DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2022/0100304).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yu teaches a display panel (Fig. 3) comprising an array layer (Fig. 3; lower portion including TFT 402); and a display device layer (Fig. 3; upper portion including light-emitting unit 401) located at one side of the array layer; wherein, the display device layer includes a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1, Element Q; ¶ [0038]) and a plurality of isolation structures (Fig. 3; projection portions of barrier 201), the plurality of isolation structures being located in peripheral spaces surrounding the plurality of pixels (Fig. 1; the peripheral spaces are shown being occupied by barriers 201); and at least two of the plurality of isolation structures are disposed in peripheral spaces surrounding an individual pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 1; the projection portions are shown disposed in peripheral spaces surrounding an individual pixel).
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches a distance between any adjacent isolation structures along a direction parallel to a plane where the display panel is located or a distance between the isolation structure and the adjacent pixel is a first distance; and the first distance is greater than the width of the isolation structure, the width of the isolation structure referring to length of the isolation structure along a direction connecting two pixels adjacent to the isolation structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches the isolation structure including two end members in an extension direction of the isolation structure (Fig. 3), a distance between any two adjacent end members being greater than 3 m along the direction parallel to the plane where the display panel is located (¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches the pixel including an anode (Fig. 3, Element 4011; ¶ [0055]); the display panel including a pixel definition layer (Fig. 1, Element 200; ¶ [0038]), the pixel definition layer being located at one side of the anode facing a light emission surface of the display panel (Fig. 3); and the isolation structure including a groove opened in the pixel definition layer (Fig. 3), the groove being located between adjacent pixels along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the display panel is located (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches the pixel including an anode (Fig. 3, Element 4011; ¶ [0055]); the display panel including a pixel definition layer (Fig. 1, Element 200; ¶ [0038]), the pixel definition layer being located at one side of the anode facing a light emission surface of the display panel; and the isolation structure includes a barrier wall (201) arranged at the pixel definition layer, the barrier wall being located between adjacent pixels along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the display panel is located.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2022/0100304) in view of Kim (US 2019/0074329).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier. Figure 2 of Yu shows an array of pixels but fails to exemplify pixels per inch of the display panel being greater than 500.
Kim teaches a display panel having pixels per inch greater than 500 (¶ [0077]) for increasing resolution of the display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display panel of Yu with pixels per inch greater than 500 for increasing resolution.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2022/0100304).
Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a width of the isolation structure of 3 µm to 5 µm.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display panel of Yu with an isolation structure having a width of 3µm to 5µm, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are allowed.
Claims 14-15, and 17-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6 and 10 were allowed in the previous Office Action. Claims 14-15 and 17-22 were addressed in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 26 September 2025.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 27 June 2026