DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 04/02/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-11 and 13-27 remain pending in the application. Claim 1 has been amended by the Applicant. Claims 14-27 were previously withdrawn.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications claims foreign priority to KR 10-2022-0175882, filed 12/15/2022 claims foreign priority to KR 10-2022-0023182, filed 02/22/2022 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereafter Lee, of record, see Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/02/2025) US 20210173226 A1 in view of Lim et al. (hereafter Lim, of record see Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/02/2025) US 20210215902 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) a camera module (camera module e.g. 10, with lens driving device, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [02-04,089-25, 44-52, 57-69, 73-82, 88-100]), comprising:
a housing having an internal space (housing 110 having internal space for e.g. carrier 300 and lens module 200, e.g. paragraphs [44, 52-65], Figs. 1-2);
a carrier disposed in the internal space of the housing (carrier 300 inside 110, e.g. paragraphs [58-68], Figs. 2-3,5);
a lens module disposed in the carrier (lens module 200 disposed in 300, e.g. paragraphs [44-52, 57-58,64], Figs. 1-3,5);
a first driver comprising a first magnet coupled to the carrier (focus adjustment portion 400 of the lens driving device with magnet 410 on 300, e.g. paragraphs [55-60], Figs. 2-3,5), and a first coil facing the first magnet (and coil 430 facing 410, e.g. paragraphs [58-63], Figs. 2-3,5 ; and
a first ball unit and a second ball unit disposed between the carrier and the housing (ball rolling members B1 on each side of magnet 410, between 300 and 110, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3,5) and spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the camera module (B1 on each side of magnet 410 e.g. left and right B1 balls, are spaced apart in direction perpendicular to optical axis of 210 in Z direction, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3,5);
a second driver comprising a second magnet coupled to the lens module, and a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. as shake correction (OIS) portion 500 of the driving apparatus with one of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5), and a third driver comprising a third magnet coupled to the lens module, and a third coil facing the third magnet (i.e. as OIS portion 500 of the driving apparatus with other of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5),
wherein the first ball unit comprises two or more balls disposed in an optical axis direction, and the second ball unit comprises a same number of balls than the first ball unit disposed in the optical axis direction (i.e. as e.g. left or right balls B1 have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], supporting the movement and reducing friction for moving/guiding carrier, lens module 300, 200 in Z direction, paragraphs [20-21,57-69] Figs. 2-3), and
a distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a side of the carrier (e.g. as distance between outer edges of left and right B1s is greater than a length of inner side of 300, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69]),
wherein, in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (i.e. in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z direction, paragraphs [44-46, Figs. 1-3), a distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as e.g. right side of 510a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]), and a minimum distance between the third magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the third magnet and the first ball unit. (i.e. as e.g. 530a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]).
But Lee is silent that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit (as e.g. left or right balls B1 both have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3), and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (i.e. as left and right balls B1 are on side of 300 and are not in or near opposite, e.g. or diagonal corners of 300 or separated by such distance, see Figs. 2-3), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as the minimum distance of magnet e.g. 510a as a whole from either left or right ball B1 is about the same paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3).
However, Lim teaches in the same field of invention of a lens assembly with driver for moving the lens unit (see e.g. Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [ 01,05-14,31-41,88-89]), and further teaches that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (as the first and second plurality of ball bearings 131 and 133 with different numbers of balls e.g. three 131 and two 133 ball bearings Figs. 4-5 in guide grooves 111, 331 and 113, 333 of base 100 and support 300, and where 131 and 133 ball bearings are in in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 i.e. diagonal corners, i.e. distance between 131 and 133 ball is larger than longest side of support carrier 300, as depicted in Figs. 2-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. since balls 131 and 133 are in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 the minimum distance for magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 131 is less than minimum distance of magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 133 in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z-axis direction, as depicted in Fig. 6, therefore providing guiding and support for movable support carrier 300 in Z-axis direction, and allowing that base/housing 100 and carrier support 300 are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings 131 and 133, and that the support carrier 300 may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction or with minimized friction with an inner side of the base 100, paragraphs [35-40]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust and modify the number and placement of first and second ball bearings (left and right balls B1) of Lee to have unequal numbers and be placed in diagonally opposite corners of the base housing and support carrier according to teachings of Lim in order to provide guiding and support for movable support carrier in Z-axis direction, so that the support carrier may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction (or with minimized friction) between base housing and support carrier, and allowing that base/housing and carrier support are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings in diagonally opposite corners of the support carrier and the base (see Lim, paragraphs [35-40]).
