DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected and claims 9-20 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
In response to applicants arguments on page 2 that Greig does not disclose or suggest the limiting groove depth to avoid the intermediate fiber layer, the examiner respectfully disagrees as Greig at least discloses that access to the fibers can cause fluid to permeate, bursting the outer layer off the pipe, or collapse the inner pipe, such that Greig explicitly discloses that:
“The coupler 14 stops the butt joint from breaking in service and also protects the fibres protruding to or close to the external surface of the debeaded butt joint from the external environment. If access to the fibres was permitted, pressurized gases and liquids would permeate considerable distances along the fibres by capillary action. High pressure gas within the fibres could lead to disbanding along the reinforced layer. This could result in bursting the outer layer off the pipe or, in the event of pipeline depressurization, collapse of the inner pipe 30” (3:36-45)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Souza et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2016/0279865) in view of Greig (U.S. Patent No. 5,824,179) and in further view of Inaba et al. (WO-2013073540).
In regards to claim 1, Souza discloses:
A pipe joint (see fig. 9) comprising:
a first pipe (28) and a second pipe (30) each having an outer wall surface (see fig. 9) and a first end and a second end (it is inherent that pipes comprise two ends),
wherein said first ends of said first and second pipes are joined together at a seam (see 32 in fig. 8),
said seam comprising melted material from said first and second pipes (see paragraph 0018); and
at least one layer of reinforcement material (32) wrapped around said first and second pipes such that said seam is covered by said reinforcement material (see fig. 9),
but does not disclose:
a plurality of circumferential grooves around each of said outer wall surfaces of said first pipe and said second pipe on opposite sides of said seam such that said plurality of circumferential grooves around each of said outer wall surfaces of said first pipe and said second pipe on opposite sides of said seam,
wherein at least one of said first and second pipes is a composite pipe comprising an inner layer, an intermediate layer of reinforcing fiber material bonded to said inner layer, and
an outer layer bonded to said intermediate layer
wherein said plurality of circumferential grooves are formed only in said outer layer of said composite pipe to a depth that does not contact said intermediate layer of reinforcing fiber material.
In regards to the pipes being composite pipes, Greig discloses a similar device (see fig. 2) comprising a first and second composite pipe that is butt-fused together (see fig. 5),
wherein the first and second pipe further comprises a fiber enforced layer (34, fig. 5) between an inner pipe (30, fig. 5) and outer pipe (36, fig. 5; 3:1-6, where the inner/outer pipes can be the same) such that the fiber layer provides the benefit of pressure rating enhancement (1:6-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first and second pipes of Souza such that the first and second pipes are formed as composite pipes comprising an inner and outer pipe with a fiber reinforcement material therebetween because Souza discloses a device comprising polyethylene pipes (0003) that are butt-welded together (see fig. 9) and Greig discloses a similar butt-welded device comprising polyethylene composite pipes (2:57-60) comprising an inner and outer tubular layer and a reinforcement layer therebetween to provide the benefit of pressure rating enhancement (1:6-9).
In regards to the grooves, Inaba discloses a similar device (see fig. 13) comprising a reinforcement layer (380C) being filled into grooves of both a first pipe (310C) and second pipe (320C) to further enhance the adhesiveness, airtightness, and long-term reliability of the pipe connection (see lines 364-367 of the translated document previously provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify each of the first and second pipes of Souza in view of Greig with the provision of a plurality of grooves to allow the reinforcement layer of Souza to fill into the grooves to further enhance the adhesiveness, airtightness, and long-term reliability of the pipe connection because Souza discloses the use of adhesive film (3:50-52 of Souza), Inaba discloses that grooves allow the adhesive reinforcement layer to fill into the grooves to further enhance the adhesiveness, airtightness, and long-term reliability of the pipe connection (see lines 364-367), and it has been held that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (ex., providing a plurality of grooves to further enhancing the known affects as taught by Inaba; see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) in MPEP2144.04(VI)(B)).
In regards to the groove depth, while Souza in view of Greig and Inaba does not expressly disclose “grooves are formed only in said outer layer of said composite pipe to a depth that does not contact said intermediate layer of reinforcing fiber material”, the “depth” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Inaba explicitly discloses that the groove depth is a known parameter at 1mm (see line 273 in the NPL provided on 9/27/2024) and Greig explicitly discloses that the fiber intermediate layer should not be exposed (3:36-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the grooves of Souza in view of Greig and Inaba such that the “grooves are formed only in said outer layer of said composite pipe to a depth that does not contact said intermediate layer of reinforcing fiber material”, as the “depth” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Inaba explicitly discloses the groove depth is a known parameter (see lines 273) and Greig explicitly discloses that the fiber material should not be exposed (3:36-45). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 2, Souza further discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 1, wherein said layer of reinforcement material has been heated after said wrapping around said first and second pipes (see paragraphs 0035 and 0054).
In regards to claim 3, Souza further discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 2, wherein said reinforcement material includes a heat activated resin (see paragraph 0029, where Nolax S22.2202 is used which is multilayer adhesive film).
In regards to claim 5, Souza in view of Greig and Inaba further discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 4,
but does not disclose:
wherein a depth of said plurality of circumferential grooves is approximately twenty-five percent of the thickness of said outer layer of said composite pipe.
In regards to the groove depth, while Souza in view of Greig and Inaba does not expressly disclose “a depth of said plurality of circumferential grooves is approximately twenty-five percent of a thickness of said outer layer of said composite pipe”, the “depth” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Inaba explicitly discloses that the groove depth is a known parameter at 1mm (see line 273 in the NPL provided on 9/27/2024).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the grooves of Souza in view of Greig and Inaba such that the “a depth of said plurality of circumferential grooves is approximately twenty-five percent of a thickness of said outer layer of said composite pipe”, as the “depth” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Inaba explicitly discloses the groove depth is a known parameter (see lines 273). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Souza in view of Greig and Inaba as applied to claim 5 above and in further view of Dyksterhouse et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0008004).
In regards to claim 6, Souza in view of Greig and Inaba discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 5,
but does not disclose:
a temperature probe located underneath said layer of reinforcement material.
In regards to the temperature probe, Dyksterhouse discloses a similar device (see figs. 5 and 8) of heating tubular articles,
wherein “one or more temperature-sensing devices such as thermocouples (not shown) may be used to monitor the actual temperature at one more locations. For example, a thermocouple may be used to monitor the temperature of the carrier 16, and another thermocouple may be used to monitor the temperature of the pipe sections 12 and 14. If used to measure the temperature of the carrier, the thermocouple may be inserted through the gap between the pipe sections 12 and 14 to engage the carrier 16. Other temperature-measuring devices, both contact and non-contact, will be recognized by those skilled in the art. When used, the thermocouple can be operatively connected to the heating system to provide closed-loop control to achieve a desired temperature profile for the heating process” (see paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify joint of Souza in view of Greig and Inaba with the provision of a thermocouple underneath the layer of reinforcement material to provide the benefit of achieving a desired temperature profile for the heating process, as taught by Dyksterhouse (see paragraph 0036).
In regards to claim 7, Souza further discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 6, wherein said seam is generally flush with the exteriors walls of said first and second pipes.
In regards to claim 8, Souza further discloses:
The pipe joint of claim 7, further comprising a protective film (34, fig. 9) on top of said layer of reinforcement material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nishino (U.S. Patent No. 4,630,846) discloses a similar device (see fig. 13) comprising a composite pipe (2’), a resin sleeve (6), and grooves (11) on the end of the resin pipe with width and depth dimensions (ex., see fig. 14).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679