DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 01/07/2025.
Claims 4 and 13 were cancelled. Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 19, and 20 were amended. Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the present amendments, claim 1 has been amended to recite the limitations of previous claim 4 and claim 10 has been amended to recite the limitations of claim 13. Applicant argues that the cited reference fails to teach “stop monitoring the PDCCH for detection of one or more DCI formats… during a skipping period”, but the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Namely, as understood from the present specification, the skipping period relates to skipping or bypassing PDCCH monitoring for a unit of a slot or millisecond; so, a “skipping search space set group” relates to not performing the PDCCH monitoring for at least a slot or a millisecond. In the cited reference to Kuang, in for example figures 17, 19, 20 and their corresponding description paragraphs, the UE can be operating with a SSSG which has a predetermined periodicity for PDCCH monitoring; for example, PDCCH monitoring every slot, every other slot, or every fourth slot. When operating with a SSSG which monitors PDCCH every other slot or every fourth slot, it means the UE will skip PDCCH monitoring for a slot or for three slots. The slot or slots during which the UE does not perform PDCCH monitoring is believed to correspond to “a skipping period”, and since the configuration of the SSSG means the monitoring is performed every other slot or every fourth slot, it corresponds to the “skipping search space set group”. Thus, the reference is believed to meet the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0269742; hereinafter Kuang).
Regarding claim 1 Kuang discloses a wireless communication method, for use in a wireless terminal, the method comprising:
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to a first group of search space sets in a plurality of groups of search space sets based on a type of the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0129, 0133, 0136-0137, 0298; the UE is required to monitor the PDCCH during a slot), wherein the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets is determined based on control information (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises at least one of a switching search space set group, an uplink search space set group, a downlink search space set group, or a skipping search space set group (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; uplink, downlink, switching, or skipping search space);
wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is the skipping search space set group and the first group of search space sets includes at least one search space set associated with one or more DCI formats (paragraphs 0212, 0229, 0232, 0268; to allow to skip the PDCCH monitoring), wherein the monitoring the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets based on the type of the first group of search space sets comprises: stop monitoring the PDCCH for detection of one or more DCI formats according to the first group of search space sets during a skipping period, wherein the one or more DCI formats include at least one of DCI format 0-1, DCI format 1-1, DCI format 0-2 or DCI format 1-2 (paragraphs 0203, 0287).
Regarding claim 2 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the wireless terminal monitors PDCCH according to search space sets of the first group of search space sets for detecting one or more downlink control information (DCI) formats when the type of the first group of search space sets is the uplink search space set group (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces), and wherein one or more DCI formats carry information corresponding to an uplink scheduling (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces), or wherein the wireless terminal monitors PDCCH according to search space sets of the first group of search space sets for detecting one or more DCI formats when the type of the first group of search space sets is the downlink search space set group, and wherein one or more DCI formats carry information corresponding to a downlink scheduling (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces).
Regarding claim 3 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets changes between at least two of the switching search space set group, the uplink search space set group, the downlink search space set group and the skipping search space set group when at least two types of the switching search space set group, the uplink search space set group, the downlink search space set group, or the skipping search space set group are configured for at least one of the search space sets in the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0196-0199; the content or format of that scheduling DCI is set by the gNB such that it causes the UE to switch to another SSS group, by providing an SSSG with sparse monitoring requirements, the UE is allowed to skip certain slots for the monitoring function).
Regarding claim 5 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises the type of at least one of the uplink search space set group or the downlink search space set group, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of the control information or at least one condition, wherein the control information includes at least one of search space set group information indicated by a DCI, the DCI format, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, or the release version configured by a higher layer signaling, and wherein the at least one condition is associated with at least one of a budget size difference between DCI format 0-1 and DCI format 1-1, or a budget size difference between DCI format 0-2 and DCI format 1-2 (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces).
Regarding claim 6 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein an indication indicating the type of the first group of search space sets being at least one of the uplink search space set group or the downlink search space set group is invalid or not presented when the control information is not configured for the wireless terminal (paragraphs 0120, 0122-0123; the terminal receives information intended for it, and present in activated BWPs), and wherein the control information includes at least one of the DCI format, the bitwidth of search space set group information indicated by the DCI, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, or a release version configured by a higher layer signaling (paragraphs 0184-0187; determines one group of the plurality of groups of search space sets for performing the monitoring function, the content or the format of the received downlink control information message).
Regarding claim 7 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of information indicated by a DCI or a release version when at least one of the type of the switching search space set group, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group and the type of the skipping search space set group is configured for the wireless terminal (paragraphs 0184-0187; DCI indicates one group of the plurality of groups of search space sets for performing the monitoring function, the content or the format of the received downlink control information message), or wherein an identification of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of search space set group information indicated by a DCI, the type of the switching search space set group, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, the type of the skipping search space set group, or a release version configured by a higher layer signaling (paragraph 0182; DCI comprising the identity of the search space set group).
