Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritsch (EP-2103217) in view of Van Blokland (US-20190223452) and Brandauer (US-20180249721).
Regarding claim 1, Fritsch teaches:
Device for rolling dough ([0046] – [0057]; Figs. 1-2), comprising:
- A conveyor, in particular an endless conveyor belt, for conveying a dough sheet in a direction of conveyance ([0046] – [0057]; Figs. 1-2 #9);
- A roller, for rolling the dough sheet ([0046] – [0057]; Figs. 1-2 #3);
wherein
- The device is configured for varying the distance between the upper surface of the conveyor and the roller during rolling according to any predetermined distance pattern as a function of the position of the dough roller in a direction perpendicular to the direction of conveyance ([0046] – [0057]; Figs. 1-2)
Fritsch does not teach:
the roller rolling the dough sheet with at least a directional component perpendicular to the direction of conveyance, that is: its width direction; and
the device is characterized in that
- at least a part of a support surface over which the conveyor is guided is provided with a height pattern or curvature at the position where the roller is situated for varying the distance between the upper surface of the conveyor and the roller during rolling.
However, Van Blokland, in a similar field of endeavor, a device for rolling dough, teaches:
the roller ([0018]; Fig. 2, #5) rolling the dough sheet ([0018]; Fig. 2, #4) with at least a directional component perpendicular to the direction of conveyance ([0018]; Fig. 1, #6), that is: its width direction ([0018]; Fig. 2, #9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller of Fritsch to incorporate the teachings of Van Blokland and have it roll the dough sheet with at least a directional component perpendicular to the direction of conveyance, that is: its width direction. The purpose, as stated by Van Blokland, being to take away the disadvantages of the prior art or to provide a suitable alternative to the existing devices, dough lines and methods ([0005]), these disadvantages being by such (non-perpendicular) roller has the tendency to have an unequal homogeneity in a direction perpendicular to the direction of conveyance, that is: its width direction. This leads to a larger variation in the weight of the separate dough pieces. In order to meet individual product specifications, especially minimum weight requirements, safe margins are used when cutting individual products. This however does not solve the spread in specifications of the individual products and leads to the use of more dough than strictly required ([0004]).
Fritsch in view of Van Blokland does not teach:
the device is characterized in that
- at least a part of a support surface over which the conveyor is guided is provided with a height pattern or curvature at the position where the roller is situated for varying the distance between the upper surface of the conveyor and the roller during rolling.
However, Brandauer, in a similar field of endeavor, a device for shaping dough using a conveyor, teaches:
the device is characterized in that
- at least a part of a fixed ([0051]; Fig. 3D, #380) support surface over which the conveyor is guided is provided with a height pattern or curvature ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #322) at the position where the roller is situated for varying the distance between the upper surface of the conveyor and the roller during rolling ([0047] - [0051]). The belt on top in Brandauer ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #304), in particular the upper support that forms the top shape of the dough ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #324) is equivalent to the rollers of Fritsch and Van Blokland because it is used as an upper device to roll the dough and shape it. Brandauer teaches using the fixed support surface ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #22) which is located under the top belt to adjust the height and shape of the dough ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Fritsch in view of Van Blokland to incorporate the teachings of Brandauer and have at least part of a fixed surface provided with a height pattern or curvature. The purpose, as stated by Brandauer, being that one or more parameters of the forming assembly can be automatically (via the controller) or manually adjusted to affect the shape of the discharged dough ([0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Fritsch in view of Van Blokland and Brandauer teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Brandauer further teaches:
wherein the support surface with the height pattern or curvature extends at least over a width of the roller ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #322 and #324).
Regarding claim 3, Fritsch in view of Van Blokland and Brandauer teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Brandauer further teaches:
wherein the support surface with the height pattern or curvature is exchangeable, in order to use the device according to the present invention for creating various patterns or curvatures ([0051]; Fig. 3C, #322 and #324).
Regarding claim 4, Fritsch in view of Van Blokland and Brandauer teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends on. Fritsch further teaches:
comprising a suspension along which the roller is guided in a direction perpendicular to the direction of conveyance, wherein the suspension is movable in a direction from and toward the conveyor ([0046] – [0057]; Figs. 1-2 #13).
Regarding claim 5, Fritsch in view of Van Blokland and Brandauer teaches:
Dough line comprising a device according to claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant arguments/remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 on pages 3-5, under in view of Van Blokland (US-20190223452) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Fritsch (EP-2103217) in view of Van Blokland (US-20190223452) and Brandauer (US-20180249721).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748