Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 18, 19, 42, 46, 47, 49, 53, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Hosseni et al. (Wo 2021034966 A1), hereinafter Hosseni in view of Park et al. (2025/0024367), hereinafter Park.
Re. Claim 42, Hosseni teaches an apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory (¶0005 - An apparatus for wireless communication is described. The apparatus may include a processor and memory coupled to the processor), wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining, by a first user equipment (UE), a list of sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations; (¶0054 - The in-coverage UE may receive the sidelink DRX parameters from the network) and determining, by the first UE, based on the destination ID (¶0163 - the sidelink DRX component 710 may provide a means for transmitting an indication of a destination identity that corresponds to an identity of the second UE) and a sidelink DRX cycle of the sidelink DRX configuration (¶0125 - Further parameters may include a drx-InactivityTimer to indicate the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, a drx-LongCycleStartOffset which may indicate the Long DRX cycle, and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts) a cycle start offset corresponding to the sidelink DRX configuration(¶0125 - Some DRX parameters (e.g., given by RRC) may include, for example, a drx-onDurationTimer, which may indicate the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle and a drx-SlotOffset which may indicate the delay before starting the drx- onDurationTimer... It is also noted that additional or different DRX parameters other than those described herein may be used for a sidelink DRX configuration and are omitted for the sake of brevity).
Yet, Hosseni does not expressly teach in response to more than one sidelink DRX configurations of the list of the sidelink DRX configurations corresponding to a destination identity (ID), selecting, by the first UE, a sidelink DRX configuration comprising a shortest DRX cycle.
However, Park explicitly teaches in response to more than one sidelink DRX configurations of the list of the sidelink DRX configurations corresponding to a destination identity (ID), selecting, by the first UE, a sidelink DRX configuration comprising a shortest DRX cycle (¶0248 - the UE may perform SL DRX operation by selecting the shortest SL DRX cycle value among SL DRX cycle values mapped to all QoS profiles associated with the same L2 destination ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Park to the teaching of Hosseni. The motivation for such would be as Park provides a means for selecting a sidelink DRX configuration based on shortest DRX cycle when there are multiple mapped to the dame destination ID (¶0248, Park). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 7, Claim 7 is the method claim associated with the apparatus claim in Claim 42 and is likewise rejected under the same grounds.
Re. Claim 49, Hossini teaches a non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium storing instructions (¶0007 - A non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium storing instructions). Additionally, Claim 49 claims the same method language of claims 7 and 42 and is likewise rejected under the same grounds.
Re. Claims 18, 46, and 53, Hosseni and Park teach Claim 7.
Additionally, Hosseni teaches wherein: the sidelink DRX configuration comprises a DRX cycle, an on-duration timer, an inactivity timer, and a plurality of slot offsets or cycle start offsets (¶0018 - The one or more sidelink DRX parameters includes an ON duration, an offset duration, an inactivity timer, one or more cycle durations, a cycle timer, or any combination thereof).
Re. Claims 19, 47, 54, Hosseni and Park teach Claim 18.
Additionally, Hosseni teaches wherein: the first UE determines the slot offset based on a destination ID (¶0123 - The source UE 115-g may transmit the destination ID in addition the sidelink DRX configuration, and based on the destination ID, the target UE 115-h may determine if it may receive the transmitted message. & ¶0125 - Some DRX parameters (e.g., given by RRC) may include, for example, a drx-onDurationTimer, which may indicate the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle and a drx-SlotOffset which may indicate the delay before starting the drx- onDurationTimer).
Claims 10, 16, 43 - 44, and 40 - 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseni in view of Park and Bao et al. (CN 112543442 A), hereinafter Bao.
Re. Claims 10, 43, and 50, Hosseni and Park teach Claims 7, 42, and 49.
Yet, the combination of Hosseni and Park does not expressly teach wherein: at least one sidelink DRX configuration of the list of sidelink DRX configurations is associated with a set of quality of service (QoS) parameters
However, Bao explicitly teaches wherein: at least one sidelink DRX configuration of the list of sidelink DRX configurations is associated with a set of quality of service (QoS) parameters. (Pg. 2, Line 32 - Each group of DRX parameters corresponds to at least one QoS index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bao to the teaching of Hosseni and Park. The motivation for such would be as Bao provides a list of DRX configurations based on a list of QoS (Bao, Pg. 2, Line 32). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 16, 44, and 51, Hosseni and Park teach Claims 7, 42, and 49.
