DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-20 is/are pending. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/27/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 1, 10, and 15 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/27/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) of claims 1-20 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant cites language amended into claim 1 (previously all of claims 10 and 11) and describes differences in the locking member of the instant Application versus the prior art to Goldfarb (Applicant's Response on 4/27/2026, herein "Response", pages 9-12). Applicant states Goldfarb does not teach the "distinguishing limitations" (page 12), but does not point out any specific element and how it is not taught by the prior art. Therefore, Examiner maintains that the claimed invention is met by Goldfarb as detailed below in the prior art rejection section.
Applicant emphasizes the difference in the locations of contact points 1 and 2 (Response, pages 10-11, Applicant's annotated Figures). The Examiner notes the location of a contact point as noted in these Figures is not part of the amended language (former claims 10-11).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., in the locations of contact points 1 and 2 (Response, pages 10-11, Applicant's annotated Figures in the Response) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112, 6th paragraph
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “see Table I below” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “see Table I below” coupled with functional language “see Table I below” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. see Table I below.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) see Table I below has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: see Table I below.
Table I: Language Invoking 112(f)
Claim(s)
Placeholder
Functional Language
Corresponding Structure
in the Specification
1, 5, 16, 17, 18
Base
Fixing
[0046] has an outer surface, other elements disposed in the fixing base (thus, an opening is present)
[0059] has a rectangular frame, a connecting block, fixing blocks, a protrusion, a through hole
[0061] has an inner wall
1, 16, 19
Arm
Clamping
[0050] has a connecting frame, a clamping frame, a surface is recessed inward forming a groove
1
Portion
Positioning
[0048] engages the edge of the locking hole
[0057] is a protrusion on the actuator shaft, has a plurality of grooves facing the locking hole
1, 7
Member
Pushing
[0061] has first and second sides, is a sheet-like structure, made of an elastic material, bent middle portion, has a latching piece, has a through hole, has a recessed portion
12
Piece
Latching
[0063] penetrates the second side of the pushing member
16, 19
Arms
Gripping
[0044] #64
17, 18, 19
Member
Adjusting
[0092] of an elastic material, has first and second ends
20
Member
Unlocking
[0065] is a symmetrical open structure
[0066] has a double-line structure looped on the second end of the locking member, made of nickel-titanium line through heat-setting
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: see Table II below in claim see Table II below.
Table II: Language Not Invoking 112(f)
Claim(s)
Placeholder
Functional Language
Corresponding Structure
in the Claim
1-20
Device
Valve Clamping
All structures for the respective claim, other than those invoking 112(f)
1, 20
Mechanism
Locking
Includes the locking member (see next row)
1
Member
Locking
Hole
2
Portion
Positioning
A plurality of grooves and/or protrusions
5, 6, 7, 10
Member
Locking
First end
Second end, opposite the first end
5, 6
Base
Fixing
Inner cavity
Has a projection
9, 10, 11, 12
Base
Fixing
Inner wall
10, 11
Member
Pushing
First end
Second end, opposite the first end
12, 13
Member
Pushing
First side
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 12, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goldfarb, et al (Goldfarb) (US 2006/0020275 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Goldfarb teaches a valve clamping device (e.g. Figures 1, 5-8, [0084], [0094]) with a locking mechanism (e.g. [0068]), comprising:
a fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, [0066], #3 and unlabeled element extending up to #19; annotated Figure 5 below, shaded portions below the dashed line);
at least one pair of clamping arms (e.g. Figure 1, #s 18), the at least one pair of clamping arms being connected to the fixing base (e.g. Figure 1, at the apex of the V-shape ) and can be opened and closed relative to the fixing base (e.g. Figure 1, [0067], [0084]);
an actuator assembly (e.g. Figures 1, 5, 8A, [0068], #s 68, 74, and actuator rod), the actuator assembly comprising an actuator shaft movably inserted in the fixing base (e.g. [0068], #74, actuator rod), the actuator shaft moving in an axial direction (e.g. [0075], when unlocked) to actuate each of the clamping arm to open and close relative to the fixing base (e.g. [0067], [0075], #58 in Figure 9A is equivalent to #68 in Figure 1), with a positioning portion (e.g. [0096], Figure 14A, threading on #74; Figure 14A shows a way of connecting #74 to base #3 applicable to Figures 1, 5, 7) being provided on an outer peripheral surface of the actuator shaft (e.g. Figure 14A); and
a locking mechanism (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, #106, [0078], [0085], [0094]), the locking mechanism comprising a locking member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, #450) and a pushing member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, #114, [0075]), the locking member being provided with a locking hole in the axial direction (e.g. Figure 6, #460), the actuator shaft being inserted into the locking hole (e.g. Figures 5, 8A), and the pushing member abutting against the locking member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A) and being obliquely arranged in the fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, [0078]-[0079], #450 rotates around an axis into-out of the page) so that the edge of the locking hole is engaged with the positioning portion (e.g. Figures 5, 8A),
wherein the pushing member includes a first side and a second side which are opposite each other (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, where the first side is the top as shown and the second side is the bottom as shown), the first side abuts against the inner wall of the fixing base (e.g. Figures 8A-B; Figure 5, when flattened #114 would contact the inner wall of the fixing base because #108 is two wires with a gap between them as seen in Figure 4B), and the second side abuts against the proximal end surface of the locking member (e.g. Figure 5A, 8A),
wherein the pushing member is made of an elastic material (e.g. [0075], springs are inherently elastic), and the pushing member further comprises a middle part connected between the first side and the second side (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, central bend of #114), the middle part bends towards the proximal end, and gradually abuts against the inner wall of the fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A).
