DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the substrate or electronic component including receiving portions and a fastened thickness (claim 1 and 10) and tension contact surface points (claims 2, 3, 11, and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 12-18 and claim 10, lines 13-18 recite “wherein the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus includes a first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus having a first waterblock set comprising a first block thickness or a second liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus having a second waterblock set comprising a second block thickness, wherein a thickness of the second block thickness is greater than a thickness of the first block thickness” which is unclear whether the claim requires both the first waterblock set and the second waterblock set or just one of the two. For Examining purposes it will be interpreted as requiring both sets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuglsang (European Patent Publication EP3907584A1) in view of Lin (Chinese Patent Publication CN109950217A).
Regarding claim 1, Fuglsang discloses a universal mounting mechanism (fig 7A,7B), configured to mount a liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to a substrate or an electronic component (¶0039), comprising:
a mounting bracket (820), configured for mounting the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, the mounting bracket including a mounting flange (see annotated fig 7B below) having an attachment surface (see annotated fig 7B below) and a mounting surface opposite the attachment surface; and
a universal mounting mechanism wherein disclose at least one universal fastener assembly (3), orthogonally assembled through the mounting bracket from the attachment surface,
wherein the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus includes a first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (810) having a first waterblock set (810) comprising a first block thickness (see annotated fig 7B below) or a second liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus having a second waterblock set (840) comprising a second block thickness (see annotated fig 7B below), wherein a thickness of the second block thickness is greater than a thickness of the first block thickness.
However, Fuglsang does not explicitly disclose at least one universal fastener assembly having a mounted position and a fastened position,
wherein the substrate or the electronic component includes receiving portions having a fastened thickness,
whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, or the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens the second liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, whereby a thickness of the second block thickness and the fastened thickness is greater than a thickness of the first block thickness and the fastened thickness.
Lin, however, discloses a universal mounting mechanism with at least one universal fastener assembly (20, 22, 41) having a mounted position and a fastened position (fig 3A),
wherein an electronic component (31, fig 4A) includes receiving portions (see annotated fig 4A below) having a fastened thickness (see annotated fig 4A below),
whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens a first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (10) to the electronic component. Lin teaches that universal fastener assembly provides easy assembly and disassembly for the heat exchange (page 2, lines 54-56). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Fuglsang to provide the universal fastener assembly configuration of Lin in order to provide greater ease of assembly and disassembly of the device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one universal fastener assembly comprises a fastening clip (41, Lin) including a fastening leg (41, Lin) having an extended portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) and a fastening portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) connected to the extended portion, the fastening portion comprising a plurality of contact tension points (of 413, Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position (fig 3A, Lin), the at least one of the plurality of contact tension points contact the electronic component (31, Lin) receiving the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (page 5, lines 18-28, Lin).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the fastening portion (413, Lin) further comprises a buttress portion (see annotated fig 1A below, Lin) connected to the fastening portion and extended therefrom, the buttress portion parallel to the bottom plane of the surface of the waterblock set and electronic component (see fig 4B of Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, and the buttress portion contacts the substrate or the electronic component receiving the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (fig 4B of Lin), a tension contact surface area of the buttress portion is greater than a surface area of the tension contact surface points of the plurality of contact tension points, increasing friction surface area (as evident in fig 4B of Lin).