DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species B, corresponding to claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, and 17-20 in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 6 and 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/04/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “44”, in Fig.4, has been used to designate both an atraumatic tip and one or more securement features. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following reference informalities:
Paragraph [0050], “atraumatic tip 44” in lines 2 and 3, uses the same character as the one or more securement features.
Paragraph [0052], “one or more securement features 44” in lines 4, 6, 8 and 10, uses the same character as the atraumatic tip.
Paragraph [0053], “one or more securement features 44” in line 1, uses the same character as the atraumatic tip.
Paragraph [0054], “one or more securement features 44” in line 6, uses the same character as the atraumatic tip.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is: “securement features” in claim 3, line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al. (US Pub No. 20190307589 A1, herein, Goldberg).
Regarding claim 1, Goldberg discloses an introducer sheath assembly, comprising:
an expandable introducer sheath (100 – Fig.13) including an expandable braid (104 – Fig.4)(Figure 4 is cited to illustrate the introducer sheath in greater detail, including the expandable braid) moveable between a collapsed configuration for delivery (Fig.13, Para [0103]) and an expanded configuration for deployment (Fig.15, Para [0104]), the expandable braid having a first length when in the collapsed configuration and a second, reduced, length when in the expanded configuration (Para [0080], Para [0082]); and
The limitation, “a dilator (300 – Fig.13) adapted to releasably hold the expandable introducer sheath in its collapsed configuration for delivery until the dilator is actuated to release the expandable braid from the dilator, thereby permitting the expandable braid to expand to its expanded configuration” is interpreted to be a functional limitation (the introducer sheath assembly of Goldberg is capable of performing these functions since the assembly comprises all the elements provided above and also a retaining member “the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member (306 – Fig.11) is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Examiner note: Goldberg teaches that the delivery apparatus is exemplary only, and can be used in combination with any of the expandable sheath embodiments described therein (Para [0066]), Accordingly, the dilator disclosed in Figs. 11-18 is properly considered in combination with the expandable sheath embodiment shown in Fig.4.
Regarding claim 2, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, further comprising an adhesive band (306 – Fig.11, “adhesive bonds” – Para [0105]) disposed on the dilator (300 – Fig.11), the adhesive band adapted to engage the expandable introducer sheath (100 – Fig.11) until axial movement of the dilator relative to the expandable introducer sheath causes the adhesive band to disengage the expandable introducer sheath (“the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, wherein:
the dilator (300 – Fig.11) further comprises one or more securement features (306 – Fig.11); and
the expandable braid (104 – Fig.4)(“The braided layer an extend along substantially the entire length L of the sheath” – Para [0076]) further comprises one or more securement elements (140 – Fig.11) adapted to releasably engage the one or more securement features (Para [0103]); and
the one or more securement elements are adapted to disengage with the one or more securement features in response to axial movement of the dilator relative to the expandable introducer sheath (“the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, wherein the one or more securement features comprise one or more tabs (Shown at 306 – Fig.11) disposed on an outer surface of the dilator (Fig.11).
Regarding claim 7, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, wherein the expandable braid (104 – Fig.8) comprises a Nitinol braid (“Nitinol” – Para [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, wherein the expandable introducer sheath (100 – Fig.4) further comprises a polymeric covering (108 – Fig.4, “outer layer can comprise a polymeric material” – Para [0073]) disposed relative to the expandable braid (104 – Fig.4).
Regarding claim 17, Goldberg discloses a medical device, comprising:
an expandable braid (104 – Fig.4) biased into an expanded configuration for deployment (“as the angle θ increases, the braided layer can foreshorten” – Para [0080], Fig.15) wherein elongating the expandable braid causes the expandable braid to move into an elongated configuration in which the expandable braid is longer and narrower than when in its expanded configuration (“as the angle θ decreases, the braided layer can lengthen” – Para [0080], Fig.13); and
the limitation, “a dilator (300 – Fig.11) adapted to releasably hold the expandable braid in its elongated configuration” is interpreted to be a functional limitation (the introducer sheath assembly of Goldberg is capable of performing these functions since the assembly comprises all the elements provided above, also disclosing “the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 18, Goldberg discloses an medical device as recited above, further comprising an adhesive band (306 – Fig.11, “adhesive bonds” – Para [0105]) disposed on the dilator (300 – Fig.11), the limitation, “the adhesive band adapted to engage the expandable braid until axial movement of the dilator relative to the expandable braid causes the adhesive band to disengage the expandable braid” is interpreted to be a functional limitation (the introducer sheath assembly of Goldberg is capable of performing these functions since the assembly comprises all the elements provided above, also disclosing, “the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 19, Goldberg discloses a medical device as recited above, wherein:
the dilator (300 – Fig.11) further comprises one or more securement features (306 – Fig.11); and
the expandable braid (104 – Fig.4)(“The braided layer an extend along substantially the entire length L of the sheath” – Para [0076]) further comprises one or more securement elements (140 – Fig.11) adapted to releasably engage the one or more securement features (Para [0103]); and
the one or more securement elements are adapted to disengage with the one or more securement features in response to axial movement of the dilator relative to the expandable braid (“the vessel dilator can be advanced distally through the sheath until the retaining member is removed from over the distal end portion of the sheath.” – Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 20, Goldberg discloses a medical device as recited above, wherein the medical device further comprises a polymeric covering (108 – Fig.4, “outer layer can comprise a polymeric material” – Para [0073]) extending over the expandable braid (104 – Fig.4) extending over the expandable braid (104 – Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Nentwick (US Pub No. 20110245665 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, comprising a polymeric covering (108 – Fig.4, “outer layer can comprise a polymeric material” – Para [0073]) but Goldberg does not expressly disclose wherein the polymeric covering comprises a spray coated polyurethane or a spray coated silicone.
Nentwick teaches a covering (7 – Fig.2A) comprising a spray coated polyurethane or a spray coated silicone (“can be coated with silicone spray.” – Para [0114]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the polymeric covering as disclosed by Goldberg to comprise a spray coated silicone as taught by Nentwick since spray coated silicone provides additional lubrication before the device is inserted into the body of a patient in order to facilitate better insertion and advancement (Nentwick, Para [0114]).
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Ginn et al. (US Pub No. 20190183525 A9, herein, Ginn).
Regarding claim 10, Goldberg discloses the introducer sheath assembly as recited above, but Goldberg does not expressly disclose the assembly further comprising one or more radiopaque markers secured relative to the expandable braid.
Ginn teaches an introducer sheath assembly comprising one or more radiopaque markers (326 – Fig.18A) secured relative to an expandable braid (Fig.18A, Para [0061]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the introducer sheath assembly disclosed by Goldberg to comprise one or more radiopaque markers secured relative to the expandable braid as taught by Ginn since Ginn teaches radiopaque markers provide improved visibility under fluoroscopy or other similar techniques (Ginn, Para [0060]).
Conclusion
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783