Regarding claim 8 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 7, wherein the control information is associated with an indication of the minimum applicable scheduling offset, wherein the indication of the minimum applicable scheduling offset comprises at least one of: a DCI format, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between the DCI and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between a slot containing the DCI triggering a set of the reference signal resources and another slot in which the set of reference signal resources is transmitted, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between the DCI and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the DCI, a value of a field indicating the minimum applicable scheduling offset, a bit width of the field indicating the minimum applicable scheduling offset, the number of values configured by a first higher layer parameter corresponding to the minimum applicable value of the scheduling offset between the DCI and the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, or the number of values configured by a second higher layer parameter corresponding to the minimum applicable value of the scheduling offset between the DCI and the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI (paragraphs 0144, 0158, 0206; at least a time gap between DCI and PDSCH, for example),
wherein the first group of search space sets is configured as per downlink bandwidth part (paragraphs 0124, 0127; DL BWP).
Regarding claim 10 Kuang discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to a first group of search space sets in a plurality of groups of search space sets based on a type of the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets is determined based on control information (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises at least one of a switching search space set group, an uplink search space set group, a downlink search space set group, or a skipping search space set group (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; uplink, downlink, switching, switching, or skipping search space);
wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is the skipping search space set group and the first group of search space sets includes at least one search space set associated with one or more DCI formats, wherein the transmitting, to the wireless terminal (paragraphs 0212, 0229, 0232, 0268; to allow to skip the PDCCH monitoring), the DCI on the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the plurality of search space sets based on the type of the first group of search space sets comprises: stop transmitting, to the wireless terminal, the DCI associated with one or more DCI formats according to the first group of search space sets during a skipping period, wherein the one or more DCI formats includes at least one of DCI format 0-1, DCI format 1-1, DCI format 0-2 or DCI format 1-2 (paragraphs 0203, 0287).
Regarding claim 11 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 10, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is the uplink search space set group, and the DCI is associated with one or more DCI formats carrying information corresponding to an uplink scheduling (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces), or wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is the downlink search space set group, and the DCI is associated with one or more DCI formats carrying information corresponding to a downlink scheduling (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces).
Regarding claim 12 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 10, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets changes between at least two of the switching search space set group, the uplink search space set group, the downlink search space set group and the skipping search space set group when at least two types of the switching search space set group, the uplink search space set group, the downlink search space set group, or the skipping search space set group are configured for at least one of the search space sets in the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0196-0199; the content or format of that scheduling DCI is set by the gNB such that it causes the UE to switch to another SSS group, by providing an SSSG with sparse monitoring requirements, the UE is allowed to skip certain slots for the monitoring function).
Regarding claim 14 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 10, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises the type of at least one of the uplink search space set group or the downlink search space set group, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of the control information or at least one condition, and wherein the control information includes at least one of search space set group information indicated by a DCI, the DCI format, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, or the release version configured by a higher layer signaling, and wherein the at least one condition is associated with at least one of a budget size difference between DCI format 0-1 and DCI format 1-1, or a budget size difference between DCI format 0-2 and DCI format 1-2 (paragraphs 0196-0198; DCI schedules uplink/downlink search spaces).
Regarding claim 15 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 10, wherein an indication indicating the type of the first group of search space sets being at least one of the uplink search space set group or downlink search space set group is invalid or not presented when wireless network node does not configure the control information for the wireless terminal (paragraphs 0120, 0122-0123; the terminal receives information intended for it, and present in activated BWPs), and wherein the control information includes at least one of the DCI format, the bitwidth of search space set group information indicated by the DCI, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, or a release version configured by a higher layer signaling (paragraphs 0184-0187; determines one group of the plurality of groups of search space sets for performing the monitoring function, the content or the format of the received downlink control information message).
Regarding claim 16 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 10, wherein the type of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of information indicated by a DCI or a release version when at least one of the type of the switching search space set group, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group and the type of the skipping search space set group is configured for the wireless terminal (paragraphs 0184-0187; DCI indicates one group of the plurality of groups of search space sets for performing the monitoring function, the content or the format of the received downlink control information message), or wherein an identification of the first group of search space sets is determined based on at least one of search space set group information indicated by a DCI, the type of the switching search space set group, the type of the uplink search space set group, the type of the downlink search space set group, the type of the skipping search space set group, or a release version configured by a higher layer signaling (paragraph 0182; DCI comprising the identity of the search space set group).
