DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is taken in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 03/12/2026 regarding Application No. 18/112,258 originally filed on 02/21/2023. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-13 and 15 are pending for consideration:
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior rejection improperly separated the conditions of “(i) an SOC difference between respective SOCs of at least two of the plurality of batteries reaching a difference threshold, (ii) the external charger being disconnected from the robot, and (iii) the robot operating the at least one motor” from the action of controlling the second switch such that a high-SOC source battery charges a low-SOC recipient battery. Applicant further argues that Kim does not perform the charge transfer based on those conditions. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The present rejection does not rely on Kim alone for the full conditional operation. Kim is relied upon for the battery pack, switches, SOC-based battery management, and movement of electrical energy between battery units. Stanek is relied upon for operating-state-based connection control while the vehicle is not plugged into an external charger and while the vehicle is being driven. In particular, Stanek teaches that discharge phase 82 and maintain phase 84 occur while the electric vehicle is being driven and not plugged into the grid, and that when the auxiliary battery reaches a minimum SOC, controller 64 controls converter 56 to electrically connect the traction battery to the auxiliary battery so that the traction battery supplies electrical energy to charge or maintain the auxiliary battery (¶46, ¶49-¶50, ¶56). Therefore, under the combined teachings, the second switch/control path is controlled based on battery charge state, charger-disconnected operation, and motor-driven operation. Applicant’s argument against Kim individually is therefore not persuasive because the rejection relies on the combined teachings of Kim, Kang, and Stanek, not Kim alone.
Applicant argues that Mountz does not disclose that the source battery is dedicated to one component and does not supply electric energy to another component. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mountz teaches separate power domains in a mobile robotic tray. Mountz discloses that “a control battery 125 and a drive battery 126 provide the electrical power for operating the electrical systems 122 and drive motors 123 and 124” (¶27), and further discloses a microprocessor-based mobile inventory tray and motor controller for left and right drive motors (¶26-¶27, Fig. 3). Under a broad but reasonable interpretation, the control battery powering the electrical/control systems and the drive battery powering the drive motors teaches or at least suggests batteries dedicated to different robot components. The claim does not require the word “dedicated” to appear in the reference, nor does it require a particular circuit isolation structure beyond the recited functional power arrangement. Therefore, Mountz teaches or suggests the claimed separate battery/component dedication.
Applicant further argues that the prior Snyder mapping did not disclose controlling the second switch “based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery.” This argument is moot as to Snyder because the present rejection no longer relies on Snyder for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery.” It is unclear whether the claimed threshold is a threshold SOC difference, a threshold current flowing from the source battery to the recipient battery, or some other threshold. An SOC difference and a current threshold are different physical quantities. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear. Due to dependence on claim(s) 1 and 9, the dependent claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. No. 20160156202) in view of Kang (US Pat. No. 10944278) in view of Stanek (US Pub. No. 20110168462) in view of Mountz (US Pub. No. 20040010339) in further view of Kutkut (US Pub. No. 6150795).
As per Claim 1, Kim discloses a battery pack, comprising:
a plurality of batteries; (as per "a battery pack may include a plurality of battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7," in ¶36)
a first switch configured to connect one of the plurality of the batteries to an external charger; (as per "Some of the switch units SW1, SW3, SW5, and SW7 included at the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7, respectively, may be coupled to one end of the DC-DC converter 20." in ¶38, as per “the DC-DC converter 20 may supply a direct current (DC) power of the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7 to a direct current (DC) link by converting the DC power into a DC power having a different level, or by converting the DC power from the DC link into DC power having a proper level for the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7, such that the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7 may be charged” in ¶40, as per “The battery pack may also include an input/output terminal unit for supplying power of the battery pack as an external load or for receiving power from an external power source.” in ¶45)
a second switch configured to selectively connect between the plurality of batteries; (as per “The switch units SW1 to SW8 according to an embodiment may be included at anode terminals of the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7,…” in ¶38, as per "Particularly, charging and discharging may be controlled by moving electrical energy between respective ones of the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7." in ¶41”, as per Fig. 1)
a memory to store at least one instruction; (¶33) and
one or more processors configured to be connected to the memory to control a robot; (¶33)
a plurality of motors for manipulating at least one of a wheel, a robot leg, a robot arm, a robot hand, or a robot finger, (as per “while large capacity batteries may be used as a power source for driving motors, such as in hybrid or electric vehicles. If long term driving or high electric power driving is required, a large capacity battery module includes a plurality of electrically coupled battery cells to increase output and capacity. A battery module may increase output voltage or output current depending on the number of internally mounted battery cells. A battery pack may be constructed by electronically coupling a plurality of such battery modules” in ¶6)
wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively,
Kim fails to expressly disclose wherein:
based on the external charger being connected to the robot, control the first switch such that at least one battery of the plurality of batteries is selectively charged based on respective SOCs of the plurality of batteries, and then remaining batteries of the plurality of batteries are charged, and
based on: (i) an SOC difference between respective SOCs of at least two of the plurality of batteries reaching a difference threshold, (ii) the external charger being disconnected from the robot, and (iii) the robot operating the at least one motor, control the second switch such that a source battery having a high relative SOC among the plurality of batteries charges a recipient battery having a low relative SOC among the plurality of batteries,
wherein the source battery is dedicated to at least one first component and does not supply electric energy to at least one second component, and the recipient battery is dedicated to the at least one second component and does not supply electric energy to the at least one first component,
wherein (i) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the one or more processors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors, or (ii) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the one or more processors,
receive SOC information of each battery of the plurality of batteries,
based on the SOC information, control the first switch to connect the external charger with a first battery having a low relative SOC among the plurality of batteries, to thereby charge the first battery, and
after the first battery is charged, control the first switch to connect the external charger with a second battery having a higher SOC than the first battery among the plurality of batteries, to thereby charge the second battery, and
wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, causes the robot to based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery, control the second switch to disconnect the source battery and the recipient battery.
Kang discloses of a large-format battery management system comprising:
based on the external charger being connected to the robot, (as per “if charger (typically external to the battery system) is sensed via a CAN bus, the battery system enters the charging state.” in C19L35-40) control the first switch such that at least one battery of the plurality of batteries is selectively charged based on respective SOCs of the plurality of batteries, and then remaining batteries of the plurality of batteries are charged, (as per “After obtaining the SoC values of the battery packs in a battery system, a subset of the battery packs may be grouped into a lower SoC group at block 1701. For example, the obtained SoC values (e.g., SoC readings) may be sorted into various levels, e.g., based on predetermined ranges. Those battery packs having the lowest SoC values may be grouped into the lowest level” in C23L35-45, as per “The battery packs of the group with the lowest levels of SoC can be enabled for charging at block 1703, e.g., facilitating the charging of the battery packs having the lowest level of SoC” in C23L60-66)
receive SOC information of each battery of the plurality of batteries, (as per “when the master battery pack determines that there are a sufficient number of battery packs, the master battery pack gathers battery pack information (for example, SoC, SoH, and voltage information) from each of the slave battery packs as well as for itself at block 710” in C17L20-30)
based on the SOC information, control the first switch to connect the external charger with a first battery having a low relative SOC among the plurality of batteries, to thereby charge the first battery, (as per “After obtaining the SoC values of the battery packs in a battery system, a subset of the battery packs may be grouped into a lower SoC group at block 1701. For example, the obtained SoC values (e.g., SoC readings) may be sorted into various levels, e.g., based on predetermined ranges. Those battery packs having the lowest SoC values may be grouped into the lowest level” in C23L35-45, as per “The battery packs of the group with the lowest levels of SoC can be enabled for charging at block 1703, e.g., facilitating the charging of the battery packs having the lowest level of SoC” in C23L60-66, as per “For example, as shown in FIG. 16, battery packs 1602a and 1603a, which each have lower SoC's (e.g., 20% and 20%, respectively) than other battery packs, may be charged earlier (e.g., before the other battery packs) until a set threshold can be reached at which a batter pack with a higher SoC (e.g., battery pack 1604b) can be charged. Prioritizing the charging of battery packs with lower SoC's before the charging of battery packs with higher SoC's may be necessary, e.g., because otherwise, charging the higher battery pack with the higher SoC first may cause a fast in-rush electrical current to the lower SOC pack” in C23L5-20)
after the first battery is charged, control the first switch to connect the external charger with a second battery having a higher SOC than the first battery among the plurality of batteries, to thereby charge the second battery, (as per “When the SoC values of the charged battery packs reach the SoC threshold, as determined at block 1704, process 1700 may include determining whether to enlarge the list (e.g., the “Lower SoC Packs” list of step 1701) for subsequent charging at block 1705. The determination of whether to enlarge the list may be based on whether there is significant variability in to SoC of the battery packs (e.g., whether the SoC variability of the battery packs satisfies an SoC variability threshold), as will be described further in relation to FIG. 18C” in C24L1-15, as per “The enlarged list may include an updated group of one or more battery packs with the lowest level of SoC values (e.g., battery packs 1802a, 1803a, 18004a) and an updated group of one or more battery packs with a higher level of SoC values (e.g., battery pack 1805a)” in C24L55-65)
In this way, Kang operates to provide improved efficiency, and provide a better user experience than previous battery technologies (C3L20-25). Like Kim, Kang is concerned with battery technology.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the battery pack unit as taught by Kim with the battery management system of Kang to enable another standard means of charging batteries based on the SOC levels (C23L5-20).
