DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Non-Final Office Action is in reply to the application filed on 23 February 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12 and 19 recite the acronym “API.” However, the Applicant has failed to explicitly define what the acronym refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and therefore directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Under Step 1, the claims 1-14 recite a method (i.e. a process) and claims 15-20 recite a system (i.e. an apparatus). Thus the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03.
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claim 1 recites the abstract idea, determining one or more policies associated with the first workspace, the one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and an enforcement level parameter; determining a policy check of the first plan, the policy check indicating that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more policies and indicating the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; prior to an apply of the first plan, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be considered as belonging to methods of organizing human activity abstract idea category since they are directed to steps for managing information technology resource by determining that proposed changes to the configuration of a workspace would violate a policy and notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy. This is a method of managing enterprise IT service activities. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.02 (a)(2) II, C.
Claim 10 recites the abstract idea, receiving a proposed change to a first policy group associated with the one or more workspaces, the first policy group including one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the one or more workspaces; determining a policy check of the proposed change, the policy check comprising: determining one or more workspaces associated with the first policy group that maintain a configuration of API-manageable resources that violate the proposed change to the first policy group; and prior to enacting the proposed change to the first policy group, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the one or more workspaces that maintain a configuration of API-manageable resources that violate the proposed change to the first policy group.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be considered as belonging to methods of organizing human activity abstract idea category since they are directed to steps for managing information technology resource by determining one or more workspaces associated with the first policy group that maintain a configuration of API-manageable resources that violate the proposed change to the first policy group and notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the one or more workspaces that maintain a configuration of API-manageable resources that violate the proposed change to the first policy group. This is a method of managing enterprise IT service activities. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.02 (a)(2) II, C.
Claim 15 recites the abstract idea, determine a first policy group associated with the first cloud workspace, the first policy group including one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the first workspace, each of the one or more policies including an enforcement level parameter indicating an enforcement priority of a policy relative to one or more other policies; prior to applying the plan, determine a policy check of the planned run, the policy check indicating that the plan, when applied, would violate a policy in the first policy group associated with the first cloud workspace and indicating the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; prior to applying the plan, notify an owner of the first policy group of the policy check by indicating the violated policy and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be considered as belonging to methods of organizing human activity abstract idea category since they are directed to steps for managing information technology resource by determine a policy check of the planned run, the policy check indicating that the plan, when applied, would violate a policy in the first policy group associated with the first cloud workspace and indicating the enforcement parameter for the violated policy and an owner of the first policy group of the policy check by indicating the violated policy and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy. This is a method of managing enterprise IT service activities. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.02 (a)(2) II, C.
Dependent claims 2 and 16 recite, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, validating the first plan without receiving input from the notified user. Dependent claims 3 and 17 recite, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, requesting approval to validate the first plan. Dependent claims 4 and 18 recite, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, rejecting the first plan. Dependent claims 5 and 19 recite, determining a second plan of proposed changes to the configuration of API-manageable resources maintained by the first workspace; prior to an apply of the second plan, determining a second policy check of the second plan, the policy check indicating that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would not violate a policy in the one or more policies; and prior to an apply of the second plan, notifying the user of the second policy check. Dependent claim 6 recites, wherein the one or more policies are included in a first policy group associated with the first workspace. Dependent claims 7 and 20 recite, determining one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace, the one or more additional policy groups each including one or more policies comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and enforcement level parameters; wherein the policy check further indicates that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace and further indicates the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; and notifying the user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy in the one or more additional policy groups and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy. The dependent claims merely narrow how the abstract idea may be performed and describe the information or data recited in the abstract idea identified in claims 1 and 15.
