DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/09/2026. Claims 1-3, 10, 13, 17, 21-22 are amended and claims 1-3, 6-10, 13, 15-18, 20-26 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electroactive stick-on component [including: an electrical connection area including a low-profile connector having a flexible substrate holding one or more electrical connects] comprises at least one illumination device, at least one camera, or at least one sensor” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The phrase “reversibly attachable” does not clearly limit the scope of invention as it is directed to a structure or structural characteristic of the claimed modular system via function and/or operation that is itself unclear. There are clear examples of attachment of the stick-on component to an eyeglass lens in [0027]: via “a sticker with an adhesive material (e.g., a sticky material) or statically adhered to the lens” or “mechanically clipped onto the frame above, besides, or below the lens and/or the lens itself (e.g., with a spring-loaded clip or magnet assembly)”. The Specification is less specific regarding the means of removal: “one or more of the modules (e.g., the electroactive stick-on component 102 and/or at least a portion of the electronic system 104a/104b) can be placed on and/or removed from the existing glasses without damaging (or substantially damaging, a cleaning product may be required to remove remnants) the existing glasses”. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand means of removal for magnetic and clip-on embodiments, though removal by adhesive means is not specified. In other words, there is no indication that the adhesive removal would be performed by hand or by the user alone (i.e. without solvents, tools, etc.) and there is no indication that the stick-on component would be undamaged and capable of repeated application. In [0026], Applicant discloses “the modules can include an electroactive stick-on component 102, which can be reversibly affixed to a lens of the existing glasses (e.g., can be stuck to and removed from the eyeglasses one or more times)”. From this disclosure, it is clear that Applicant intends for embodiments to be structured such that application and removal is possible though there is no requirement that subsequent application and use be possible in the adhesive embodiment in particular. The phrasing “reversibly attachable” is not clearly associated with a structural limitation as the phrase is not commensurate in scope with the disclosed reusability. The adverbially-limited adjective may be understood to describe a stick-on component that is attachable in reverse relative to meridional or sagittal planes of the ophthalmic lens. Additionally, reverse attachment may describe attachment to a posterior vs. anterior surface of the lens or attachment of a rear or front surface of the stick-on component to a lens surface. This discussion is presented in order to illuminate the many interpretations of the claim language that are consistent with the Specifications, though possibly unintentionally.
Additionally, the phrase “low profile” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specifications. In this instance, the relative phrasing is interpreting according to a plain meaning of the constituent words though there is no specific reference by which to judge the relationship. Accordingly, a low profile will be understood to require a physical profile or shape that is smaller than an arbitrarily larger profile or shape that may be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “the electroactive stick-on component is adhered to the eyeglass lens in an area outside a field of view of the user when the user is looking straight ahead”. In [0044] of the originally-filed Specifications, Applicant states “the electroactive stick-on component can be adhered to the lens in an area outside the field of view”. In human vision, the horizontal and vertical fields of view are approximately 200⁰ and 130⁰, respectively (see attached Wikipedia “Field of View”). The Applicant has not evidence possession of a modular system dimensioned, when worn or otherwise, that could be capable of providing an electroactive stick-on component “to deliver treatment for at least one ocular condition” (Claim 1) while simultaneously outside of a field of view (Claim 26).
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13, 15-18, 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “an electroactive stick-on component reversibly attachable to a portion of an eyeglass lens of a pair of eyeglasses … and a controller reversibly attachable to an eyeglass frame of the pair of eyeglasses, wherein the electroactive stick-on component and the controller are configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and removed from the pair of eyeglasses by a user of the pair of eyeglasses”. The claim language does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed apparatus. The claim does not recite a structure for attachment nor does it positively recite a configuration for placing the electroactive component and controller on the eyeglasses. There is a substantive difference between an electroactive component and controller configured to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and an electroactive component and controller configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses. For the former, the language implies an existing structure that enables the recited function/operation of being placed and removed by a user. For the latter, the language implies a structure compatible with means for performing the recited function/operation of being places and removed by a user. Taking the disclosed clip-on embodiment as an example, the language would amount to a difference between capturing an capturing an LED for treating myopia (see [0037]) integrated into a clip and an LED for treating myopia only. The former is an existing structure that enables the recited function/operation of being placed and removed by a user and the latter is a structure compatible with means for performing the recited function/operation of being placed and removed by a user.