Kim and Kang fail to expressly disclose:
based on: (i) an SOC difference between respective SOCs of at least two of the plurality of batteries reaching a difference threshold, (ii) the external charger being disconnected from the robot, and (iii) the robot operating the at least one motor, control the second switch such that a source battery having a high relative SOC among the plurality of batteries charges a recipient battery having a low relative SOC among the plurality of batteries,
wherein the source battery is dedicated to at least one first component and does not supply electric energy to at least one second component, and the recipient battery is dedicated to the at least one second component and does not supply electric energy to the at least one first component,
wherein (i) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the one or more processors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors, or (ii) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the one or more processors,
wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, causes the robot to based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery, control the second switch to disconnect the source battery and the recipient battery.
Stanek discloses of control for active auxiliary battery depletion, comprising:
based on: (i) an SOC difference between respective SOCs of at least two of the plurality of batteries reaching a difference threshold, (as per “At the beginning of discharge phase 82, auxiliary battery 48 has a SOC greater than a minimum auxiliary battery (AB) SOC. (It is assumed that auxiliary battery 48 has been charged to have a SOC greater than the minimum AB SOC prior to the commencement of discharge phase 82.) The minimum AB SOC is the minimum SOC that auxiliary battery 48 can have in order to adequately provide electrical energy to accessory loads 50.” in ¶48, as per “. Once the SOC of auxiliary battery 48 reaches the minimum AB SOC, controller 64 controls the operation converter 56 in order for the method to proceed from discharge phase 82 to maintain phase 84” in ¶49) (ii) the external charger being disconnected from the robot (as per “Discharge phase 82 occurs while the electric vehicle is being driven (i.e., while the vehicle is not plugged into grid 38). Discharge phase 82 begins with a controller (e.g., controller 64) controlling converter 56 to electrically disconnect traction battery 14 from auxiliary battery 48. Accordingly, during discharge phase 82, electrical energy from traction battery 14 is used for vehicle propulsion and possibly for HV auxiliary loads 66 while electrical energy from auxiliary battery is used for accessory loads 50.” in ¶46, as per “Maintain phase 84 also occurs while the electric vehicle is being driven (i.e., while the vehicle is not plugged into grid 38). Maintain phase 84 begins with controller 64 controlling converter 56 to electrically connect traction battery 14 to auxiliary battery 48. (Again, controller 64 sets the DC-DC output voltage set-point of converter 56 to an appropriate different value.)” in ¶50), and (iii) the robot operating the at least one motor (as per “during discharge phase 82, electrical energy from traction battery 14 is used for vehicle propulsion and possibly for HV auxiliary loads 66 while electrical energy from auxiliary battery is used for accessory loads 50” in ¶46), control the second switch such that a source battery having a high relative SOC among the plurality of batteries charges a recipient battery having a low relative SOC among the plurality of batteries, (as per “Maintain phase 84 begins with controller 64 controlling converter 56 to electrically connect traction battery 14 to auxiliary battery 48. (Again, controller 64 sets the DC-DC output voltage set-point of converter 56 to an appropriate different value.) Accordingly, during maintain phase 84, electrical energy from traction battery 14 is used for vehicle propulsion, possibly for HV auxiliary loads 66, and for charging auxiliary battery 48. Traction battery 14 can supply electrical energy to auxiliary battery 48 (via converter 56) as traction battery 14 is electrically connected to auxiliary battery 48 during maintain phase 84” in ¶50, as per “Once the SOC of auxiliary battery 48 reaches the minimum AB SOC, controller 64 controls converter 56 to electrically connect traction battery 14 to auxiliary battery 48 as shown in block 102. In turn, in addition to discharging for vehicle propulsion, traction battery 14 discharges to auxiliary battery 48 to maintain the SOC of auxiliary battery 48 at the minimum AB SOC as shown in block 104. Blocks 102 and 104 represent activities during maintain phase 84.” in ¶56, as per “Controller 52 is operable with converter 56 to selectively electrically connect traction battery 14 with auxiliary battery 48 and to selectively electrically disconnect traction battery 14 from auxiliary battery 48.” in ¶31)
In this way, Stanek operates to disconnect a traction battery from an auxiliary battery while the vehicle is being driven and not plugged into the grid, and later electrically connect the traction battery to the auxiliary battery when the auxiliary battery SOC reaches a minimum SOC so that the traction battery supplies electrical energy to charge or maintain the auxiliary battery while the vehicle continues propulsion (¶46, ¶49-¶50, ¶56). Like Kim and Kang, Stanek is concerned with managing electrical energy between batteries in a battery-powered vehicle system.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the battery pack unit as taught by Kim and the battery management system of Kang with the operating-state-based battery connection control of Stanek to enable another standard means of transferring electrical energy between batteries while the vehicle or robot is operating and not connected to an external charger. Such modification also allows the system to maintain charge in a lower-SOC auxiliary battery from a traction battery during operation, thereby extending usable operating time while propulsion loads continue to be supplied (¶46, ¶50, ¶56).