Dependent claim 11 recites, wherein the policy check further comprises: determining a conflict between the proposed change and one or more other policies in the first policy group, wherein the conflict indicates that the one or more other policies would be violated by a configuration of API-manageable resources in compliance with the proposed change; and wherein notifying the user of the policy check further includes indicating the conflict. Dependent claim 12 recites, wherein the one or more workspaces are further associated with a second policy group including one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the one or more workspaces, and wherein: determining the policy check of the proposed change further comprises: determining a conflict between the proposed change and one or more other policies in the second policy group, wherein the conflict indicates that the one or more other policies would be violated by a configuration of API-manageable resources in compliance with the proposed change; and the method further comprises: prior to enacting the proposed change, notifying the user of the policy check by indicating the conflict between the proposed change and the one or more other policies in the second policy group. Dependent claim 13 recites, enacting the proposed policy without receiving instructions from the owner of the first policy group based on the enforcement level parameter of the proposed policy and based on the enforcement level parameters of the one or more other policies in the first policy group where compliance with the proposed policy would cause a policy violation. Dependent claim 14 recites, requesting approval from the policy group holder to enact the proposed policy based on the enforcement level parameter of the proposed policy and based on the enforcement level parameters of the one or more other policies in the first policy group where compliance with the proposed policy would cause a policy violation. The dependent claims merely narrow how the abstract idea may be performed and describe the information or data recited in the abstract idea identified in claim 10.
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With respect to claim 1, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular claim 1 recites the additional element, queuing a run on a first workspace of the one or more workspaces, the queued run including a first plan of proposed changes to a configuration of API-manageable resources maintained by the first workspace within the computing infrastructure which amounts to mere data storage recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional element does not impose any meaningful limits on the claim.
Dependent claims 2-7 do not recite any additional elements. Dependent claim 8 recites, wherein the API-manageable resources are one or more of hardware resources, software resources, and network resources. Dependent claim 9 recites, wherein the computing infrastructure is a cloud computing infrastructure. However, the additional elements of claims 8 and 9 are directed to describing the type of computing resources and computing infrastructure that they amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Claims 10-14 do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 15-20 recites the additional elements, an IT infrastructure comprising cloud resources including one or more of hardware resources, software resources, and network resources; an IT infrastructure controller networked with the IT infrastructure, the controller comprising: a processor; and computer readable non-transitory memory including computer executable instructions, the instructions executable by the processor. These computing components are recited at a high level of generality and used as tools to perform the abstract idea identified above, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computers. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 15 also recites, the additional elements, queue a run on a first cloud workspace of the one or more cloud workspaces, the run including a plan for applying a configuration of cloud resources to the IT infrastructure which amounts to mere data storage recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional element does not impose any meaningful limits on the claim.
The additional claim elements are not indicative of integration into a practical application, because the claims do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Thus, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements fail to integrate the recited abstract idea into any practical application since they do not impose any non-generic meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception.
As a whole, claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. For the queue a run on a first cloud workspace of the one or more cloud workspaces, the run including a plan for applying a configuration of cloud resources to the IT infrastructure (Claim 1 and Claim 15) steps that were considered extra-solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two, this has been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. The Versata and OIP Techs. court decisions indicate that storing information in memory is well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II.
Considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of the claim do not add anything further than when they are considered separately. Thus, under Step 2B, the claims are ineligible as the claims do not recite additional elements which result in significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al (US 2020/0183739 A1) in view of Shetty et al (US 2015/0026673 A1).