Claims 17 and 20 recite substantially the same language and are indefinite for the above-identified reasons. Dependent claims 2-3, 6-10, 15-16, 18, 21-26 are rejected as being dependent claims failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claims 1 and 25 together recite “an electroactive stick-on component reversibly attachable to a portion of an eyeglass lens of a pair of eyeglasses … an attachment area where the electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component interfaces with a wire coupled to the controller is at least partially along a boundary between the eyeglass lens and the eyeglass frame”. The claims do not positively recite the eyeglasses, eyeglass frame, and eyeglass lens as structural elements of the system. Rather, in Claim 1, the system is defined as comprising a stick-on component and controller that are structured to be capable of being functionally related to the eyeglass structure. Claim 25 requires an attachment area, presumably of an eyeglass structure is not recited as an element of the system. It is unclear if Claim 25 should be understood as requiring the system to include an eyeglass lens and frame and the stick-on component and controller to not only be attachable to these structures but attached to at least on of these structures. Alternatively, Claim 25 should be understood as requiring the stick-on component to be attachable to an attachment area, so-claimed, if it were attached to an eyeglass structure. These mutually exclusive interpretations do not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “the electroactive stick-on component is adhered to the eyeglass lens in an area outside a field of view of the user when the user is looking straight ahead”. In [0044] of the originally-filed Specifications, Applicant states “the electroactive stick-on component can be adhered to the lens in an area outside the field of view”. In human vision, the horizontal and vertical fields of view are approximately 200⁰ and 130⁰, respectively (see attached Wikipedia “Field of View”). The metes and bounds of a modular system dimensioned, when worn or otherwise, that could be capable of providing an electroactive stick-on component “to deliver treatment for at least one ocular condition” (Claim 1) while simultaneously outside of a field of view (Claim 26) are unclear as claimed and disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 7-10, 13, 15-18, 20-21, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. 9,335,565 to Miller, et al. (hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a modular system (Fig. 1) comprising: an electroactive stick-on component (optical element 10, Fig. 1+) reversibly attachable (“term “detachably attached” is defined as an attachment that nevertheless enables the end user to remove the optical element if desired. Accordingly, an optical element that is detachably attached may be removed by the end user without causing damage to the eye-shielding device (e.g., the helmet visor)”; col. 9, ll. 17-25 & col. 14, ll. 46-53) to a portion of an eyeglass lens (visor 20, Fig. 1+) of a pair of eyeglasses (“such inventive features may be used with the viewing lenses of devices such as protective or vision enhancing goggles or glasses or other protective eyewear, such as helmet visors”; col. 4, ll. 56-59 & col. 8, ll. 45-52), the electroactive stick-on component including: an electrical connection area including a low-profile connector having a flexible substrate holding one or more electrical interconnects (“the optical element 10 is electrically connected via a flexible tab 14”, “power source, drive circuit and activation circuit may form a separate entity or structure electrically connected to the optical element by means well known in the art such as wire, flex board, via, or other comparable means” & “electrically conductive tabs 14, 34 of an optical element 10, 30, as described above, are electrically connected by a wired connection 82 with a user operable controller 80 for selective control of the tint or light absorption setting of the optical element 10, 30” col. 5, ll. 48-67 & col. 11, ln. 58-col. 12, ln. 4); and a controller reversibly attachable (“the controller 80 may be a permanent connection, in other embodiments, a plug and socket or other disconnectable arrangement may be utilized, for example, to facilitate replacement of only one of the optical element 10, 30 and the controller 80, or to enable storage as separate components. In still other embodiments (e.g. FIG. 26), a controller may be connected the optical element, with leads on the drive circuit connected directly to the conductive tabs of the optical element. This may also facilitate attachment of the controller to the eye-shielding device”; col. 12, ll. 42-52) to an eyeglass frame of the pair of eyeglasses, wherein the electroactive stick-on component and the controller are configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and removed from the pair of eyeglasses by a user of the pair of eyeglasses (“many different mechanisms and configurations may be utilized to attach a controller to an eye-shielding device, including mechanical, chemical, a combination of chemical/mechanical, friction or pressure, magnetic, hook and loop fastener (VELCRO®), or a combination thereof For example, as illustrated in FIG. 24, a controller 80 may be provided with an adhesive pad 84 for attachment to a surface of the helmet visor 20, with the optical element 10 and the controller 80 being electrically connected by a wired connection 82 extending over an upper or lower edge of the helmet visor 20”; col. 13, ll. 12-30).
