Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “71” has been used to designate both “plurality of vanes” and “input” (See Fig. 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because reference character “46” designated as “outlet vent” is not directed towards any element (See Fig. 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “further comprising the heater comprising” should read “wherein the heater comprises”.
In claim 3, “further comprising: the salon chair further comprising” should read “wherein the salon chair comprises”.
In claim 4, “further comprising the outer wall of the heater comprising” should read “wherein the outer wall of the heater comprises”.
In claim 6, “further comprising the heater further comprising” should read “wherein the heater further comprises”.
In claim 8, “further comprising the heater comprising” should read “wherein the heater further comprises”.
In claim 9, “further comprising the heater further comprising” should read “wherein the heater further comprises”.
In claim 10, “further comprising the heater further comprising” should read “wherein the heater further comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-10 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Annotated Figure 1 (Sugano)
Annotated Figure 2 (Sugano)
Annotated Figure 3 (Sugano)
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugano (J.P. Patent No. 2002136378).
Sugano teaches:
Regarding claim 1, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) A personal heating assembly (Annotated Figure 3) comprising: a salon chair (1) comprising a seat (2), the seat (2) having a top surface (Annotated Figure 1) being oriented horizontally and being configured for supporting a user on the top surface (Annotated Figure 1); and a heater (Annotated Figure 1) being coupled to the salon chair (1), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being positioned above and laterally to the seat (2), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being configured to heat air and urge heated air above the seat (2). “Furthermore, if a heat source is provided inside the air blower unit and it can be switched on and off, warm air can be blown out from the air blower unit in winter, etc., which is a pleasant sensation for the seated occupant.” (Pg. 3, Paragraph 15, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) comprising: a housing (6) comprising an outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an interior space (Annotated Figure 2) bounded by the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an outlet vent (10) extending through the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the housing (6) having an inlet vent (9) extending through the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2); a heating element being coupled to the housing (6) and being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the heating element selectively generating heat; and a blower (8) being coupled to the housing (6) and being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the blower (8) selectively urging air to flow into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2) through the inlet vent (9), across the heating element, and through the outlet vent (10), wherein the outlet vent (10) is positioned such that the air is directed above the seat after flowing through the outlet vent (10). “Furthermore, if a heat source is provided inside the air blower unit and it can be switched on and off, warm air can be blown out from the air blower unit in winter, etc., which is a pleasant sensation for the seated occupant” (Pg. 3, Paragraph 15, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, (See Annotated Figure 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising: the salon chair (1) further comprising an armrest (4) being coupled to the seat (2), the armrest (4) having an arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3) being spaced above a lateral side of the seat (2); and the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being coupled to the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3) of the armrest (4), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being positioned on an underside of the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, (See Annotated Figure 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being detachable from the salon chair (1). “For example, the air blowing unit may be provided on one of the armrests, and if the air blowing unit is detachable from the armrest, maintenance and inspection of the air blowing unit will be easier” (Pg. 3, Paragraph 15, lines 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Annotated Figure 4 (Deng)
Annotated Figure 5 (Deng)
Alternatively Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Deng (C.N. Patent No. 214207486).
Sugano teaches:
Regarding claim 2, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) comprising: a housing (6) comprising an outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an interior space (Annotated Figure 2) bounded by the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an outlet vent (10) extending through the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the housing (6) having an inlet vent (9) extending through the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2); and a blower (8) being coupled to the housing (6) and being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the blower (8) selectively urging air to flow into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2) through the inlet vent (9), and through the outlet vent (10), wherein the outlet vent (10) is positioned such that the air is directed above the seat after flowing through the outlet vent (10).
Sugano does not teach:
Regarding claim 2, a heating element being coupled to the housing and being positioned within the interior space, the heating element selectively generating heat; the blower selectively urging air to flow across the heating element.
Deng teaches:
Regarding claim 2, (See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) a heating element (8) being coupled to the housing (1 and 2) and being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 5), the heating element (8) selectively generating heat; the blower (6) selectively urging air to flow across the heating element (8).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have a heating element within the heater. Doing so allows for warm air to be blown onto the user which would create a pleasant feeling for the user, especially in a cold room or during the winter.
Annotated Figure 6 (Cho)
Annotated Figure 7 (Cho)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano (J.P. Patent No. 2002136378) in view of Cho (K.R. Patent No. 20090089516).
Sugano teaches:
Regarding claim 4, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) of the heater (Annotated Figure 1) comprising a bottom member (Annotated Figure 1), a top member (Annotated Figure 1), and a perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1), the perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1) extending between the bottom member (Annotated Figure 1) and the top member (Annotated Figure 1), the outlet vent (10) extending through the perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1).