Claim 1: Hashimoto discloses a method of information technology (IT) resource management in one or more workspaces configured for maintaining configurations of API-manageable resources within a computing infrastructure, the method comprising (see [0063]: first information technology infrastructure 130a and/or the second information technology infrastructure 130b may be configured and/or reconfigured to achieve any information technology objective including, for example, support for multi-tier software applications, self-service clusters, software demonstrations, disposable environments (e.g., production environments, staging environments, and/or the like), software defined networking, resource schedulers, multi-cloud deployment, and/or the like. [0070]: FIG. 1B, the plan engine 160 may include one or more workspaces including, for example, a first workspace 165a, a second workspace 165b, and a third workspace 165c. See Fig. 1A):
queuing a run on a first workspace of the one or more workspaces, the queued run including a first plan of proposed changes to a configuration of API-manageable resources maintained by the first workspace within the computing infrastructure (see [0158]: information technology infrastructure controller 110 may respond by queuing a corresponding plan. The first user 145a and/or the second user 145b may also queue a plan, for example, after editing one or more variables associated with the first workspace);
determining one or more policies associated with the first workspace, the one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and an enforcement level parameter (see [0117]: as part of the multitier validation, the execution plan 190 may be validated against requirements classified as advisory, mandatory, and/or semi-mandatory. For example, the structural validity of the execution plan 190 may be classified as a mandatory requirement. By contrast, the policy compliance of the execution plan 190 may be classified as a semi-mandatory requirement whereas the cost quota compliance of the execution plan 190 may be classified as an advisory requirement. As noted, while advisory requirements and semi-mandatory requirements may be overridden, a mandatory requirement must be satisfied before the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 may be applied at the first information technology infrastructure 130a);
determining a policy check of the first plan, the policy check indicating that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more policies and indicating the enforcement parameter for the violated policy (see [0116]: Alternatively, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may determine that the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 do not comply with at least one policy (325-N). [0117] In the event the information technology infrastructure controller 110 determines that the execution plan 190 fails to pass any portion of the multitier validation, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may determine if the failed requirement is mandatory (329). In some example embodiments, as part of the multitier validation, the execution plan 190 may be validated against requirements classified as advisory, mandatory, and/or semi-mandatory (hence, enforcement parameter));
prior to an apply of the first plan, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy (see [0086] Referring again to FIG. 1B, the validation engine 170 may be configured to validate the execution plan 190 before the information technology infrastructure controller 110 applies the corresponding configurations to the information technology infrastructure. [0007] In some variations, a user interface may be generated to display, at a client, a result of validating the execution plan. The user interface may be further configured to display a first indication corresponding to the structural validity of the execution plan, a second indication of whether the execution plan violates the first policy, and/or a third indication of whether the execution plan satisfy the cost quota).
Hashimoto discloses at [0090]: Applying a requirement that is classified as advisory may merely trigger a notification (e.g., an informative output displayed at the first client 120a and/or the second client 120b) indicative, for example, of the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 as failing to comply with the requirement. Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy but Shetty in the same field of endeavor teaches, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy (see [0029] In case of a violation of a mandatory clause of the deployment descriptor 36 the customer is notified and exception approvals are sought to ignore violation and continue with the install).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the execution plan validation of Hashimoto, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy as taught by Shetty “to ensure that a software installation does not break a customer's business policy, and to embed into a software installer a Policy Infrastructure that will interpret and enforce a customer's business policies in the installation process while ensuring that the prerequisites for the software have been met” (Shetty, [0005]).
Claim 15: Hashimoto discloses An information technology (IT) resource management system comprising: an IT infrastructure comprising cloud resources including one or more of hardware resources, software resources, and network resources; an IT infrastructure controller networked with the IT infrastructure, the controller comprising: a processor; and computer readable non-transitory memory including computer executable instructions, the instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to: (see [0063]: first information technology infrastructure 130a and/or the second information technology infrastructure 130b may be configured and/or reconfigured to achieve any information technology objective including, for example, support for multi-tier software applications, self-service clusters, software demonstrations, disposable environments (e.g., production environments, staging environments, and/or the like), software defined networking, resource schedulers, multi-cloud deployment, and/or the like. [0026]: Similarly, computer systems are also described that may include one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors. A memory, which can include a non-transitory computer-readable or machine-readable storage medium. See Fig. 1A):
