Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al (US 20210329596 A1) hereinafter as Freda in view of Babaei et al (USP 11153060 B2) hereinafter as Babaei.
Regarding claim(s) 1,9,17, Freda discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device from a base station, a system information block (See ¶ 70, The resource pool configuration or resource pools may be semi-statically or dynamically signaled to WTRUs via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or system information broadcasting (e.g., SIB).) comprising:
radio resources of a sidelink resource pool (See ¶ 70-71 the SIB has resource pools indicated by gNB in one SIB message…the term resource pool may refer to one or more sets of radio resources.);
an indication that wireless device assisted resource selection is enabled for the sidelink resource pool (See ¶ 168-169), wherein the wireless device assisted resource selection is associated with excluding one or more resources of the sidelink resource pool (See ¶ 180-182, The criteria may include, but are not limited to: excluding resources for which another WTRU's SCI is detected and reserves the same or a subset of the resources);
receiving by the first wireless device, a configuration message indicating one or more first resources from the sidelink resource pool (See ¶ 142, A WTRU may determine one or more transmission configuration based on the reception configuration in which the other WTRU's transmissions were received/measured (e.g., with certain quality);
selecting, by the first wireless device based on a result of a sidelink sensing operation of the first wireless device that excludes the one or more first resources from candidate resources, one or more second resources from the candidate resources in the sidelink resource pool (See ¶ 180-181, excluding resources for which another WTRU's SCI is detected and reserves resources adjacent (in time/frequency/beam) to the said resources…. A WTRU may further perform such exclusion as long as the amount of available resources is sufficient for resource selection among those available resources.
Freda fails to disclose – transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device, one or more transport blocks via one or more transmission resources of the one or more second resources selected by the first wireless device.
Babaei discloses - transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device, one or more transport blocks via one or more transmission resources of the one or more second resources selected by the first wireless device (See ¶ .. 464-466. the wireless device may select, as selected resources for transmission, one of the first resources (e.g., corresponding to data or a transport block, e.g., based on a dynamic grant or a configured grant) or the second resources (e.g., corresponding to the SP-CSI signal) based on one or more selection criteria).
Transport block allows for user data traffic via sidelink allows for direct communication between two devices without the participation of a base station and thus reduction in overhead.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Babaei within Ganesan, whereby transport block allows for user data traffic via sidelink allows for direct communication between two devices without the participation of a base station and thus reduction in overhead.
Regarding claim(s) 2, 10, 18, Freda discloses wherein the first wireless device and the second wireless device belong to a group (See ¶ 136, The mapping may be determined by a destination address or similar ID identifying the receiving WTRU, group of WTRUs).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 11, 19, Freda discloses, wherein a the one or more first resources are a subset of resource pool and number of subsets in the resource pool is based on a number of members in the group (See ¶ 180, 198,The criteria may include, but are not limited to: excluding resources for which another WTRU's SCI is detected and reserves the same or a subset of the resources.).
Regarding claim(s) 4, 12, 20, Freda discloses wherein the group is a unicast group or a groupcast group (See ¶ ..198).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 13, Freda discloses wherein the sensing operation comprises comparing measurements to a threshold to determine whether a corresponding candidate resource is to be excluded. (See ¶ .70, 180, excluding resources for which another WTRU's SCI is detected and reserves resources adjacent (in time/frequency/beam) to the said resources; and use of a more stringent threshold for comparison of PSCCH RSRP for certain values of the range/reliability.).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Freda discloses wherein measurement results of sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) are used in the sensing operation. (See ¶ 103, The WTRU may use sensing results, such as RSSI, RSRP of scheduling assignment).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 15, Freda discloses wherein the receiving of the configuration message is based on the wireless device assisted resource selection being enabled (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 168 A WTRU may further enable/disable sensing operation (e.g., performed by lower layers) based on upper layer indication that a specific service is enabled/disabled or may/may not generate data to be transmitted for a certain period of time.).
Regarding claim(s) 8, 16, Freda discloses wherein the configuration message is received via a sidelink radio resource control message (RRC), a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or sidelink control information (SCI) (See ¶ 70 Pool configuration may be carried via a System Information Block (SIB) and/or dedicated RRC signaling.).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Freda discloses wherein the one or more transmission resources are based on the configuration message (See ¶ 70,109, The resource pool configuration or resource pools may be semi-statically or dynamically signaled to WTRUs via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or system information broadcasting (e.g., SIB).
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411