Inventorship
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“A clamping plate 19” (Pg. 15, Paragraph 3, Line 10) should read “a limiting plate 19”.
“A clamping plate 19” (Pg. 15, Paragraph 3, Line 11) should read “a limiting plate 19”.
“A clamping plate 19” (Pg. 15, Paragraph 3, Line 12) should read “a limiting plate 19”.
“A clamping plate 19” (Pg. 15, Paragraph 3, Line 13) should read “a limiting plate 19”.
“A clamping plate 19” (Pg. 15, Paragraph 3, Line 15) should read “a limiting plate 19”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 objected to because of the following informalities: “a separated handle” located in the preamble/introduction of each claim. It is recommended that “a separated handle” reads as “the separated handle” following the independent claims, 1 and 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elastic member” in claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gradually” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The rate at which the free end of the hook is received in the accommodation cavity is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "protrusions" in line 2 and “limiting grooves” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a free end of the hook" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations “the other end” in line 3 and “the elastic member” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 15, 15, and 16 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "limiting grooves" in line 2, “side walls” in line 2, and “limiting protrusions” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prieto et al. (U.S. Patent No 20190290062), hereinafter Prieto.
Prieto teaches:
Annotated Figure 1 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 2 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 3 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 4 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 5 (Prieto)
Regarding claim 1, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) a frying basket assembly having a separated handle (Annotated Figure 1), the frying basket assembly comprising a handle (33 and 12) and a frying basket (2), wherein the handle (33 and 12) comprises a mounting portion (11), the frying basket (2) is provided thereon with a mounting groove (8) corresponding to the mounting portion (11), one of the mounting portion (11) and the mounting groove (8) is provided with a hook (19 and 21), the other is provided with a snapping position (Annotated Figure 3) corresponding to the hook (19 and 21), the hook (19 and 21) is connected with an elastic member (35) so as to make the hook (19 and 21) move towards a direction of the snapping position (Annotated Figure 3), and when the handle (33 and 12) is mounted on the frying basket (2) and reaches a final position (Annotated Figure 1), the hook (19 and 21) is clamped into the snapping position (Annotated Figure 3), to non-detachably fix the handle (33 and 12) on the frying basket (2).
Regarding claim 2, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein the mounting portion (11) has an accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 4), the hook (19 and 21) has a connecting end (Annotated Figure 4) and a free end (Annotated Figure 4), wherein the connecting end (Annotated Figure 4) is hinged in the accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 4), and the free end (Annotated Figure 4) extends out of the accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 4) to face the snapping position (Annotated Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein the elastic member (35) is a spring (35), the spring (35) has a first end (Annotated Figure 3) abutting against an inner wall of the accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 3), and a second end (Annotated Figure 3) abutting against the hook (19 and 21).
Regarding claim 4, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein a guiding groove (Annotated Figure 3) is provided in the accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 4), and the first end (Annotated Figure 3) of the spring (35) is limited in the guiding groove (Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein the mounting groove (8) is provided with a guiding slope (18a), and when the mounting portion (11) is vertically slid, the free end of the hook (Annotated Figure 4) is gradually received in the accommodation cavity (Annotated Figure 4) under extrusion of the guiding slope (18a).
Regarding claim 6, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein the mounting groove (8) is a U-shaped groove (Annotated Figure 5), and the mounting portion (11) is inserted from a groove opening (Annotated Figure 5) of the U-shaped groove (Annotated Figure 5), and slid downwards into the U-shaped groove (Annotated Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein a step surface (13) is provided at the groove opening (Annotated Figure 5) of the U- shaped groove (Annotated Figure 5), a top end (Annotated Figure 4) of the mounting portion (11) is provided with a blocking portion (12), and when the handle (33 and 12) is mounted on the frying basket (2) and reaches the final position (Annotated Figure 1), the blocking portion (12) covers the step surface (13).
Regarding claim 8, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein two sides of the mounting portion (11) are provided with protrusions (36 and 37), the mounting groove (8) is provided with corresponding limiting grooves (38 and 39), and the protrusions (36 and 37) are limited in the limiting grooves (38 and 39) to prevent the mounting portion (11) from moving out of the mounting groove (8).
