DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Applicants’ amendment, filed 12/12/2025, were received and entered. As the results, dependent claims 3, 5, 8-9, 13-15, 19, and 21 were canceled. New claims 29-38 were added. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10-12, 16-18, 20 and 22-38 are pending in this application at this time.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 5 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Liu (US 12/517,694). The Applicants amended independent claims 1, 17, 18 and 20 with limitations of objected dependent claim 5. However, the amendments to claims 1, 17, 18 and 20 were not properly incorporated the limitations of “… a device identifier code in which the device identifier (of the first device) is encoded, the device identifier code is being one of a two dimension code and a barcode … wherein the third circuitry is configured to receive, from the communication terminal, the device identifier decoded from the device identifier code.”, Therefore, the amended independent claims 1, 17, 18 and 20 are rejectable. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 17, 18, 20, 22, 24-25, 29, 31-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929 as cited in the previous Office Action)
Regarding claim 1, Dorfman et al. (hereinafter “Dorfman”) teaches a device management system (such as systems and methods that enable users to gain access to a website, any type of virtual or physical space, as shown in figures 1 and 2; col.4, lines 27-31), comprising:
a first device (i.e., user’s personal desktop or laptop computer, etc., as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 20-27 or a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.5, lines 14-16) including:
a display (i.e., a monitor of the user’s personal desktop, laptop computer or computer device 202, as shown in figure 1 and figure 2); and
first circuitry configured to control the display to output a code (i.e., a device displaying website 102 is displayed with an image 104 as an x-bar code on the user’s personal desktop, laptop computer; col.4, lines 36-49 and col.8, lines 47-48) including a structured representation of data (i.e., a unique ID, URL associated with the authentication server; etc.), the code being a two-dimensional code or a barcode (i.e., stored data or “QR” code with a two-dimension barcode; col.4, lines 53-58; col.5, lines 24-30 and col.8, lines 40-43);
a second device (i.e., a device 106, as shown in figure 1) including:
a camera (i.e., a camera-phone, etc.; col.4, lines 10-16); and
second circuitry configured to:
control the camera to capture an image of the code (i.e., the user 100 may use the device 106 to capture, read, and/or analyze the image 104, as shown in figure 1 (col.4, lines 9-11) or the user may use a registered mobile app (e.g., “smart app”) stored on mobile device 206 to scan the x-bar code challenge on the log-in page (col.5, lines 34-39 or col.9, lines 3-9)); and
transmit code information (i.e., extracted data or information) of the code to an information processing server (i.e., the smart app stored on the user’s mobile device 206 may then send the extracted information service 210 (read on an information processor server); col.5, lines 40-53 and col.9, lines 9-23); and
the information processing server including third circuitry configured to:
receive the code information from the second device (i.e., the authentication service 210 receives and verifies that the smart app and/or mobile device 206 belong to the user based on the extracted information received from the mobile phone 206; col.5, lines 52-60 and col.9, lines 28-33); and
based on the code information, associate the first device and the
second device with a same communication (i.e., the authentication service 210 also binds (associated) the additional device (as the first device) and the authenticated bound device (as the second device); col.11, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 4, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as
wherein the first device further includes a display (i.e., device 302 includes a display
304, as shown in figure 3), and the first circuitry is configured to transmit object
information in association with the communication identifier to the information
processing server, the object information being information on an object displayed on
the display by the first device (i.e., OR code 104 as the object information displayed
on a laptop computer 102 as the first device, as shown in figure 1), wherein the second circuitry is configured to generate surrounding image data representing surroundings around the second device in the communication and transmit the surrounding image data to the communication terminal information processing server (i.e., a mobile phone 106, as shown in figure 1, captured the QR code and transmitted to the authentication server), and wherein the third circuitry (i.e., the authentication server) is configured to: receive, from the second device, the surrounding image data and the communication identifier (col.9, lines 7-45), and store, in a memory, the object information and the surrounding image data in association with the communication identifier (col.8, line 62 through col.9, line 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Dorfman further teaches the x-barcode being displayed above a center of a screen of the display, as shown in figure 1.
