DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 21 are amended and claims 2-5 are canceled. Claims 1 and 6-21 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 02/22/2023, claims benefit to Provisional Application No. 63/396,052, filed 08/08/2022, Provisional Application No. 63/312,516, filed 02/22/2022, and Provisional Application No. 63/312,628, filed 02/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimers filed over copending Application Nos. 18/112,625 and 18/112,648 are acknowledged and have been approved.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Claims 1 and 6-21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for scope of enablement. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 9-21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Rosenblatt, Winnicki, and Aggarwal. Upon further consideration and Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection has been overcome is withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 6-21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Rosenblatt, Winnicki, Aggarwal, and Hoang. Upon further consideration and Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection has been overcome is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kite, P., et al. (US 8541472 B2, 09/24/2013, PTO-892), hereinafter Kite, in view of Winnicki, W., et al. (2018). Taurolidine-based catheter lock regimen significantly reduces overall costs, infection, and dysfunction rates of tunneled hemodialysis catheters, Kidney International, Volume 93, Issue 3, Pages 753-760, (on record), hereinafter Winnicki.
Kite discloses antiseptic compositions comprising at least one salt of EDTA (abstract). The antiseptic have numerous applications, including applications as lock and lock flush solutions for various types of catheters (col. 6, lines 14-17; col. 7, lines 15-25; claims).
Regarding claims 1 and 21: Kite discloses EDTA solutions in a sterile and non-pyrogenic form (col. 11, lines 36-27, claim 1). The compositions comprise at least 1% of EDTA salt(s) by weight per volume of solution (w/v) and may comprise up to 15% (w/v) EDTA salt(s) (col. 9, lines 1-5), thereby reading on the instantly claimed range of 1-15% (w/v) EDTA. The antiseptic compositions comprise a sodium EDTA salt (or combination of sodium EDTA salts) in solution at a pH higher than physiological, preferably at a pH of >8.0, for example in a range of between 9.5 and 11.5 (col. 9, lines 47-57). For antiseptic compositions comprising sodium EDTA salt(s), and at the desired pH ranges (specified above), the sodium EDTA salts are predominantly present in both the tri-sodium and tetra-sodium salt forms (col. 9, lines 63-67).
Regarding claims 9 and 10: EDTA salt compositions may be formulated in a mixture of water and ethanol. Such solutions are highly efficacious. Ethanol concentrations of from more than about 0.5% and less than about 10%, v/v, provide effective antiseptic compositions (col. 11, lines 4-21). Kite specifically teaches a 2 mg/ml tetra-EDTA in 1% alcohol (ethanol) solution to provide excellent results (Ex. 6; col. 25, lines 45-47). Such amounts of ethanol fall within the instantly claimed range of 0.1-70% (w/v) ethanol.
Regarding claims 13 and 14: Exemplary compositions comprise 3.6-4.4% (w/v) EDTA salt(s) in aqueous solution (col. 9, lines 12-13), which falls within the instantly claimed ranges of 1-10% and 1-5% (w/v) EDTA.
Traditionally, catheters have been locked with normal saline or heparin solutions, which provide anticoagulant activity. While heparin has anticoagulant activity, it does not function as an antimicrobial and does not prevent or ameliorate infections (col. 2, lines 45-53). Catheter locking solutions comprising Taurolidine are also known (col. 2, lines 58-59).
The antiseptic compositions of Kite may contain materials, including active components, in addition to the EDTA salts described above. Other antimicrobial or biocidal components may be incorporated, although the use of traditional antibiotics and biocidal agents is generally discouraged as a consequence of the dire consequences of the development of antibiotic- and biocidal-resistant organisms (col. 10, lines 43-53).
The teachings of Kite differ from that of the instant invention in that Kite does not teach a specific embodiment comprising EDTA and an additional ingredient selected from the group consisting of heparin, taurolidine, a thrombolytic agent, or a combination thereof as recited in claim 1 and further defined in claims 11-12 and 15-20 nor a thrombolytic agent alone as recited in claim 21.
Winnicki relates to a prospective, multicenter, randomized, controlled trial that compares two lock regimens using three commercial catheter lock solutions. In the taurolidine group, TauroLockTM-Hep500 was used twice per week and TauroLockTM-U25,000 once a week. Results indicated that use of taurolidine-based catheter lock solutions containing heparin and urokinase significantly reduced complications related to tunneled hemodialysis catheters when compared to four percent citrate solution and was overall more cost-efficient (abstract). The commercial catheter lock solutions in the taurolidine group were: TauroLock-Hep500 (1.35% taurolidine, 4% citrate, and 500 IU/ml heparin) and TauroLock-U25,000 (1.35% taurolidine, 4% citrate, and 25,000 IU urokinase) (p. 758, Catheter lock procedure). Taurolidine, a broad-spectrum, antimicrobial, nontoxic agent that reduces the development of biofilm is a nonantibiotic lock alternative that does not cause bacterial resistance and has no adverse effects, even if it leaks into circulation. Taurolidine reads on the additional ingredient of claims 1, 19, and 20. Furthermore, the addition of heparin to taurolidine–citrate has been shown to strengthen its efficiency regarding patency (p. 754, col. 1, para. 2). Heparin reads on the additional ingredient of claims 1, 11, and 12. The prophylactic use of urokinase or alteplase is considered in catheter lock solutions (CLSs) to prevent line occlusion (p. 753, col. 2, para. 3). There also seems to be an effect of fibrinolytics, such as urokinase and alteplase, on the reduction of catheter-related infections (CRIs) (p. 755, col. 1, para. 3). Urokinase and alteplase read on the additional ingredient (i.e., thrombolytic agent) of claims 1, 15-18, and 21.