Sugano does not teach:
Regarding claim 4, the inlet vent extending through the bottom member.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising the heater being detachable from the salon chair.
Cho teaches:
Regarding claim 4, (See Annotated Figures 6 and 7 above) the inlet vent (Annotated Figure 7) extending through the bottom member (Annotated Figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, (See Annotated Figures 6 and 7 above) further comprising the heater being detachable from the salon chair (20). Examiner note: a heating element is not taught in Cho. However, Cho teaches the capability of a heater or other ventilation systems being attached and detached to a salon chair.
Regarding claim 4, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have the inlet vent extending through the bottom member. Doing so allows for the heater to draw air in further away from the outlet vent, thus preventing re-entrainment, in which the air quality becomes worse or duct particles are constantly recirculated.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have the heater being detachable. Doing so allows for easier user access to the heater allowing for convenient maintenance and replacement of parts within the heater.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano (J.P. Patent No. 2002136378) in view of Cho as applied to claims 4 and 5 above, and further in view of Deng (C.N. Patent No. 214207486).
Sugano in view of Cho teaches:
Regarding claim 6, (See Sugano’s Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) further comprising: (See Annotated Figures 6 and 7 above) a strap (40, see Cho), said strap (40) being coupled to the housing, the strap (40) extending upwardly from the housing (Annotated Figure 6), the strap (40) wrapping around the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 6 of Cho) of the armrest (70) to form a loop (Annotated Figure 6 of Cho) around the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 6).
Sugano in view of Cho does not teach:
Regarding claim 6, further comprising the heater further comprising: a pair of straps, and a connector having a pair of mating members each being coupled to a respective one of the pair of straps, each of the pair of mating members being positioned such that the pair of mating members releasably engage each other, thereby detachably coupling the heater to the arm support portion.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising the connector being a hook- and-loop fastener.
Deng teaches:
Regarding claim 6, (See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 4) further comprising: a pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4), and a connector (Annotated Figure 4) having a pair of mating members (302 and 303) each being coupled to a respective one of the pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4), each of the pair of mating members (302 and 303) being positioned such that the pair of mating members (302 and 303) releasably engage each other, thereby detachably coupling the heater (Annotated Figure 4) to the arm support portion. Examiner note: Deng does not teach an arm support portion. However, Deng teaches the capability of being attached to an arm support portion and forming a loop around the arm support portion.
Regarding claim 7, (See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) further comprising the connector (Annotated Figure 4) being a hook-and-loop fastener. “The Velcro strap 3 includes two fabric straps 301, a sub-Vessel hook and loop fastener 302, and a female Velcro fastener 303” (Pg. 4, Paragraph 20, Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Sugano in view of Cho strap to the Deng straps, because substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable result of connecting the heater to the chair.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano in view of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have a pair of straps that have a connector with mating members. Doing so allows for the heater to be attached and detached to an armrest of a chair or other objects repeatedly.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano in view of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have the connector be a hook-and-loop fastener. Doing so allows for a durability in the connector, the hook-and-loop fattener can be used over and over again without losing strength, and a hook-and-loop fastener allows for quick and easy attachment/detachment not requiring any tools.
Annotated Figure 8 (Fukazawa)
Annotated Figure 9 (Fukazawa)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano in view of Fukazawa (W.O. Patent No. 2016021436).
Sugano teaches:
Regarding claim 8, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) comprising a louver (Annotated Figure 2) being coupled to and extending outwardly from the housing (6).
Sugano does not teach:
Regarding claim 8, the louver comprising: a circumferential wall surrounding the outlet vent, the circumferential wall defining a duct being in fluid communication with the outlet vent, the circumferential wall having an opening at a distal end of the circumferential wall relative to the housing; and a plurality of vanes being movably coupled to the circumferential wall, the plurality of vanes being positioned within the duct, each of the plurality of vanes being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing.
Fukazawa teaches:
Regarding claim 8, (See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) the louver (4) comprising: a circumferential wall (10) surrounding the outlet vent (Annotated Figure 9), the circumferential wall (10) defining a duct (Annotated Figure 9) being in fluid communication with the outlet vent (Annotated Figure 9), the circumferential wall (10) having an opening (Annotated Figure 9) at a distal end (Annotated Figure 9) of the circumferential wall (10) relative to the housing; and a plurality of vanes (4A and 4B) being movably coupled to the circumferential wall (10), the plurality of vanes (4A and 4B) being positioned within the duct (Annotated Figure 9), each of the plurality of vanes (4A and 4B) being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing. Examiner note: the heater housing is not taught in the Fukazawa reference. However, Fukazawa teaches the louver and its specific elements that could be attached to a heater’s housing.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Fukazawa to have a louver with a circumferential wall, duct, and a plurality of orientable vanes. Doing so allows for the user to receive airflow and to position the airflow into a desirable position, so that the user can control exactly where they want the heater air.
