DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the claim recites, “wherein the metal oxide into the thermoplastic material”. For examination purposing, the examiner is interpreting the following, “the metal oxide particles in the thermoplastic material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the metal oxide" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7 and , the phrase "an amount effect to cause oxidative stress" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what amount is required to achieve the desired effect. The dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7—8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael et al (WO 2007/003361 A2).
Regarding claim 7, Michael et al discloses an antimicrobial prosthetic liner (abstract) comprising: an open upper end (see annotated fig. 1c below, also see paragraph 0013); a closed distal end (see annotated fig. 1c below, also see paragraph 0013); and sidewalls between the closed distal end and the open upper end (see annotated fig. 1c below, also see paragraph 0013); and an inner layer of a thermoplastic material wherein the thermoplastic material is infused with metal oxide particles in an amount effective to cause oxidative stress on bacteria when donned on a residual limb (silver is used in the form of particles in the nanometer range to act as an antibacterial and/or fungicidal active ingredient, paragraphs 0007 and 0016).
Regarding claim 8, Michael et al discloses the antimicrobial prosthetic liner of Claim 7 wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of silver nanoparticles (silver used in the form of particles in the nanometer range, paragraphs 0016), copper(I) oxide, copper(II) oxide, magnesium oxide, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide.
Regarding claim 10, Michael et al discloses the antimicrobial prosthetic liner of Claim 7 wherein the sidewalls have a thickness between 1-9 millimeters (6 mm thick, paragraph 0013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael et al (WO 2007/003361 A2), in view of Kanovsky (US 2020/0100503 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Michael et al discloses an antimicrobial prosthetic liner (abstract) comprising: an open upper end (see annotated fig. 1a below, also see paragraph 0013); a closed distal end (see annotated fig. 1a below, also see paragraph 0013); and sidewalls between the closed distal end and the open upper end (see annotated fig. 1a below, also see paragraph 0013); and an inner layer of a thermoplastic material (inner liner, paragraph 0017) wherein the thermoplastic material is infused with metal oxide particles which are distributed evenly throughout the thermoplastic material (silver is added to the thermoplastic material during production, paragraphs 0007 and 0016-0019), however doesn’t specifically disclose metal oxide particles in an amount between 2-10% by weight.
Kanovsky discloses materials with antimicrobial properties by using metal oxide powers (abstract), which can have various application, such as for medical textiles (paragraph 0042). Kanovsky discloses metal oxide particles in an amount between 2-10% by weight ( about 1% -about 5% wt., paragraph 0135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the concentration of metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al with the concentration of the metal oxide particles as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0077 and 0095).
Regarding claim 2, Michael et al discloses wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of silver nanoparticles (silver used in the form of particles in the nanometer range, paragraphs 0016), copper(I) oxide, copper(II) oxide, magnesium oxide, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide.
Regarding claim 3, Michael et al doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide into the thermoplastic material is a mixture of metal oxide particles.
Kanovsky discloses wherein the metal oxide into the thermoplastic material is a mixture of metal oxide particles (a polymer and a synergistic combination of a least two metal oxide powered incorporated into the polymer, paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the silver metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al to include at least one other metal oxide particle as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0077 and 0095).
Regarding claim 4, Michael et al discloses wherein the sidewalls have a thickness between 1-9 millimeters (6 mm thick, paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 5, Michael et al doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide particles have a diameter between 5-100 nanometers.
Kanovsky discloses wherein the metal oxide particles have a diameter between 5-100 nanometers (about 1nanometer to about 10 nanometers, paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify single metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al to include at least two metal oxide particles as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0026, 0077, and 0095).
Regarding claim 6, Michael et al discloses an antimicrobial prosthetic liner (abstract) comprising: an open upper end (see annotated fig. 1b below, also see paragraph 0013); a closed distal end (see annotated fig. 1b below, also see paragraph 0013); and sidewalls between the closed distal end and the open upper end (see annotated fig. 1b below, also see paragraph 0013) and having a thickness between 1-9 millimeters (6 mm thick, paragraph 0013); and an inner layer of a thermoplastic material wherein the thermoplastic material is infused with metal oxide particles (silver is added to the thermoplastic material during production, paragraphs 0007 and 0016-0019) selected from the group consisting of silver nanoparticles (silver used in the form of particles in the nanometer range, paragraphs 0016), copper(I) oxide, copper(II) oxide, magnesium oxide, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide which are distributed evenly throughout the thermoplastic material (silver is added to the thermoplastic material during production, paragraphs 0007 and 0016-0019); however doesn’t specifically disclose the metal oxide particles having a diameter between 5-100 nanometers and metal oxide particles in the amount between 2- 10% by weight.
Kanovsky discloses materials with antimicrobial properties by using metal oxide powers (abstract), which can have various application, such as for medical textiles (paragraph 0042). Kanovsky discloses metal oxide particles in an amount between 2-10% by weight ( about 1% -about 5% wt., paragraph 0135). Kanovsky further discloses wherein the metal oxide particles have a diameter between 5-100 nanometers (about 1nanometer to about 10 nanometers, paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the concentration and size of metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al with the concentration and size of the metal oxide particles as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0077 and 0095).
Regarding claim 9, Michael et al doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide into the thermoplastic material is a mixture of metal oxide particles.
Kanovsky discloses materials with antimicrobial properties by using metal oxide powers (abstract), which can have various application, such as for medical textiles (paragraph 0042). Kanovsky discloses further wherein the metal oxide into the thermoplastic material is a mixture of metal oxide particles (a polymer and a synergistic combination of a least two metal oxide powered incorporated into the polymer, paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the silver metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al to include at least one other metal oxide particle as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0077 and 0095).
Regarding claim 11, Michael et al doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide particles have a diameter between 5-100 nanometers.
Kanovsky discloses wherein the metal oxide particles have a diameter between 5-100 nanometers (about 1nanometer to about 10 nanometers, paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify single metal oxide particles taught by Michael et al to include at least two metal oxide particles as taught by Kanovsky in order to maximize antimicrobial effects (paragraphs 0026, 0077, and 0095).
Conclusion
/J.H.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774