As stated in the evidence above, Miller discloses a helmet visor embodiment and also states that the technology is convertible to an embodiment for lenses such as glasses. A person having ordinary skill in the art would embody the optical device and controller system in eyeglasses for providing the disclosed darkening function for eyeglasses.
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses the controller further comprises an electrical connection area configured to interface with the electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component (wire 82, Figs. 1+).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Miller discloses the electroactive stick-on component is configured to provide electrowetting, on-demand refraction, or on-demand optical treatment (darkening; col. 6, ln. 44-col. 7, ln. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Miller discloses the electroactive stick-on component comprises at least one illumination device, at least one camera, or at least one sensor (“photosensor may be integral to the optical element, or housed within the eye-shielding device”; col. 2, ll. 44-48).
Regarding claim 9, Miller discloses the controller comprises a flat, flexible cable to connect to the electroactive stick-on component (wire 82, Figs. 1+).
Regarding claim 10, Miller discloses the controller is configured to communicate wirelessly with an external controller (“the controller is activated wirelessly by a remote control device”; col. 13, ll. 4-11).
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses the controller is configured to be recharged by a battery charging system, and wherein the battery charging system is configured to be on or within an eyeglasses case configured to house the eyeglass frame (“power source may be a battery (which may be rechargeable or not), or a solar cell, or a combination thereof”; col. 2, ll. 41-43 & col. 11, ln. 58-col. 12, ln. 4 & col. 13, ln. 32-col. 15, ln. 33).
Regarding claim 15, Miller discloses the electroactive stick-on component is at least partially transparent (Figs. 1+).
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses the at least one ocular condition comprises myopia, presbyopia, amblyopia, photophobia, dry eye, or color blindness (darkening; col. 6, ln. 44-col. 7, ln. 11).
Regarding claim 17, Miller discloses a method comprising: applying v an electroactive stick-on component (optical element 10, Fig. 1+) to at least one lens (visor 20, Fig. 1+) of a pair of eyeglasses (“such inventive features may be used with the viewing lenses of devices such as protective or vision enhancing goggles or glasses or other protective eyewear, such as helmet visors”; col. 4, ll. 56-59 & col. 8, ll. 45-52), wherein the electroactive stick-on component is reversibly attachable to the at least one lens of the pair of eyeglasses; electrically coupling the electroactive stick-on component to a controller using a low-profile connector included in the electroactive stick-on component (“the optical element 10 is electrically connected via a flexible tab 14”, “power source, drive circuit and activation circuit may form a separate entity or structure electrically connected to the optical element by means well known in the art such as wire, flex board, via, or other comparable means” & “electrically conductive tabs 14, 34 of an optical element 10, 30, as described above, are electrically connected by a wired connection 82 with a user operable controller 80 for selective control of the tint or light absorption setting of the optical element 10, 30” col. 5, ll. 48-67 & col. 11, ln. 58-col. 12, ln. 4), wherein the low-profile connector includes a flexible substrate holding one or more electrical interconnects, wherein the electroactive stick-on component and the controller are configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and removed from the pair of eyeglasses by a user (“many different mechanisms and configurations may be utilized to attach a controller to an eye-shielding device, including mechanical, chemical, a combination of chemical/mechanical, friction or pressure, magnetic, hook and loop fastener (VELCRO®), or a combination thereof For example, as illustrated in FIG. 24, a controller 80 may be provided with an adhesive pad 84 for attachment to a surface of the helmet visor 20, with the optical element 10 and the controller 80 being electrically connected by a wired connection 82 extending over an upper or lower edge of the helmet visor 20”; col. 13, ll. 12-30) of the pair of eyeglasses (“the controller 80 may be a permanent connection, in other embodiments, a plug and socket or other disconnectable arrangement may be utilized, for example, to facilitate replacement of only one of the optical element 10, 30 and the controller 80, or to enable storage as separate components. In still other embodiments (e.g. FIG. 26) and treating at least one optical condition with the electroactive stick-on component powered by the controller (darkening; col. 6, ln. 44-col. 7, ln. 11).