Yet, the combination of Hosseni and Park does not expressly teach wherein obtaining the list of sidelink DRX configurations comprises: determining, by the first UE, a list of QoS based on a destination ID.
However, Bao explicitly teaches wherein obtaining the list of sidelink DRX configurations comprises: determining, by the first UE, a list of QoS based on a destination ID (Pg. 8, Line 23 - A plurality of sets of DRX parameters and corresponding DRX parameter identification and corresponding QoS index value or range are obtained); and obtaining, by the first UE, the list of sidelink DRX configurations based on each QoS in a list of QoS (Pg. 8, Line 31 - the first UE according to the transmission mode of the bypass link data and the first QoS index, sending the first DRX configuration information to the second UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bao to the teaching of Hosseni and Park. The motivation for such would be as Bao provides a list of DRX configurations based on an index of a QoS in a list of QoS (Bao, Pg. 8, Line 31). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 20, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseni in view of Park, Bao and Pan et al. (2022/0191794), hereinafter Pan.
Re. Claims 20 and 48, Hosseni, Park, and Bao teach claims 19 and 47.
Yet, Hosseni, Park, and Bao do not expressly teach wherein: the slot offset or cycle start offset based on the destination ID is a I-th value in a slot offset list or cycle start offset list corresponding to the sidelink DRX configuration, I being mod (ID, N) +1, wherein: mod is a modulus function, ID is the destination ID, and N is a number of slot offsets or cycle start offset.
However, Pan explicitly teaches wherein: the slot offset or cycle start offset based on the destination ID is a I-th value in a slot offset list or cycle start offset list corresponding to the sidelink DRX configuration, I being mod (ID, N) +1, wherein: mod is a modulus function, ID is the destination ID, and N is a number of slot offsets or cycle start offset (¶0489 - The aforementioned ID (e.g. L2ID, V2X layer ID, destination ID of the group, group ID associated with the groupcast service) could be X, and the number of parameter sets could be N (e.g. index of parameter sets is from 0 to N−1). All UEs in this group or initiating the same (unicast, broadcast or groupcast) service could use the same SL DRX configuration or parameter set with index=(X mod N). Alternatively, all UEs in this group or initiating the same (unicast, broadcast or groupcast) service could use the same SL DRX configuration or parameter set with index=((X+m) mod N), where m may be other value, e.g. a (pre)configured or specified value, or a value associated with group member number, or a value or ID associated with a scheduling UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Pan to the teaching of Hosseni, Park, and Bao. The motivation for such would be as Pan provides the modulation between the destination ID and slot offsets to define the cycle start offset (Pan, ¶0489). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/09/2026 with respect to claims 7, 42, and 49 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the current rejection does not adequately disclose “determining, by the first UE based on both the destination ID and a sidelink DRX cycle of the sidelink DRX configuration, a cycle start offset”, Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. Examiner points to previously provided reference Hosseni at ¶0125 (“A number of different parameters may be considered in determining the sidelink DRX configuration for a UE 115. Some DRX parameters (e.g., given by RRC) may include, for example, a drx-onDurationTimer, which may indicate the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle and a drx-SlotOffset which may indicate the delay before starting the drx- onDurationTimer”) as indicative that the DRX configuration, which includes the offset, is determined by a number of parameters including the destination ID (Hosseni, ¶0163 - the sidelink DRX component 710 may provide a means for transmitting an indication of a destination identity that corresponds to an identity of the second UE) and a sidelink DRX cycle of the sidelink DRX configuration (Hosseni, ¶0125 - Further parameters may include a drx-InactivityTimer to indicate the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, a drx-LongCycleStartOffset which may indicate the Long DRX cycle, and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts). Examiner interprets that both the destination ID and the DRX cycle are parameters that are included in order to determine the sidelink DRX configuration which includes the cycle start offset. As such, Examiner upholds the previously provided rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Additionally, Applicant’s arguments with respect to all dependent claims have also been considered but are not considered persuasive as dependent claims 7, 42 and 49 are upheld in their rejection. Likewise, all dependent claims are upheld in their respective rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (2015/0208462) - ¶0008-¶00015
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475