DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS59-044184U in view of Usui [US 2006/0158908 A1].
Regarding claim 1, JPS59-044184U discloses a transformer [T, figure 1] comprising:
a primary winding [N1];
a plurality of secondary windings [N01, N02, N03] to generate voltages different from a voltage applied to the primary winding and to be connected to different loads [RL1, RL2, RL3], respectively; and
a bobbin [figure 2] on which the primary winding and the plurality of secondary windings are wound in layers therearound; wherein the plurality of secondary windings includes a feedback winding [N01, N02, N03] to feed back an output voltage thereof to a feedback circuit operable to perform feedback from a secondary winding side to a primary winding side, and a non-feedback winding [N01, N02, N03] other than the feedback winding; wherein the primary winding, the feedback winding, and the non-feedback winding have substantially equal winding widths in an axial direction of the bobbin [figure 2].
JPS59-044184U disclose the instant claimed invention except for barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer.
Usui discloses a transformer [5, figure 8] comprising:
- a bobbin [5l];
- a magnetic core [5g, 5h] having leg [5k] arranged inside hole of the bobbin;
- a plurality of coils [5a, 5b, 5c] wound around the bobbin;
- barrier tapes [5p] proved at both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin and the radially extending portion of the bobbin so as to contact with both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin to ensure a creepage distance for insulation between the coils; and
- insulating tapes [5q] respectively provided between the coils and extending between adjacent barrier tapes to insulate the coils from each other.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer of JPS59-044184U, as suggested by Usui for the purpose of improving insulation.
Regarding claims 2-3, JPS59-044184U discloses the primary winding, the feedback winding, and the non-feedback winding have substantially the same end positions in the axial direction of the bobbin [figure 2], wherein the non-feedback winding includes a plurality of non- feedback windings [N01, N02, N03]; the plurality of non-feedback windings includes a first non-feedback winding to be connected to a first load so as to output a voltage with first accuracy, and a second non-feedback winding to be connected to a second load so as to output a voltage with second accuracy lower than the first accuracy; and the first non-feedback winding is wound in a layer around the bobbin so as to be closer to the feedback winding than the second non-feedback winding in a radial direction of the bobbin [figure 1].
Regarding claims 4-5, JPS59-044184U discloses the first non-feedback winding is wound in a layer around the bobbin so as to be adjacent to the feedback winding in the radial direction of the bobbin [figure 2], wherein the first non-feedback winding includes a plurality of first non-feedback windings; and the feedback winding is wound in a layer around the bobbin so as to be adjacent to the plurality of first non-feedback windings on opposite sides in the radial direction of the bobbin [figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 8, JPS59-044184U discloses a power supply/converter [figure 1] comprising:
- a transformer including a primary winding [N1],
- a plurality of secondary windings [N01, N02, N03] to generate voltages different from a voltage applied to the primary winding and to be connected to different loads, respectively, and a bobbin on which the primary winding and the plurality of secondary windings are wound in layers therearound; and
a feedback circuit [figure 1] to perform feedback from a secondary winding side to a primary winding side; wherein the plurality of secondary windings includes a feedback winding [N01, N02, N03] to feed back an output voltage thereof to the feedback circuit, and a non-feedback winding [N01, N02, N03] other than the feedback winding; and the primary winding, the feedback winding, and the non- feedback winding have substantially equal winding widths in an axial direction of the bobbin [figure 2].
JPS59-044184U disclose the instant claimed invention except for barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer.
Usui discloses a transformer [5, figure 8] comprising:
- a bobbin [5l];
- a magnetic core [5g, 5h] having leg [5k] arranged inside hole of the bobbin;
- a plurality of coils [5a, 5b, 5c] wound around the bobbin;
- barrier tapes [5p] proved at both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin and the radially extending portion of the bobbin so as to contact with both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin to ensure a creepage distance for insulation between the coils; and
- insulating tapes [5q] respectively provided between the coils and extending between adjacent barrier tapes to insulate the coils from each other.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer of JPS59-044184U, as suggested by Usui for the purpose of improving insulation.
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamune [JP 2007-403811A or US 2007/0030404 A1] in view of Usui [US 2006/0158908 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Nagamune discloses a power supply [Figure 1] comprising:
- a transformer including a plurality of primary winding [P1, P2],
- a plurality of secondary windings [Sn, S1, S2, S3] to generate voltages different from a voltage applied to the primary winding and to be connected to different loads, respectively, and a bobbin on which the primary winding and the plurality of secondary windings are wound in layers therearound; and
a feedback circuit [5] to perform feedback from a secondary winding side to a primary winding side; wherein the plurality of secondary windings includes a feedback winding [Sn, S1, S2, S3] to feed back an output voltage thereof to the feedback circuit, and a non-feedback winding [Sn, S1, S2, S3] other than the feedback winding; and the primary winding, the feedback winding, and the non- feedback winding have substantially equal winding widths in an axial direction of the bobbin [figure 2].
Nagamune discloses the instant claimed invention except for barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer.
Usui discloses a transformer [5, figure 8] comprising:
- a bobbin [5l];
- a magnetic core [5g, 5h] having leg [5k] arranged inside hole of the bobbin;
- a plurality of coils [5a, 5b, 5c] wound around the bobbin;
- barrier tapes [5p] proved at both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin and the radially extending portion of the bobbin so as to contact with both ends of each of the coils in the axial direction of the bobbin to ensure a creepage distance for insulation between the coils; and
- insulating tapes [5q] respectively provided between the coils and extending between adjacent barrier tapes to insulate the coils from each other.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include barrier tapes and insulating tapes in the transformer of Nagamune, as suggested by Usui for the purpose of improving insulation.
Regarding claims 6-7, Nagamune discloses the primary winding includes a primary first winding portion [P1] and a primary second winding portion [P2] arranged in a layer different from a layer of the primary first winding portion; and the feedback winding and the non-feedback winding [S1, S2, S3] are wound in layers around the bobbin so as to be sandwiched between the primary first winding portion and the primary second winding portion in a radial direction of the bobbin [figure 2], wherein the non-feedback winding includes a plurality of non- feedback windings [S1, S2, S3] and the feedback winding is wound in a layer around the bobbin
so as to be sandwiched between the primary first winding portion and the primary second winding portion and sandwiched between the plurality of non-feedback windings in the radial direction of the bobbin [figure 2].
Regarding claim 10, Nagamune further discloses the non-feedback windings with at least one of the non-feedback windings include first winding/portion and second winding/portion [Sn, S1, S2, S3] wherein the primary first winding [P1], the first portion of the non-feedback winding [Sn], the second portion of the non-feedback winding [S1] and the primary second winding {p2] around in layers around the bobbin and aligned. The specific order arrangement of the windings would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different magnetic flux/field and/or desire inductances.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS59-044184U in view of Usui as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Nagamune.
JPS59-044184U in view of Usui disclose the instant claimed invention except for the primary winding formed of first and second portions.
Nagamune discloses the primary winding including first and second winding portions [P1, P2], wherein the first primary winding portion arranged in the innermost of the bobbin and the second primary winding portion arrange in the outer of the bobbin [figure 2].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the primary design and/or arrangement of Nagamune in JPS59-044184U, as modified, for the purpose of controlling leakage reactance and/or flux/field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837