Kim, Kang, and Stanek fail to expressly disclose:
wherein the source battery is dedicated to at least one first component and does not supply electric energy to at least one second component, and the recipient battery is dedicated to the at least one second component and does not supply electric energy to the at least one first component,
wherein (i) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the one or more processors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors, or (ii) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the one or more processors,
wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, causes the robot to based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery, control the second switch to disconnect the source battery and the recipient battery.
Mountz discloses of a material handling system and method using mobile autonomous inventory trays and peer-to-peer communications, comprising:
wherein the source battery is dedicated to at least one first component and does not supply electric energy to at least one second component, and the recipient battery is dedicated to the at least one second component and does not supply electric energy to the at least one first component, (as per “A control battery 125 and a drive battery 126 provide the electrical power for operating the electrical systems 122 and drive motors 123 and 124. The mobile inventory tray may move to and couple with charging stations (not shown) as needed to replenish the battery power” in ¶27, as per Fig. 3)
wherein (i) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the one or more processors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors, or (ii) the at least one first component comprises at least one of the plurality of motors and the at least one second component comprises at least one of the one or more processors, (as per “The mobile inventory tray subsystem may be implemented as a computer-based (i.e., microprocessor-based) device” in ¶26, as per “A motor controller 122 controls the movement of the mobile inventory tray in response to drive movement commands received from microprocessor 121. Motor controller 122 is coupled to provide pulse signals to a left motor 123 and a right motor 124” in ¶27, as per Fig. 3)
In this way, Mountz operates to provide a mobile robotic tray having separate power domains (i.e., a control battery for control/electrical systems and a drive battery for the drive motors) to improve operational reliability of the robotic platform while the motors are being driven and the control electronics remain powered (¶27, Fig. 3). Like Kim, Kang, and Stanek, Mountz is concerned with battery-powered robotic/vehicle systems (¶26-27).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, and Stanek in view of Mountz to enable another standard means of dedicating a first battery to processor/control electronics and a second battery to motor/drive loads, because Mountz expressly teaches using a control battery to power the electrical/control systems and a separate drive battery to power the drive motors (¶27, Fig. 3).
Kim, Kang, Stanek, and Mountz fail to expressly disclose wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, causes the robot to:
based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery, control the second switch to disconnect the source battery and the recipient battery.
