Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicant’s amendment which was filed on 07/16/2026 and has been entered. Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 11 and 17 are amended herein. Claims 10 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1, 11 and 17 have been amended to incorporate the limitations from claims 10 and 16 respectively. The claims currently recite, inter alia, "communicating, by the application on the recipient device, a response to the particular call to either call again later or to reschedule the particular call." Applicant argues the applied art does not teach the claim limitation, see Remarks page 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The fact that the called party, rather than the calling party selects the later callback time does not negate the claimed “call again later” response. The claimed language does not require the calling party to select the later time. Rather, it requires that the recipient device application communicate a response to the particular call to call again later. Paragraph [0345] of Kats teaches the underlying functionality: the recipient, in handling the incoming call, requests a callback at a different time and may communicate with the caller by sending a message. The selected callback time merely provides a preferred “call again later” time. Therefore, the recipient’s message to the caller reads on the “call again later” limitation.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/03/2026, 8/6/2026,5/7/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2021/0144246 (“Murphy et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0344792 (“Kats et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy et al. discloses a method, comprising:
identifying, by an initiating device of an organization (fig. 12, calling server 1214), a user and a reason for a particular call to a recipient device of the user, the recipient device having an inbound phone number ([0096], the call content may include a calling party name, number (e.g., 15 character CNAM, 64 character CNAM, etc.), logo (image), advertising information, links, textual information, etc. Also, certain call content data may have detailed information, such as a purpose(s) for the call, that is displayed on the called party mobile device 1204);
informing, by the initiating device, an intermediate service about the particular call to the recipient device and the reason for the particular call, wherein the intermediate service provides, to an application associated with the intermediate service on the recipient device prior to the particular call, information about the particular call to be made from the initiating device, the information including an outbound phone number of the particular call, a name of the organization, and the reason for the particular call, and causes the application to preconfigure a caller identification process of the recipient device based on the information and specific to the particular call to be made ([0097] The content provider may forward the updated information to the call application operating on the called party device 1204. In one example, the call content may specify a contact list update to include a calling name and other information that is added to the contact list 1224 of the called device 1204. The contact list update may be temporary and may be removed after a time period (time-to-live (TTL)) has lapsed, which is also included with the call content 1226 forwarded to the called party); and
calling, from the initiating device and using the outbound phone number, the recipient device at the inbound phone number, wherein, in response to receiving the particular call from the outbound phone number, the recipient device executes the caller identification process as preconfigured to display the name of the organization and the reason for the particular call as established for the particular call (fig. 12, place call 1234 from calling party entity to place call 1236 called party device [0098] The calling service provider (e.g., carrier, cloud service, etc.) 1214 may receive the call and forward a call leg 1236 to the called party. The call being received may cause the called party device 1204 to invoke the call list matching procedure to determine whether the call is from a known member contact entry of the contact list. If so, the information stored via the previously forwarded call content may be retrieved and displayed with the connected call.).
Murphy et al. all discloses the subject matters as claimed above, except for the feature of communicating, by the application on the recipient device, a response to the particular call to either call again later or to reschedule the particular call.
In the same field of endeavor, Kats et al. discloses enhanced call identifiers with personalized call content. Kats et al. discloses upon receipt of a registration by the caller for a call to occur in a future time frame (e.g., “tomorrow”, “next week”, “after a scheduled event”, and the like) update the target recipient device so that a call from the caller before a start of the future time frame will be handled by, for example, as an unexpected call or by an unknown caller and the like ([0622]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify called party display in Murphy et al. to include an incoming call response such as call again later to improve called party flexibility to deal with non-urgent calls.
Claim 11 recites a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor on a computer, cause the computer to perform a process recited in claim 1. Thus claim 11 is rejected in view of Murphy et al. in view of Kats et al. for the same reason discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17 recites an apparatus, comprising: one or more network interfaces; a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes; and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the process when executed preforming the method of claim 1. Thus claim 17 is rejected in view of Murphy et al. in view of Kats et al. for the same reason discussed with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 18, Murphy et al. discloses the subject matters as claimed above, except for the feature of wherein the reason for the particular call includes an urgency of the particular call.
