DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/112,008 filed on 02/21/2023.
Claims 1 – 20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2024 and 05/20/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Bailey et al. (US 2013/0242283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bailey discloses: “a vehicle including:
an inertial reference subsystem [see para: 0036; The personal ladar includes a system control processor with frequency reference and inertial reference]; and
at least one visible light camera [see para: 0047; The cellphone may be any handheld personal communications device including i-phones, e-phones, etc., and may have a visible light camera installed as well] and a vehicular ladar sensor [see para: 0037; The personal ladar sensor may also make use of pulsed CW transmissions and heterodyne detection to enhance range performance] comprising a laser having a modulated laser light output operable at a certain wavelength [see para: 0007; The personal ladar sensor further includes a semiconductor laser with a modulated laser light output and a diffusing optic for illuminating a scene in the field of view of the personal ladar sensor and a two dimensional array of light sensitive detectors positioned at a focal plane of a light collecting and focusing system], and
at least one optical element adapted to receive the modulated laser light output [see para: 007; The personal ladar sensor further includes a semiconductor laser with a modulated laser light output and a diffusing optic for illuminating a scene in the field of view of the personal ladar sensor] and illuminate a field of view [see para: 0039; An array of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers provides pulsed illuminating energy to a scene in the field of view at an eye-safe wavelength],
a transparent surface disposed between the optical element and the field of view and capable of transmitting the modulated laser light at the certain wavelength [see para: 007; The personal ladar sensor is mounted inside a radome attached to the personal electronic device, having at least one transparent surface capable of transmitting light at the wavelength of operation],
a two-dimensional array of light sensitive detectors positioned at a focal plane of a light collecting and focusing system, each of said light sensitive detectors having an output producing an electrical response signal from a reflected portion of the modulated laser light output [see para: 0007; a two dimensional array of light sensitive detectors positioned at a focal plane of a light collecting and focusing system. Each of the light sensitive detectors has an output producing an electrical response signal from a reflected portion of the modulated laser light output and a readout integrated circuit with multiple unit cell electrical circuits],
wherein said two-dimensional array of light sensitive detectors [see para: 0041; A light sensitive diode detector (Flash Detector) 2 a is placed at the back facet of the laser so as to intercept a portion of the laser light pulse produced by the pulsed laser transmitter 2] has an exterior surface, at least one quantum dot region, and an interior surface [see para: 0043; A quantity of quantum dots with sensitivity to the 1.55 micron wavelength light of the preferred embodiment may be formed using colloidal chemistry under carefully controlled conditions as discussed in the references. This quantum dot detector technology will be discussed in greater detail with respect to FIG. 7. It is also possible that the detector technology may be grown or formed in situ within the unit cell on the silicon ROIC, such as a germanium detector grown on silicon or as in the case of a detector which could be transferred directly from a detector wafer, such as APDs transferred from an indium phosphide wafer], and
wherein at least one of said exterior surface and interior surface has a photon redirecting structure [see para: 0053; Alternatively, in further embodiments, nanoscale structures with at least one dimension between 0.1-100 nm are used to capture photons at the desired detection wavelength. Structures such as nanofilms, nanoflakes, nanoplates, nanopillars, nanotubes, nanoshells, and nanorods have been proposed and demonstrated in literature as solutions to the problem of photon absorption and detection],
a readout integrated circuit [see para: 0036; a readout integrated circuit] with a plurality of unit cell electrical circuits, each of said unit cell electrical circuits having an input connected to one of said light sensitive detector outputs, each said unit cell electrical circuit having an electrical response signal demodulator [see para: 0007; Each of the light sensitive detectors has an output producing an electrical response signal from a reflected portion of the modulated laser light output and a readout integrated circuit with multiple unit cell electrical circuits] and a range measuring circuit connected to an output of said electrical response signal demodulator [see para: 0043; Traditionally, detector array 5 has been formed on an indium phosphide semiconducting substrate with a set of cathode contacts exposed to the light and a set of anode contacts electrically connected to the supporting readout integrated circuit 6 through a number of indium bumps deposited on the detector array 5. The cathode contacts of the individual detectors of detector array 5 would then be connected to a high voltage detector bias grid on the illuminated side of the array. Each anode contact of the detector elements of detector array 5 is thus independently connected to an input of a unit cell electronic circuit of readout integrated circuit 6], said range measuring circuit further connected to a reference signal providing a zero range reference for the modulated laser light output [see para: 0007; The range measuring circuit is further connected to a reference signal providing a zero range reference for the said modulated laser light output],
a detector bias circuit connected to at least one voltage distribution grid of said array of light sensitive detectors, and a temperature stabilized frequency reference [see para: 0007; The personal ladar sensor further incorporates a detector bias circuit connected to at least one voltage distribution grid of the detector array and a temperature stabilized frequency reference].