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the fastening clip further comprises a handle (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), an attachment portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) and a rotating portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the rotating portion connected to the extended portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) of the fastening leg (41, Lin) opposite the buttress portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the rotating portion parallel to a plane of the attachment surface (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the handle connected to the rotating portion opposite the extended portion, the handle defining a finger catch (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), and the attachment portion connected to the handle opposite the rotating portion, whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the mounted position (fig 3C, Lin), the handle is in a ready position and rotatable, and when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position (fig 3C, Lin), the handle is in a rotated position, whereby when the handle rotates from the ready position to the rotated position (figs 3A-B, Lin), the fastening leg is rotated, whereby the attachment portion rotates on a first axis and the rotating portion rotates on a second axis different from the first axis (Figs 3A-C, Lin).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one universal fastener assembly further comprises a housing (21, Lin) including an anchor structure (see annotated fig 2A below, Lin), and the mounting bracket (820, Fuglsang) further comprises a pair of vertical flanges (see annotated fig 7B below, Fuglsang) extending outwardly from opposing longitudinal edges of the mounting flange, the anchor structure mounted furthest away and parallel to at least one of the pair of vertical flanges (as evident in fig 1E, Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the mounted position (fig 3A, Lin), the attachment portion is rotatable within the anchor structure and the rotating portion (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) is rotatable within the anchor structure, and when the handle (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) rotates from the ready position to the rotated position, the fastening leg (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) is rotated, whereby the attachment portion (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) rotates on the first axis within the anchor structure and the rotating portion rotates on the second axis within the anchor structure (see annotate fig 2A below, Lin).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the amount of the at least one universal fastener assembly (20, 22, 41, Lin) comprises four (fig 1, Lin), and a shape of the mounting flange (see annotated fig 7B above, Fuglsang) of the mounting bracket is quadrilateral shaped, whereby each of the four at least one universal fastener assembly is orthogonally assembled through the mounting bracket from the attachment surface at each of the four corners of the quadrilateral shaped mounting bracket (such as shown in fig 7A of Fuglsang).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang further discloses wherein the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus further comprises a liquid pump module (2) disposed on the waterblock set (810), controlling the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus, the liquid pump module including an inlet (5) and an outlet (4), and the waterblock set further comprises a heat exchange chamber (for 840) and a surface (812), wherein the surface is configured to dissipate heat from heat generating sources, whereby via the inlet and outlet, the liquid pump module circulates fluid within the heat exchange chamber for cooling the heat generating sources (fig 7B).
Regarding claim 10, Fuglsang discloses a liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus, comprising:
a universal mounting mechanism (fig 7A,7B), configured to mount a liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to a substrate or an electronic component (¶0039), comprising:
a mounting bracket (820), configured for mounting the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, the mounting bracket including a mounting flange (see annotated fig 7B below) having an attachment surface (see annotated fig 7B below) and a mounting surface opposite the attachment surface; and
a universal mounting mechanism wherein disclose at least one universal fastener assembly (3), orthogonally assembled through the mounting bracket from the attachment surface,
wherein the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus includes a first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (810) having a first waterblock set (810) comprising a first block thickness (see annotated fig 7B below) or a second liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus having a second waterblock set (840) comprising a second block thickness (see annotated fig 7B below), wherein a thickness of the second block thickness is greater than a thickness of the first block thickness.
However, Fuglsang does not explicitly disclose at least one universal fastener assembly having a mounted position and a fastened position,
wherein the substrate or the electronic component includes receiving portions having a fastened thickness,
whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, or the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens the second liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus to the substrate or the electronic component, whereby a thickness of the second block thickness and the fastened thickness is greater than a thickness of the first block thickness and the fastened thickness.
