DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao (“Synthesis of Porous Materials and Their Applications in Electrochemistry and Additive Manufacturing,” Ph.D. Thesis, University of Minnesota, 12/2020, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 7. Xiao teaches a slurry comprising:
a solid component comprising:
an electrochemically active material (P116);
an electrically conductive material (P116); and
a binder (P116); and
a liquid component (P116, implied, roll-to-roll production using a dispersion) comprising an organic sublimable material (P116, camphene), wherein the electrochemically active material and the electrically conductive material are different (P116), and the solid component is dispersed in the liquid component (P116).
Re Claim 8. Xiao teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a lithium iron phosphate, a lithium titanium oxide, a nickel cobalt manganese oxide, a lithium cobalt oxide (P116).
Re Claim 9. Xiao teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a metal oxide (P116) and an electron-conducting carbon based material (P116); wherein the electron-conducting carbon based material comprises carbon nanotubes (P116).
Re Claim 10. Xiao teaches wherein the electrically conductive material comprises one or more of carbon black, carbon nanotubes (P116).
Re Claim 11. Xiao teaches wherein the binder comprises a thermoplastic polymer; wherein the thermoplastic polymer comprises a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene copolymer (P116).
Re Claim 12. Xiao teaches wherein the organic sublimable material comprises one or more of a terpene (P116, camphene).
Re Claim 13. Xiao teaches wherein the terpene comprises one or more of camphene (P116).
Re Claim 17. Xiao teaches wherein the slurry is free of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (P116).
Claim(s) 7-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiang et al. (US 2012/0315538 A1, hereinafter Chiang).
Re Claim 7. Chiang teaches a slurry (para. 63) comprising:
a solid component comprising:
an electrochemically active material (para. 31, 63 & 98-100);
an electrically conductive material (para. 104); and
a binder (para. 74 & 104); and
a liquid component comprising an organic sublimable material (para. 63), wherein the electrochemically active material and the electrically conductive material are different (para. 31, 63 & 98-100 compared with para. 74), and the solid component is dispersed in the liquid component (para. 63).
Re Claim 8. Chiang teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a lithium cobalt oxide, and a sodium manganese oxide (para. 31, 63 & 98-100).
Re Claim 9. Chiang teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a metal oxide (para. 31, 63 & 98-100) and an electron-conducting carbon based material; wherein the electron-conducting carbon based material comprises one or more of graphite, carbon nanotubes (para. 100).
Re Claim 10. Chiang teaches wherein the electrically conductive material comprises one or more of carbon black (para. 104).
Re Claim 11. Chiang teaches wherein the binder comprises a thermoplastic polymer; wherein the thermoplastic polymer comprises one or more of a polyolefin (para. 104).
Re Claim 12. Chiang teaches wherein the organic sublimable material comprises one or more of a terpene (para. 63).
Re Claim 13. Chiang teaches wherein the terpene comprises one or more of camphene, (para. 63).
Re Claim 17. Chiang teaches wherein the slurry is free of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (para. 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao.
The teachings of Xiao have been discussed above.
Re Claim 14. Xiao fails to specifically teach that a weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component is in a range of about 2:1 to about 4:1.
However, as Xiao teaches that finding the appropriate composition should be done (p116), one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component.
Re Claim 15. Xiao teaches wherein the solid component comprises: about 70 wt% to about 90 wt% of the electrochemically active material (P30, 92.5% LFP); about 5 wt% to about 20 wt% of the electrically conductive material (5% Super P); and about 1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the binder (2.5% Kraton).
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) See MPEP 2144.05, I.
Re Claim 16. Xiao fails to specifically teach that a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Xiao to have a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material, to prevent premature sublimation of the organic sublimable material and to ensure the organic sublimable material are dispersed evenly in the slurry.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang.
The teachings of Chiang have been discussed above.
Re Claim 14. Chiang fails to specifically teach that a weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component is in a range of about 2:1 to about 4:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang, as one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component, which would disperse solid content evenly in a slurry.
Re Claim 15. Chiang teaches wherein the solid component comprises: about 70 wt% to about 90 wt% of the electrochemically active material (Table 1, 84.53 %); and about 1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the binder (9.02%), but fails to specifically teach that about 5 wt% to about 20 wt% of the electrically conductive material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang, as one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum amount of the electrically conductive material, to control porosity.
Re Claim 16. Chiang fails to specifically teach that a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang to have a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material, to prevent premature sublimation of the organic sublimable material and to ensure the organic sublimable material are dispersed evenly in the slurry.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5 of remark, regarding claim 1, applicant argued that Xiao is not a prior art, since it was not published until 2/9/2023 by ProQuest, due to embargo request.
The examiner disagrees with this because University of Minnesota website (https://conservancy.umn.edu/items/2eb0630b-469b-4825-841d-72fc5716e742) clearly states that the thesis was published on December 2020.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly cited reference, Chiang addresses the claims.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
2/19/2026