Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 6-9, filed 3 November 2025, with respect to
the rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, 9 and 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered
and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections for claims 1, 5, 7, and 17 are made in view of Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in further view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections for claims 9, 11, 14, 16 are made in view of Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in further view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections for claims 12, 13 are made in view of Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in further view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher in further view of Prasad et al. (US 2019/0166580 A1) or Prasad.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections for claim 15 is made in view of Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in further view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher in further view of Lundqvist et al. (US 2013/0332974 A1) or Lundqvist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li.
Claim 1
Abraham teaches,
(Currently Amended) A wireless communication method for use in an access and mobility management function, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network function, information related to a multicast broadcast service of a radio access network node; and
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the AMF transmitting information concerning the multicast broadcase service of a RAN
(See paragraph 0015, ...the request identifying the multicast service session comprises a multicast packet data unit (M-PDU) session identifier.)
Shows M-PDU consists of multicast packet data unit
…the radio access network node,
(See Abraham paragraph 0135, At 645, the M-SMF 220-c may provide information of the transferred PDU and M-PDU sessions to the AMF 210-c in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContextResponse).)
Shows receiving the response from the SMF concerning the updating of the PDU session from unicast to multicast of the RAN from step 615
wherein the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node:
indicates a capability of the radio access network node supporting the multicast broadcast service, or
comprises an identifier of the radio access network node, and
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the information transmitted consists of an identifier of the target RAN
wherein the network function is a session management function,
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the AMF transmits to the session management function or SMF
wherein the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node is transmitted during or after at least one of a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, a multicast join procedure or a handover procedure.
(See Abraham paragraph 0129, FIG. 6 illustrates an examples of a process flow 600 that supports multicast idle mode behavior and paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The process flow 600 may support a handover without changing a multicast-user plane function. In some examples, the process flow 600 may implement aspects of the wireless communications systems 100 through 400. For example, UE 115-k, source (R)AN 205-f, target (R)AN 205-g, AMF 210-c, M-SW 220-c, and M-UPF 215-d, may be examples of the corresponding functions and devices described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 4.)
Shows the information related to a multicast broadcast service of a RAN occurs during a handover procedure
However, Abraham fails to teach,
…receiving, from the network function, a subscription of the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receiving, from the network function, a subscription of the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
(See Li paragraphs 0256-0258,
[0256] S1501: An SMF network element sends a subscription message to an AMF network element.
[0257] The subscription message includes information about a first service area and an identifier of a multicast/broadcast service.
[0258] The identifier of the multicast/broadcast service may be a group identifier (group ID) or a multicast/broadcast identifier. The subscription message is not specific to a terminal device, but is specific to all terminal devices that are located in the first service area and that belong to a group corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service (which is identified by using the identifier of the multicast/broadcast service).)
Shows the AMF receiving from the SMF subscription information related to multicast/broadcast service of a terminal
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting to a session management function or SMF from an access and mobility management function or AMF information related to a multicast broadcast service of radio access node or RAN node consisting of an identifier of a RAN during a handover procedure as disclosed by Abraham with the subscription information related to a multicast broadcast session as disclosed by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of switching from an unicast session to a multicast session).
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Abraham teaches,
A wireless communication method for a session management function, the method comprising:
receiving, from an access and mobility management function, information related to a multicast broadcast service of a radio access network node; and
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the AMF transmitting information concerning the multicast broadcase service of a RAN
(See paragraph 0015, ...the request identifying the multicast service session comprises a multicast packet data unit (M-PDU) session identifier.)
Shows M-PDU consists of multicast packet data unit
…the radio access network node,…
(See Abraham paragraph 0135, At 645, the M-SMF 220-c may provide information of the transferred PDU and M-PDU sessions to the AMF 210-c in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContextResponse).)
Shows receiving the response from the SMF concerning the updating of the PDU session from unicast to multicast of the RAN from step 615
…wherein the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node: indicates a capability of the radio access network node supporting the multicast broadcast service, or comprises an identifier of the radio access network node,
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the information transmitted consists of an identifier of the target RAN
wherein the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node is transmitted during or after at least one of a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, a multicast join procedure or a handover procedure.
(See Abraham paragraph 0129, FIG. 6 illustrates an examples of a process flow 600 that supports multicast idle mode behavior and paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The process flow 600 may support a handover without changing a multicast-user plane function. In some examples, the process flow 600 may implement aspects of the wireless communications systems 100 through 400. For example, UE 115-k, source (R)AN 205-f, target (R)AN 205-g, AMF 210-c, M-SW 220-c, and M-UPF 215-d, may be examples of the corresponding functions and devices described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 4.)
Shows the information related to a multicast broadcast service of a RAN occurs during a handover procedure
However, Abraham fails to explicitly teach,
…subscribing, to the access and mobility management function, the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…subscribing, to the access and mobility management function, the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
(See Li paragraphs 0256-0258,
[0256] S1501: An SMF network element sends a subscription message to an AMF network element.
[0257] The subscription message includes information about a first service area and an identifier of a multicast/broadcast service.