Note that as a result of the Lee-Lim combination, the distance between the first and second balls B1 is greater than the length of a longest side of the carrier, as the first and second balls B1 are placed in diagonally opposite corners of the housing base 110 and carrier 300, see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69], and Lim, in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and further as the result of the combination, the minimum distance between the second magnet (as well as third magnet) and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as each of 510a and 530a is closer to one of the balls B1 now placed in diagonally opposite corner of 300,110, than to one of the left side B1 balls of 300, paragraphs [74-85] as depicted in Figs. 2-5, due to modification with Lim as noted above, see Fig. 6, paragraphs [47-54]).
Regarding claim 2, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that when viewed in the optical axis direction (z-direction, see Lee Fig. 3 and Lim Fig. 6), a virtual line connecting a center of a ball of the first ball unit and a center of a ball of the second ball unit passes through the lens module (i.e. as first B1 and second Balls B1 are placed in opposite corners of 110,300, such connecting virtual line passes the lens module 200, paragraphs [20-21,57-69] Figs. 2-3, and with modification with Lim Fig. 6, paragraphs [31-41]).
Regarding claim 3, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that when viewed in the optical axis direction (z-direction, see Lee Fig. 3 and Lim Fig. 6), a virtual line connecting a center of a ball of the first ball unit and a center of a ball of the second ball unit forms an acute angle with respect to a line extending from one surface of the first magnet in a longitudinal direction of the first magnet (i.e. as first and second Balls B1 are placed in opposite corners of 110,300, such connecting virtual line forms acute angle with longitudinal direction line of magnet 410, see paragraphs [57-69] as depicted in Figs. 2-3, and with modification with Lim Fig. 6 with equivalent magnet 213, paragraphs [31-41]).
Regarding claim 4, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that when viewed in the optical axis direction (z-direction, see Lee Fig. 3 and Lim Fig. 6), a virtual line extending from one surface of the first magnet in contact with the carrier in a longitudinal direction of the first magnet passes through the first ball unit and is spaced apart from the second ball unit (i.e. as first and second Balls B1 are placed in opposite corners of 110,300, the virtual line along longitudinal direction of 410 (similar to 213) passes one of first/second balls B1 in near corner, and is spaced from other balls B1 in diagonally opposite corner of 110,300, paragraphs [57-69] as depicted in Figs. 2-3, and with modification with Lim Fig. 6 with equivalent magnet 213, paragraphs [31-41]).
Regarding claim 5, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) further comprising an image sensor module coupled to the housing and comprising an image sensor (as 700 coupled to 110 and having image sensor 710, paragraphs [44, 48-49,53], Figs. 1-2), wherein when viewed in the optical axis direction (z-direction, see Lee Fig. 3 and Lim Fig. 6), a center of the image sensor is disposed in a region defined by lines connecting opposite sides of the first ball unit to opposite side of the second ball unit (i.e. as due to placement of first and second balls B1 in diagonally opposite corners of 110,300, the center of the image sensor 710 is disposed in region defined by lines connecting opposite sides of the first B1 balls and second balls B1 that are in diagonally opposite corners of 110,300, paragraphs [57-69] as depicted in Figs. 2-3, due to modification with Lim Fig. 6 with equivalent region 101 for image sensor, paragraphs [33, 31-41).