Kutkut discloses of modular battery charge equalizers, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, causes the robot to:
based on the SOC difference reaching a predetermined first current threshold while the source battery charges the recipient battery, control the second switch to disconnect the source battery and the recipient battery. (as per “Preferably, the controller is turned on when the voltage on one of the batteries in the pair exceeds the voltage on the other battery by a selected value, and turns on and off the one of the first and second switching devices which is connected around the battery with a higher voltage level, such that when the switching device is turned on current flows from the more highly charged battery through the switching device and the primary winding of the transformer to which the switching device is connected, and is coupled to the secondary causing current flow through the secondary winding. The transformer polarity is set such that the diode on the secondary side is forced into condition, thereby transferring charge to the lower voltage battery.” in C5-6 L55-5, as per “During mode A, the voltage difference control level, V.sub.diff, which is proportional to the voltage difference between the two series modules across which the equalizer is connected, is quite high causing the charge equalizer to run at full power. This is shown by the fact that the charging current, I.sub.ch, is at its maximum limit, namely, I.sub.limit. With time, the voltage difference between the two batteries is reduced due to the equalization action, thus reducing the V.sub.diff control level. When the voltage difference control level V.sub.diff becomes lower than I.sub.limit, the charging current I.sub.ch will be directly controlled and modulated by V.sub.diff as shown during mode B. In fact, the average value of the charging current will be the same as V.sub.diff. When V.sub.diff is reduced to a level that is lower than the threshold level set by V.sub.d, the charge equalization is terminated as shown during mode C.” in C16L35-55, as per “If V.sub.m is exceeded, the equalizer module is run at full capacity until the difference is brought down to the linear range (i.e., between V.sub.d and V.sub.m).” in C16L20-30)
In this way, Kutkut operates to transfer charge from a more highly charged battery to a lesser charged battery using controllable switching devices, and to reduce or terminate charge equalization when the battery voltage difference and corresponding charging current are reduced below selected threshold levels (C5-C6, L55-5; C16, L20-55). Like Kim, Kang, Stanek, and Mountz, Kutkut is concerned with managing charge transfer between batteries to improve battery equalization and operating efficiency.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, Stanek, and Mountz with the threshold-based charge equalization and switch-control arrangement of Kutkut to enable another standard means of controlling and terminating inter-battery charge transfer based on a battery difference/current control condition. Such modification also allows the system to interrupt or disable the charge-transfer path after the batteries approach equalization, thereby reducing unnecessary equalizer operation, battery stress, and charging inefficiency (C16, L35-55; C17, L1-10).
Claim 9 is rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to Claim 1 above, respectively.
As per Claim 13, the combination of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Kim further discloses wherein while the robot is operating, receiving SOC information from the plurality of batteries, and determining the SOC difference based on the SOC information. (as per “The battery management system 30 may calculate a value of a state of charge (SOC) of the battery units using the current, voltage, temperature, and the like of the battery units... battery management system 30 may control charging and discharging of the battery units 1, 3, 5, and 7 referring to the monitoring results or the calculated SOC value. Particularly, charging and discharging may be controlled by moving electrical energy between respective ones of the battery units...” in ¶41)
Claim(s) 3-4 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. No. 20160156202) in view of Kang (US Pat. No. 10944278) in view of Stanek (US Pub. No. 20110168462) in view of Mountz (US Pub. No. 20040010339) in view of Kutkut (US Pub. No. 6150795) in further view of Ono (US Pat. No. 11469601).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut fail to expressly disclose wherein based on the first battery being charged to a predetermined SOC threshold by a constant current (CC) charge method, control the first switch to connect the second battery with the external charger.
Ono discloses of a battery control unit wherein based on the first battery being charged to a predetermined SOC threshold by a constant current (CC) charge method, control the first switch to connect the second battery with the external charger. . (as per "the control unit 6 functions as a charging control unit, switches the charger 7 to the constant current charging (CC), and the batteries 2a to 2c are charged by the constant current charging. When remaining chargeable capacity (Ah) of the battery 2a reaches predetermined charge switching capacity first, the control unit 6 bypasses the battery 2a and continues the constant current charging of the batteries 2b, 2c." in C4, L14-22, Fig. 1)
In this way, Ono operates to charge a plurality of batteries via constant current and constant voltage (C1, L36-42). Like Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut, Ono is concerned with batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut with the battery control unit of Ono to enable another standard means of charging said batteries. Such modification allows the system to shorten charging time (as per “One or more embodiments provide a battery control unit and a battery system capable of shortening the charging time.” [C1 L65-66]).
As per Claim 4, the combination of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 3. Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut fail to expressly disclose wherein:
based on the second battery being charged to the predetermined SOC threshold by the CC charge method, control the first switch to connect the first battery with the external charger, and charge the first battery by a constant voltage (CV) charge method, and
based on the first battery being fully charged by the CV charge method, control the first switch to connect the second battery with the external charger, and fully charge the second battery by the CV charge method.