Regarding claim 2, Bailey discloses: “wherein said exterior surface is a common cathode of the two-dimensional array of light sensitive detectors [see para: 0053; The cathode contact 73 of each detector element 67 of detector array 5 connects through resistor 70 to the voltage distribution grid 69].
Regarding claim 3, Bailey discloses: “wherein said exterior surface is a common anode of the two-dimensional array of light sensitive detectors [see para: 0043; Each anode contact of the detector elements of detector array 5 is thus independently connected to an input of a unit cell electronic circuit of readout integrated circuit 6].
Regarding claim 4, Bailey discloses: “wherein said interior surface is an isolated terminal of a light sensitive detector selected from the set of; an anode, and a cathode [see para: 0043; The cathode contacts of the individual detectors of detector array 5 would then be connected to a high voltage detector bias grid on the illuminated side of the array. Each anode contact of the detector elements of detector array 5 is thus independently connected to an input of a unit cell electronic circuit of readout integrated circuit 6].
Regarding claim 5, Bailey discloses: “wherein said quantum dot region is a colloidal quantum dot film [see para: 0043; A quantity of quantum dots with sensitivity to the 1.55 micron wavelength light of the preferred embodiment may be formed using colloidal chemistry under carefully controlled conditions as discussed in the references].
Regarding claim 6, Bailey discloses: “wherein said light sensitive detector is a structure selected from the set of; a PN detector, a PIN detector, an avalanche photodetector, and a single-photon avalanche detector [see para: 0037; an FPA of light detecting elements formed from quantum dots or nanoparticles, or avalanche photodiodes (APDs), PIN diodes, or NIP diodes].
Regarding claim 7, Bailey discloses: “wherein said quantum dot region is densified by at least one of an applied electric field, an applied partial vacuum, an applied force of acceleration, and surface activation [see para: 0050; Physical vapor deposition involves the evaporation of the selected dielectric material in a crucible, together with the target substrate 58 in a high vacuum, and with substrate 58 oriented so as to intercept and receive the evaporated dielectric material].
Regarding claim 8, Bailey discloses: “wherein said quantum dot region is formed by photolithography [see para: 0043; This quantum dot detector technology will be discussed in greater detail with respect to FIG. 7. It is also possible that the detector technology may be grown or formed in situ within the unit cell on the silicon ROIC, such as a germanium detector grown on silicon or as in the case of a detector which could be transferred directly from a detector wafer, such as APDs transferred from an indium phosphide wafer].
Regarding claim 9, Bailey discloses: “wherein said photon redirecting structure is formed in a material selected from the set of; a transparent conductor, and a metal [see para: 0007; The personal ladar sensor is mounted inside a radome attached to the personal electronic device, having at least one transparent surface capable of transmitting light at the wavelength of operation. And see para: 0049; In a second step, metal electrodes are applied to both opposing faces of the piezoelectric sheet as shown in FIG. 4B. FIG. 4B also shows the effect of an external voltage bias provided by source 405 which produces an electric field E with a polarity opposite the zero bias polarity P, of the film].
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Bailey discloses: “wherein said scanning mechanism includes a MEMS device [see para: 0005; One value of these flash LADAR sensors, as opposed to competing designs in which one or more pixels is scanned over the field of view, is the elimination of the precision mechanical scanner, which is costly, high maintenance and typically large and heavy. The pixels in the focal plane of a flash LADAR sensor are automatically registered due to their permanent positions within the array].
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, Bailey discloses: “wherein said interior surface is an isolated terminal of a photodiode [see para: 0043; Traditionally, detector array 5 has been formed on an indium phosphide semiconducting substrate with a set of cathode contacts exposed to the light and a set of anode contacts electrically connected to the supporting readout integrated circuit 6 through a number of indium bumps deposited on the detector array 5].
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asbrock et al (US 20060232760 A1)
/MASUM BILLAH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486