establish one or more cloud workspaces configured for maintaining a configuration of cloud resources (see [0089]: For example, each of the first workspace 165a, the second workspace 165b, and the third workspace 165c may be associated with attributes including, for example, environment, application type, region, cloud, and/or the like);
queue a run on a first cloud workspace of the one or more cloud workspaces, the run including a plan for applying a configuration of cloud resources to the IT infrastructure (see [0082] To apply the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 to the first information technology infrastructure 130a, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may traverse the corresponding dependency graph. For instance, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may perform a depth-first traversal of the dependency graph in order to determine the resources that the execution plan 190 indicates as requiring provisioning, modification, and/or de-provisioning. The information technology infrastructure controller 110 may further identify, based on the dependency graph, independent resources that may be provisioned, modified, and/or de-provisioned in parallel. [0158]: information technology infrastructure controller 110 may respond by queuing a corresponding plan. The first user 145a and/or the second user 145b may also queue a plan, for example, after editing one or more variables associated with the first workspace);
determine a first policy group associated with the first cloud workspace, the first policy group including one or more policies each comprising operating parameters for the first workspace, each of the one or more policies including an enforcement level parameter indicating an enforcement priority of a policy relative to one or more other policies ([0089]: That is, the validation engine 170 may identify the policies and/or cost quotas that are applicable to a workspace by at least filtering a broader set of policies and/or cost quotas based on the attributes of the workspace. [0117]: as part of the multitier validation, the execution plan 190 may be validated against requirements classified as advisory, mandatory, and/or semi-mandatory. For example, the structural validity of the execution plan 190 may be classified as a mandatory requirement. By contrast, the policy compliance of the execution plan 190 may be classified as a semi-mandatory requirement whereas the cost quota compliance of the execution plan 190 may be classified as an advisory requirement. As noted, while advisory requirements and semi-mandatory requirements may be overridden, a mandatory requirement must be satisfied before the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 may be applied at the first information technology infrastructure 130a);
prior to applying the plan, determine a policy check of the planned run, the policy check indicating that the plan, when applied, would violate a policy in the first policy group associated with the first cloud workspace and indicating the enforcement parameter for the violated policy (see [0116]: Alternatively, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may determine that the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 do not comply with at least one policy (325-N). [0117] In the event the information technology infrastructure controller 110 determines that the execution plan 190 fails to pass any portion of the multitier validation, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may determine if the failed requirement is mandatory (329). In some example embodiments, as part of the multitier validation, the execution plan 190 may be validated against requirements classified as advisory, mandatory, and/or semi-mandatory (hence, enforcement parameter));
prior to applying the plan, notify an owner of the first policy group of the policy check by indicating the violated policy (see [0086] Referring again to FIG. 1B, the validation engine 170 may be configured to validate the execution plan 190 before the information technology infrastructure controller 110 applies the corresponding configurations to the information technology infrastructure. [0007] In some variations, a user interface may be generated to display, at a client, a result of validating the execution plan. The user interface may be further configured to display a first indication corresponding to the structural validity of the execution plan, a second indication of whether the execution plan violates the first policy, and/or a third indication of whether the execution plan satisfy the cost quota).
Hashimoto discloses at [0090]: Applying a requirement that is classified as advisory may merely trigger a notification (e.g., an informative output displayed at the first client 120a and/or the second client 120b) indicative, for example, of the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 as failing to comply with the requirement. Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose notifying an owner of the first policy group of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy but Shetty in the same field of endeavor teaches, notifying a user of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy (see [0029] In case of a violation of a mandatory clause of the deployment descriptor 36 the customer is notified and exception approvals are sought to ignore violation and continue with the install).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the execution plan validation of Hashimoto, notifying an owner of the policy check by indicating the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy as taught by Shetty “to ensure that a software installation does not break a customer's business policy, and to embed into a software installer a Policy Infrastructure that will interpret and enforce a customer's business policies in the installation process while ensuring that the prerequisites for the software have been met” (Shetty, [0005]).
Claims 2 and 16: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claims 1 and 15 above. Hashimoto further teaches, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, validating the first plan without receiving input from the notified user (see [0119]: f the information technology infrastructure controller 110 determines that the execution plan 190 failed a non-mandatory requirement that is overridden (331-Y), the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may apply, to the first information technology infrastructure 130a, the one or more configurations associated with the execution plan 190).