In the same field of endeavor, Kats et al. discloses enhanced call identifiers with personalized call content. Kats et al. discloses embedding messages such as “your driver is arriving with your pizza now” ([0601]) to convey urgency for matter requires immediate attention. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify content in Murphy et al. to include urgency as disclosed in Kats et al. in order to incentivize called party to pick up calls.
Regarding claim 3, Murphy et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reason for the particular call is selected from a group consisting of: potentially fraudulent transactions; a change in privacy rules; a special offer; a requested callback; a customer survey; and a response to an inquiry ([0099] Along with information about the calling party and a brief description of the purpose of the call, the temporary contact information enables callers to brand their calls as they are sent to customers in a secure and trusted manner. Since the various information is displayed when the call is received, the purpose of the call and related caller information permits the called party ‘customer’ to make an informed decision whether to answer the call or ignore the call.).
Regarding claim 4, Murphy et al. discloses establishing a connection utilizing an encrypted security token ([0052] A call setup message may then be submitted to the mobile device 102 which provides a the UUID, the IPSEC IP channel information, and an authorized signed token 136 to the mobile device 102.).
Regarding claim 7, 13 and 19, Murphy et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the user and the reason for call is either performed manually by an agent or automatically based on a pre-programmed algorithm ([0114] manually by the calling party, examples being “The landscaping service may use an enhanced call content application to ensure customers view the appropriate text, images, and desired telephone number when a call is received, regardless of the employee that placed the call”).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Murphy et al. discloses the method of claim 1. wherein the particular call is either a voice call or a text message ([0125] voice call).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Murphy et al. in view of Kats et al. discloses wherein the caller identification process of the recipient device queries the application for an identity associated with an incoming call prior to displaying the name of the organization and the reason for the particular call (fig. 45 and its description [0350-0351] The SCM data structure for the caller 4510 may be provided to an SCM platform communication function that may perform a step 4512 of delivering the SCM data structure to a recipient device, such as an item of visual caller ID that the recipient may accept, reject, or provide feedback on, such as whether or not the visual caller ID is helpful and the like).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0144246 (“Murphy et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0344792 (“Kats et al.”) and further in view of US Publication No. 2017/0178217 (“Ahuja”).
Regarding claim 5, Murphy et al. discloses all subject matters as claimed above, except for the encrypted security token was initially shared between the recipient device and the intermediate service when an account with the organization was established on the recipient device.
However, Ahuja discloses such feature in paragraphs [0020] and [0035] for retrieval of purchased items and delivery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of sharing the encrypted security token between the recipient device and the intermediate service device, as taught by Ahuja, into view of Murphy et al. in order to securely transmit the information of the call to recipient device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0144246 (“Murphy et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0344792 (“Kats et al.”) and further in view of US Patent No. 8,831,191 (“Vendrow”).
Regarding claim 6, Murphy et al. discloses the feature of transmitting the reason and other identification information to the recipient device as discussed above. Murphy et al. fails to teach the feature of wherein the intermediate service is configured to coordinate with the application on the recipient device by utilizing a connection, secured by an encrypted security token, where the connection is established and maintained continuously.
Vendrow discloses that a connection is established and maintained continuously if the user associated with the device 102B (i.e., read on the recipient device) accepts the preview message of an incoming call. Otherwise, the connection is disconnected or sent to voicemail (col.4, lines 33-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of establishing a connection by utilizing an encrypted token and maintained continuously, as taught by Vendrow into view of Murphy et al. in order to securely terminate the incoming call to the recipient device.
Claims 8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0144246 (“Murphy et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0344792 (“Kats et al.”) and further in view of US Patent No. 9,338,289 (“Goyal et al.”).
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 20, Murphy et al. discloses all subject matters as claimed above, except for the feature of the initiating device selecting the outbound phone number from a plurality of outbound phone numbers based on available of the outbound phone number.
However, Goyal et al. (hereinafter “Goyal”) discloses an originating device110, as shown in figure 1A, selects an outbound number from a pool of available numbers for use as a caller ID of an outbound call when initiated (col.22, lines 30-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of the initiating device selecting the outbound phone number from a plurality of outbound phone numbers based on available of the outbound phone number, as taught by Goyal, into view of Murphy et al. in order to provide selected outbound phone number as the caller ID of the incoming call to the recipient device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693