Regarding claim 17, Dorfman teaches an information processing system (i.e., a system and method, as shown in figure 2, comprising an authentication service (server) 210, user’s personal desktop or laptop computer, etc., as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 20-27 or a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.5, lines 14-16), comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive, from a second device (i.e., from a device 106, as shown in figure 1), code information of a code, wherein the second device captures an image (i.e., the user 100 may use the device 106 to capture, read, and/or analyze the image 104, as shown in figure 1 (col.4, lines 9-11) or the user may use a registered mobile app (e.g., “smart app”) stored on mobile device 206 to scan the x-bar code challenge on the log-in page (col.5, lines 34-39 or col.9, lines 3-9)) including the code, the code includes a structure representation of data (i.e., a unique ID, URL associated with the authentication server; etc.) which is output by a first device (i.e., the user’s personal desktop or laptop computer, etc., as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 20-27 or a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.4, lines 36-49 and col.8, lines 47-48)), and the code is a two-dimensional code or a barcode (i.e., stored data or “QR” code with a two-dimension barcode; col.4, lines 53-58; col.5, lines 24-30 and col.8, lines 40-43); and
Based on the code information, associated the first device and the second device with a same communication (i.e., the authentication service 210 also binds (associated) the additional device (as the first device) and the authenticated bound device (as the second device); col.11, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 18, Dorfman teaches a device management method performed by an information processing system (such as systems and methods that enable users to gain access to a website, any type of virtual or physical space, as shown in figures 1 and 2; col.4, lines 27-31) that communicates with a second device, the device management method comprising:
receive, from a second device (i.e., from a device 106, as shown in figure 1), code information of a code, wherein the second device captures an image (i.e., the user 100 may use the device 106 to capture, read, and/or analyze the image 104, as shown in figure 1 (col.4, lines 9-11) or the user may use a registered mobile app (e.g., “smart app”) stored on mobile device 206 to scan the x-bar code challenge on the log-in page (col.5, lines 34-39 or col.9, lines 3-9)) including the code, the code includes a structure representation of data (i.e., a unique ID, URL associated with the authentication server; etc.) which is output by a first device (i.e., the user’s personal desktop or laptop computer, etc., as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 20-27 or a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.4, lines 36-49 and col.8, lines 47-48)), and the code is a two-dimensional code or a barcode (i.e., stored data or “QR” code with a two-dimension barcode; col.4, lines 53-58; col.5, lines 24-30 and col.8, lines 40-43); and
based on the code information, associated the first device and the second device with a same communication (i.e., the authentication service 210 also binds (associated) the additional device (as the first device) and the authenticated bound device (as the second device); col.11, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 20, Dorfman teaches an information processing device (i.e., a device 106, as shown in figure 1), comprising:
a camera (i.e., a camera-phone, etc.; col.4, lines 10-16); and
circuitry configured to:
control the camera to capture an image of the code (i.e., the user 100 may use the device 106 to capture, read, and/or analyze the image 104, as shown in figure 1 (col.4, lines 9-11) or the user may use a registered mobile app (e.g., “smart app”) stored on mobile device 206 to scan the x-bar code challenge on the log-in page (col.5, lines 34-39 or col.9, lines 3-9)), wherein the code includes a structured representation of data output from another information processing device (i.e., stored data or “QR” code with a two-dimension barcode comprising a unique ID, URL associated with the authentication server; etc. (col.4, lines 53-58; col.5, lines 24-30 and col.8, lines 40-43) and being displayed on the user’s personal desktop, laptop computer, as shown in figure 1 or on a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.4, lines 36-49 and col.8, lines 47-48), and
based on the code information, associated the first device and the second device with a same communication (i.e., the authentication service 210 also binds (associated) the additional device (as the first device) and the authenticated bound device (as the second device); col.11, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 22, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as the
authentication server, performed as the third circuitry, saves the generated unique ID
(as the analysis result information) along with the session ID (as the same communication identifier) received in a form of the QR code (col.8, lines 37-66).
Regarding claim 24, Dorman further teaches the mobile device 206 to scan the X-bar or QR code in order to extract data stored in the x-bar or QR code. The extracted
data (read on collected information) may include the user's log-in ID, unique ID, etc.
(col.5, lines 12-44). Dorman further teaches the mobile device 206 to send the extracted
information to authentication service (i.e., the third circuitry) (col.5, lines 45-52). Finally,
Dorman further teaches the authentication server to save the generated unique ID along
with the session ID (col.8, lines 62-66).
Regarding claim 25, Dorman further teaches the QR code stored the unique ID,
etc. which are generated by the authentication service 210 and transmitted to and
displayed on by computing device 202 (col.5, lines 12-44). Thus, the unique ID represented as the identifier of the computing device 202 (first device).