Regarding claim 6, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that a first set of guide grooves and a second set of guide grooves are formed in the carrier and the housing (i.e. as first balls B1 in guide grooves of 300 and 110, and second balls B1 in guide grooves of 300, 110, paragraphs [65-69], with as modified with Lim i.e. grooves 111, 331 for first or second balls and 113, 333 and other of first and second of 131 and 133 ball bearings between 300 and 100 in in opposite diagonal corners, Figs. 2-6, paragraphs [31-41]), the first set of guide grooves comprises a first guide groove formed in the carrier and a second guide groove formed in the housing (e.g. 111 and 331 in 110 and 300, Figs. 2-3, and Lim Figs. 2-6), and the second set of guide grooves comprises a third guide groove formed in the carrier and a fourth guide groove formed in the housing (e.g. 113 and 333 in 110 and 300, Figs. 2-3, and Lim Figs. 2-6), the first ball unit is disposed between the first guide groove and the second guide groove (e.g. first balls B1 (131) between 111,331, Figs. 2-3, and Lim Figs. 2-6) the second ball unit is disposed between the third guide groove and the fourth guide groove (e.g. second balls B1 (133) between 113,333, Figs. 2-3, and Lim Figs. 2-6), and a direction in which a center of the first guide groove faces a center of the second guide groove is different from a direction in which a center of the third guide groove faces a center of the fourth guide groove (i.e. as centers of guide grooves 111-331 and 113-333 face different directions, as depicted in Lim Figs 4-6, paragraphs [31-41], applied to Lee grooves of first B1 and second balls B1, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that the first ball unit contacts the first guide groove at a first contact point and a second contact point, and contacts the second guide groove at a third contact point and a fourth contact point, the first contact point and the third contact point face each other in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (i.e. as first balls B1 contacting two opposite points in 111 and 331 in direction perpendicular to z axis direction, e.g. first x- or y- direction as depicted in Lim Figs 4-6, paragraphs [31-41], applied to Lee grooves of first B1, Figs. 2-3), and the second contact point and the fourth contact point face each other in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction (i.e. as first balls B1 other two contacting opposite points in 111 and 331 in other direction perpendicular to z axis direction, e.g. second y- or x- direction, that is also perpendicular to first x- or y- direction, as depicted in Lim Figs 4-6, paragraphs [31-41], applied to Lee grooves of first B1, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) that the first magnet is closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (i.e. as first and second Balls B1 are placed in opposite corners of 110,300, magnet 410 (similar to 213) is closer to one of first/second balls B1 in near corner than to other of first/second balls B1 in diagonally opposite corner of 110,300, paragraphs [57-69] as depicted in Figs. 2-3, and with modification with Lim Fig. 6 with equivalent magnet 213, paragraphs [31-41).
Regarding claim 9, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) further comprising: a guide frame disposed between the lens module and the carrier (frame 310 between 200 and 300, Figs. 2-3, 5, paragraphs [64,74,83-99]); a third ball unit disposed between the carrier and the guide frame (balls B2 between 300 and 310, Figs. 2-3,5, paragraphs [89-100]); and a fourth ball unit disposed between the lens module and the guide frame (balls B4 between 200 and 310, Figs. 2-3,5, paragraphs [89-100]).
Regarding claim 10, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) a third set of guide grooves in which the third ball unit is disposed is formed in a lower surface of the guide frame facing the carrier in the optical axis direction (i.e. as B2 are disposed in guide grooves 301 on surface of 310 and facing 300 in z direction, paragraphs [89-95], Figs. 3,5), a fourth set of guide grooves in which the fourth ball unit is disposed is formed in an upper surface of the guide frame facing the lens module in the optical axis direction (i.e. as B3 are disposed in guide grooves 311 on surface of 310 and facing 200 in z direction, paragraphs [89-98], Figs. 3,5), and the third set of guide grooves and the fourth set of guide grooves do not overlap each other when viewed in the optical axis direction (i.e. as 301 and 311 have at least portions that do not overlap in z direction as depicted in Fig. 3, (i.e. as B2 are disposed in guide grooves 301 on surface of 310 and facing 300 in z direction, paragraphs [89-95], Figs. 3,5).