Annotated Figure 10 (Curry)
Annotated Figure 11 (Curry)
Annotated Figure 12 (Curry)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano in view of Curry (U.S. Patent No. 9599367).
Sugano teaches:
Regarding claim 9, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) further comprising the heater (Annotated Figure 1) further comprising: a control circuit (Annotated Figure 2) being coupled to the housing (6), the control circuit (Annotated Figure 2) being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2).
Sugano does not teach:
Regarding claim 9, the control circuit being electrically coupled to the heating element and the blower, the control circuit selectively activating each of the heating element and the blower; and an input being coupled to the outer wall of the housing, the input being electrically coupled to the control circuit, the input being actuatable to activate each of the heating element and the blower.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising the heater further comprising: a battery being positioned within the interior space, the battery being electrically coupled to the control circuit; and a charging port being positioned on the outer wall of the housing, the charging port being electrically coupled to the battery.
Curry teaches:
Regarding claim 9, (See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12 above) the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12) being electrically coupled to the heating element (24) and the blower (27), the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12) selectively activating each of the heating element (24) and the blower (27); and an input (50 and 52) being coupled to the outer wall (28) of the housing (12), the input (50 and 52) being electrically coupled to the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12), the input (50 and 52) being actuatable to activate each of the heating element (24) and the blower (27).
Regarding claim 10, (See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12 above) further comprising the heater (10) further comprising: a battery (22) being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 10), the battery (22) being electrically coupled to the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12); and a charging port (34) being positioned on the outer wall (28) of the housing (12), the charging port (34) being electrically coupled to the battery (22).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Curry to have an input that can activate both the heating element and the blower. Doing so allows for the user to select for the heater to run only the blower, which would be possibly desirable to the user if the user became too warm.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Curry to have a battery and a charging port electrically coupled to the battery. Doing so allows for more portability of the heater, due to the heater not always needing to be plugged into an electrical outlet.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano (J.P. Patent No. 2000337648) in view of Cho (K.R. Patent No. 20090089516), further in view of Deng, (C.N. Patent No. 214207486), further in view of Fukazawa (W.O. Patent No. 2016021436), and further in view of Curry (U.S. Patent No. 9599367).
Sugano teaches:
(See Annotated Figures 1, 2, and 3 above) A personal heating assembly (Annotated Figure 3) comprising: a salon chair (1) comprising: a seat (2), the seat (2) having a top surface (Annotated Figure 1) being oriented horizontally and being configured for supporting a user on the top surface (Annotated Figure 1); and an armrest (4) being coupled to the seat (2), the armrest (2) having an arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3) being spaced above a lateral side of the seat (2); and a heater (Annotated Figure 1) being coupled to the salon chair (1), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being coupled to the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3) of the armrest (4), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) being positioned on an underside of the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 3), the heater (Annotated Figure 1) comprising: a housing (6) comprising an outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1) comprising a bottom member (Annotated Figure 1), a top member (Annotated Figure 1), and a perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1), the perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1) extending between the bottom member (Annotated Figure 1) and the top member (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an interior space (Annotated Figure 2) bounded by the outer wall (Annotated Figure 1), the housing (6) having an outlet vent (10) extending through the perimeter member (Annotated Figure 1) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 2); a blower (8) being coupled to the housing (6), the blower (8) being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), wherein the outlet vent (10) is positioned such that the air is directed above the seat (2) after flowing through the outlet vent (10); a louver (Annotated Figure 2) being coupled to and extending outwardly from the housing (6); a control circuit (Annotated Figure 2) being coupled to the housing (6), the control circuit (Annotated Figure 2) being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 2), the control circuit (Annotated Figure 2) being electrically coupled to the blower (8).