Claims 3 and 17: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claims 1 and 15 above. Shetty further teaches, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, requesting approval to validate the first plan (see [0029] In case of a violation of a mandatory clause of the deployment descriptor 36 the customer is notified and exception approvals are sought to ignore violation and continue with the install).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the execution plan validation of Hashimoto as modified by Shetty, based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, requesting approval to validate the first plan as taught by Shetty “to ensure that a software installation does not break a customer's business policy, and to embed into a software installer a Policy Infrastructure that will interpret and enforce a customer's business policies in the installation process while ensuring that the prerequisites for the software have been met” (Shetty, [0005]).
Claims 4 and 18: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claims 1 and 15 above. Hashimoto further discloses based on the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy indicated by the policy check, rejecting the first plan (see [0090]: applying a requirement that is classified as mandatory and/or semi-mandatory may prevent the configurations associated with the execution plan 190 from being applied at the first information technology infrastructure 130a in the event the configurations fail to satisfy the requirement).
Claims 5 and 19: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claims 1 and 15 above. Hashimoto further discloses, determining a second plan of proposed changes to the configuration of API-manageable resources maintained by the first workspace; prior to an apply of the second plan, determining a second policy check of the second plan, the policy check indicating that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would not violate a policy in the one or more policies; and prior to an apply of the second plan, notifying the user of the second policy check (See Hashimoto discloses the capability to implement numerous execution plans. [0098]: Referring again to FIG. 1B, the state controller 180 may also maintain a run log 187 tracking, for example, various runs of one or more execution plans including, for example, the execution plan 190. As used herein, “running” the execution plan 190 may include generating the execution plan 190, validating the execution plan 190, applying the configurations associated with the execution plan 190, canceling the execution plan 190, discarding the execution plan 190, and/or the like. Accordingly, each run of an execution plan may be associated with a run status including, for example, planning, planned, error, confirmed, applying, applied, canceled, discarded, pending, policy checking, policy checked, policy override, and/or the like. The run log 187 may be configured to track the runs of one or more execution plan including, for example, by storing a corresponding run status for each of the runs. [0092]: According to some example embodiments, the information technology infrastructure controller 110 may be configured to implement the execution plan 190 based at least on the execution plan 190 having been successfully validated by the validation engine 170. The validation engine 170 may be configured to provide an indication of the execution plan 190 as having been successfully or unsuccessfully validated by the validation engine 170. Alternatively and/or additionally, the validation engine 170 may provide an indication of the execution plan 190 as having passed or failed each of the first policy 175a, the second policy 175b, the first quota 175c, the second quota 175d, and/or the like).
Claim 6: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Hashimoto further discloses, wherein the one or more policies are included in a first policy group associated with the first workspace (see [0089]: That is, the validation engine 170 may identify the policies and/or cost quotas that are applicable to a workspace by at least filtering a broader set of policies and/or cost quotas based on the attributes of the workspace).
Claim 8: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Hashimoto further discloses, wherein the API-manageable resources are one or more of hardware resources, software resources, and network resources (see Fig. 1, element 135a, 135b, 135c. [0021]).
Claim 9: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1 above. Hashimoto further discloses, wherein the computing infrastructure is a cloud computing infrastructure (see [0022]: multi-cloud deployment, [0089]: cloud workspaces).
Claim 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto and Shetty as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, and further in view of Rachamadugu et al (US 2015/0378700 A1).