[0258] The identifier of the multicast/broadcast service may be a group identifier (group ID) or a multicast/broadcast identifier. The subscription message is not specific to a terminal device, but is specific to all terminal devices that are located in the first service area and that belong to a group corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service (which is identified by using the identifier of the multicast/broadcast service).)
Shows the AMF receiving from the SMF subscription information related to multicast/broadcast service of a terminal
The motivation to combine Abraham and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 5 wherein the information is subscribed during or after at least one of a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure or a multicast join procedure.
(See Li paragraphs 0220-0221,
[0220] S1401: An SMF network element sends a subscription message to an AMF network element.
[0221] The subscription message includes information about a first service area and an identifier of a multicast/broadcast service.)
Shows the subscription information
(See Li paragraphs 0225-0226,
[0225] S1402: When the terminal device accesses a network, the terminal device sends a registration request message (which is a NAS message) to the AMF network element.)
[0226] The registration request message includes a multicast/broadcast access type supported by the terminal device and an identifier of a multicast/broadcast service to which the terminal device subscribes.)
Shows the terminal device subscribes to the identifier of multicast broadcast service during a multicast join procedure
The motivation to combine Abraham and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17 (Currently Amended)
Abraham teaches,
A communication node comprising an access and mobility management function, comprising: a communication unit, configured to:
(See Abraham paragraph 0154, The device 1005 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including an I/O controller 1010, a UE communications manager 1015, a transceiver 1020,)
transmit, to a network function, information related to a multicast broadcast service of a radio access network node, and
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the AMF transmitting information concerning the multicast broadcase service of a RAN
(See paragraph 0015, ...the request identifying the multicast service session comprises a multicast packet data unit (M-PDU) session identifier.)
Shows M-PDU consists of multicast packet data unit
…the radio access network node,…
(See Abraham paragraph 0135, At 645, the M-SMF 220-c may provide information of the transferred PDU and M-PDU sessions to the AMF 210-c in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContextResponse).)
Shows receiving the response from the SMF concerning the updating of the PDU session from unicast to multicast of the RAN from step 615
…wherein: the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node:
indicates a capability of the radio access network node supporting the multicast broadcast service, or comprises an identifier of the radio access network node,
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the information transmitted consists of an identifier of the target RAN
and the network function is a session management function,
(See Abraham paragraph 0132, At 615, the AMF 210-c may forward information associated with the target (R)AN 205-g (e.g., an identifier of the target (R)AN 205-g) and the all the PDU sessions and M-PDU sessions information in a message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the M-SMF 220-c.)
Shows the AMF transmits to the session management function or SMF
wherein the information related to the multicast broadcast service of the radio access network node is transmitted during or after at least one of a packet data unit, PDU, session establishment procedure, a multicast join procedure or a handover procedure.
(See Abraham paragraph 0129, FIG. 6 illustrates an examples of a process flow 600 that supports multicast idle mode behavior and paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The process flow 600 may support a handover without changing a multicast-user plane function. In some examples, the process flow 600 may implement aspects of the wireless communications systems 100 through 400. For example, UE 115-k, source (R)AN 205-f, target (R)AN 205-g, AMF 210-c, M-SW 220-c, and M-UPF 215-d, may be examples of the corresponding functions and devices described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 4.)
Shows the information related to a multicast broadcast service of a RAN occurs during a handover procedure
However, Abraham fails to explicitly teach,
…receive, from the network function, a subscription of the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive, from the network function, a subscription of the information related to the multicast broadcast service of…
(See Li paragraphs 0256-0258,
[0256] S1501: An SMF network element sends a subscription message to an AMF network element.
[0257] The subscription message includes information about a first service area and an identifier of a multicast/broadcast service.
[0258] The identifier of the multicast/broadcast service may be a group identifier (group ID) or a multicast/broadcast identifier. The subscription message is not specific to a terminal device, but is specific to all terminal devices that are located in the first service area and that belong to a group corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service (which is identified by using the identifier of the multicast/broadcast service).)
Shows the AMF receiving from the SMF subscription information related to multicast/broadcast service of a terminal
The motivation to combine Abraham and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 9, 11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher.
Claim 9
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Previously Presented) The wireless communication method of claim [[8,]]5 further comprising:
triggering a delivery method switch between a unicast method and a multicast method for a multicast service of a wireless terminal.
(See Speicher paragraph 0126, NG-RAN 305 may change a deliver method from unicast to multicast (e.g., DRB to MRB) and vice versa (e.g., MRB to DRB) at any time (e.g., during an inter-RAN mobility mode).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting to a session management function or SMF from an access and mobility management function or AMF information related to a multicast broadcast service of radio access node or RAN node consisting of an identifier of a RAN during a handover procedure as disclosed by Abraham with triggering of switch between a unicast method to a multicast method for a terminal as disclosed by Speicher to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of steps required to switch from a unicast to a multicast session).
