aDETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 20 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has claimed three inventions, each a distinct type of catheter with distinct limitations claimed. The restriction requirement dated 20 November 2025 explained the claimed limitations of each group.
Group I requires a first region with a woven ppi greater than a second region, and a transitional point.
Group II requires a first region with wires segments greater than a second region, not woven, no transitional point.
Group III requires a first region with wires segments greater than a second region, and equal circumferences.
These limitations considered were just from the independent claims. If the dependent claims are considered, more elements are claimed, which in turn creates more divergent strategies in performing the required searches. Since each of the three groups would require its own unique search, Applicant’s request for Examiner to search and consider three separate inventions is considered unduly burdensome.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 20 January 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following.
Figures 2, 3, and 4 each contain multiple illustrations. Applicant should either label each illustration as a separate and distinct figure, or group the illustrations as a single figure to avoid confusion.
Figure 5 contains multiple occurrences of the term “pluarality”, which is incorrect.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
10, 800.
The drawings are still further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
142, 610, 710.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 72, the phrase “third region (606)” is incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tassoni, Jr. et al (20210290896).
In regards to Claim 1, Tassoni teaches a catheter braid comprising:
a first region comprising a plurality of wire segments arranged in a first weave pattern having a first picks per inch (Detail 28); and
a second region comprising a plurality of wire segments arranged in a second weave pattern having a second picks per inch less than the first picks per inch (Detail 26), the second region being distal of the first region,
wherein the first weave pattern transitions to the second weave pattern at a first transitional point (Detail 30) disposed at an intersection of the first region and the second region at which at least one wire (Details 33, 35) of the plurality of wire segments of the first region is removed from the second region therein reducing the first picks per inch to the second picks per inch, and
wherein the catheter braid comprises a lumen (Detail 20) therethrough comprising a uniform cross section across a majority of the first region and a majority the second region (illustrated as being the same diameter, and Figure 2 illustrates that the wire segments are side by side, which would not decrease the diameter).
In regards to Claim 2, Tassoni teaches the first weave pattern is a 4x4 arrangement of the plurality of wire segments of the first region (Paragraph 53).
In regards to Claim 3, Tassoni teaches the second weave pattern is a 4x3 arrangement of the wire segments of the second region (Paragraph 54).
In regards to Claim 4, Tassoni teaches a third region comprising a plurality of wire segments arranged in a third weave pattern having a third picks per inch less than the second picks per inch, the third region being distal of the second region (Paragraph 61; Detail 25)
wherein the second weave pattern transitions to the third weave pattern at a second transitional point disposed at an intersection of the second region and third region at which at least one wire of the plurality of wire segments of the second region is removed from the third region therein reducing the second picks per inch to the third picks per inch (Figure 5 shows removing wire segments; every set of regions would have a transition point therebetween, so as to allow for the removal of wire segments).
In regards to Claim 5, Tassoni teaches the third weave pattern is a 3x3 arrangement of the wire segments of the third region (Paragraph 53).
In regards to Claim 8, Tassoni teaches the first weave pattern comprises a braid angle approximately equal to a braid angle of the second weave pattern (Figure 5 shows the braid angles of the different weave patterns as being approximately equal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tassoni, Jr. et al.
In regards to Claims 6 and 7, while Tassoni does not specifically state that a fourth region with a fourth weave pattern, and a fifth region with a fifth weave pattern, it does teach in Paragraph 53 that each plurality of wire segments can contain 8 or more filaments, and in Paragraph 61 that each subsequent region can go down by a filament in count. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a fourth region with a fourth weave pattern and a fifth region with a fifth weave pattern could be present, as the pattern of having a subsequent region with a subsequent weave pattern would just be duplicated by reducing by a filament in count. The ordinarily skilled artisan would be more than capable of determining how many regions to incorporate in the catheter of Tassoni.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See of Record.
Specifically, at least Li et al (CN 112472955) Figure 6, Gill et al (20140277573) Figures 3A and 3B, Mailaender (WO 2009059789) Figures 1, 2a, and 3a, and Lunn et al (20080262472) Figure 12 teach elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732