DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, line 6: “the support” should read:
-- the upper fixture support --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, the limitation in line 1 “each suction cup” renders claim indefinite because claim 13, upon which claim 4 depends, recites “lower suction holder comprising at least one suction cup for attaching the routing element to the assembly board”. Therefore, it is unclear where does the “each suction cup” in claim 4.
In claim 5, the limitation in lines 2-3 “the at least two suction cups” renders claim indefinite because claim 13, upon which claim 5 depends, recites “lower suction holder comprising at least one suction cup for attaching the routing element to the assembly board”.
In claim 6, the limitation in lines 2-3: “the upper fixture support is located between the at least two suction cups” renders claim indefinite because claim 13, upon which claim 6 depends, recites “lower suction holder comprising at least one suction cup for attaching the routing element to the assembly board”.
In claim 20, lines 7 and 8, “the lower attachment holder” lacks proper antecedent basis. Further, it is unclear whether the “a lower attachment holder” recited in line 9 is the same lower attachment holder recited in lines 7/8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 9, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (KR 20210087607) in view of Roth (US 20100146697).
[AltContent: textbox (attachment surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (lower suction holder)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (upper fixture support)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 1, Ahn.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn teaches, a routing element (bridge jig 100, see annotated Fig. 1 and Figs. 2 to 5) for use in a cable harness manufacturing system (a bridge jig for wiring a wire harness, para. [0001]) comprising an assembly board (workbench 110, Fig. 1) having an attachment surface (see annotated Fig. 1) configured for receiving one or more tooling components to support and locate a cable harness during manufacture (wire harness wiring bridge jig 100…includes a workbench 110 on which a wiring diagram for wiring wires is formed, a workbench suction fixing part 120 coupled to the workbench 110 so that wires can be placed along the wiring diagram, para. [0032]), the routing element comprising:
an upper fixture support (bridge part 140, see Fig. 1 above) having at least one aperture (see the bridge fixing part 131, Fig. 1, bridge part 140 is fixed to the workbench suction fixing part 120 through the bridge fixing part 131 that is fixed to the wire mounting part 130, para. [0039]) for receiving a tooling component (wire holding unit 130); and
a lower suction holder (workbench suction fixing part 120, see annotated Fig. 1) comprising at least one suction cup (suction fixing parts 120 in Figs. 1and 2, worktable suction fixing part 120…is provided on each side of the bridge part 140 and is absorbed into the worktable 110 in a double suction structure, para. [0036]) for attaching the routing element to the assembly board (worktable suction fixing part 120 is selectively attached and detached from the upper surface, para. [0034]), wherein the suction cup comprises a housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below), and wherein a suction element (suction lever 125, Fig. 3) for applying a suction force at the attachment surface is located in the housing and moveable therein and wherein the housing has a peripheral side wall (see Fig. 3) that extends between an upper surface (see Fig. 3 below) and lower surface edge of the suction cup (workbench suction fixing part 120 is formed in a semicircular shape, and a pole fixing part 121 is formed protrudingly on the upper surface on one side, and an absorption pad 123 that is absorbed into the workbench 110 is provided inside, and an absorption lever 125 for selectively pressing the absorption pad 123 is provided rotatably, para. [0035]), the lower surface edge defining a contact surface of the routing element for contacting the assembly board (para. [0035]); and configured to support the suction element and to prevent tilting of the suction element relative to the attachment surface.
[AltContent: textbox (actuator)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (lower surface edge)][AltContent: textbox (peripheral side wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (upper surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (suction element)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 3, Ahn.
Anh does not teach the contact surface is configured to provide direct mechanical contact between the lower surface edge and the assembly board when the suction cup is in an activated configuration, the peripheral side wall having a cylindrical form configured in use to extend perpendicular to the attachment surface. However, Roth teaches a suction element for a handle arrangement 11 in Figs. 19 and 20, including an actuating device 17 for forming vacuum and a suction cup in which, the contact surface is configured to provide direct mechanical contact between the lower surface edge and the assembly board when the suction cup is in an activated configuration (see annotated Fig. 20 below, suction head housing 16 contains a hollow chamber, up into which the central area of the suction plate 15 can preferably be pulled…An actuating device 17 is assigned to the suction plate 15, by means of which the suction plate 15 can be displaced between an ineffective and an effective position…Because of this, a vacuum is created between the flat surface and the suction plate, para. [0051]), the peripheral side wall having a cylindrical form (see the suction head housing 16, Figs. 19 and 20) configured in use to extend perpendicular to the attachment surface (see Figs. 1 to 10).