Regarding claim 9, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein one of a bottom end of the mounting groove (8) and a bottom end of the mounting portion (11) is provided with a positioning groove (18), and the other is provided with a corresponding positioning post (Annotated Figure 4), and when the handle (33 and 12) is mounted on the frying basket (2) and reaches the final position (Annotated Figure 1), the positioning post (Annotated Figure 4) is clamped into the positioning groove (18).
Regarding claim 10, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) wherein a free end of the hook (Annotated Figure 4) has two hook tines (Annotated Figure 2), and when the handle (33 and 12) is mounted on the frying basket (2) and reaches the final position (Annotated Figure 1), the two hook tines (Annotated Figure 2) are clamped into the snapping position (Annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Figure 6 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 7 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 8 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 9 (Prieto)
Annotated Figure 10 (Prieto)
Regarding claim 11, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) A frying basket having a separated handle (Annotated Figure 6), comprising a frying basket body (2) and a handle portion (33 and 12), wherein the frying basket body (2) and the handle portion (33 and 12) are detachably connected to each other, and the frying basket body (2) has a space inside (Annotated Figure 10) capable of accommodating the handle portion (33 and 12), the frying basket body (2) is provided thereon with a mounting port (8), one end of the handle portion (33 and 12) is provided with a mounting base (11), and the mounting base (11) fits and is embedded into the mounting port (8).
Regarding claim 12, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the mounting base (11) is provided thereon with a snap-fit structure (Annotated Figure 3) for locking with the frying basket body (2) in a snap-fit manner when the mounting base (11) fits and is embedded into the mounting port (8).
Regarding claim 13, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the snap-fit structure (Annotated Figure 3) comprises a hook (19 and 21), the hook (19 and 21) has one end (Annotated Figure 9) hinged to the mounting base (11), and the other end being a movable end (Annotated Figure 9), the elastic member (35) is mounted between the movable end (Annotated Figure 9) and the mounting base (11), the mounting port (8) is provided therein with a snapping port (Annotated Figure 8), and the movable end (Annotated Figure 9) of the hook (19 and 21) extends out under action of the elastic member (35) to be clamped and locked with the snapping port (Annotated Figure 8) “A spring 35 ensures that the latch 19 returns to the locking position, with the head 21 arranged under the rear contour 18a of the opening 18, as illustrated in FIG. 12” (Pg. 4 Paragraph 0039, lines 10-13). Examiner note: Prieto teaches the elastic member (35) is mounted between the top of the mounting base (11) and the movable end of the hook (Annotated figure 9); however, Prieto does not teach the elastic member being mounted directly between the mounting base (11) and the movable end of the hook (Annotated figure 9).
Regarding claim 15, (See Annotated figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the mounting base (11) is provided with a through-hole (Annotated figures 7), and a space for inserting and moving an auxiliary tool (Annotated figures 9) is provided between the through- hole (Annotated figures 7) and the movable end of the hook (Annotated figures 9).
Regarding claim 17, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the mounting port (8) is provided at one side edge (Annotated Figure 10) of the frying basket body (2), and the mounting base (11) of the handle portion (33 and 12) is slid into the mounting port (8) from top to bottom or from bottom to top.
Regarding claim 18, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein limiting grooves (38 and 39) are provided on side walls at two sides of the mounting port (8), and limiting protrusions (36 and 37) corresponding to the limiting grooves (38 and 39) are provided at two sides of the mounting base (11); or the side walls at the two sides of the mounting port are provided with the limiting protrusions, and the two sides of the mounting base are provided with the limiting grooves corresponding to the limiting protrusions, and when the mounting base (11) is slid into the mounting port (8), the limiting protrusions (36 and 37) are clamped into the limiting grooves (38 and 39).
Regarding claim 19, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the frying basket body (2) comprises a pot body (5) and a panel (4) provided at one side of the pot body (5), the mounting port (8) is provided on the panel (4), and a space capable of accommodating the handle portion (Annotated Figure 8) is provided in the pot body (5).
