DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an inner side of the catalyst filter is coated with a heat insulating layer” as cited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 17, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta et al (PG-PUB US 2023/0372919) in view of Woo (PB-PUB US 2022/0143539).
Regarding claim 1, Ikuta et al disclose an air purification device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a photocatalytic filter 6 having a photocatalytic layer 5 and a metal substrate 11, wherein the metal substrate comprises nickel, silver or aluminum and has a catalytic function (i.e., a catalyst filter including a photocatalyst and an oxidation catalyst, Figures 2 & 4, paragraphs [0024], [0027], & [0054] –[0057]); and
(2) a light source 7 for activating the photocatalytic filter 6 (i.e., a light-emitting heat source …, Figures 2 & 4, paragraph [0025]).
The instant specification discloses that the oxidation catalyst comprises a metal, such as nickel, silver or aluminum (paragraphs [0094] –[0095]). Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 has a catalytic function and comprises nickel, silver or aluminum (paragraphs [0054] –[0057]), which is the same as disclosed in the instant specification. Thus, the metal substrate 11 of Ikuta is fully capable of being an oxidation catalyst.
The instant specification further discloses that the light-emitting heat source 200 may include ultraviolet rays or visible rays (paragraph [0045]). Ikuta teaches that the light source 7 may provide UV light and/or visible light (paragraphs [0075] – [0076]), which is the same as disclosed in the instant specification. Thus, the light source 7 of Ikuta is fully capable of being a light-emitting heat source.
The limitation of “a temperature of … of the unpurified air” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Ikuta does not teach the surface of the photocatalytic filter 6 coated with an insulating layer. However, Woo discloses an air purification/filtration device (ABSTRACT). Woo teaches that a photocatalytic filter comprises a photocatalytic layer having a glass layer thereupon (i.e., a heat insulating material) and such photocatalytic filter has excellent durability and superior performance for decomposing organic waste (Figure 1, paragraphs [0026], [0048] – [0051]), Examples 3, 5-6). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to coat the photocatalytic filter with a layer of glass as suggested by Woo in order to improve durability and treatment within the device of Ikuta.
Since the device of Ikuta/Woo comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 2, the cited limitation is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, since the device of Ikuta/Woo comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 3, Ikuta teaches that the light source 7 may provide UV light and/or visible light (paragraphs [0075] – [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of light sources 7 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Ikuta/Woo does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Regarding claim 7, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of catalytic filters 6 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Ikuta/Woo does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Regarding claim 8, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 9, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes with certain patterns (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 10, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes divided by partition walls having protrusions/ridges and/or depression/recess (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 11, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes divided by partition walls having protrusions/ridges and/or depression/recess (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
It has been held that, without persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant; a change in shape is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP 2144).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions and different shapes since such a modification would have involved routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Ikuta teaches a grease filter 34 provided upstream from the catalyst filter 6 (Figure 4, paragraph [0103])
Regarding claim 23, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes alternatively arranged catalytic filters 6 and light sources 7, wherein each of the catalytic filter 6 comprises the photocatalyst 5 and the metal substrate 11 having oxidation catalytic function, hence being a photocatalyst filter and/or an oxidation catalyst filter
As such, the multiple staged arrangement comprises a 1-1 photocatalyst filter upstream from a 1-1 light source 7 and a 1-1 oxidation catalyst filter downstream from the 1-1 light source 7 (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 24, the multiple stages arrangement of Ikuta also includes a 1-2 photocatalyst filter between the 1-1 light source 7 and the 1-1 oxidation catalyst filter (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 25, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of light sources 7 and photocatalyst filters 6 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Ikuta/Woo does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/244235 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, and 23-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,465,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of the issued patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the applicant’s amendments.
With respect to the double patenting rejections, the newly added limitations are obvious in view of Woo (PB-PUB US 2022/0143539). Therefore , the double patenting rejections will be maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 17, and 23-25 are rejected. Claims 5-6, 12-16, 18-22, and 26-30 are withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795