Claims 7 and 20: The combination of Hashimoto and Shetty discloses the claimed invention as applied to claims 6 and 15 above. Hashimoto and Shetty do not expressly disclose determining one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace, the one or more additional policy groups each including one or more policies comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and enforcement level parameters; wherein the policy check further indicates that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace and further indicates the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; and notifying the user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy in the one or more additional policy groups and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy. However, Rachamadugu which also discloses a method and system of validating deployment plans teaches, determining one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace, the one or more additional policy groups each including one or more policies comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and enforcement level parameters; wherein the policy check further indicates that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace and further indicates the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; and notifying the user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy in the one or more additional policy groups and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy (see [0020] In step 204, application director 106 generates a deployment plan 128 based on blueprint 126 to deploy application 108 in a specific cloud environment (e.g., deployment environments 112). [0026] To determine which policies 136 are applicable to the deployment, application director 106 retrieves policies while traversing through the hierarchy of domain objects of deployment object 402, starting with a first domain object (e.g., object 404-1). In one embodiment, at step 304, application director 106 retrieves any policies 136 specifying a deployment domain that match a current domain object. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, on a first pass, application director 106 retrieves policies P1 and P2 that specify the domain of “deployment plan.” A policy 136 may target a particular deployment domain in order to control the deployment based on data from that domain. For example, a policy P may be a maximum memory policy, i.e., that, in any deployment, no node may have more than particular amount (e.g., 1024 MB) of RAM. To enforce such a policy P1, data would be needed from deployment plan 128, i.e., from the deployment plan domain. In another example, a policy P2 may be a maximum VM count policy, i.e., that no deployment may exceed a particular number of VMs. See Fig. 4. [0035] At step 314, application director 106 determines whether the deployment plan is compliant with all of the plurality of policies 136. In one embodiment, execution of a policy 136 may generate an indication (i.e., “COMPLIANT” or “NON-COMPLIANT”) of whether the deployment plan is compliant with that policy. The indications from executing all of the plurality of policies 136 may be aggregated and use to consider whether compliance has been determined. If so, application director 106 may proceed to execute the deployment, as in step 208 of method 200 described earlier. Otherwise, at step 316, application director 106 may raise an error indicating the deployment plan does not comply with at least one of the plurality of policies 136 associated with the deployment plan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hashimoto and Shetty with the system and method of determining one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace, the one or more additional policy groups each including one or more policies comprising operating parameters for the first workspace and enforcement level parameters; wherein the policy check further indicates that the proposed changes to the configuration maintained by the first workspace would violate a policy in the one or more additional policy groups associated with the first workspace and further indicates the enforcement parameter for the violated policy; and notifying the user of the policy check by indicating the violated policy in the one or more additional policy groups and the enforcement level parameter of the violated policy as taught by Rachamadugu because it would “determine which policies are applicable to the deployment” and “for defining nested policies in a system based on a domain object reference, without having to change the underlying framework that executes the policies” (Rachamadugu, [0026], [0036]).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prahlad et al (US Patent # 10,057,184 B1) in view of Sajadi (US 2019/0324743 A1).
Claim 10: Prahlad discloses a method of information technology (IT) resource management in one or more workspaces configured for maintaining configurations of API-manageable resources within a computing infrastructure, the method comprising (see col. 4 lines 60-65: resource configuration service (RCS) 100 that can monitor changes in the configuration of computing resources made available by a provider of network-based computing resources. Col. 6 lines 15-19: Command line interfaces are often preferred by more advanced computer users, such as information technology (IT) system administrators, as they provide a more concise and powerful means to access, manage and control computing resource. Col. 15 lines 15-19: In an embodiment, the RCS 100 delivers an on-demand API that allows a subscriber to request a snapshot of the resource configuration for a specified point in time):
receiving a proposed change to a first policy group associated with the one or more workspaces, the first policy (see col. 18 lines 50-55: At block 910, proposed policy changes are introduced. In an embodiment, a policy compliance and enforcement system implements the proposed policy changes in an automated manner by comparing relevant characteristics of each computing resource in the test environment against the policy mandates);
determining a policy check of the proposed change, the policy check comprising: determining one or more workspaces associated with the first policy group that maintain a configuration of API-manageable resources that violate the proposed change to the first policy group (see col. 19 lines 4-9: At block 914, policy evaluation is performed by evaluating resource configurations and determining whether the captured configurations comply with the proposed revised policy. Depending on the results, additional experimentation can be made on resources t