As stated in the evidence above, Miller discloses a helmet visor embodiment and also states that the technology is convertible to an embodiment for lenses such as glasses. A person having ordinary skill in the art would embody the optical device and controller system in eyeglasses for providing the disclosed darkening function for eyeglasses.
Regarding claim 20, Miller discloses the treating further comprises receiving, by the controller, an instruction from an external controller to instruct the electroactive stick-on component to engage in treating the optical condition (“the controller is activated wirelessly by a remote control device”; col. 13, ll. 10-11).
Regarding claim 21, Miller discloses the elements of Claim 1 and wherein the controller is further configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame when the controller is attached to the eyeglass frame (“many different mechanisms and configurations may be utilized to attach a controller to an eye-shielding device, including mechanical, chemical, a combination of chemical/mechanical, friction or pressure, magnetic, hook and loop fastener (VELCRO®), or a combination thereof For example, as illustrated in FIG. 24, a controller 80 may be provided with an adhesive pad 84 for attachment to a surface of the helmet visor 20, with the optical element 10 and the controller 80 being electrically connected by a wired connection 82 extending over an upper or lower edge of the helmet visor 20”; col. 13, ll. 12-30 & Figs. 1+).
Regarding claim 24, Miller discloses the controller further includes a low-profile connector, and wherein the low-profile connector of the electroactive stick- on component and the low-profile connector of the controller are configured to fit together (wire 82, Figs. 1-5, 24, etc.).
Regarding claim 25, Miller discloses an attachment area where the electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component interfaces with a wire coupled to the controller is at least partially along a boundary between the eyeglass lens and the eyeglass frame (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 24). As noted in the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection above, it is unclear whether the structure of the eyeglass frame is required in the claim.
Claims 3 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. 8,915,588 to Blum, et al. (hereinafter Blum ‘588).
Regarding claim 3, Miller discloses the electrical connection area of the controller further comprises a low-profile connector including at least one electrical interconnect (wire 82, Figs. 1+).
Miller discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet disposed within a flexible substrate of the low-profile connector included in the controller.
Blum ‘588 discloses at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet disposed within a flexible substrate of the low-profile connector included in the controller (flexible tether 1860 with magnet plate 1840 and contact points 1850-1851, Fig. 18).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a magnet as taught by Blum ‘588 with the system as disclosed by Miller. The motivation would have been to make secure electrical connections repeatedly (col. 16, ll. 26-45).
Regarding claim 25, Miller discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose an attachment area where the electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component interfaces with a wire coupled to the controller is at least partially along a boundary between the eyeglass lens and the eyeglass frame, under an alternative interpretation of the language identified in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Blum ‘588 discloses an attachment area where the electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component interfaces with a wire coupled to the controller is at least partially along a boundary between the eyeglass lens and the eyeglass frame (Figs. 14-19).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide electrical elements along a boundary of the eyeglass frame as taught by Blum ‘588 with the system as disclosed by Miller. The motivation would have been to integrate the optical device into a eyeglass structure with a frame.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. No. 6857741 to Blum ‘741 et al. (hereinafter Blum ‘741).
Regarding claim 6, Miller discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the controller comprise an ASIC/IC
Blum ‘741 discloses the controller comprise an ASIC/IC (col. 8, ll. 3-17) or an RF/BLE chip.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ASIC as taught by Blum ‘741 with the system as disclosed by Miller, in the embodiment relied upon. The motivation would have been to imprint permanent commands from an eyewear specialist (col. 8, ll. 3-17).
Claim 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. 7,023,594 to Blum (hereinafter Blum ‘594).
Regarding claim 22, Miller discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose when the controller is attached to a temple portion of the eyeglass frame, an entire weight of the controller is configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame.
Blum ‘594 discloses when the controller is attached to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame, an entire weight of the controller is configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame (Fig. 31).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller entirely supported by the eyeglasses frame as taught by Blum ‘594 with the system as disclosed by Miller. The motivation would have been to carry a user’s prescription from lens system to lens system (col. 43, ll. 16-32).
Claim 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. 8,678,581 to Blum (hereinafter Blum ‘581).
Regarding claim 23, Miller discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the one or more electrical interconnects includes at least three electrical interconnects.