See Claim 3 for teachings of Ono. Ono further discloses wherein:
based on the second battery being charged to the predetermined SOC threshold by the CC charge method, control the first switch to connect the first battery with the external charger, and charge the first battery by a constant voltage (CV) charge method, (as per “the control unit 6 returns all the batteries 2a to 2c to the connected state, decreases a charging current by the charger 7 until any one of the batteries 2a to 2c reaches the charge end voltage, and switches the charging to the constant voltage charging.” in C4, L29-35)
based on the first battery being fully charged by the CV charge method, control the first switch to connect the second battery with the external charger, and fully charge the second battery by the CV charge method. (as per "the CV charging has to be performed as many times as the number of the batteries 2a to 2c." in C4, L42-46)
In this way, Ono operates to charge a plurality of batteries via constant current and constant voltage (C1, L36-42). Like Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut, Ono is concerned with batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut with the battery control unit of Ono to enable another standard means of charging said batteries. Such modification allows the system to shorten charging time (as per “One or more embodiments provide a battery control unit and a battery system capable of shortening the charging time.” [C1 L65-66]).
Claim 11 is rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to Claim 3 above, respectively.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to Claim 4 above, respectively.
Claim(s) 7 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim (US Pub. No. 20160156202) in view of Kang (US Pat. No. 10944278) in view of Stanek (US Pub. No. 20110168462) in view of Mountz (US Pub. No. 20040010339) in view of Kutkut (US Pub. No. 6150795) in further view of Tachikawa (US Pat. No. 8803481).
As per Claim 7, the combination of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut fail to expressly disclose:
wherein, based on a current flowing to the plurality of batteries having a value greater than or equal to a predetermined second current threshold, the plurality of batteries perform an overcurrent protection function,
wherein the difference threshold is set for the robot such that the value of the current flowing from the source battery to the recipient battery is smaller than the predetermined second current threshold.
Tachikawa discloses of a battery pack, comprising:
wherein, based on a current flowing to the plurality of batteries having a value greater than or equal to a predetermined second current threshold, the plurality of batteries perform an overcurrent protection function, (as per “detecting a charge/discharge current flowing in one or a plurality of secondary batteries connected in series or in parallel” in C3, L10-15, as per “A threshold value indicating an overcurrent detection current with respect to the charge/discharge current is set in advance. The controller compares the charge/discharge current detected by the current detection resistor with the threshold value, and when the detected charge/discharge current is equal to or larger than the threshold value, determines that an overcurrent state is detected and outputs the control signal.” in C2, L51-61)
wherein the difference threshold is set for the robot such that the value of the current flowing from the source battery to the recipient battery is smaller than the predetermined second current threshold. (as per “With regard to the charge/discharge current, an overcurrent detection current is set in advance as a threshold value, and it is determined whether or not the detected charge/discharge current is equal to or larger than the set overcurrent detection current. When the detected charge/discharge current is smaller than the overcurrent detection current, it is determined that a normal charge/discharge current flows, and Step S1 is performed cyclically for every predetermined time.” in C7, L26-39)
In this way, Tachikawa operates to detect current through each secondary battery and detect overcurrent (as per C2 L40-47, C3 L1-5). Like Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut, Tachikawa is concerned with batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut with the battery pack of Tachikawa to enable another standard means of charging said batteries. Such modification allows the system to prevent and accurately detect overcurrent (as per “Thus, it is desirable to provide a battery pack capable of preventing erroneous detection of an overcurrent due to a load rush current and accurately detecting an overcurrent, and a method of controlling a battery pack.” in C2, L19-25).
Claim 15 is rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to Claim 7 above, respectively.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim (US Pub. No. 20160156202) in view of Kang (US Pat. No. 10944278) in view of Stanek (US Pub. No. 20110168462) in view of Mountz (US Pub. No. 20040010339) in view of Kutkut (US Pub. No. 6150795) in further view of Liu (US Pub. No. 20200097006).
As per Claim 8, the combination of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut fail to expressly disclose wherein at least one battery of the plurality of batteries is configured to supply electric energy to a motor of the robot, and at least one other battery of the plurality of batteries is configured to supply electric energy to the at least one processor.
Liu discloses of a robotic device, wherein at least one battery of the plurality of batteries is configured to supply electric energy to a motor of the robot, and at least one other battery of the plurality of batteries is configured to supply electric energy to the at least one processor. (as per “The power module 230 may include one or more batteries that may provide power to various components, including the processor 220, the sensors 240, the payload-securing unit(s) 244, the drive motors coupled to the wheels 202, the output module 250, the input module 260, and the radio module 270.” in C7, L52-59)
In this way, Liu operates to implement a plurality of batteries in a robot (as per C7, L52-59). Like Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut, Liu is concerned with powering devices with batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Kim, Kang, Stanek, Mountz, and Kutkut with the robotic device of Liu to enable another standard means using the plurality of batteries in a robotic application.
Conclusion
/T.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658