DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara (US2020/0069149) in view of Wang (US2010/0220179).
Regarding claim 1, Yanagihara discloses the method of extending battery life for a wireless endoscope powered by a battery, the method comprising:
operating the wireless endoscope in a first operating mode (Fig. 9: normal operation mode), wherein a peak current in the first operating mode is contributed by at least two sub-tasks associated with operations of the wireless endoscope and said at least two sub-tasks are performed with one or more overlapping periods in time (Fig. 9: normal operation mode allows at least two-subtasks to be performed with full overlap, the sub-tasks consisting of imaging portion, light-source portion, image processing position and wireless communication portion contributes to a peak current);
determining a running voltage indicating a battery output voltage at or near time instances of the peak current (it is determined whether battery 24 is higher than a predetermined threshold [0118]); and
in response to the running voltage below a threshold, switching operating mode of the wireless endoscope to a second operating mode by temporally delaying a start time of at least one of said at least two sub-tasks relative to another to reduce said one or more overlapping periods associated with said at least two sub-tasks so as to reduce the peak current to a second peak current (if the level the battery 24 has decreased to the predetermined threshold or further, the wireless endoscope may transition from normal operation mode to standby mode 5 in step S25 [0120]; Fig. 9: mode 5 details that the imaging portion, light-source portion, image processing portion and wireless communication portion would not be supplied electric power [0083], therefore a start time of at least one of those portions would be delayed, as at least one of those portions are not supplied electric power in standby mode 5. When a return is determined in S26 and the battery level is greater than a lower threshold in S27, the device returns to normal operation mode in S1, where the start time of at least one of the portions would start after being temporally delayed in standby mode 5 [0118-0120]). Yanagihara fails to specifically disclose wherein the wireless endoscope is a capsule endoscope, however in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a substantially similar wireless endoscope, the wireless endoscope being a capsule endoscope (Fig. 1B: capsule with housing 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the capabilities of the wireless endoscope of Yanagihara can be applied a wireless endoscope, including the capsule endoscope taught by Wang, as both are wireless and reliant on batteries for power. A capsule endoscope would be an alternative method of capturing images compared to a traditional endoscope.
Regarding claim 5, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of claim 1. Yanagihara further discloses wherein said at least two sub-tasks comprise image sensing, image processing, and pre-charging LED light source (Fig. 9: sub-tasks are imaging portion/image sensing, image processing portion/image processing, light-source portion/pre-charging LED light source).
Regarding claim 6, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of claim 5, but fails to disclose wherein said at least two sub-tasks comprise image write to an archive memory. In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a substantially similar method, further comprising wherein the sub-tasks comprise image write to an archive memory (nonvolatile archival memory may be provided to allow images to be retrieved at a docking station outside the body, after capsuled has been recovered [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an image write to an archive memory sub-task for a wireless endoscope, as including an archive memory sub-task would allow multiple images to be stored in the wireless endoscope until it is convenient to retrieve the images.
Regarding claim 7, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of Claim 5. Yanagihara further discloses wherein said at least two sub-tasks comprise image transmission to an external wireless receiver (Fig. 9: wireless communication portion; Fig. 1, 3 & 4: wireless communication portion 33 communicates with wireless communication portion 26 [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of Claim 1. Yanagihara further discloses wherein said at least two sub-tasks are spread so that an overlap between two of said at least two sub-tasks is reduced (Fig. 9: sub-tasks are spread between modes, where a first sub-tasks is completed in a first mode and a second sub-task is not completed in the first mode, reducing overlap).
Regarding claim 9, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of Claim 1. Yanagihara further discloses wherein said at least two sub-tasks are spread so that an overlap between two of said at least two sub-tasks is reduced to 0 (Fig. 9: sub-tasks are spread between modes, wherein in a first mode such as the normal operation mode, a first sub-task such as imaging portion and a second sub-task such as image processing portion is conducted, and in a second mode such as mode 3, the first sub-task imaging portion is not conducted and the second sub-task image processing portion is conducted, thus the overlap between the tasks does not exist anymore).