If not inherent that Figures 1, and 5 or 8A-B represent a single embodiment based on Goldfarb’s disclosures at [0094], [0105], [0106], then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Figure 1 such that the locking device is that of Figure 5 or Figure 8 as it is a simple substitution of one known element (locking mechanism) for another to obtain predictable results of a mechanism to lock and unlock movement to adjust the position of the leaflet grasping structures.
Each Goldfarb embodiment is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely leaflet clipping devices.
Annotated Figure 5, Goldfarb
Regarding Claim 2, the positioning portion comprises a plurality of grooves and/or protrusions disposed facing the locking hole (e.g. Figure 14A, each ridge along the axial length formed by the threading; see also Figure 4C) and the edge of the locking hole is engaged with a groove and/or a protrusion (e.g. Figures 5, 8A; while #74 is being rotated into place the threads are at the edge of the locking hole when they pass through it to reach the configuration in Figure 14A).
Regarding Claim 3, the plurality of grooves and/or protrusions are arranged in parallel (e.g. Figure 14A, they are parallel to each other).
Regarding Claim 5, the locking member comprises a first end and an opposite second end (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, left and right ends as shown), the first end abuts an inner wall of the fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, #450 is within the bounds of the fixing member and thus both ends are abutting the inner wall of the fixing base), and the second end can rotate around the first end to a position where the axis of the locking hole is coaxial with the axial direction of the fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, [0078]-[0079], #450 rotates around an axis into-out of the page, thus each end rotates around the opposing end).
Regarding Claim 6, the inner cavity of the fixing base is provided with a protrusion (e.g. Figure 5, below the left side of #450; Figures 8A, below the right side of #450), the first end of the locking member abuts against the protrusion (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, where the first end is the end resting on the protrusion), and there is a gap between the second end of the locking member and the inner cavity of the fixing base (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, filled by #108; the Examiner notes a cavity is the opening, here within the fixing base, thus the Examiner considers this language met when the gap is as disclosed by Applicant, which is between the end and the wall; this interpretation is consisted with Applicant’s Figures 7 and 9, which shows a gap between the locking member and the wall of the fixing base).
Regarding Claim 7, a proximal end of the protrusion is provided with an inclined surface (e.g. Figures 5, 8A), the first end of the locking member overlaps the inclined surface (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, the first end is above the inclined surface as shown), and the pushing member abuts against the proximal surface of the locking member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, where the proximal surface is considered the upper surface) so that a distal end surface of the first end is attached to the inclined surface (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, via the thickness of #450).
Regarding Claim 8, a side wall of the first end is an arc surface (e.g. Figure 5, curved ends).
Regarding Claim 9, the arc surface contacts the inclined surface and the inner wall of the fixing member simultaneously (e.g. Figure 8, when #450 is rotated to contact the inclined surface, the arc surface also contacts the inner wall of the fixing member).
Regarding Claim 12, a latching piece is provided on the first side of the pushing member (e.g. annotated Figure 8B below, circled portion with dashed arrow (the solid arrow in the right hand side image is the end of the pushing member); the Examiner notes this interpretation is consisted with Applicant’s element #845 in Figures 25-26), and a latching slot is provided on the inner wall of the fixing base (e.g. annotated Figure 8B below, solid arrow, left hand side image), and the latching piece is engaged in the latching slot (e.g. Figure 8B; the Examiner notes as #114 flattens, the engagement is increased).
Annotated Figure 8B, Goldfarb
Regarding Claim 14, the locking mechanism further comprises an unlocking member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, #108, [0078] describes the motion of #108), the unlocking member is connected to the second end of the locking member (e.g. [0078]), and the unlocking member is pulled toward a proximal end so that the second end of the locking member rotates around the first end (e.g. [0078]).
Regarding Claim 15, the unlocking member comprises a double-line structure (e.g. Figure 4B), and two lines of the double-line structures are arranged side by side (e.g. Figure 4B) and are both looped on the second end of the locking member (e.g. Figures 5, 8A, [0078], when contacting the locking member).
Regarding Claim 16, the valve clamping device further comprises at least one pair of gripping arms (e.g. Figure 1, #s 16), the gripping arms are arranged between the fixing base and the at least one pair of clamping arms (e.g. Figure 1; the Examiner notes this is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure in e.g. Figure 4), each of the gripping arms cooperates with the clamping arm at the corresponding side to grip a valve (e.g. Figure 1, [0066]).