Regarding claim 29, Dorfman teaches a device management system (such as systems and methods that enable users to gain access to a website, any type of virtual or physical space, as shown in figures 1 and 2; col.4, lines 27-31), comprising:
a first device (i.e., user’s personal desktop or laptop computer, etc., as shown in figure 1; col.4, lines 20-27 or a computing device 202, as shown in figure 2; col.5, lines 14-16) including:
a display (i.e., a monitor of the user’s personal desktop, laptop computer or computer device 202, as shown in figure 1 and figure 2); and
first circuitry configured to control the display to display image information (i.e., a device displaying website 102 is displayed with an image 104 as an x-bar code on the user’s personal desktop, laptop computer; col.4, lines 36-49 and col.8, lines 47-48)
a second device (i.e., a device 106, as shown in figure 1) including:
a camera (i.e., a camera-phone, etc.; col.4, lines 10-16); and
second circuitry configured to:
control the camera to capture an image of the image information (i.e., the user 100 may use the device 106 to capture, read, and/or analyze the image 104, as shown in figure 1 (col.4, lines 9-11) or the user may use a registered mobile app (e.g., “smart app”) stored on mobile device 206 to scan the x-bar code challenge on the log-in page (col.5, lines 34-39 or col.9, lines 3-9)); and
transmit, to an information processing system, a request to register in a communication based on the image information (i.e., transmitting the extracted information of the captured image along with a request which allows user to register a new device 206, to associated another device in the communication, etc.; col.5, lines 61-67); and
the information processing system which includes third circuitry configured to:
receive the request from the second device (i.e., the authentication service 210 receives and verifies that the smart app and/or mobile device 206 belong to the user based on the extracted information received from the mobile phone 206; col.5, lines 52-60 and col.9, lines 28-33); and
based on the code information, associate the first device and the second device with the communication based on the request (i.e., the authentication service 210 also binds (associated) the additional device (as the first device) and the authenticated bound device (as the second device); col.11, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 31, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as
wherein the first device further includes a display (i.e., device 302 includes a display
304, as shown in figure 3), and the first circuitry is configured to transmit object
information in association with the communication identifier to the information
processing server, the object information being information on an object displayed on
the display by the first device (i.e., OR code 104 as the object information displayed
on a laptop computer 102 as the first device, as shown in figure 1), wherein the second circuitry is configured to generate surrounding image data representing surroundings around the second device in the communication and transmit the surrounding image data to the communication terminal information processing server (i.e., a mobile phone 106, as shown in figure 1, captured the QR code and transmitted to the authentication server), and wherein the third circuitry (i.e., the authentication server) is configured to: receive, from the second device, the surrounding image data and the communication identifier (col.9, lines 7-45), and store, in a memory, the object information and the surrounding image data in association with the communication identifier (col.8, line 62 through col.9, line 2).
Regarding claim 32, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as an authentication host and IVR server, performed as the third circuitry, generate a unique ID of the mobile phone (the unique ID as identifier of the second device)(col.10, lines 59-60) and generate authentication service also generates user’s log-in ID, device name of a user’s bound device, etc. (the user’s log-in ID and/or device name as identifier of the first device)(col.11, lines 5-14). Thus, the unique ID, user’s log-in ID and device name are generated and stored by the authentication host and IVR server (performed as the third circuity) for authenticating the user’s bound device (second device) and additional device (first device).
Regarding claim 33, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as saving the unique ID along with a session ID (a communication identifier) in col.8, lines 59-64 and col.9, lines 28-45.
Regarding claim 35, Dorfman further teaches limitations of the claim, such as the QR code (or the structure representation of data) containing or including the generated unique ID (an identifier) of the computing device 206 (the first device)(col.8, lines 37-40 and col.9, lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 23, 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929) in view of Potonniee (US 2015/0312252 also cited in the previous Office Action).
Regarding claims 2 and 30, Dorfman teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for the features of issuing a communication identifier identifying the same communication; and transmitting the communication identifier to the first device and the communication 20 terminal. However, Potonniee teaches a system comprising first device (i.e., PC as shown in figure 2; para. [0021]), a second device (i.e., ME; para. [0023]) and an information processing server (i.e., server RS) and method of allowing a user to establish a secure session among the first device (PC), the second device (ME) and the server RD. Potonniee further teaches the server RS to issue or to generate an identifier of communication session and sends the identifier of the session to the first device (para. [0026] and [0032]). Potonniee further teaches the server RS also to send the identifier of the session to the second device (para. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of the third circuitry is further configured to issue a communication identifier identifying the communication; and transmit the communication identifier to the first device and the communication 20 terminal, as taught by Potonniee, into view of Dorfman in order to indicate to the user of the second device that the same call is sociated with the first device.