Regarding claim 13, the Lee-Lim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) further comprising a substrate mounted on the housing and on which the first to third coils are mounted (substrate 600 on 110 with coils 430, 510b, 530b mounted, paragraphs [60-61,67,79,111] Fig. 2), wherein the first ball unit is disposed at one corner of the housing, and the second ball unit is disposed at another corner of the housing diagonally opposite from the one corner of the housing (as first B1 balls and second balls B1 are diagonally opposite corner of 110,300, paragraphs [57-69] as depicted in Figs. 2-3, and with modification with Lim Fig. 6 with equivalent magnet 213, paragraphs [31-41]), and the substrate surrounds the other corner of the housing (i.e. due to the shape of 600 surrounds other corner of 110, as depicted in Fig. 2, paragraphs [60-61,67,79], with modification of Lim, paragraphs [31-41], Figs. 3-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 12-13 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Lee does not disclose the amended features of claim 1, namely that (1) “in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis, a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit, and a minimum distance between the third magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the third magnet and the first ball unit”, because in Lee doesn’t disclose claimed first and second ball unit, as balls B1 are on both sides of magnet 410 and magnet/yoke 510a and 530a are perpendicular to one another. This argument is unclear, as magnet 410 reads on the claimed first magnet, not part of the above limitation under (1), while magnet/yokes 510a and 530a are designated as first and second magnet. Applicant further states that Lim does not read on the limitation under (1) but actually cites Fig. 3 of Lee as figure 3 of Lim, and thus Lim is ineffectual to patentability. However, these statements are further confusing and does not appear to be consistent with teachings of Lee or Lim references. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Lee teaches most of the limitations of claim 1 and in combination with cited prior art of Lim teaches and rendered obvious all limitations of claim 1, as
Lee teaches (see Figs. 1-5) a camera module (camera module e.g. 10, with lens driving device, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [02-04,089-25, 44-52, 57-69, 73-82, 88-100]), comprising:
a housing having an internal space (housing 110 having internal space for e.g. carrier 300 and lens module 200, e.g. paragraphs [44, 52-65], Figs. 1-2);
a carrier disposed in the internal space of the housing (carrier 300 inside 110, e.g. paragraphs [58-68], Figs. 2-3,5);
a lens module disposed in the carrier (lens module 200 disposed in 300, e.g. paragraphs [44-52, 57-58,64], Figs. 1-3,5);
a first driver comprising a first magnet coupled to the carrier (focus adjustment portion 400 of the lens driving device with magnet 410 on 300, e.g. paragraphs [55-60], Figs. 2-3,5), and a first coil facing the first magnet (and coil 430 facing 410, e.g. paragraphs [58-63], Figs. 2-3,5 ; and
a first ball unit and a second ball unit disposed between the carrier and the housing (ball rolling members B1 on each side of magnet 410, between 300 and 110, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3,5) and spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the camera module (B1 on each side of magnet 410 e.g. left and right B1 balls, are spaced apart in direction perpendicular to optical axis of 210 in Z direction, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3,5);
a second driver comprising a second magnet coupled to the lens module, and a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. as shake correction (OIS) portion 500 of the driving apparatus with one of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5), and a third driver comprising a third magnet coupled to the lens module, and a third coil facing the third magnet (i.e. as OIS portion 500 of the driving apparatus with other of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5),
wherein the first ball unit comprises two or more balls disposed in an optical axis direction, and the second ball unit comprises a same number of balls than the first ball unit disposed in the optical axis direction (i.e. as e.g. left or right balls B1 have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], supporting the movement and reducing friction for moving/guiding carrier, lens module 300, 200 in Z direction, paragraphs [20-21,57-69] Figs. 2-3), and
a distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a side of the carrier (e.g. as distance between outer edges of left and right B1s is greater than a length of inner side of 300, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69]),
wherein, in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (i.e. in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z direction, paragraphs [44-46, Figs. 1-3), a distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as e.g. right side of 510a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]), and a minimum distance between the third magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the third magnet and the first ball unit. (i.e. as e.g. 530a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]).