Regarding taurolidine as the additional ingredient, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate 1.35% taurolidine into the solution of Kite since 1.35% taurolidine is known and effective in catheter lock solutions as taught by Winnicki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate taurolidine into the lock solution of Kite since taurolidine is a broad-spectrum, antimicrobial, nontoxic agent that reduces the development of biofilm. Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (i.e., the catheter lock solutions of Kite and Winnicki), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding heparin as the additional ingredient, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate 500 IU/ml of heparin into the solution of Kite since 500 IU/ml of heparin is known and effective in catheter lock solutions as taught by Winnicki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate heparin into the lock solution of Kite since heparin possesses anticoagulant activity and the addition of heparin to taurolidine lock solutions has been shown to strengthen its efficiency regarding patency. Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (i.e., the catheter lock solutions of Kite and Winnicki), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding a thrombolytic agent as the additional ingredient, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate 25,000 IU of urokinase (i.e., a thrombolytic agent) into the solution of Kite since 25,000 IU of urokinase is known and effective in catheter lock solutions as taught by Winnicki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate urokinase into the lock solution of Kite since urokinase prevents line occlusion and helps reduce catheter-related infections. Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (i.e., the catheter lock solutions of Kite and Winnicki), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the combination of Kite and Winnicki teaches wherein the additional ingredient comprises heparin as discussed above. However, the references do not explicitly teach the concentration of heparin in terms of a (w/v) percent. The combined teachings make obvious the inclusion of 500 IU/ml of heparin. Given this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art could have determined the appropriate amount of heparin to include in the combined catheter lock solution through no more than routine experimentation based on the desired activity of heparin in the final solution. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the claimed concentration of heparin in instant claims 11-12 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the combination of Kite and Winnicki teaches wherein the additional ingredient comprises urokinase as discussed above. However, the references do not explicitly teach the concentration of urokinase in terms of a (w/v) percent. The combined teachings make obvious the inclusion of 25,000 IU of urokinase. Given this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art could have determined the appropriate amount of urokinase to include in the combined catheter lock solution through no more than routine experimentation based on the desired activity of urokinase in the final solution. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the claimed concentration of urokinase in instant claims 17-18 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the combination of Kite and Winnicki teaches wherein the additional ingredient comprises taurolidine as discussed above. The concentration of taurolidine made obvious is 1.35%, which falls within the instantly claimed ranges (i.e., 1-8% and 1-4%).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the above modifications since Kite welcomes additional actives so long as they don’t include traditional antibiotics and biocidal agents that result in undesired resistance. Taurolidine, the only antimicrobial discussed above, is a nonantibiotic lock alternative that does not cause bacterial resistance as taught by Winnicki.
Claims 1 and 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kite and Winnicki as applied to claims 1 and 9-21 above, and further in view of Hoang, M. Q. S., et al. (US 2007/0202177 A1, 08/30/2007, IDS dated 02/20/2024), hereinafter Hoang, as evidenced by Prosl, F., et al. (US 6350251 B1, 02/26/2002, IDS dated 01/26/2026), hereinafter Prosl.
The combined teachings of Kite and Winnicki are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Kite and Winnicki differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that neither explicitly teach wherein the composition further comprises chlorhexidine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof as recited in claim 6, nor the specific concentrations of chlorhexidine as defined in claims 7 and 8.
Hoang teaches antimicrobial compositions for use in locking catheters and other devices. The composition includes at least one alcohol and at least one biocidal agent which is not an alcohol (abstract). Especially preferred biocides include chlorhexidine gluconate, chlorhexidine acetate, and chlorhexidine diacetate ([0036]; claims 7-8), which read on the chlorhexidine of claim 6. The one or more biocidal agents are present in an amount of about 0.01-10 wt. % or about 0.01-5 wt. %, based on the total weight of the antimicrobial composition ([0036]; claim 9). Specific examples of the invention are shown in table 3. Formulations 4-7 and 10 comprise ethanol, EDTA, and chlorhexidine gluconate ranging from 0.25 to 2.5 wt. % (Table 3). Chlorhexidine is an example of non-antibiotic biocide as evidenced by Prosl (col. 18, lines 15-36; col. 5, lines 25-29). Non-antibiotic biocides are defined by Prosl to minimize the probability of producing microorganisms that are genetically immune thereto (col. 17, lines 46-55).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate chlorhexidine into the solution of Kite and Winnicki since chlorhexidine is known and effective in catheter lock solutions as taught by Hoang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the chlorhexidine of Hoang into the combined solution in order to increase its antimicrobial activity. Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (i.e., as a catheter lock solution), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 7-8, Hoang does not explicitly teach the concentration of chlorhexidine as a w/v % or in μg/ml. Hoang generally teaches that the biocidal agent may be present in an amount of about 0.01-10 wt. % or about 0.01-5 wt. %, specifically 0.25-2.5 wt. % in the case of chlorhexidine gluconate. Given these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art could have determined the appropriate amount of chlorhexidine to include in the combined catheter lock solution through no more than routine experimentation based on the desired antimicrobial activity of chlorhexidine in the final solution. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the claimed concentrations of chlorhexidine in instant claims 7-8 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating chlorhexidine into the combined composition since chlorhexidine may be used in antimicrobial solutions comprising EDTA and ethanol similar to the combined composition of Kite and Winnicki. Additionally, Kite welcomes additional actives so long as they don’t include traditional antibiotics and biocidal agents that result in undesired resistance. Chlorhexidine is a non-antibiotic biocide with minimized risk of resistance as evidenced by Prosl above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 6-21 under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments against Winnicki and Hoang, which are still relied upon, are directed to the absence of a pH teaching, which is now taught by Kite.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616