Regarding Claim 20, Goldfarb teaches a valve repair system (e.g. Figure 1 and [0066] interventional tool and #92), comprising the valve clamping device according to claim 1 (discussed supra for claim 1), and a delivery device detachably connected to the valve clamping device (e.g. [0066], interventional tool), wherein the delivery device comprises an operating line (e.g. Figure 1, #92), and s distal end of the operating line and an unlocking member of the locking mechanism are detachably connected (e.g. Figure 1, unlocking member #108 (operation discussed supra for claim 14); [0071], #92 is a suture and thus can be cut to detach from #108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb, et al (Goldfarb) (US 2006/0020275 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of Lashinski, et al (Lashinski) (US 2018/0228610 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, a width of the groove or the protrusion is in a range of 0.04 to 0.30 mm.
Lashinski teaches a threaded screw for use in a heart at an annulus having a pitch of 10-150 threads per inch (e.g. [0224]). As the pitch is the distance between turns, the spacing between turns is in the range of 1/150 inches to 1/10 inches, which is 0.17 mm to 2.54 mm.
Lashinski and Goldfarb are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely implants anchored at a heart valve location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goldfarb such that the width of the groove or the protrusion is in a range of 0.04 to 0.30 mm since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb, et al (Goldfarb) (US 2006/0020275 A1), alone.
Regarding Claim 13, Goldfarb discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach a through hole is defined in a middle of the pushing member along the axial direction, and the actuator shaft is inserted through the through hole in the axial direction.
Goldfarb is silent as to the shape of the pushing member #114 and only shows the cross-section as seen in e.g. Figures 5 and 8A.
Goldfarb teaches the pushing member generates sufficient force to force #452 of #450 downward (e.g. [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Goldfarb such that the pushing element is a sheet having the same rectangular size (length and width) as the rectangular #450 (see Goldfarb Figure 6) and thus the same central opening, since this shape would evenly distribute the force across the surface of #450 which would allow for easier movement than if the pushing member covered only a portion of #450.
Further, this modification is obvious as it has been held that solving a recognized problem or need in the art by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious to try (MPEP 2143(I)). Here, Goldfarb indicates the pushing member must be able to put force on element #450, thus it is needed to determine how Goldfarb can accomplish this function with a pushing member. Goldfarb’s e.g. Figure 5 shows that the pushing member extends side to side over #450 and approximately shares the length of #450, thus the options for the shape of Goldfarb are a thin strip to a full width device. These options could be determined by dividing the maximum width into quarter or even ten options to determine the force distribution and ease of operation. Either of these options would present a reasonable number of experimental options. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the above combination of prior art features resulting in the claimed limitations.
In the modified Goldfarb, the actuator shaft is through the hole in the pushing member as the modified pushing member is aligned with #450.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb, et al (Goldfarb) (US 2006/0020275 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of McNiven, et al (McNiven) (US 2016/0374811 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Goldfarb discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the valve clamping device further comprises an adjusting member, and the adjusting member is arranged outside the fixing base.
McNiven teaches a valve clamping device (e.g. Figures 1-2) having an adjusting member (e.g. Figures 1-2, #111, [0026]), and the adjusting member is arranged the outside of the fixing base (e.g. Figure 1).
McNiven and Goldfarb are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely valve clamping devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goldfarb to have the adjusting member as taught by McNiven as it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)). Here, the results are predictable because each claimed element performs in the same manner in the combination as it does separately. Specifically, the valve clamping device’s functions are unchanged, while the addition of #111 of McNiven performs an additional function of controlling the gripping arms from an opposing end of the device. The combination of the two control methods provides for finer control over the placement allowing for more precise placement.
Claims 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb, et al (Goldfarb) (US 2006/0020275 A1) in view of McNiven, et al (McNiven) (US 2016/0374811 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of JP 2009536074 A (‘074).
Regarding Claim 18, the distal end of the adjusting member is fixedly connected to the fixing base (e.g. McNiven, Figure 1), and a proximal end of the adjusting member is suspended (e.g. McNiven, Figure 1, suspended by the delivery tool).
The combination of Goldfarb and McNiven discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the adjusting member is made of elastic material.
‘074 teaches a wire used in heart implants (e.g. abstract) made of nitinol (e.g. translation section, overall page 38, line 21 of text).
‘074 and the combination of Goldfarb and McNiven are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely implants for the heart.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire of the combination of Goldfarb and McNiven to be nitinol as taught by ‘074 in order to provide a wire than can return to its initial shape after being manipulated (e.g. as the McNiven wire is manipulated, discussed supra for claim 17) and as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of using a common and known (e.g. per ‘074) implantable material of nitinol.
Regarding Claim 19, a biocompatible mesh membrane covers an exterior and/or interior surface of the adjusting member, the gripping arm and/or the clamping arm (e.g. Goldfarb, [0070]; incorporated 10/441531 corresponds to US 2004/0049207 A1 which teaches in its [0029] the covering all of the fixation device is covered with a biocompatible material and in [0155] of ‘207 the covering is a biocompatible mesh).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 6/8/2026