But Lee is silent that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit (as e.g. left or right balls B1 both have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3), and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (i.e. as left and right balls B1 are on side of 300 and are not in or near opposite, e.g. or diagonal corners of 300 or separated by such distance, see Figs. 2-3), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as the minimum distance of magnet e.g. 510a as a whole from either left or right ball B1 is about the same paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3).
However, Lim teaches in the same field of invention of a lens assembly with driver for moving the lens unit (see e.g. Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [ 01,05-14,31-41,88-89]), and further teaches that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (as the first and second plurality of ball bearings 131 and 133 with different numbers of balls e.g. three 131 and two 133 ball bearings Figs. 4-5 in guide grooves 111, 331 and 113, 333 of base 100 and support 300, and where 131 and 133 ball bearings are in in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 i.e. diagonal corners, i.e. distance between 131 and 133 ball is larger than longest side of support carrier 300, as depicted in Figs. 2-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. since balls 131 and 133 are in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 the minimum distance for magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 131 is less than minimum distance of magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 133 in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z-axis direction, as depicted in Fig. 6, therefore providing guiding and support for movable support carrier 300 in Z-axis direction, and allowing that base/housing 100 and carrier support 300 are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings 131 and 133, and that the support carrier 300 may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction or with minimized friction with an inner side of the base 100, paragraphs [35-40]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust and modify the number and placement of first and second ball bearings (left and right balls B1) of Lee to have unequal numbers and be placed in diagonally opposite corners of the base housing and support carrier according to teachings of Lim in order to provide guiding and support for movable support carrier in Z-axis direction, so that the support carrier may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction (or with minimized friction) between base housing and support carrier, and allowing that base/housing and carrier support are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings in diagonally opposite corners of the support carrier and the base (see Lim, paragraphs [35-40]).
Note that as a result of the Lee-Lim combination, the distance between the first and second balls B1 is greater than the length of a longest side of the carrier, as the first and second balls B1 are placed in diagonally opposite corners of the housing base 110 and carrier 300, see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69], and Lim, in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and further as the result of the combination, the minimum distance between the second magnet (as well as third magnet) and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as each of 510a and 530a is closer to one of the balls B1 now placed in diagonally opposite corner of 300,110, than to one of the left side B1 balls of 300, paragraphs [74-85] as depicted in Figs. 2-5, due to modification with Lim as noted above, see Fig. 6, paragraphs [47-54]).
Specifically, Lee teaches that the second driver comprising a second magnet coupled to the lens module, and a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. as shake correction (OIS) portion 500 of the driving apparatus with one of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5), and a third driver comprising a third magnet coupled to the lens module, and a third coil facing the third magnet (i.e. as OIS portion 500 of the driving apparatus with other of first magnet 510a on 200 facing first coil 510b, and second magnet 530a on 200 facing second coil 530b, paragraphs [74-85], Figs. 2-5), and that the first ball unit comprises two or more balls disposed in an optical axis direction, and the second ball unit comprises a same number of balls than the first ball unit disposed in the optical axis direction (i.e. as e.g. left or right balls B1 have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], supporting the movement and reducing friction for moving/guiding carrier, lens module 300, 200 in Z direction, paragraphs [20-21,57-69] Figs. 2-3), and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a side of the carrier (e.g. as distance between outer edges of left and right B1s is greater than a length of inner side of 300, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69]), and that, in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (i.e. in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z direction, paragraphs [44-46, Figs. 1-3), a distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as e.g. right side of 510a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]), and the minimum distance between the third magnet and the second ball unit is less than the minimum distance between the third magnet and the first ball unit. (i.e. as e.g. 530a is closer to one of the right side balls B1 of 300,110 than to one of the balls B1 on the left side of 300,110, as best depicted in Fig. 2-5 paragraphs [74-85]).
