Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed on 01/27/2026 have been considered and rejection issued with new art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,24,40,42,46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US20210195670A1) in view of Gholmieh et al. (US20180049213A1)
Regarding Claim 1,Ozturk teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising:
determining, at a wireless device, comprising a first subscriber identity module and a second subscriber identity module, one or more reduced capability sets associated with the wireless device based on an operational condition indicating that the wireless device is communicating with ;[95]- UE 120 is capable of communicating simultaneously on the second access link(=first network) using the first SIM(=first subscriber) and the third access link(=second network) using the second SIM(=second subscriber), the UE 120 may determine a need for a reduced capability on the second access link. At 620, the UE determines a need for reduced capability on the second access link to communicate on the third access link. This is needs to support communication on the second and third links simultaneously.
A first network using the first subscriber identity module and a second network using the second subscriber identity module Fig 6 steps 610 and 615. [101-102] At 610, the UE establishes a second access link (=first network), associated with the first SIM (=first sub) of the UE, for communicating with a second base station. At 615, the UE establishes a third access link associated with a second SIM of the UE.
Ozturk does not teach transmitting, from the wireless device to a network node, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information.
Gholmieh teaches, transmitting, from the wireless device to a network node, one or more user equipment UE capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information [123]- In some cases, UE cost can be reduced by sharing resources between different air interfaces (=reduced capability). [136]- Based on UE capabilities (e.g., as reported by the UE)(=device assistance) the primary RAT may determine how to use the capabilities of the UE to configure it for service(=configuration in response to device assistance of UE capabilities transmitted from UE to network). In other words, the primary RAT may determine which group to configure the UE for based on the configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk, transmitting, from the wireless device to a network node, the one or more UE capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information in a message as taught by Gholmieh to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 24, Ozturk teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising:
the one or more UE capability sets being determined based on an operational condition and comprising one or more reduced capability sets, and the one or more reduced capability sets is determined based on an operational condition indicating that the wireless device is communicating with a first network using a first subscriber identity module of the wireless device and a second network using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device [95]- UE 120 is capable of communicating simultaneously on the second access link(=first network) using the first SIM(=first subscriber) and the third access link(=second network) using the second SIM(=second subscriber), the UE 120 may determine a need for a reduced capability on the second access link. Fig 6 steps 610 and 615. [101-102] At 610, the UE establishes a second access link(=first network), associated with the first SIM (=first sub)of the UE, for communicating with a second base station. At 615, the UE establishes a third access link associated with a second SIM of the UE.
Ozturk does not teach, receiving, at a network node from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information,
Gholmieh teaches, receiving, at a network node from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information, [123]- In some cases, UE cost can be reduced by sharing resources between different air interfaces (=reduced capability). [136]- Based on UE capabilities (e.g., as reported by the UE)(=device assistance) the primary RAT may determine how to use the capabilities of the UE to configure it for service(=configuration in response to device assistance of UE capabilities transmitted from UE to network). In other words, the primary RAT may determine which group to configure the UE for based on the configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk, receiving, at a network node from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information, as taught by Gholmieh to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 40, Ozturk teaches, A wireless device, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to:
determine one or more reduced capability sets associated with the wireless device based on an operational condition indicating that the wireless device is communicating with a first network using a first subscriber identity module of the wireless device and a second network using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device [95]- UE 120 is capable of communicating simultaneously on the second access link(=first network) using the first SIM(=first subscriber) and the third access link(=second network) using the second SIM(=second subscriber), the UE 120 may determine a need for a reduced capability on the second access link. Fig 6 steps 610 and 615. [101-102] At 610, the UE establishes a second access link(=first network), associated with the first SIM (=first sub)of the UE, for communicating with a second base station. At 615, the UE establishes a third access link associated with a second SIM of the UE.
Ozturk does not teach, transmit, to a network node, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information
Gholmieh teaches, transmit, to a network node, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information. [123]- In some cases, UE cost can be reduced by sharing resources between different air interfaces (=reduced capability). [136]- Based on UE capabilities (e.g., as reported by the UE)(=device assistance) the primary RAT may determine how to use the capabilities of the UE to configure it for service(=configuration in response to device assistance of UE capabilities transmitted from UE to network). In other words, the primary RAT may determine which group to configure the UE for based on the configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk, transmit, to a network node, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets comprising the one or more reduced capability sets via wireless device assistance information as taught by Gholmieh to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability. Since the spec does not clearly describe “device assistance information” , BRI is applied in rejection.
Regarding Claim 42, Ozturk teaches, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device communicating with more than one network. Fig 6 steps 610-620
Regarding Claim 46, Ozturk teaches, A network node, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to:
and the one or more reduced capability sets is determined based on an operational condition indicating that the wireless device is communicating with a first network using a first subscriber identity module of the wireless device and a second network using a second subscriber identity module of the wireless device 95]- UE 120 is capable of communicating simultaneously on the second access link(=first network) using the first SIM(=first subscriber) and the third access link(=second network) using the second SIM(=second subscriber), the UE 120 may determine a need for a reduced capability on the second access link. Fig 6 steps 610 and 615. [101-102] At 610, the UE establishes a second access link(=first network), associated with the first SIM (=first sub)of the UE, for communicating with a second base station. At 615, the UE establishes a third access link associated with a second SIM of the UE.
And determine a final UE capability for the wireless device based on the one or more UE capability sets. [105]- At 630, the UE communicates on the third access link using the second SIM simultaneously with communicating on the second access link using the first SIM, wherein communicating on the second access link is at the reduced capability. Capability sets are defined in [136-142]
Ozturk does not teach, receive, from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information, the one or more UE capability sets comprising one or more reduced capability sets.