Regarding claim 12, Yanagihara discloses a wireless endoscope, comprising: a pixel array being responsive to light energy received by the pixel array (imaging portion 20 comprising CCD or CMOS [0036]); an light source to illuminate a scene for the pixel array (light source portion 23 with light guide 23b); one or more circuits coupled to the pixel array and the light source (Fig. 2: circuitry exists connecting electrical components on the substrate 16); and a battery to supply electrical power to the pixel array, the light source and said one or more circuits (battery 24 supplies electric power to the control portion, the light source portion, image processing portion, wireless communication portion, imaging portion and image analysis portion [0046]); wherein the battery, the pixel array, the light source and said one or more circuits are enclosed in a housing (Fig. 1: all components, battery 24, imaging portion 20, light source 23 and light guide 23b, and circuitry are in the wireless endoscope 1); and wherein said one or more circuits, the pixel array and the light source are configured to: operate the wireless endoscope in a first operating mode (Fig. 9: normal operation mode), wherein a identifying a peak current in a current profile consumed by the wireless endoscope, wherein the peak current in the first operating mode is contributed by at least two sub-tasks associated with operations of the wireless endoscope and said at least two sub-tasks are performed with one or more overlapping periods in time (Fig. 9: normal operation mode allows at least two-subtasks to be performed with full overlap, the sub-tasks consisting of imaging portion, light-source portion, image processing position and wireless communication portion contributes to a peak current); determine a running voltage indicating a battery output voltage at or near time instances of the peak current (it is determined whether or not battery 24 is higher than a predetermined threshold [0118]); and in response to the running voltage below a threshold, switch operating mode of the wireless endoscope to a second operating mode by temporally delaying a start time of at least one of said at least two sub-tasks relative to another to reduce said one or more overlapping periods associated with said at least two sub- tasks so as to reduce the peak current to a second peak current (if the level the battery 24 has decreased to the predetermined threshold or further, the wireless endoscope may transition from normal operation mode to standby mode 5 in step S25[0120], Fig. 9: mode 5 details that the imaging portion, light-source portion, image processing portion and wireless communication portion would not be supplied electric power [0083], therefore a start time of at least one of those portions would be delayed, as at least one of those portions are not supplied electric power in standby mode 5. When a return is determined in S26 and the battery level is greater than a lower threshold in S27, the device returns to normal operation mode in S1, where the start time of at least one of the portions would start after being temporally delayed in standby mode 5 [0118-0120]). Yanagihara fails to disclose wherein the wireless endoscope is specifically a capsule endoscope comprising an exterior housing, and wherein the light source is specifically an LED, however in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a substantially similar wireless endoscope, the wireless endoscope being a capsule endoscope (Fig. 1B: capsule with housing 10), wherein the light source within the wireless capsule endoscope is an LED (Fig. 1B: illumination system 12 contains LED [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the capabilities of the wireless endoscope of Yanagihara can be applied a wireless endoscope, including the capsule endoscope taught by Wang, as both are wireless and reliant on batteries for power. A capsule endoscope would be an alternative method of capturing images compared to a traditional endoscope. Further, since Yanagihara fails to specify a specific type of light source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known light source in the endoscope art, including the commonly-used LED taught by Wang, as the light source of Yanagihara, to illuminate the working area.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara in view of Wang and Kawasaki et al. (US2012/0200685).
Regarding claim 3, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the running voltage being below a threshold triggers a condition causing a power-on-reset signal. In the same field of endeavor, Kawasaki teaches a wireless endoscope powered by a battery (Fig. 1: scope includes power supply unit 112 that includes a battery [0047]), wherein when the battery voltage is below various thresholds, steps are taken to reduce the decrease in battery capacity [0028], specifically preventing the scope from having to repeatedly transmit still image data, consuming more power. Kawasaki further teaches wherein the running voltage being below a threshold triggers a condition causing a power-on-reset signal (Fig. 7: battery, with a full charge at 4.2V may be depleted to the reset detection voltage or below to the discharge end voltage, at 2.8V). In view of Kawasaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the threshold of the reset detection voltage as taught by Kawasaki, to the device of Yanagihara, as it is known in the endoscope and power-saving art that a power-on-reset signal is often triggered when the voltage is below a reset detection signal to prevent damage, crashes or errors to the device from running due to low voltage supply.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara in view of Daidoji et al. (US2017/0258307).
Regarding claim 10, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said at least two sub-tasks are spread so that a duration for at least one sub-task is extended. In the same field of endeavor, Daidoji teaches wherein at least two target sub-tasks are spread so that a duration for at least one sub-tasks is extended (Fig. 9: at least two target sub-tasks, specifically sub-tasks during tb and tc, are spread so that a duration for the highest-current sub-task, indicated by Ic, is extended). Increasing the duration for the at least one sub-task increases its duty cycle and intensifies the function of the sub-task. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said at least two target sub-tasks are spread so that a direction for one highest-current sub-task is extended, as taught by Daidoji, to intensify the function of the sub-task.
Regarding claim 11, Yanagihara, modified by Wang, discloses the method of Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said at least two sub-tasks are spread so that a duration for one highest-current sub-task is extended. Daidoji teaches wherein said at least two target sub-tasks are spread so that a direction for one highest-current sub-tasks is extended (Fig. 9: at least two target sub-tasks, specifically sub-tasks during tb and tc, are spread so that a duration for the highest-current sub-task, indicated by Ic, is extended). Increasing the duration for the at least one sub-task increases its duty cycle and intensifies the function of the sub-task. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said at least two target sub-tasks are spread so that a direction for one highest-current sub-task is extended, as taught by Daidoji, to intensify the function of the sub-task.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite wherein in response to the running voltage below a threshold, switching operating mode of the capsule endoscope to a second operating mode by “temporally delaying a start time of at least one of said at least two sub-tasks relative to another to reduce” said one or more overlapping periods associated with said at least two sub-tasks so as to reduce the peak current to a second peak current, and argues that Yanagihara fails to teach or suggest that subject matter. Claim 12 has been amended similarly. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yanagihara teaches wherein if a level of the battery 24 has decreased to a predetermined threshold or further, the wireless endoscope transitions from normal operation mode to standby mode 5 in step S25 [0120], and in standby mode 5, portions such as the imaging portion would not be supplied with electric power. Therefore, the start time of the imaging portion would be delayed until the following conditions are met: return is determined in S26 and battery level is greater than a lower threshold in S27, where the device returns to normal operation mode in S1 and the start time of the imaging portion initiates, after being previously delayed in standby mode 5. For this reason, the arguments were not persuasive.
Conclusion
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/TIMOTHY J NEAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795