DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 include a reference label identifying the wireless charging assembly (10). However, the associated indicator arrow does not clearly capture the components that wireless charging assembly (10) comprises (wireless charging host (100) and fan device (200)). As a result, it is unclear what components are intended to constitute the claimed invention.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (MPEP 606.01)
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification identifies two different structures using the same term “wireless charging assembly”, namely (10) and (120) from the drawings. The use of identical terminology for different reference numerals creates ambiguity as to the relationship and distinction between these elements, and renders the disclosure unclear as to the scope and organization of the described system. For purposes of the present examination, the Office will interpret reference numeral (10) as corresponding to a “wireless charging system”, and reference numeral (120) as corresponding to a “wireless charging assembly”, unless and until the specification is amended to indicate otherwise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A wireless charging assembly … comprising: a wireless charging host, comprising … a wireless charging assembly …”. As written, the claim defines the wireless charging assembly in terms of itself, resulting in a circular recitation of elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIE et al. (CN 209676012 U).
Regarding claim 1, XIE discloses a wireless charging system, configured to support and charge an electronic device (see Par [0042]: “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a wireless charging device 100 … for wirelessly charging an electronic device…”).
XIE further discloses a wireless charging host, comprising a housing and a wireless charging assembly (see Par [0042]: “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a wireless charging device 100 includes: a housing 1, a charging coil 2...”).
Furthermore, XIE discloses wherein the housing comprises a supporting surface and an accommodation space, the supporting surface faces away from the accommodation space, the supporting surface is configured to support the electronic device, and the wireless charging assembly is disposed in the accommodation space and configured to charge the electronic device (see Par [0030], the specifications label Figs. 1 and 2, shown above, as “Housing 1; perforation 101; top wall 11; bottom wall 12; side wall 13;” see Par [0042]: “The charging coil 2 is disposed in the casing 1 for wirelessly charging an electronic device disposed outside the casing 1”. From Figure 2, it can also be seen that the bottom wall 12, side wall 13, and top wall 11 together form the accommodation space, and that the top wall faces away from the accommodation space).
Finally, a fan device, comprising a casing and a fan, wherein the fan is disposed in the casing, the casing is disposed on a side of the housing, and the fan is configured to blow an airflow to the supporting surface is disclosed in Figure 2 and in the specifications (see Par [0032]: “First fan assembly 3; first fan 31; cover 311; fan 312”; see Par [0043]: “When the wireless charging device 100 is working, the first fan … blow[s] and dissipate[s] the electronic equipment charged outside the casing 1 …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 3, 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE as applied to claim 1 above, in view of WU et al. (US 20160299544 A1), and further in view of SHIH (US 20210025401 A1).
Regarding claim 2, XIE does not disclose wherein the casing comprises at least one first vent and a second vent that are in fluid communication with each other, the at least one first vent is located on a side of the casing that is located closest to the housing, and the fan is configured to blow the airflow to the supporting surface through the at least one first vent and the second vent.
WU discloses a casing comprising at least one first vent and a second vent that are in fluid communication with each other (See Fig 1 and Par [0025]: “Each heat exchange cavity is provided with an air inlet 10 and an air outlet 20;”).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the at least one first vent being located on a side of the casing closest to the housing, and the fan being configured to blow airflow to the supporting surface through the at least one first vent and the second vent.
SHIH discloses the at least one first vent located on a side of the casing closest to the housing, and the fan configured to blow airflow to the supporting surface through the at least one first vent and the second vent (See Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to incorporate SHIH's teaching of positioning the first vent on the side of the casing closest to the housing into the combined XIE and WU wireless charging system. Further, it would be obvious to configure the fan to blow airflow to the supporting surface through the first and second vents as taught by SHIH, in order to improve the cooling efficiency of the wireless charging system by directing airflow more effectively toward the supporting surface.
Regarding claim 3, XIE further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a mounting surface (see Fig. 1: perforation 101), the mounting surface faces away from the accommodation space and is located adjacent to the supporting surface (see XIE, Fig. 1: perforation 101 is considered facing away from the accommodation space and located adjacent to top wall 11).
However, XIE does not disclose the casing of the fan device further comprises a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other, the first surface is located closer to the housing than the second surface and faces the mounting surface, the first surface comprises a mounting area and a vent area that are connected to each other, the mounting area mounted to the mounting surface, the at least one first vent is located on the vent area and exposed to outside at a side of the supporting surface, and the second vent is located on the second surface.