Regarding claim 17 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein the control information is associated with an indication of the minimum applicable scheduling offset, wherein the indication of the minimum applicable scheduling offset comprises at least one of: a DCI format, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between the DCI and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between a slot containing the DCI triggering a set of the reference signal resources and another slot in which the set of reference signal resources is transmitted, the minimum applicable value of a scheduling offset between the DCI and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the DCI, a value of a field indicating the minimum applicable scheduling offset, a bit width of the field indicating the minimum applicable scheduling offset, the number of values configured by a first higher layer parameter corresponding to the minimum applicable value of the scheduling offset between the DCI and the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, or the number of values configured by a second higher layer parameter corresponding to the minimum applicable value of the scheduling offset between the DCI and the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI (paragraphs 0144, 0158, 0206; at least a time gap between DCI and PDSCH, for example),
wherein the first group of search space sets is configured as per downlink bandwidth part (paragraphs 0124, 0127; DL BWP).
Regarding claim 19 Kuang discloses a wireless terminal (fig. 12), comprising:
a processor (processing circuitry in UE), configured to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to a first group of search space sets in a plurality of groups of search space sets based on a type of the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0129, 0133, 0136-0137, 0298; the UE is required to monitor the PDCCH during a slot), wherein the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets is determined based on control information (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises at least one of a switching search space set group, an uplink search space set group, a downlink search space set group, or a skipping search space set group (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; uplink, downlink, switching, switching, or skipping search space).
Regarding claim 20 Kuang discloses a wireless network node (fig. 12), comprising:
a processor and a communication unit (processing circuitry and transceiver in base station), configured to transmit, to the wireless terminal, downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to a first group of search space sets in a plurality of groups of search space sets based on a type of the first group of search space sets (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets is determined based on control information (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; DCI indicates search space type), wherein the type of the first group of search space sets comprises at least one of a switching search space set group, an uplink search space set group, a downlink search space set group, or a skipping search space set group (paragraphs 0136-0137, 0296-0298; uplink, downlink, switching, switching, or skipping search space).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang in view of Lin et al. (USPN 11,950,248; hereinafter Lin; with support from Provisional 62/967,880 dated 01/30/2020; citations below and from the provisional).
Regarding claim 9 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 7. Kuang fails to explicitly disclose but Lin, in the same field of endeavor related to PDCCH monitoring, discloses wherein the control information is associated with at least one of a carrier indicator or a secondary cell dormancy indication in a DCI (page 18; SCell dormancy indication), and wherein the monitoring the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets based on the type of the first group of search space sets comprises: not monitoring the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the cell indicated by the carrier indicator and the cells in a cell group bundled for monitoring PDCCH if the cell group bundled for monitoring PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets is configured for the wireless terminal, or monitoring the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in at least one cell other than the one or more groups of serving cells, wherein the secondary cell dormancy indication is valid for one or more groups of serving cells (pages 19-24; PDCCH monitoring in a non-dormant cell group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang with the teachings of Lin, in order to increase throughput (Lin: col. 19, lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 18 Kuang discloses the wireless communication method of claim 16. Kuang fails to explicitly disclose but Lin, in the same field of endeavor related to PDCCH monitoring, discloses wherein the control information is associated with at least one of a carrier indicator or a secondary cell dormancy indication in a DCI (page 18; SCell dormancy indication), wherein the transmitting, to the wireless terminal, the DCI on the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the plurality of groups of search space sets based on the type of the first group of search space sets comprises: not transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in the cell indicated by the carrier indicator and the cells in a cell group bundled for transmitting the DCI one the PDCCH if the wireless network node configures the cell group bundled for transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets for the wireless terminal, or transmitting the DCI on the PDCCH according to the first group of search space sets in at least one cell other than the one or more groups of serving cells, wherein the secondary cell dormancy indication is valid for one or more groups of serving cells (pages 19-24; PDCCH monitoring in a non-dormant cell group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kuang with the teachings of Lin, in order to increase throughput (Lin: col. 19, lines 49-55).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2023/0054007 to Kim et al. – that discloses obtaining information on a plurality of search space sets and a plurality of groups including parts of the plurality of search space sets; obtaining information on one group for monitoring a PDCCH from among the plurality of groups; and monitoring the PDCCH on the basis of search space sets which satisfy a pre-defined condition from among search space sets corresponding to the one group.
US PGPUB 2020/0314811 to Lin et al. – which teaches a method for receiving physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs). The UE includes a receiver and a processor and is configured to receive a configuration for one or more search space sets (SSS) for reception of PDCCHs. The UE is configured to determine a PDCCH reception occasion according to the configuration of the one or more search space sets. The PDCCH reception occasion is prior to an ON duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle after a second DRX cycle. The UE is also configured to determine an indication to either receive the PDCCHs when the PDCCH reception occasion does not overlap with an extended Active Time of the second DRX cycle or to suspend reception of the PDCCHs when the PDCCH reception occasion overlaps with the extended Active Time of the second DRX cycle. The UE is also configured to receive the PDCCHs at the PDCCH reception according to the determined indication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466