Claim 11 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim [[10,]] 5, further comprising:
triggering a delivery method switch from a unicast method to a multicast method for at least one multicast service of a wireless terminal and
(See Speicher paragraphs 0120-0121, The UEs 115 may receive unicast transmissions from NG-RAN 305 over radio bearers 340, where the unicast transmissions originate at a unicast source 330 and are routed through a UPF 315 before being transmitted from NG-RAN 305 to a corresponding UE 115. The unicast transmissions may include specific data for the corresponding UEs 115. [0121] Initially, an SMF 320 may identify that a UE 115 is to join a multicast source for receiving multicast traffic.)
a multicast session joining procedure of the at least one multicast service for the wireless terminal.
(See Speicher paragraph 0121, For example, SMF 320-a may identify that UE 115-d or UE 115-f, respectively for network architectures 300 and 301, and SMF 320-b may identify that UE 115-e or UE 115-g, respectively for network architectures 300 and 301, are to join multicast source 335.)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 14 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the user plane function comprises a multicast broadcast user plane function.
(See Speicher paragraph 0162, In some cases, as shown in process flow 1000, at 1042, SMF 1015 may locally decide to stop the multicast data delivery (e.g., Ethernet broadcast traffic delivery as multicast data). As such, at 1044, SMF 1015 may then request MC-UPF 1030 to release the context of UE 115-o for the multicast source information.)
(See Speicher paragraph 0119, For example, a UPF, an access and mobility management function (AMF) (e.g., or a general management function), a session management function (SMF), and a multicast UPF (MC-UPF) may be included in supporting the multicast architecture.)
Shows MC-UPF stands for Multicast User Plane Function
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 16 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 9, further comprising: triggering a deactivation procedure of a unicast session.
(See Speicher paragraph 0156, SMF 815 may indicate to UPF 820 to block Ethernet broadcast frames for unicast data transmissions intended for UE 115-m.)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher in further view of Prasad et al. (US 2019/0166580 A1) or Prasad.
Claim 12 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 9, further comprising:
stopping a user plane function from transmitting data of a multicast service to a wireless terminal… (See Speicher paragraph 0162, In some cases, as shown in process flow 1000, at 1042, SMF 1015 may locally decide to stop the multicast data delivery (e.g., Ethernet broadcast traffic delivery as multicast data). As such, at 1044, SMF 1015 may then request MC-UPF 1030 to release the context of UE 115-o for the multicast source information.)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Prasad, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…via a unicast session.
(See Prasad paragraph 0178, In steps (6.1) the UE uses application-level signaling to inform the GC-AS about the ability to receive GC service data over (e)MBMS bearer service. In step (6.2) the GC-AS can acknowledge the reception of the message in step (6.1) and to terminate the transmission of GC service data over unicast delivery.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting to a session management function or SMF from an access and mobility management function or AMF information related to a multicast broadcast service of radio access node or RAN node consisting of an identifier of a RAN during a handover procedure as disclosed by Abraham with the stopping a multicast session with a unicast session as disclosed by Prasad to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of high energy open multicast sessions).
Claim 13 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the stopping the user plane function from transmitting data of the multicast service to the wireless terminal via the unicast session comprises:
transmitting, to a multicast broadcast session management function or the user plane function, a notification of stopping transmitting data of the multicast service to the wireless terminal…
(See Speicher paragraph 0162, In some cases, as shown in process flow 1000, at 1042, SMF 1015 may locally decide to stop the multicast data delivery (e.g., Ethernet broadcast traffic delivery as multicast data). As such, at 1044, SMF 1015 may then request MC-UPF 1030 to release the context of UE 115-o for the multicast source information.)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Prasad, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…via the unicast session.
(See Prasad paragraph 0178, In steps (6.1) the UE uses application-level signaling to inform the GC-AS about the ability to receive GC service data over (e)MBMS bearer service. In step (6.2) the GC-AS can acknowledge the reception of the message in step (6.1) and to terminate the transmission of GC service data over unicast delivery.)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li, Speicher, and Prasad in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. (US 2020/0092923 A1) or Abraham in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0219106 A1) or Li in further view of Speicher et al. (US 2021/0234717 A1) or Speicher in further view of Lundqvist et al. (US 2013/0332974 A1) or Lundqvist.
Claim 15 (Previously Presented)
Abraham fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. However, Speicher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The wireless communication method of claim 9, further comprising:
transmitting, to a network exposure function or a multicast broadcast service function,
(See Speicher paragraph 0037, ...transmitting PDU session information associated with the UE and multicast source information associated with the multicast source to the multicast UPF,...)
The motivation to combine Abraham, Li and Speicher in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Lundqvist, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a notification indicating a delivery method switch from a unicast method to a multicast method for a multicast service of a wireless terminal.
(See Lundqvist paragraph 0042, The STB starts to fill its buffer from the unicast stream. In conjunction to this event the STB also receives a separate message indicating when the unicast stream will end and when the STB should start to join the FCC multicast channel.)
(6.1) and to terminate the transmission of GC service data over unicast delivery.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the transmitting to a session management function or SMF from an access and mobility management function or AMF information related to a multicast broadcast service of radio access node or RAN node consisting of an identifier of a RAN during a handover procedure as disclosed by Abraham with the transmitting of a notification to switch from a unicast to multicast method as disclosed by Lundqvist to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required to open multicast sessions).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414