Gholmieh teaches, receive, from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information, the one or more UE capability sets comprising one or more reduced capability sets, [123]- In some cases, UE cost can be reduced by sharing resources between different air interfaces (=reduced capability). [136]- Based on UE capabilities (e.g., as reported by the UE)(=device assistance) the primary RAT may determine how to use the capabilities of the UE to configure it for service(=configuration in response to device assistance of UE capabilities transmitted from UE to network). In other words, the primary RAT may determine which group to configure the UE for based on the configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk receive, from a wireless device, one or more user equipment (UE) capability sets associated with the wireless device via wireless device assistance information, the one or more UE capability sets comprising one or more as taught by Gholmieh to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Claim(s) 4,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US20210195670A1) in view of Gholmieh et al. (US20180049213A1) In further view of Babaei et al. (US20210329513A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more reduced capability sets indicate less capability than a full capability set of the wireless device
Babaei teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more reduced capability sets indicate less capability than a full capability set of the wireless device.[224]- Operation of reduced capability wireless devices in a wireless network may degrade the performance (e.g., in terms of throughput, latency, etc.) of normal (e.g., non-reduced capability) wireless devices.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more reduced capability sets indicate less capability than a full capability set of the wireless device as taught by Babaei to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 26, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, wherein the reduced capability set indicates fewer capabilities than a full capability set of the wireless device. The method of wireless communication of claim 24, the method further comprises: determining, at the network node, a final UE capability for the wireless device based on the one or more UE capability sets
Babaei teaches, wherein the reduced capability set indicates fewer capabilities than a full capability set of the wireless device. The method of wireless communication of claim 24, the method further comprises: determining, at the network node, a final UE capability for the wireless device based on the one or more UE capability sets.[224]- Operation of reduced capability wireless devices in a wireless network may degrade the performance (e.g., in terms of throughput, latency, etc.) of normal (e.g., non-reduced capability) wireless devices. There is a need to enhance existing solutions (e.g., signaling and processes) for handover and dual connectivity of wireless devices with reduced capability.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, wherein the reduced capability set indicates fewer capabilities than a full capability set of the wireless device. The method of wireless communication of claim 24, the method further comprises: determining, at the network node, a final UE capability for the wireless device based on the one or more UE capability sets as taught by Babaei to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Claim(s) 2,8,12,13,37-39,41,44,45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US20210195670A1) in view of Gholmieh et al. (US20180049213A1)
in further view of Kubota et al. (US20180084539A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device. [248]- may be admitted/admissible (=registration) on the one or more cells of the second base station. with wireless devices that are not of the first type (e.g., wireless devices that are not reduced capability wireless devices).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 8, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability, or a physical layer (PHY) capability
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability, or a physical layer (PHY) capability. [231]- In some cases the second group of capabilities may be based on current conditions of the UE (e.g., based on the available resources (e.g. RF chains, memory) (=capability sets associated with the wireless device based on an operational condition ) and/or the current UE status.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability, or a physical layer (PHY) capability as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 12, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 1,wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprises a full capability set
Kubota teaches ,The method of wireless communication of claim 1,wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprises a full capability set. [223] At block 2605 the UE 115 may establish a connection with a base station based at least in part on a first group of capabilities of the UE, the first group of capabilities being a full set of capabilities of the UE .
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1,wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprises a full capability set as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 13, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per wireless device parameters, per band parameters, per band combination parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per carrier component parameters
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per wireless device parameters, per band parameters, per band combination parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per carrier component parameters.[97]- Such subsets of UE capabilities may include, for example, per frequency band capabilities (e.g., Low, Medium, High, mm wave), per data rate capabilities (e.g., highest, lowest), per number of component carriers capabilities (e.g., 1, 2, highest possible).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per wireless device parameters, per band parameters, per band combination parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per carrier component parameters as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 37, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a full capability set
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a full capability set.[5]- The method may include establishing a connection with a base station based at least in part on a first group of capabilities of the UE, the first group of capabilities being a full set of capabilities of the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the operational condition indicates that the wireless device is connected to one network, and the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a full capability set as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 38, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability.
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability.[69]- A capability reported by a UE 115 may take into account the RF chains available at the UE 115 based on such multi-carrier or MIMO operation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 39, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs),per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters
Kubota teaches, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs),per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters.[134]- UE include a set of capability groups including one or more of UE capabilities per frequency band for a set of frequency bands, UE capabilities per data rate for a set of data rates, UE capabilities for one or more component carriers.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The method of wireless communication of claim 24, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs),per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 41, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: transmit a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device.
Kubota teaches, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: transmit a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device. .[95]- For example, if a user wishes to power on or enable the radio on the UE 115-e-1 after a plane lands, full capability reporting may cause a relatively long delay before the user is able to make a voice call or send a quick text message.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: transmit a full capability set during a registration of the wireless device. as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 44, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability
Kubota teaches, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability. [231]- In some cases the second group of capabilities may be based on current conditions of the UE (e.g., based on the available resources (e.g. RF chains, memory) (=capability sets associated with the wireless device based on an operational condition ) and/or the current UE status.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise a radio frequency (RF) capability or a physical layer (PHY) capability as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Regarding Claim 45, Ozturk in view of Gholmieh does not teach, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters
Kubota teaches, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters. .[97]- Such subsets of UE capabilities may include, for example, per frequency band capabilities (e.g., Low, Medium, High, mm wave), per data rate capabilities (e.g., highest, lowest), per number of component carriers capabilities (e.g., 1, 2, highest possible).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ozturk in view of Gholmieh, The wireless device of claim 40, wherein the one or more UE capability sets further comprise one or more of: maximums component carriers (CCs), per band parameters, per band per band combination parameters, or per CC parameters as taught by Kubota to add get assistance in case of handover to cell with decreased capability.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478