Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 should recite “…the protective outer member also covers….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-8 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amussen (US 2015/0226370).
Re claim 4, Amussen (Figs 2A and 5D) discloses a user-configurable support member for a shooting rest (intended use; see also MPEP 2114(II) “[a] claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”) comprising: a base (Fig 5D, 510), the base defining at least one threaded mounting hole adapted to receive a threaded mounting screw (Fig 5D, 521 and/or Fig5D, 514s); a plurality of arms (Fig 2A, 230s) extending from the base; and each of the arms being pliable to allow each arm to be bent to and retained in a configuration determined by a user.
Re claims 5-8 and 11-17, Amussen discloses the support member (Fig 4) of claim 4, wherein each arm includes an inner member (432) and a protective outer member (434 and/or 436).
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carnevali (US 7,959,116).
Re claim 4, Carnevali discloses a user-configurable support member for a shooting rest comprising: a base (Fig 2, 58), the base defining at least one threaded mounting hole (66) adapted to receive a threaded mounting screw; a plurality of arms (12s) extending from the base; and each of the arms being pliable to allow each arm to be bent to and retained in a configuration determined by a user.
Re claims 5-8, Carnevali discloses the support member of claim 4, wherein each arm includes an inner member and a protective outer member (Fig 5, 76).
Re claim 9, Carnevali discloses the support member of claim 8, wherein the protective outer also covers the base (Fig 2, 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carnevali (US 7,959,116). Carnevali discloses the claimed invention except for the protective outer member being rubber or silicone. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the material in Carnevali to be either rubber or silicone, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-7-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant initially argues that the examiner’s reference to Amussen (US 2015/0226370) does not show a threaded hole; the examiner disagrees (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Applicant further argues that the arms in Amussen (US 2015/0226370) are not pliable to allow each arm to be bent to and retained in a configuration determined by a user; the examiner disagrees (see Fig 1 and p. [0032]).
All remaining arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641