Regarding claim 20, (See Annotated Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 above) An air fryer, comprising a fryer body and the frying basket assembly having a separated handle according to claim 1, wherein the frying basket assembly enters or exits the fryer body in a push-and-pull manner. “On certain models of hot air fryer cooking appliances, the vessel is removable from the body of the cooking appliance. We will mention, for example, the following models: Philips® HD9220/20 AirFryer®; Russell Hobbs® 20810-56; Aicok® AHF001. The vessel is inserted into the body and removed from the latter like a drawer” (Pg. 1, Paragraph 0005, lines 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto in view of Hu et al. (C.N. Patent No. 211324495), hereinafter Hu.
Prieto teaches:
Regarding claim 14, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein a buckling plate (18a) towards the hook (19 and 21) is disposed inside the mounting port (8), and the snapping port (Annotated Figure 8) is formed between an extending end of the buckling plate (18a) and the frying basket body (2).
Prieto does not teach:
Regarding claim 14, wherein a buckling plate inclined towards the hook, an inclined extending end of the buckling plate.
Hu teaches:
Annotated Figure 11 (Hu)
Annotated Figure 12 (Hu)
Annotated Figure 13 (Hu)
Regarding claim 14, (See Annotated Figures 11, 12, and 13 above) wherein a buckling plate (Annotated Figure 12) inclined towards the hook (62 and 63) is disposed inside the mounting port (5), and the snapping port (Annotated Figure 12) is formed between an inclined extending end (Annotated Figure 12) of the buckling plate and the frying basket body (5).
Regarding the inclined extending end of the buckling plate in claim 14, at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious mater of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an inclined extending end of the buckling plate instead of a horizontal extending end of the buckling plate, because applicant has not disclosed that the inclined extending end of the buckling plate provides an advantage, is used for particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with a horizontal extending end of the buckling plate or an inclined extending end of the buckling plate, because both perform the function of locking the hook into the snapping port equally well (MPEP 2144.04 IV B)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto in view of Du et al. (C.N. Patent No. 114052520), hereinafter Du.
Prieto teaches:
Regarding claim 16, (See Annotated figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) a plug (34).
Prieto does not teach:
Regarding claim 16, wherein the through-hole is blocked by a removable plug.
Du teaches:
Annotated Figure 14 (Du)
Regarding claim 16, (See Annotated Figure 14) wherein the through-hole (Annotated Figure 14) is blocked by a removable plug (102).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Prieto to incorporate the teachings of Du to have a removable plug. Doing so allows for easier access and a view inside of the mounting base of the handle portion. Ease of access and a view to the inside of the mounting base of the handle portion allows the user to see if parts are broken or need replacement without having to disassemble the whole handle portion.
Alternatively, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Prieto in view of Wang et al. (C.N. Patent No. 215383110), hereinafter Wang.
Prieto teaches:
Regarding claim 19, (See Annotated Figures 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 above) wherein the frying basket body (2) comprises a pot body (5) and a panel (4) provided at one side of the pot body (5), the mounting port (8) is provided on the panel (4).
Prieto does not teach:
Regarding claim 19, a space capable of accommodating the handle portion is provided in the pot body.
Wang teaches:
Annotated Figure 15 (Wang)
Annotated Figure 16 (Wang)
Regarding claim 19, (See Annotated Figures 15 and 16 above) a space (Annotated Figure 16) capable of accommodating the handle portion (3) is provided in the pot body (1).
Regarding claim 19, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Prieto to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have a space capable of accommodating the handle potion provided in the pot body. Doing so allows “the lid to be folded into the storage position to reduce its size, making it easier to store and transport and reducing packaging costs. It also allows the lid to be placed upright in the unfolding position, preventing the bottom of the lid from getting dusty or contaminated with bacteria from contacting the table, ensuring the lid is clean and hygienic and improving the user experience” (Pg. 2, Paragraph 0004), as recognized by Wang.
Conclusion
/EMMA E ULATOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 03/11/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761