Sugano does not teach:
the heater being detachable from the salon chair,
the housing having an inlet vent extending through the bottom member into the interior space;
a heating element being coupled to the housing, the heating element being positioned within the interior space, the heating element selectively generating heat;
the blower selectively urging air to flow into the interior space through the inlet vent, across the heating element, and through the outlet vent,
a pair of straps, each of said pair of straps being coupled to the housing
each of the pair of straps extending upwardly from the housing,
the pair of straps wrapping around the arm support portion of the armrest to form a loop around the arm support portion;
a connector having a pair of mating members each being coupled to a respective one of the pair of straps,
each of the pair of mating members being positioned such that the pair of mating members releasably engage each other, thereby detachably coupling the heater to the arm support portion,
the connector being a hook-and- loop fastener;
the louver comprising: a circumferential wall surrounding the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall defining a duct being in fluid communication with the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall having an opening at a distal end of the circumferential wall relative to the housing; and a plurality of vanes being movably coupled to the circumferential wall,
the plurality of vanes being positioned within the duct, each of the plurality of vanes being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing;
the control circuit being electrically coupled to the heating element
the control circuit selectively activating each of the heating element and the blower;
an input being coupled to the outer wall of the housing,
the input being electrically coupled to the control circuit,
the input being actuatable to activate each of the heating element and the blower;
a battery being positioned within the interior space,
the battery being electrically coupled to the control circuit;
and a charging port being positioned on the outer wall of the housing,
the charging port being electrically coupled to the battery.
Cho teaches:
(See Annotated Figures 6 and 7 above) the heater being detachable from the salon chair (20).
(See Annotated Figures 6 and 7) the housing (Annotated Figure 6) having an inlet vent (Annotated Figure 6) extending through the bottom member (Annotated Figure 6) into the interior space (Annotated Figure 7);
(See Annotated Figures 6 and 7) a strap (40) wrapping around the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 6) of the armrest (70) to form a loop (Annotated Figure 6) around the arm support portion (Annotated Figure 6);
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have the inlet vent extending through the bottom member. Doing so allows for the heater to draw air in further away from the outlet vent, thus preventing re-entrainment, in which the air quality becomes worse or duct particles are constantly recirculated.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have the heater be attachable/detachable via a strap. Doing so allows for easier user access to the heater allowing for convenient maintenance and replacement of parts within the heater.
Sugano in view of Cho does not teach:
a heating element being coupled to the housing, the heating element being positioned within the interior space, the heating element selectively generating heat;
the blower selectively urging air to flow into the interior space through the inlet vent, across the heating element, and through the outlet vent,
a pair of straps, each of said pair of straps being coupled to the housing
each of the pair of straps extending upwardly from the housing,
the pair of straps wrapping around the arm support portion of the armrest to form a loop around the arm support portion;
a connector having a pair of mating members each being coupled to a respective one of the pair of straps,
each of the pair of mating members being positioned such that the pair of mating members releasably engage each other, thereby detachably coupling the heater to the arm support portion,
the connector being a hook-and- loop fastener;
the louver comprising: a circumferential wall surrounding the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall defining a duct being in fluid communication with the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall having an opening at a distal end of the circumferential wall relative to the housing; and a plurality of vanes being movably coupled to the circumferential wall,
the plurality of vanes being positioned within the duct, each of the plurality of vanes being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing;
the control circuit being electrically coupled to the heating element
the control circuit selectively activating each of the heating element and the blower;
an input being coupled to the outer wall of the housing,
the input being electrically coupled to the control circuit,
the input being actuatable to activate each of the heating element and the blower;
a battery being positioned within the interior space,
the battery being electrically coupled to the control circuit;
and a charging port being positioned on the outer wall of the housing,
the charging port being electrically coupled to the battery.
Sugano in view of Cho, further in view of Deng teaches:
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5) a heating element (8) being coupled to the housing (1 and 2), the heating element (8) being positioned within the interior space (1 and 2), the heating element (8) selectively generating heat;
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) the blower (6) selectively urging air to flow into the interior space (Annotated Figure 5) through the inlet vent (Annotated Figure 4), across the heating element (8), and through the outlet vent (Annotated Figure 4).
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) a pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4), each of said pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4) being coupled to the housing (1 and 2), each of the pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4) extending upwardly from the housing (1 and 2).
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) the pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4) wrapping around the arm support portion of the armrest to form a loop around the arm support portion; Examiner note: Deng does not teach an arm support portion. However, Deng teaches the capability of being attached to an arm support portion and forming a loop around the arm support portion.