[AltContent: textbox (contact surface)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (cylindrical peripheral side wall)]
Annotated Fig. 20, Roth.
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Roth, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire routing element of the wire harness system of Ahn and replace the suction cup 120 of Ahn with a suction cup as taught by Roth in Figs. 19 to 20 so as a simple substation of one suction cup type for another. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in using the cylindrical wall perpendicular to the assembly board. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 4, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. The suction cup as modified in view of Roth comprises an actuator (17, Fig. 19 and 20 of Roth) for operating the suction cup, the actuator configured such that movement thereof affects movement of the suction element to activate or deactivate a vacuum force at the attachment surface, wherein the actuator comprises a lever (lever 19 in Fig. 19 and 20 of Roth) or rotatable actuator, and wherein the actuator is located integrally at the support of the routing element (in Anh, see Figs. 1 to 3, pole fixing part 121 is formed protrudingly on the upper surface on one side of the housing; as modified in view of Roth, it is understood the pole fixing part would still be included, as Roth is merely cited for its teaching of a different suction cup structure).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn further teaches, the routing element of claim 13, wherein the at least two suction cups (see adsorption fixing part 120 in Fig. 1) and the support of the routing element are integrally formed (see 121 integral with 120 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Ahn further teaches, the routing element of claim 13, wherein a portion of the upper fixture support is located between the at least two suction cups (see, worktable suction fixing part 120 in Figs. 1 and 2) of the lower suction holder, the suction cups being spaced apart about the support (worktable suction fixing part 120…is provided on each side of the bridge part 140 and is absorbed into the worktable 110 in a double suction structure, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Ahn further teaches, the routing element of claim 13, comprising two suction cups arranged at opposing sides of the central vertical axis and the upper fixture support of the routing element (see Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Ahn further teaches, the routing element of claim 13, further comprising one or more guide features (guide hole 143, Fig. 4) defining a guide for orientation or alignment of the routing element, wherein the one or more guide features comprise one or more of: markers, fiducial marks, integrally formed guide features (the bridge portion 140 is provided with a bridge plate 141 formed in a rectangular shape and a guide hole 143 formed in the bridge plate 141 so that the lower part of the wire holder 130 passes through it…and the wire holder 130 coupled to the pole fixing part 121 is selectively moved along the guide hole 143, para. [0041]), a reflective coating, a reflective material, and a reflective marker.
Regarding claim 14, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Ahn further teaches, the routing element of claim 13, further comprising one or more guide features (guide hole 143, Fig. 4, the bridge portion 140 is provided with a bridge plate 141 formed in a rectangular shape and a guide hole 143 formed in the bridge plate 141 so that the lower part of the wire holder 130 passes through it…and the wire holder 130 coupled to the pole fixing part 121 is selectively moved along the guide hole 143, para. [0041]) configured to provide a guide for orientation and alignment of the routing element.
Regarding claim 16, Ahn in view of Roth teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Ahn further teaches, a cable harness manufacturing system (see wiring harness system, Fig. 1) comprising: the routing element (wire harness wiring bridge jig 100, Fig. 1) according to claim 13; and an assembly board (worktable 110) having an attachment surface configured for receiving the routing element to support and locate a cable harness during manufacture (worktable 110 is formed in a plate shape, and a worktable suction fixing part 120 is selectively attached and detached from the upper surface, para. [0034]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Roth as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 9128668).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ahn does not teach, routing element comprising three suction cups. However, Johnson teaches a mounting apparatus for securing electronic device in which, the routing element of claim 13, comprising three suction cups (suction cups 41, Fig. 3), equally spaced apart about the central vertical axis and the upper fixture support of the routing element.