WU discloses the casing of the fan device further comprises a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other (see Fig. 1, and Par [0026]: “A box cover 40 is arranged at the opening of the box body 30, and covers the opening of the box body 30;”), the first surface comprises a mounting area and a vent area that are connected to each other (see Fig. 1: vent area = air inlets 10 + air outlets 20; mounting area = non-venting area), the at least one first vent is located on the vent area and the second vent is located on the second surface (vent areas on box cover 40).
A PHOSITA would know the number of physically realizable orientations for positioning the fan casing of WU with respect to the mounting surface of XIE is finite and predictable. Further, a PHOSITA would have recognized that only a limited number of orientations would mount the fan casing of WU to the mounting surface of XIE such that the first vent is exposed to outside at a side of the supporting surface for improved cooling, and would have been motivated to select from among those orientations to achieve the desired cooling effect. Furthermore, once the fan casing of WU is mounted to the mounting surface of XIE in the optimal orientation for directing airflow toward the supporting surface, it necessarily and inherently follows that the first surface is located closer to the housing than the second surface, and the mounting area is mounted to the mounting surface, as these are natural consequences of mounting the fan casing in the identified orientation.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, XIE is silent to wherein the casing of the fan device comprises a main body and a cover body, the main body is disposed on the mounting surface, the cover body is disposed on a side of the main body that is located farthest away from the mounting surface, the first surface and the at least one first vent are located on the main body, and the second surface and the second vent are located on the cover body, the fan is fixed to a side of the cover body that is located closest to the main body.
WU teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 3, wherein the casing of the fan device comprises a main body and a cover body (see Fig. 1: main body = box body 30, cover body = box cover 40).
WU further teaches the first surface and the at least one first vent are located on the main body, and the second surface and the second vent are located on the cover body (see Fig. 1).
Furthermore, WU teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 13, wherein the fan is fixed to a side of the cover body that is located closest to the main body (see Fig. 1 and Par [0038]: air driving device 120 is a centrifugal fan).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to arrange the main body (box body 30) of WU on the mounting surface of XIE with the cover body (box cover 40) disposed on the side of the main body farthest from the mounting surface, as this is the natural and functionally necessary disposition of a two-part casing assembly — placing the structural base on the mounting surface and the cover on the opposing side is the only arrangement consistent with the casing's function and the assembly's structural requirements.
Regarding claim 15, XIE is silent to the fan has an inhalation mode and an exhaustion mode, wherein in the inhalation mode the fan blows airflow from the at least one first vent to the second vent, and in the exhaustion mode the fan blows airflow from the second vent to the at least one first vent.
WU discloses a casing comprising at least one first vent and a second vent (See Fig 1 and Par [0025]: “Each heat exchange cavity is provided with an air inlet 10 and an air outlet 20;”).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the fan has an inhalation mode and an exhaustion mode, wherein in the inhalation mode the fan blows airflow from the at least one first vent to the second vent, and in the exhaustion mode the fan blows airflow from the second vent to the at least one first vent.
SHIH discloses a wind direction changing structure with air blowing direction flexibility (see Par [0008]: "It is a primary objective of the present disclosure to provide a wind direction changing structure of a fan capable of providing bidirectional airflow operations …").
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to apply SHIH's bidirectional airflow technique to the fan of XIE and WU for improved cooling flexibility.
Claims 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE in view of WU, SHIH, and further in view of ITO (US 20150015205 A1).
Regarding claim 4, XIE is silent to the casing of the fan device further comprises a third surface, a fourth surface, the third surface and the fourth surface face away from each other, the third surface and the fourth surface are connected by the first surface and the second surface and are located between the first surface and the second surface, the third surface is connected to the vent area of the first surface, the fourth surface is connected to the mounting area of the first surface, and the at least one discharge hole is located on the fourth surface.
WU discloses the casing of the fan device further comprises a third surface, a fourth surface, the third surface and the fourth surface face away from each other, the third surface and the fourth surface are connected by the first surface and the second surface and are located between the first surface and the second surface, the third surface is connected to the vent area of the first surface, and the fourth surface is connected to the mounting area of the first surface (see WU Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the at least one discharge hole is located on the fourth surface.
