DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In this instance, claim(s) 8 and 9 appear to have near verbatim overlap of claim language — but for a mere rearrangement of clauses / limitations.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “good” in claims 3-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “good” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims are addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lafon (US 20230248320 A1).
For claim(s) 1 and 10-13, Lafon teaches An information processing method for an information processing system including a first terminal that acquires body temperature information about a first user and a second terminal that presents the body temperature information to a second user, [entire disclosure – see at least ¶33] the information processing method comprising:
causing the first terminal to:
select an input mode for use in acquiring the body temperature information from among a plurality of input modes each having distinctive reliability for body temperature information to be acquired; [¶43, ¶54]
acquire the body temperature information in the selected input mode; [throughout ¶¶40-55]
and transmit the acquired body temperature information and input mode identification information indicating the selected input mode; [¶33]
and causing the second terminal to:
receive the body temperature information and the input mode identification information; [¶33]
and cause a display part to display the body temperature information in a distinctive display manner in accordance with the input mode identification information. [¶29, ¶38, ¶55]
For claim 2, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 1,
wherein the input modes include a first input mode of acquiring the body temperature information from a thermometer, which measures a body temperature of the first user, through communication therewith and a second input mode of acquiring the body temperature information from an input receiving part which receives a manual input of the body temperature by the user, [see first ¶38; consider then also that inputs including wireless comms and AI inputs in ¶86 and ¶92 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of both thermometer at and least some form of ‘manual’ input]
and, in the displaying of the body temperature information, the input mode indicated by the input mode identification information is determined as either the first input mode or the second input mode, and the body temperature information is displayed on the display part in a first display manner when the input mode is determined as the first input mode, and the body temperature information is displayed on the display part in a second display manner which is different from the first display manner when the input mode is determined as the second input mode. [Fig. 8 in view of ¶29, ¶38, ¶¶54-55]
For claim 3, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 2, comprising causing the first terminal to:
further generate a good health condition certificate proving that the first user has a good health condition when the selected input mode indicates the first input mode and the acquired body temperature information falls below a predetermined value; and further cause a display part to display the generated good health condition certificate. [sleep comfort in ¶55; end of ¶40 for determining ‘good’ health, end of ¶88 in view of ¶60]
For claim 4, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 3,
wherein, in the generating of the good health condition certificate, the good health condition certificate is generated when the selected input mode continuously indicates the first input mode throughout a predetermined period and the acquired body temperature information continuously falls below the predetermined value throughout the predetermined period. [sleep comfort in ¶55; end of ¶40 for determining ‘good’ health, end of ¶88]
For claim 5, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 2, comprising causing the first terminal to:
further generate a preferential virus test certificate proving that the first user is preferentially prompted to receive a virus test when the selected input mode continuously indicates the first input mode throughout a predetermined period and the acquired body temperature information continuously indicates the predetermined value or higher throughout the predetermined period; and cause the display part to further display the generated preferential virus test certificate. [¶¶89-90 in view of ¶60]
For claim 6, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 1,
wherein, in the displaying of the body temperature information, a sign having a distinctive shape in accordance with the input mode identification information is displayed in the vicinity of the body temperature information, a sign having a distinctive color in accordance with the input mode identification information is displayed in the vicinity of the body temperature information, the body information is displayed in a distinctive color in accordance with the input mode identification information, or a name of the input mode indicated by the input mode identification information is displayed in the vicinity of the body temperature information. [¶¶87-88 in view of ¶60]
For claim 7, Lafon teaches The information processing method according to claim 1,
wherein the first terminal causes the display part to display the body temperature information in a distinctive display manner in accordance with the selected input mode. [¶¶87-90 in view of ¶60]
For claim(s) 8-9, Lafon teaches
wherein, in the acquiring of the body temperature information, measurement device information is acquired together with the body temperature information, the measurement device information including at least one of information indicating whether a body temperature is measured in a predictive measurement manner or an actual measurement manner, information indicating whether the body temperature is measured in a contact manner or a contactless manner, and measured portion information indicating a body portion at which the body temperature has been measured, [¶¶40-60 esp. ¶51, ¶55]
in the transmitting of the body temperature information and the input mode identification information, the acquired measurement device information is transmitted together with the body temperature information and the input mode identification information, [¶¶36-42]
in the receiving of the body temperature information and the input mode identification information, the measurement device information is received together with the body temperature information and the input mode identification information, [¶¶40-60 esp. ¶51, ¶55] and
in the displaying of the body temperature information, the body temperature information is displayed on the display part in a distinctive display manner in accordance with the input mode identification information and the measurement device information. [¶¶87-90 in view of ¶60]
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791