DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species AL-1, Species AC-1, and Species AA-1 of Species A, encompassing claims 1-4, 7-11, 17, and 23-25, in the reply filed on 2/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 12-16, 18-22, and 26-30 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikuta et al (PG-PUB US 2023/0372919).
Regarding claim 1, Ikuta et al disclose an air purification device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a photocatalytic filter 6 having a photocatalytic layer 5 and a metal substrate 11, wherein the metal substrate comprises nickel, silver or aluminum and has a catalytic function (i.e., a catalyst filter including a photocatalyst and an oxidation catalyst, Figures 2 & 4, paragraphs [0024], [0027], & [0054] –[0057]); and
(2) a light source 7 for activating the photocatalytic filter 6 (i.e., a light-emitting heat source …, Figures 2 & 4, paragraph [0025]).
The instant specification discloses that the oxidation catalyst comprises a metal, such as nickel, silver or aluminum (paragraphs [0094] –[0095]). Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 has a catalytic function and comprises nickel, silver or aluminum (paragraphs [0054] –[0057]), which is the same as disclosed in the instant specification. Thus, the metal substrate 11 of Ikuta is fully capable of being an oxidation catalyst.
The instant specification further discloses that the light-emitting heat source 200 may include ultraviolet rays or visible rays (paragraph [0045]). Ikuta teaches that the light source 7 may provide UV light and/or visible light (paragraphs [0075] – [0076]), which is the same as disclosed in the instant specification. Thus, the light source 7 of Ikuta is fully capable of being a light-emitting heat source.
The limitation of “a temperature of … of the unpurified air” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, since the device of Ikuta comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 2, the cited limitation is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, since the device of Ikuta comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 3, Ikuta teaches that the light source 7 may provide UV light and/or visible light (paragraphs [0075] – [0076]).
Regarding claim 17, Ikuta teaches a grease filter 34 provided upstream from the catalyst filter 6 (Figure 4, paragraph [0103])
Regarding claim 23, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes alternatively arranged catalytic filters 6 and light sources 7, wherein each of the catalytic filter 6 comprises the photocatalyst 5 and the metal substrate 11 having oxidation catalytic function, hence being a photocatalyst filter and/or an oxidation catalyst filter
As such, the multiple staged arrangement comprises a 1-1 photocatalyst filter upstream from a 1-1 light source 7 and a 1-1 oxidation catalyst filter downstream from the 1-1 light source 7 (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 24, the multiple stages arrangement of Ikuta also includes a 1-2 photocatalyst filter between the 1-1 light source 7 and the 1-1 oxidation catalyst filter (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-11, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta et al (PG-PUB US 2023/0372919) as applied to claims 1 and 24 above.
Regarding claim 4, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of light sources 7 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Ikuta does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Regarding claim 7, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of catalytic filters 6 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]). Ikuta also teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises aluminum or silver (paragraphs [0054] –[0057]).
Ikuta does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Regarding claim 8, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 9, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes with certain patterns (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 10, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes divided by partition walls having protrusions/ridges and/or depression/recess (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 11, Ikuta teaches that the metal substrate 11 comprises porous material having a plurality of pores/holes divided by partition walls having protrusions/ridges and/or depression/recess (paragraphs [0057] & [0163]).
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
It has been held that, without persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant; a change in shape is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP 2144).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions and different shapes since such a modification would have involved routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 25, Ikuta teaches that multiple staged assembly 25 includes a plurality of light sources 7 and photocatalyst filters 6 with a certain thickness and width (Figure 4, paragraphs [0098] – [0102]).
Ikuta does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
Furthermore, it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different dimensions since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/244235 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, and 23-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,465,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of the issued patent.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 17, and 23-25 are rejected. Claims 5-6, 12-16, 18-22, and 26-30 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795