ITO discloses the at least one discharge hole is located on the fourth surface (see Par [0023]: "…any foreign matter … can be easily discharged … through the opening in the bottom part."). ITO's discharge hole is located on the bottom part of its casing — the surface that, like the fourth surface of the claimed invention, is oriented toward the mounting/base side of the assembly and is connected to the mounting area.
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the fan casing of XIE and WU with the discharge hole of ITO located on the fourth surface to allow foreign matter accumulating within the fan casing to be expelled through the gravity-favorable, base-adjacent surface of the casing.
Regarding claim 6, XIE is silent to the at least one first vent is located farther away from the fourth surface than the second vent.
WU discloses the at least one first vent is located farther away from the fourth surface than the second vent (see WU Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the fan casing of XIE with the vent positioning of WU to position the first vents farther from the fourth surface than the second vent, so that foreign materials entering through the first vents are carried downward by gravity toward the discharge holes on the fourth surface for expulsion.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE in view of WU, SHIH, ITO, and further in view of KIM et al. (US 20140285073 A1).
Regarding claim 5, XIE is silent to the casing of the fan device further comprises a first side surface, a second side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface are parallel to each other and stand on two opposite sides of the third surface, respectively, a first inclined surface, a second inclined surface, two opposite sides of the first side surface are connected to the third surface and the first inclined surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second side surface are connected to the third surface and the second inclined surface, respectively, the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface stand on two opposite sides of the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the first inclined surface are connected to the first side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second inclined surface are connected to the second side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, and a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the first side surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the second side surface is longer than a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the fourth surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the fourth surface.
WU discloses the casing of the fan device further comprises a first side surface, a second side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface are parallel to each other and stand on two opposite sides of the third surface, respectively (see WU Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the casing of the fan device further comprises a first inclined surface, a second inclined surface, two opposite sides of the first side surface are connected to the third surface and the first inclined surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second side surface are connected to the third surface and the second inclined surface, respectively, the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface stand on two opposite sides of the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the first inclined surface are connected to the first side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second inclined surface are connected to the second side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, and a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the first side surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the second side surface is longer than a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the fourth surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the fourth surface.
KIM discloses the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface, wherein two opposite sides of the first side surface are connected to the third surface and the first inclined surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second side surface are connected to the third surface and the second inclined surface, respectively, the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface stand on two opposite sides of the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the first inclined surface are connected to the first side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, two opposite sides of the second inclined surface are connected to the second side surface and the fourth surface, respectively, and a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the first side surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the second side surface is longer than a distance between a side of the first inclined surface connected to the fourth surface and a side of the second inclined surface connected to the fourth surface, in the form of chamfered corners on a device housing (see Par [0001]: "This application relates to an apparatus that provides a housing for a product insert, and more specifically to a housing that has at least one chamfered corner that accommodates a device insert").
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the fan casing of XIE and WU with the chamfered corners of KIM at the junctions between the side surfaces and the fourth surface to guide foreign materials accumulating within the fan casing toward the discharge holes on the fourth surface for expulsion.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE in view of WU, SHIH, and further in view of HORNG (US 20100232948 A1).
Regarding claim 7, XIE is silent to the at least one first vent comprises a plurality of first vents, and the plurality of first vents are unevenly located on the side of the casing that is located closest to the housing.
WU discloses the at least one first vent comprises a plurality of first vents (see WU Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the plurality of first vents are unevenly located on the side of the casing that is located closest to the housing.
HORNG discloses the plurality of first vents are unevenly located on the side of the casing closest to the housing (see Claim 7: "the air vent that is close to the side outlet is larger than the air vent that is away from the side outlet … all of the supporting ribs being within the temporarily-staying section").
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the fan casing of XIE and WU with the unevenly distributed vent arrangement of HORNG to suppress turbulence and optimize airflow distribution in the output section of the fan casing.
Claims 8 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE in view of WU, SHIH, and further in view of SULTENFUSS et al. (US 20140002014 A1).
Regarding claim 8, XIE discloses the wireless charging system according to claim 2, wherein the housing of the wireless charging host further comprises a base and a top plate, the top plate is disposed on a side of the base (see Fig. 2: base = side wall 13 + bottom wall 12, top plate = top wall 11).