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) a connector (Annotated Figure 4) having a pair of mating members (302 and 303) each being coupled to a respective one of the pair of straps (Annotated Figure 4), each of the pair of mating members (302 and 303) being positioned such that the pair of mating members (302 and 303) releasably engage each other, thereby detachably coupling the heater (Annotated Figure 4) to the arm support portion,
(See Annotated Figures 4 and 5 above) The connector (Annotated Figure 4) being a hook-and- loop fastener “The Velcro strap 3 includes two fabric straps 301, a sub-Vessel hook and loop fastener 302, and a female Velcro fastener 303” (Deng, Pg. 4, Paragraph 20, Lines 1-2).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have a heating element within the heater. Doing so allows for warm air to be blown onto the user which would create a pleasant feeling for the user, especially in a cold room or during the winter.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Sugano in view of Cho strap to the Deng straps, because substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable result of connecting the heater to the chair.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano in view of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have a pair of straps that have a connector with mating members. Doing so allows for the heater to be attached and detached to an armrest of a chair or other objects repeatedly.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano in view of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Deng to have the connector be a hook-and-loop fastener. Doing so allows for a durability in the connector, the hook-and-loop fattener can be used over and over again without losing strength, and a hook-and-loop fastener allows for quick and easy attachment/detachment not requiring any tools.
Sugano in view of Cho, further in view of Deng does not teach:
the louver comprising: a circumferential wall surrounding the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall defining a duct being in fluid communication with the outlet vent,
the circumferential wall having an opening at a distal end of the circumferential wall relative to the housing; and a plurality of vanes being movably coupled to the circumferential wall,
the plurality of vanes being positioned within the duct, each of the plurality of vanes being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing;
the control circuit being electrically coupled to the heating element
the control circuit selectively activating each of the heating element and the blower;
an input being coupled to the outer wall of the housing,
the input being electrically coupled to the control circuit,
the input being actuatable to activate each of the heating element and the blower;
a battery being positioned within the interior space,
the battery being electrically coupled to the control circuit;
and a charging port being positioned on the outer wall of the housing,
the charging port being electrically coupled to the battery.
Sugano in view of Cho, further in view of Deng, further in view of Fukazawa teaches:
(See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) the louver (4) comprising: a circumferential wall (10) surrounding the outlet vent (Annotated Figure 9),
(See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) the circumferential wall (10) defining a duct (Annotated Figure 9) being in fluid communication with the outlet vent (Annotated Figure 9),
(See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) the circumferential wall (10) having an opening (Annotated Figure 9) at a distal end (Annotated Figure 9) of the circumferential wall (10) relative to the housing. Examiner note: the heater housing is not taught in the Fukazawa reference. However, Fukazawa teaches the louver and its specific elements that could be attached to a heater’s housing.
(See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) and a plurality of vanes (4A and 4B) being movably coupled to the circumferential wall (10),
(See Annotated Figures 8 and 9 above) the plurality of vanes being positioned within the duct (Annotated Figure 9), each of the plurality of vanes (4A and 4B) being orientable in one of a range of angles relative to the housing;
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Fukazawa to have a louver with a circumferential wall, duct, and a plurality of orientable vanes. Doing so allows for the user to receive airflow and to position the airflow into a desirable position, so that the user can control exactly where they want the heater air.
Sugano in view of Cho, further in view of Deng, further in view of Fukazawa does not teach:
the control circuit being electrically coupled to the heating element
the control circuit selectively activating each of the heating element and the blower;
an input being coupled to the outer wall of the housing,
the input being electrically coupled to the control circuit,
the input being actuatable to activate each of the heating element and the blower;
a battery being positioned within the interior space,
the battery being electrically coupled to the control circuit;
and a charging port being positioned on the outer wall of the housing,
the charging port being electrically coupled to the battery.
Sugano in view of Cho, further in view of Deng, further in view of Fukazawa, and further in view of Curry teaches:
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12) being electrically coupled to the heating element (24)
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12) selectively activating each of the heating element (24) and the blower (27);
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) an input (50 and 52) being coupled to the outer wall (28) of the housing (12),
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the input (50 and 52) being electrically coupled to the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12),
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the input (50 and 52) being actuatable to activate each of the heating element (24) and the blower (27);
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) a battery (22) being positioned within the interior space (Annotated Figure 10),
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the battery (22) being electrically coupled to the control circuit (Annotated Figure 12);
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) and a charging port (34) being positioned on the outer wall (28) of the housing (12),
(See Annotated Figures 10, 11, and 12) the charging port (34) being electrically coupled to the battery (22).
It would have been it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Curry to have an input that can activate both the heating element and the blower. Doing so allows for the user to select for the heater to run only the blower, which would be possibly desirable to the user if the user became too warm.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Curry to have a battery and a charging port electrically coupled to the battery. Doing so allows for more portability of the heater, due to the heater not always needing to be plugged into an electrical outlet.
Conclusion
/EMMA E ULATOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 03/09/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 3761