Regarding claims 23 and 34, Potonniee further teaches the server RS (as the third circuitry) and first device PC (as the first device) wherein the server RS receives information input, e.g., username, etc. input by the user from first device PC. Potonniee further teaches, in response to receiving the username, etc., the server RS generates a session identifier (read on the communication identifier) and transmitted to the first device PC (para. [0031]-[0033]). Potonniee further teaches that the first device PC extracts the session identifier SID from the two-dimensional code; generates a reference data RD2 from the session identifier SID and sends the session identifier SID to server RS (para. [0034]). The server RS comprises a checking means M2 which is adapted to extract the reference data RD2 from a polling message received from the first device PC and to associate the result message with the polling message if the reference data RD2 matches the identifier of session. Therefore, the server RS
inherently stored the information (i.e., the username) in association with the generated
identifier of session (para. [0025]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929) in view of Okude et al. (US 2010/0241857).
Regarding claim 10, Dorfman teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for the features of displaying, based on a determination that the structured representation of data is not acquired within a predetermined time, a message indicating that the structured representation of data is not acquired. However, Okude et al.(hereinafter “Okude”) teaches such features in paragraph [0118] for purpose of notifying the user with an error indication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of displaying, based on a determination that the structured representation of data is not acquired within a predetermined time, a message indicating that the structured representation of data is not acquired, as taught by Okude, into view of Dorfman in order to notify the user to acquire the structured representation of data.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929) in view of Catchpole (US 8,644,467 also cited in the previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 11, Dorfman teach all subject matters as claimed above, except for features of wherein the second circuitry is configured to: generate the surrounding image data by recording the surroundings, detect an end of the recording of the surrounding image data, and transmit, to the information processing server, a notification of the end of the recording, and wherein the third circuitry of the information processing server is configured to transmit, to the first device, a notification that recording of the object information is to end. However, Catchpole teaches a video conference system, as shown in figure 1. The video conference system comprises an image device 12 (performed as a second device) to record live streaming video of scene imagery (col.4, lines 39-41). The video conference system also comprises a video conferencing device 2 (performed as a third device) to receive the imagery of a surrounding scene from the image device 12 connected to the video conferencing device 2. The video conferencing device 2 then records the imagery of a surrounding scene (col.3, lines 36-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of recording the surrounding image data and other features performed by the communication terminal, as taught by Catchpole, into view of Dorfman in order to store as a record for a later transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Catchpole teaches the limitations of the claim, such as to end the recording and to stop the transmission to recording to the external device 14 in col.7, lines 15-41.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929) in view of Catchpole (US 8,644,467) as applied in claims 1, 4 and 11 above, and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 2017/0339370, also cited in the previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 16, Dorfman and Catchpole, in combination, teach all subject matters as claimed above, except for the features of ending the recording of object information based on instructions. However, Inoue et al. (hereinafter "Inoue") teaches transmission of object information between transmission terminals 10aa and 10ba, as shown in figure 1. The transmission of the object information comprises the features of providing the users with instructions to start of recording and to end of recording image and audio data at any time (para. [0060], [0195] and [0200)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of either starting
or ending the recording of object information based on instructions, as taught by Inoue, into view of Shiro, Dorfman and Catchpole in order to terminate the record of the object information on the first device.
Claims 23-28 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 9,130,929) in view of Shiro et al. (US 2016/0295163 also cited in the previous Office Action).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Dorfman teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for the features of receiving information related to the same communication from the first device and transmitting the information related to the same communication to the second device. However, Shiro et al. (hereinafter “Shiro”) teaches the communication device 10 as the first device, the relay 30 as the second device and the management system 50 as the third circuitry, as discussed in claim 1 above. Shiro further teaches that the management system 50 may receive a communication start request including, e.g., the terminal ID "07db", etc. (read on information) transmitted from transmitter/receiver of the communication terminal 10 (para. [0170]). Shiro further teaches the management system 50 to transmit a request comprising the information related to the communication, such as terminal ID '07db' to the relay 30 in a relay start request (para.[0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of receiving information related to the same communication from the first device and transmitting the information related to the same communication to the second device, as taught by Shiro, into view of Dorfman in order to provide the information related to the first device to the second device to establish a connection with the first device in the same communication.
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Shiro teaches the communication device 10 to request for an operation of transmission of image data and audio data, such as a video or a still image, performed by the communication system 1, as shown in figures 7A and 7B (para. [0169], [0183] and [0191]-[0192]).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Shiro further teaches the communication device 10 to allow the user to select a desired counterpart communication for the communication start request, as information input (para. [0170]). Shiro also teaches the relay 30 (as the
second device) to input the data ID (read on information input) into the content data
(para. [0178]).
Any response to this action should be mailed or handed carry deliveries to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: January 2026