel path (one travel path) of the host vehicle 10, into the main road 120 which is the other travel path through an intersecting position (intersecting region 110in) that intersects the side road 110, and when it is recognized by the external environment recognition unit 60 that the other vehicle 20F traveling in the main road 120 which is the other travel path is at a more rearward travel position {in FIG. 3, a position just before the railway crossing 140, and in FIG. 4, a position just before the intersection 160} on the main road 120 than the entry point (intersecting region 110in between the side road 110 and the main road 120) of the host vehicle 10, determines the risk to the other vehicle 20F that corresponds to the travel position of the other vehicle 20F, and the entry permission determination unit 86 that determines whether or not to permit the host vehicle 10 to make a left turn entry into the main road 120, which is the travel path of the other vehicle 20F, in accordance with the determined risk to the other vehicle 20F.” A type of structure is identified including different types of structures and the second operating condition is modified according to the identified type of structure such that different control behavior is applied for different structure types including a railroad and a road.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and MATSUNAGA such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to include identify whether the intersecting structure is a road or a railroad as the type of the intersecting structure; and change the second operating condition, in a case where the type of the intersecting structure is the railroad rather than in a case where the type of the intersecting structure is the road, as taught by MATSUNAGA (See paragraphs [0048], [0092].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to reduce intersection accident risks, as taught by MATSUNAGA (See paragraph [0007].).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONO (JP2018188057A) in view of MILLER (US 20160116587 A1), MIN (US 20190135277 A1), and FUJITA (US 20190286924 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, FUJITA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the detector is provided at a front corner portion of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 1, paragraph [0020], “The ECUs 22 and 23 perform control of detection units 41-1, 41-2, 42, and 43 that detect the peripheral status of the vehicle and information processing of detection results. The detection units 41-1 and 41-2 are image detectors (cameras) that capture the periphery of the vehicle 1 and detect an object from the captured images. The image detectors include the first image detector 41-2 (camera) connected via a first communication line 142 to the detection units 43 (radar detectors) and the ECU 23 (first processor) arranged in the vehicle 1, and the second image detector 41-1 (camera) connected via a second communication line 141 to the detection units 42 (lidar detectors) and the ECU 22 (second processor). The image detectors are sometimes referred to as the cameras 41-1 and 41-2 hereinafter.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER, MIN, and FUJITA such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to include multiple detectors at the corners and central front of the vehicle and controlling the vehicle with a consistent operating condition when objects are detected, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraph [0020].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to acquire precise vehicle periphery information and increase driving safety, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraph [0007].).
Regarding Claim 11, KONO, MILLER, and MIN teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO teaches further comprising a second detector configured by a sensor having resolution in the height direction and configured to detect a surrounding situation of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0013], “The camera 2, radar 3, and sonar 4 are sensors for observing the surrounding environmental conditions necessary for the driving assistance device 1 to perform driving assistance. The camera 2 is an imaging device that captures an image of the area around the vehicle A (for example, the front and rear), and is embodied by, for example, a stereo camera or a monocular camera. The driving assistance device 1 performs well-known image recognition processing on the image captured by the camera 2 to obtain information representing the distance, direction, and distribution of objects present in the vicinity of the vehicle A (e.g., other vehicles, structures attached to the road, and signs painted on the road).” The radar is the second detector and has resolution in the height direction.), wherein the controller is configured to operate the collision reduction support in a case where the positional relationship between the target detected by the second detector and the vehicle satisfies the operating condition (See at least paragraph [0013], “The camera 2, radar 3, and sonar 4 are sensors for observing the surrounding environmental conditions necessary for the driving assistance device 1 to perform driving assistance. The camera 2 is an imaging device that captures an image of the area around the vehicle A (for example, the front and rear), and is embodied by, for example, a stereo camera or a monocular camera. The driving assistance device 1 performs well-known image recognition processing on the image captured by the camera 2 to obtain information representing the distance, direction, and distribution of objects present in the vicinity of the vehicle A (e.g., other vehicles, structures attached to the road, and signs painted on the road)”, paragraph [0014], “The radar 3 is an object sensor that detects objects by emitting millimeter wave detection waves or laser light to the surroundings (for example, the front and rear) of the vehicle A and receiving the reflected waves”, paragraph [0026], “Specifically, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance within a range determined according to the vehicle speed of the vehicle A. For example, the higher the vehicle speed of vehicle A, the larger the target inter-vehicle distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance. On the other hand, under certain control conditions where an intersection or a drive-in point is detected ahead of vehicle A, the target distance setting unit 24 sets the target inter-vehicle distance so that the position that is the target inter-vehicle distance from the preceding vehicle is not included in the section from the entrance point to the exit point of the intersection”, and paragraph [0027], “The control unit 30 is configured to control the devices provided in the vehicle A based on the results of the calculations by the calculation unit 20. The control unit 30 includes a driving control unit 31 and a notification control unit 32 . The driving control unit 31 determines operations such as acceleration, steering, and braking required for driving the vehicle A according to the set target inter-vehicle distance. The driving control unit 31 then operates actuators such as the accelerator, steering device, and brakes in accordance with the determined operation, thereby controlling the driving state of the vehicle A.” The controller is the control unit and the radar is the second detector. The target inter-vehicle distance is the operating condition.)
KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, FUJITA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and not change the operating condition for the second detector even in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course (See at least paragraph [0048], “Each detection unit 43 (radar detector) detects, for example, information of the speed of the vehicle (vehicle 1) including the detection unit 43 relative to another vehicle positioned near the vehicle 1 or extracted information of a stationary object such as an outer wall of a road, a guardrail, a white line position, or the like, and outputs the information to the ECU 23 (first processor). The camera 41-2 outputs classification information of a vehicle or a road structure present in the capturing range to the ECU 23 (first processor). The ECU 23 (first processor) generates, as target information, information obtained by integrating (combining) the information of the relative speed, extracted information of a stationary object, or the like input from each detection unit 43 (radar detector), and the classification information of a vehicle or a road structure input from the camera 41-2. Then, the ECU 23 (first processor) outputs the target information to the ECU 20 (third processor)”, paragraph [0058], “FIG. 6 is a block diagram showing the procedure of processing in the ECU 20 (third processor). In S20-1, the ECU 20 (third processor) acquires external recognition information representing the relative position relationship between the vehicle 1 and the periphery of the vehicle by using target information generated based on integration processing, white line position information, sign position information, travelable area information, and detection limit distance information”, and paragraph [0060], “The local map represents the relative position relationship between the vehicle and other peripheral vehicles, and the lane shape is complemented using the recognition results of the position of a white line, a sign, and the like, the traveling locus, and the map information. The ECU 20 (third processor) generates an action plan based on the information on the local map (S20-4). The action plan defines the traveling direction, speed, position, and the like of the vehicle 1 to implement automated driving. The ECU 20 (third processor) performs vehicle control based on the generated action plan. That is, the ECU 20 (third processor) performs driving control, braking control, or steering control to control the vehicle 1 on a predetermined locus (S20-5). When the driver instructs the ECU 20 (third processor) about a destination and automated driving, the ECU 20 (third processor) automatically controls the traveling of the vehicle 1 toward the destination in accordance with a guidance route found by the ECU 24. At the time of automated control, the ECU 20 (third processor) acquires pieces of information about the peripheral status of the vehicle 1 from the ECU 23 (first processor) and the ECU 22 (second processor), and instructs the ECUs 21, 26, and 29 based on the acquired pieces of information to control the steering and acceleration/deceleration of the vehicle 1. If no predetermined detection result is obtained from an output from either of the ECU 23 (first processor) and the ECU 22 (second processor), the ECU 20 (third processor) can notify the driver to return the vehicle 1 from the automated driving control state to a driving operation by the driver. If a response of the driver to the notification is not obtained, the ECU 20 (third processor) can perform alternate control to stop or decelerate the vehicle.” The controller is the ECU. The second detector is the radar detector and detection unit. The intersecting structure is the target information which includes intersecting objects. The operating condition is the ECU controlling the traveling of the vehicle with a guidance route. The condition is not changed because the ECU controls the vehicle based on the target information and changes the condition by returning to manual driving control if no predetermined detection result is obtained.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and FUJITA such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to not change the operating condition for the second detector even in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraphs [0048], [0058], [0060].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to acquire precise vehicle periphery information and increase driving safety, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraph [0007].).
Regarding Claim 12, KONO, MILLER, MIN, and FUJITA teach The driving support apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. KONO, MILLER, and MIN do not explicitly disclose, however, FUJITA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second detector is provided in a front central portion of the vehicle (See at least Fig. 1, paragraph [0020], “The ECUs 22 and 23 perform control of detection units 41-1, 41-2, 42, and 43 that detect the peripheral status of the vehicle and information processing of detection results. The detection units 41-1 and 41-2 are image detectors (cameras) that capture the periphery of the vehicle 1 and detect an object from the captured images. The image detectors include the first image detector 41-2 (camera) connected via a first communication line 142 to the detection units 43 (radar detectors) and the ECU 23 (first processor) arranged in the vehicle 1, and the second image detector 41-1 (camera) connected via a second communication line 141 to the detection units 42 (lidar detectors) and the ECU 22 (second processor). The image detectors are sometimes referred to as the cameras 41-1 and 41-2 hereinafter.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of KONO with the teachings of MILLER and FUJITA such that the driving assistance device of KONO is further configured to include determining whether there is an intersecting structure that three-dimensionally intersects a traveling road of the vehicle to cross above the traveling road, in a specified traveling course, as taught by MILLER (See paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0101].), to utilize a detector configured to detect a target in front of the vehicle; in a case of determining that there is no intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, apply a first operating condition as the operating condition; and, in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the specified traveling course, change the operating condition from the first operating condition to a second operating condition when the vehicle passes under the intersecting structure, the second operating condition being set such that the collision reduction support for the target detected by the detector is less likely to operate than under the first operating condition, as taught by MIN (See paragraphs [0031], [0046], [0053], [0054].), and to not change the operating condition for the second detector even in a case of determining that there is the intersecting structure in the traveling course and the second detector is provided in a front central portion of the vehicle, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraphs [0020], [0048], [0058], [0060].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving system reliability in complex road environments, as taught by MILLER (See paragraph [0002].). The motivation for doing so would be improving convenience of a driver by adjusting an automatic braking control time based on the a situation around the vehicle when the vehicle is automatically decelerated, as taught by MIN (See paragraph [0005].). The motivation for doing so would be to acquire precise vehicle periphery information and increase driving safety, as taught by FUJITA (See paragraph [0007].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666