DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US 2012/0315538 A1, hereinafter Chiang, previously cited).
Re Claim 7. Chiang teaches a slurry (para. 63) comprising:
a solid component comprising:
an electrochemically active material (para. 31, 63 & 98-100);
an electrically conductive material (para. 104); and
a binder (para. 74 & 104); and
a liquid component comprising an organic sublimable material (para. 63), wherein the electrochemically active material and the electrically conductive material are different (para. 31, 63 & 98-100 compared with para. 74), and the solid component is dispersed in the liquid component (para. 63).
Chiang fails to specifically teach that a weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component is in a range of about 2:1 to about 4:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang, as one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component, which would disperse solid content evenly in a slurry.
Re Claim 8. Chiang teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a lithium cobalt oxide, and a sodium manganese oxide (para. 31, 63 & 98-100).
Re Claim 9. Chiang teaches wherein the electrochemically active material comprises one or more of a metal oxide (para. 31, 63 & 98-100) and an electron-conducting carbon based material; wherein the electron-conducting carbon based material comprises one or more of graphite, carbon nanotubes (para. 100).
Re Claim 10. Chiang teaches wherein the electrically conductive material comprises one or more of carbon black (para. 104).
Re Claim 11. Chiang teaches wherein the binder comprises a thermoplastic polymer; wherein the thermoplastic polymer comprises one or more of a polyolefin (para. 104).
Re Claim 12. Chiang teaches wherein the organic sublimable material comprises one or more of a terpene (para. 63).
Re Claim 13. Chiang teaches wherein the terpene comprises one or more of camphene, (para. 63).
Re Claim 15. Chiang teaches wherein the solid component comprises: about 70 wt% to about 90 wt% of the electrochemically active material (Table 1, 84.53 %); and about 1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the binder (9.02%), but fails to specifically teach that about 5 wt% to about 20 wt% of the electrically conductive material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang, as one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum amount of the electrically conductive material, to control porosity.
Re Claim 16. Chiang fails to specifically teach that a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Chiang to have a temperature of the slurry exceeds a melting point of the organic sublimable material, to prevent premature sublimation of the organic sublimable material and to ensure the organic sublimable material are dispersed evenly in the slurry.
Re Claim 17. Chiang teaches wherein the slurry is free of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (para. 63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, regarding claim 1, applicant argued that Chiang does not disclose liquid component is an organic sublimable material.
The examiner disagrees with this because Chiang explicitly discloses that liquid component is terpene (para. 63), which applicant discloses as an organic sublimable material.
On page 8, regarding claim 1, applicant argued that Chiang employs different manufacturing process compared with the instant application, and does not provide any motivation to use the specific slurry composition of claim 1.
The examiner disagrees with this because weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component in the slurry determining how well the solid component is distributed in the slurry is common sense. Therefore, one would perform routine experimentation to find optimum weight ratio of the liquid component to the solid component, which would disperse solid content evenly in a slurry.
In response to applicant's argument that the claimed slurry provides high porosities while preserving film integrity, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
6/5/2026