DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to an amendment filed on February 6th, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application with claims 1, 8, and 16 being amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bui et al. (Herein referred to as Bui) (U.S. Patent Application No. US 20220114476 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Bui teaches a system comprising: a memory component; and a
processing device coupled to the memory component, (“Implementations of the present
disclosure may comprise or utilize a special-purpose or general-purpose computer including
computer hardware, such as, for example, one or more processors and system memory, as
discussed in greater detail below.”, Paragraph 167) the processing device to perform
operations comprising: obtaining a first set of labels generated by a teacher model based on
training data; (“the text sequence labeling system trains the student model based on the
unlabeled data and the additional pseudo labels generated by the teacher model.”, Paragraph
23) (The pseudo labels from the teacher model act as out first set of labels.) generating a
second set of labels by at least replacing a label of the first set of labels with labels generated
by a past student model based on the training data; (“the text sequence labeling system learns
a second set of model parameters at the student model based on the set of ground truth text
sequence labels (e.g., the pseudo labels) generated by the teacher model. Moreover, based on
identifying an improved validation output from the student model, the text sequence labeling
system re-initializes the first teacher model with the second set of learned model parameters.”,
Paragraph 20) (The student model learns the second model parameters and changes the
labeling from the teacher model, (acting as our second set of labels) leading to an improved
validation output. If an improvement is shown, the student model replaces the teacher model.) wherein the past student model includes a set of student model parameters from a prior training epoch that are not updated during the current training epoch (The past student model, which is the teacher model, is fixed in Bui.) and labels generated by a past student model provide contextual semantic noise for training the student model (“In some implementations, the teacher model 108 is a bidirectional LSTM neural network that processes text data from the labeled data set 202 to predict corresponding text sequence labels (e.g., key phrases extracted from the text data).”, Paragraph 48) (Key phrases contain contextual semantic information, with any difference in the label corresponding to noise.) and training a student model based on the second set of labels. (“The text sequence labeling system 106 then replaces the teacher model 108 with the re-trained and newly updated student model 110, as shown in FIG. 2. Indeed, in various implementations, the text sequence labeling system 106 continues to repeat these actions until one or more training conditions are met, as further described below.”, Paragraph 55; See also FIG. 2) (The student model and it’s generated “second set of labels” replaces the teacher model, trains a new student model, based on the second set of labels, until a training condition is met. See FIG. 2 for an illustration detailing the process.)
Regarding claim 17, Bui teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the past student model is updated based on a current version of the student model at an expiration of an update interval. (The text sequence labeling system 106 then replaces the teacher model 108 with the re-trained and newly updated student model.”, Paragraph 55) (Simply put, the time spent before replacing the past student model (teacher model) with the newly updated student model would be considered the “update interval.”)
Regarding claim 18, Bui teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the past student model is generated at an expiration of a warmup interval. (Simply put, the time before the past student model (teacher model) is generated would be considered the “warmup interval.”)
Regarding claim 19, Bui teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the processing device is further configured to perform the operations comprising performing a training iteration by at least: obtaining a third set of labels generated by the teacher model; (“the text sequence labeling system trains the student model based on the unlabeled data and the additional pseudo labels generated by the teacher model… The text sequence labeling system 106 then replaces the teacher model 108 with the re-trained and newly updated student model 110, as shown in FIG. 2.”, Paragraphs 23 and 55) (The pseudo labels from the replaced teacher model act as out third set of labels.) generating a fourth set of labels by at least replacing labels of the third set of labels with labels generated by the past student model; (“the text sequence labeling system learns a second set of model parameters at the student model based on the set of ground truth text sequence labels (e.g., the pseudo labels) generated by the teacher model. Moreover, based on identifying an improved validation output from the student model, the text sequence labeling system re-initializes the first teacher model with the second set of learned model parameters.”, Paragraph 20) (The student model learns the second model parameters and changes the labeling from the teacher model, (acting as our fourth set of labels) leading to an improved validation output. If an improvement is shown, the student model replaces the teacher model.) and training the student model based on the fourth set of labels. (“The text sequence labeling system 106 then replaces the teacher model 108 with the re-trained and newly updated student model 110, as shown in FIG. 2. Indeed, in various implementations, the text sequence labeling system 106 continues to repeat these actions until one or more training conditions are met, as further described below.”, Paragraph 55; See also FIG. 2) (The new student model and it’s generated “fourth set of labels” replaces the teacher model, trains yet another new student model, based on the fourth set of labels, until a training condition is met. See FIG. 2 for an illustration detailing the process.)
Regarding claim 20, Bui teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the labels generated by the past student model contain contextual semantic information. (“In some implementations, the teacher model 108 is a bidirectional LSTM neural network that processes text data from the labeled data set 202 to predict corresponding text sequence labels (e.g., key phrases extracted from the text data).”, Paragraph 48) (Key phrases contain contextual semantic information)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowable over prior art and subject matter eligibility. The steps, “obtaining a first set of labels…”, “providing…”, “causing the student model to generate a second set of labels…”, and “modifying…” are all performed “during a current training epoch” which makes the independent claims 1 and 8 allowable, and the claims dependent on 1 and 8 allowable as well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance:
Argument 1: The reference from the prior rejection do not teach the new limitation “the past student model includes a set of student model parameters from a prior training epoch that are not updated during the current training epoch and the second label provides contextual semantic noise for training the student model.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in this action, the teacher model’s parameters of Bui are fixed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this corresponds to a set of student model parameters from a prior training epoch not updated during the current training epoch. As such, the rejection is proper.
Argument 2: Bui does not teach replacing a first label of the first set of labels with a second label generated by a past student model based on a value exceeding a probability threshold, wherein the past student model includes a set of student model parameters from a prior training epoch that are not updated during the current training epoch and the second label provides contextual semantic noise for training the student model. Specifically, Bui does not teach using a snapshot of the student model parameters from a previous epoch to generate labels that are probabilistically mixed with teacher labels during ongoing training, not using outputs from a prior student model as a source of contextual semantic noise within a single training epoch.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant asserts that Bui’s approach involves replacing the teacher model wholesale with the current student model after validation, and the examiner agrees. This process does teach, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, using labels, (outputs) generated by a teacher model, (previous student model) as a source of contextual semantic noise, as interpreted broadly, a difference in the labels would be considered noise. If the student model, then outperforms the teacher model, the teacher model is replaced by the student model. This is all done within a single training iteration (epoch), and continues until a condition is met. It should be noted that if the invention is able to “use a snapshot of the student model parameters from a previous epoch to generate labels that are probabilistically mixed with teacher labels”, then it is not accurately reflected within the current claim language, and it is possible that this feature would be allowable if clearly recited in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.I./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122