Lin, however, discloses a universal mounting mechanism with at least one universal fastener assembly (20, 22, 41) having a mounted position and a fastened position (fig 3A),
wherein an electronic component (31, fig 4A) includes receiving portions (see annotated fig 4A below) having a fastened thickness (see annotated fig 4A below),
whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, the at least one universal fastener assembly fastens a first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (10) to the electronic component. Lin teaches that universal fastener assembly provides easy assembly and disassembly for the heat exchange (page 2, lines 54-56). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Fuglsang to provide the universal fastener assembly configuration of Lin in order to provide greater ease of assembly and disassembly of the device.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one universal fastener assembly comprises a fastening clip (41, Lin) including a fastening leg (41, Lin) having an extended portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) and a fastening portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) connected to the extended portion, the fastening portion comprising a plurality of contact tension points (of 413, Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position (fig 3A, Lin), the at least one of the plurality of contact tension points contact the electronic component (31, Lin) receiving the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (page 5, lines 18-28, Lin).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the fastening portion (413, Lin) further comprises a buttress portion (see annotated fig 1A below, Lin) connected to the fastening portion and extended therefrom, the buttress portion parallel to the bottom plane of the surface of the waterblock set and electronic component (see fig 4B of Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position, and the buttress portion contacts the substrate or the electronic component receiving the first liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus (fig 4B of Lin), a tension contact surface area of the buttress portion is greater than a surface area of the tension contact surface points of the plurality of contact tension points, increasing friction surface area (as evident in fig 4B of Lin).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the fastening clip further comprises a handle (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), an attachment portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) and a rotating portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the rotating portion connected to the extended portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin) of the fastening leg (41, Lin) opposite the buttress portion (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the rotating portion parallel to a plane of the attachment surface (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), the handle connected to the rotating portion opposite the extended portion, the handle defining a finger catch (see annotated fig 1 below, Lin), and the attachment portion connected to the handle opposite the rotating portion, whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the mounted position (fig 3C, Lin), the handle is in a ready position and rotatable, and when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the fastened position (fig 3C, Lin), the handle is in a rotated position, whereby when the handle rotates from the ready position to the rotated position (figs 3A-B, Lin), the fastening leg is rotated, whereby the attachment portion rotates on a first axis and the rotating portion rotates on a second axis different from the first axis (Figs 3A-C, Lin).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the at least one universal fastener assembly further comprises a housing (21, Lin) including an anchor structure (see annotated fig 2A below, Lin), and the mounting bracket (820, Fuglsang) further comprises a pair of vertical flanges (see annotated fig 7B below, Fuglsang) extending outwardly from opposing longitudinal edges of the mounting flange, the anchor structure mounted furthest away and parallel to at least one of the pair of vertical flanges (as evident in fig 1E, Lin), whereby when the at least one universal fastener assembly is assembled and in the mounted position (fig 3A, Lin), the attachment portion is rotatable within the anchor structure and the rotating portion (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) is rotatable within the anchor structure, and when the handle (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) rotates from the ready position to the rotated position, the fastening leg (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) is rotated, whereby the attachment portion (see annotated fig 1 above, Lin) rotates on the first axis within the anchor structure and the rotating portion rotates on the second axis within the anchor structure (see annotate fig 2A below, Lin).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang, as modified, further discloses wherein the amount of the at least one universal fastener assembly (20, 22, 41, Lin) comprises four (fig 1, Lin), and a shape of the mounting flange (see annotated fig 7B above, Fuglsang) of the mounting bracket is quadrilateral shaped, whereby each of the four at least one universal fastener assembly is orthogonally assembled through the mounting bracket from the attachment surface at each of the four corners of the quadrilateral shaped mounting bracket (such as shown in fig 7A of Fuglsang).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Fuglsang and Lin discloses all previous claim limitations. Fuglsang further discloses wherein the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus further comprises a liquid pump module (2) disposed on the waterblock set (810), controlling the liquid-cooling heat exchange apparatus, the liquid pump module including an inlet (5) and an outlet (4), and the waterblock set further comprises a heat exchange chamber (for 840) and a surface (812), wherein the surface is configured to dissipate heat from heat generating sources, whereby via the inlet and outlet, the liquid pump module circulates fluid within the heat exchange chamber for cooling the heat generating sources (fig 7B).
Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach the limitations of claims 6 and 15. Specifically, the limitations “a pair of alignment prongs protruding outwardly from the mounting surface, each of the pair of alignment prongs including a proximal portion, a distal portion, and at least one tightening rail, the proximal portion protruding outwardly from the mounting surface, the at least one tightening rail protruding longitudinally along the proximal portion, and the distal portion connected to the proximal portion, and a diameter of the proximal portion is greater than a diameter of the distal portion” are not taught. Lin, considered the closest prior art, teaches providing a pair of alignment prongs (213). However, Lin fails to teach a distal portion connected to the proximal portion, and a diameter of the proximal portion is greater than a diameter of the distal portion as the alignment prongs are not circular. The prior art fails to render this obvious and thus the claims contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763