It was noted that Lee is silent that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit (as e.g. left or right balls B1 both have two or more balls, paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3), and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (i.e. as left and right balls B1 are on side of 300 and are not in or near opposite, e.g. or diagonal corners of 300 or separated by such distance, see Figs. 2-3), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as the minimum distance of magnet e.g. 510a as a whole from either left or right ball B1 is about the same paragraphs [65-69], Figs. 2-3).
Hence Lim was relied upon, as Lim teaches in the same field of invention of a lens assembly with driver for moving the lens unit (see e.g. Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [ 01,05-14,31-41,88-89]), and further teaches that the second ball unit comprises a smaller number of balls than the first ball unit and that the distance between the first ball unit and the second ball unit is greater than a length of a longest side of the carrier (as the first and second plurality of ball bearings 131 and 133 with different numbers of balls e.g. three 131 and two 133 ball bearings Figs. 4-5 in guide grooves 111, 331 and 113, 333 of base 100 and support 300, and where 131 and 133 ball bearings are in in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 i.e. diagonal corners, i.e. distance between 131 and 133 ball is larger than longest side of support carrier 300, as depicted in Figs. 2-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and that a minimum distance between the second magnet and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. since balls 131 and 133 are in opposite diagonal corners of base 100 the minimum distance for magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 131 is less than minimum distance of magnet 213 and magnet 223 to ball 133 in X-Y plane perpendicular to optical axis in Z-axis direction, as depicted in Fig. 6, therefore providing guiding and support for movable support carrier 300 in Z-axis direction, and allowing that base/housing 100 and carrier support 300 are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings 131 and 133, and that the support carrier 300 may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction or with minimized friction with an inner side of the base 100, paragraphs [35-40]). It was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust and modify the number and placement of first and second ball bearings (left and right balls B1) of Lee to have unequal numbers and be placed in diagonally opposite corners of the base housing and support carrier according to teachings of Lim in order to provide guiding and support for movable support carrier in Z-axis direction, so that the support carrier may be moved smoothly in the Z-axis direction without friction (or with minimized friction) between base housing and support carrier, and allowing that base/housing and carrier support are kept at a predetermined distance by the first and second ball bearings in diagonally opposite corners of the support carrier and the base (see Lim, paragraphs [35-40]).
Moreover, it was noted that as a result of the Lee-Lim combination, the distance between the first and second balls B1 is greater than the length of a longest side of the carrier, as the first and second balls B1 are placed in diagonally opposite corners of the housing base 110 and carrier 300, see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [57-69], and Lim, in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-41]), and further as the result of the combination, the minimum distance between the second magnet (as well as third magnet) and the second ball unit is less than a minimum distance between the second magnet and the first ball unit (i.e. as each of 510a and 530a is closer to one of the balls B1 now placed in diagonally opposite corner of 300,110, than to one of the left side B1 balls of 300, paragraphs [74-85] as depicted in Figs. 2-5, due to modification with Lim as noted above, see Fig. 6, paragraphs [47-54]).
Hence, the limitation under issue (1) is that taught in the combination of Lee and Lim. Namely, as a result of placing left and right side balls B1 in diagonally opposite corners of the carrier and housing 300, 110, one set of balls B1 is in the corner closer to magnets 510a, 530a, while the other balls are in diagonally opposite corner of 300,110 and thus further from 510a, 530a, (see Lee paragraphs [74-85] Figs. 2-5, due to modification with Lim Fig. 6, paragraphs [47-54]). Applicant’s arguments and statements regarding issue (1) and teachings of Lee and Lim references are not found persuasive.
No additional substantial arguments were presented in the remarks date 04/02/2026 after page 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Min et al. (hereafter Min, of record) US 20240040253 A1 (e.g. Figs. 6-8) and Ushioda US 20190196137 A1 (Figs. 4, 6) also disclose features of the claimed invention of diagonal placement of ball bearings in the base housing.
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872