Ahn teaches a routing element 100 in Fig. comprising two suction cups and a bridge branch part 150 disposed at the center of the bridge part 140. Johnson teaches a mounting element including three or more suction cups. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Johnson, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire routing element of the wire harness system of Ahn and include a third suction cup at the bridge branch part 150 that is equally spaced apart about the central vertical axis of the upper fixture support 140 so that it enables the routing element 100 to secure and maintain in the attachment surface of the cable harness manufacturing system.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Roth and further in view of Reithmaier (DE 102015112722).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ahn does not teach, routing element comprising partially transparent material. However, Reithmaier teaches a routing element for a wire harness manufacturing system in Fig. 3, including suction cup 9a, in which, the routing element of claim 13, wherein at least a portion of the upper fixture support or the lower suction holder is formed of an at least partially transparent material (base plate may be made of a preferably partially transparent, translucent, ie translucent plastic, Fig. 3, para. [0019]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Reithmaier, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire routing element of the wire harness system of modified Ahn and to replace the bridge material 140 with a transparent material as taught by Reithmaier so that it enables viewing the wire routing diagram while securing the routing element 100 to the assembly board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 15 would be allowable for claiming a cable manufacturing system wherein a distance between a position of the upper fixture support and the lower suction holder is adjustable.
Claim 17 would be allowable for claiming a cable manufacturing system comprising a support plate having an upper cable harness facing surface and lower assembly board facing surface, the support plate comprising a plurality of apertures that extend between the upper and lower surfaces thereof, the apertures configured to receive and support a cable fixing element, wherein the support plate is configured for coupling to one or more routing elements, and is configured to be arranged in use in a plane parallel to the plane of the assembly board.
Though, prior art of record Ahn teaches a routing element 100 including an orientation guide 143 in Figs. 1 to 4, Ahn fails to teach one or more support plates comprising a plurality of apertures configured to receive one or more tooling components and for connection to a receiver of a routing element, wherein the one more support plates are configured to be connected to one or more routing elements to locate the support plate in use in a plane parallel to that of the attachment surface and spaced apart therefrom; and one or more mating features for receiving and locating one or more routing elements and/or for receiving and locating one or more support plates.
Though, prior art of record Roth teaches a suction cup including the housing has a peripheral side wall that extends between an upper surface and lower surface edge of the suction cup, the lower surface edge defining a contact surface of the routing element for contacting the assembly board, wherein the contact surface is configured to provide direct mechanical contact between the lower surface edge and the assembly board when the suction cup is in an activated configuration, the peripheral side wall having a generally cylindrical form configured in use to extend substantially perpendicular to the attachment surface, Roth fails to teach one or more support plates comprising a plurality of apertures configured to receive one or more tooling components and for connection to a receiver of a routing element, wherein the one more support plates are configured to be connected to one or more routing elements to locate the support plate in use in a plane parallel to that of the attachment surface and spaced apart therefrom; and one or more mating features for receiving and locating one or more routing elements and/or for receiving and locating one or more support plates.
Though, prior art Reithmaier teaches a wire harness kit including a suction cup for attaching a routing element to the assembly board, Reithmaier fails to teach one or more support plates comprising a plurality of apertures configured to receive one or more tooling components and for connection to a receiver of a routing element, wherein the one more support plates are configured to be connected to one or more routing elements to locate the support plate in use in a plane parallel to that of the attachment surface and spaced apart therefrom; and one or more mating features for receiving and locating one or more routing elements and/or for receiving and locating one or more support plates.
Therefore, claims 15 and 17 would be allowable. Claims 18-19 are allowable by virtue of its dependency. Claim 20 would be allowable for the reasons above.
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 01 October 2025 has been entered. Claims 4-10 and 13-20 are now pending in the application.
Amendments to the claims 2, 11-13, 16 and 20 to overcome the informalities are acceptable. Therefore, claim objections have been withdrawn.
Amendments to the claims 2, 4 and 13 to overcome the rejections under U.S.C 112(b) have been fully considered and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 2, 4 and 13-20 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-9, filed 01 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 102 and claim 13 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Roth (US 20100146697).
Conclusion
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729
/LIVIUS R. CAZAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729