XIE further discloses the supporting surface is located on the top plate and faces away from the base (see Fig. 2, Par [0044]: "the first fan 31 can be driven by the first driving device 32 to move out of the perforation 101 to the working position outside the casing 1 to blow and dissipate the electronic equipment charged outside the casing 1").
Furthermore, XIE discloses the base and the top plate together form the accommodation space, and the casing of the fan device is disposed on a side of the base (see Fig. 2).
XIE is silent to the base is made of metal.
SULTENFUSS discloses the base is made of metal (see Par [0018]: "The remaining portions, such as front, back, left, right, and top portions, of the enclosure of the wireless charging module 105 can be metal").
It would be obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the base of the wireless charging device of XIE with the metal enclosure of SULTENFUSS for its well-known benefits of structural rigidity and thermal conductivity.
Regarding claim 9, XIE does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless charging host further comprises a thermally conductive block, the wireless charging assembly comprises a circuit board and at least one heat source, the at least one heat source is disposed on and electrically connected to the circuit board, the circuit board is disposed in the accommodation space, and the thermally conductive block is located in the accommodation space and in thermal contact with the at least one heat source and the base.
Official notice is hereby taken that a PHOSITA would incorporate a thermally conductive block in thermal contact with the heat sources and the base to dissipate heat generated during charging operations, as thermally conductive materials are a known technique in the art for this purpose (see XIE Par [0057]: "some wireless charging devices in the related technology use a thermally conductive material inside the case to dissipate the heat generated during the charging coil operation"). The location of the thermally conductive block within the accommodation space is inherent to its function, as a block serving to conduct heat between internal heat sources and the base can only fulfill this function from within the accommodation space.
Furthermore, official notice is hereby taken that a PHOSITA would incorporate a circuit board with at least one heat source disposed on and electrically connected to it into the accommodation space of a wireless charging device, as these are conventional and well-understood components of wireless charging assemblies (see XIE Par [0066]: "circuit board components and charging principles are known to those of ordinary skill in the art").
Regarding claim 10, XIE discloses the accommodation space (see XIE Fig. 1).
XIE is silent to the accommodation space is not in fluid communication with the at least one first vent and the second vent.
WU discloses the at least one first vent and the second vent (see WU Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would add the two-part fan enclosure structure of WU to the wireless charging device of XIE to allow the fan to be more easily installed, accessed, and serviced without disassembling the wireless charging device.
WU is silent to the accommodation space is not in fluid communication with the at least one first vent and the second vent.
The limitation that the accommodation space is not in fluid communication with the at least one first vent and the second vent is inherent to the combined device of XIE and WU. The fan casing of WU is a sealed external enclosure mounted on the side of XIE's housing, and XIE's housing has no openings or holes through which fluid may flow between the accommodation space and the exterior.
Regarding claim 11, XIE is silent to two opposite sides of the thermally conductive block are in thermal contact with the at least one heat source and the base, respectively.
The limitation that two opposite sides of the thermally conductive block are in thermal contact with the at least one heat source and the base, respectively, is inherent to the thermally conductive block established in claim 9. A thermally conductive block disposed in the accommodation space between the heat sources and the base necessarily contacts each on geometrically opposing sides — one side facing the heat source and the opposite side facing the base — as this is the only spatially coherent arrangement for a block serving a thermal conduction function between two components.
Regarding claim 12, XIE discloses the base comprises a bottom plate and a side peripheral plate, the side peripheral plate stands on the bottom plate, the top plate is disposed on a side of the side peripheral plate that is located farthest away from the bottom plate, and the bottom plate, the side peripheral plate and the top plate together form the accommodation space (see XIE Fig. 2: bottom plate = bottom wall 12, side peripheral plate = side wall 13, top plate = top wall 11).
XIE is silent to two opposite sides of the thermally conductive block are in thermal contact with the at least one heat source and the bottom plate, respectively.
The limitation that two opposite sides of the thermally conductive block are in thermal contact with the at least one heat source and the bottom plate, respectively, is inherent to the thermally conductive block established in claim 9. As shown in XIE Fig. 2, the bottom plate is the lowermost surface of the base, and a thermally conductive block disposed in the accommodation space between the heat sources and the base necessarily contacts the bottom plate on its base-facing side, as the bottom plate is the only surface of the base spatially available for such thermal contact given the geometry of the accommodation space.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859