Blum ‘588 discloses the one or more electrical interconnects includes at least three electrical interconnects (“Standard, Mini, and Micro USB plug”, Fig. 4; col. 9, ln. 65-col. 10, ln. 10). USB conventions include a minimum of four electrical contact pins.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide three interconnects as taught by Blum ‘581 with the system as disclosed by Miller. The motivation would have been to conform to an electrical standard ubiquitous in digital data and power designs.
Claims 1, 6, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 6857741 to Blum ‘741 et al. (hereinafter Blum ‘741) in view of US Pat. 7,023,594 to Blum (hereinafter Blum ‘594).
Regarding claim 1, Blum ‘741 discloses a modular system (e.g. Fig. 17) comprising: an electroactive stick-on component (“electro-active refractive matrix 1720, an insulator 1730 separates an activated partial field 1740 from a framed non-activated field (or region) 1750”, Fig. 17) reversibly attachable to a portion of an eyeglass lens (a lens optic 1710; col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9) of a pair of eyeglasses, the electroactive stick-on component including an electrical connection area including a low-profile connector having a flexible substrate holding one or more electrical interconnects (“single wire or conducting strip interconnect 1760 connects the activated field to a power supply and/or controller”; col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9); and a controller (controller 140 and wires 130, and controller/programmer 160, Fig. 1) attachable to an eyeglass frame of the pair of eyeglasses wherein the electroactive stick-on component and the controller are configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and removed from the pair of eyeglasses by a user of the pair of eyeglasses (“the temple or temples of frame 110 possess the needed electrical components so that a power cord is plugged directly into an electrical outlet and/or the electro-active refractor's controller/programmer 160”, Fig. 1; Abstract & col. 5, ll. 60-67), the controller being configured to be supported by the eyeglass frame when the controller is attached to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame (Fig. 1), the controller being in electrical communication with the electroactive stick-on component (Abstract & col. 5, ll. 60-67 & col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9), wherein the electroactive stick-on component is configured to deliver treatment for at least one ocular condition (col. 20, ln. 18-54).
Blum ‘741 discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a controller detachable from a temple portion of the eyeglass frame of the eyeglasses and re-attachable to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame, the controller being configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame when the controller is attached to the temple portion.
Blum ‘594 discloses an electroactive stick-on component attachable to a portion of an eyeglass lens of a pair of eyeglasses (“adhesives can be utilized applying the adhesive directly to the lens optic and then laying down the electro-active layer … the electro-active refractive matrix can be manufactured so it is attached to a release film in which case it can be removed and reattached adhesively to the lens optic”; col. 18, ll. 7-21 & col. 27, ll. 45-63); a controller (controller 3160, Fig. 31) detachable from a temple portion of the eyeglass frame of the eyeglasses and re-attachable to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame (“the controller 3160 has been mounted onto strap 3170… coupled to the electro-active refractive matrix 3190 through signal conductors 310 that are positioned within the hollow lumen frame stem 3130 of the frame 3110 and travel to the controller 3160 via the strap 3170” and “By placing the controller 3160 on a strap 3170, a user's prescription can be carried with them from lens system to lens system by simply uncoupling the strap 3170 and placing it onto an alternative frame to be worn by the user”; col. 43, ll. 16-32), the controller being configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame when the controller is attached to the temple portion (Fig. 31).
Blum ‘594 discloses the electroactive stick-on component is reversibly attachable to the eyeglass lens in a manner that the electroactive stick-on component is detachable from the eyeglass lens and re-attachable to the eyeglass lens (“adhesives can be utilized applying the adhesive directly to the lens optic and then laying down the electro-active layer … the electro-active refractive matrix can be manufactured so it is attached to a release film in which case it can be removed and reattached adhesively to the lens optic”; col. 18, ll. 7-21 & col. 27, ll. 45-63).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller entirely supported by the eyeglasses frame as taught by Blum ‘594 with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to carry a user’s prescription from lens system to lens system (col. 43, ll. 16-32).
Regarding claim 6, Blum ‘741 discloses the controller comprise an ASIC/IC (col. 8, ll. 3-17) or an RF/BLE chip, though Blum ‘741 does not disclose that the controller relied upon in the context of Claim 1 is an ASIC chip.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ASIC as taught by Blum ‘741, in an alternate embodiment, with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741, in the embodiment relied upon. The motivation would have been to imprint permanent commands from an eyewear specialist (col. 8, ll. 3-17).
Regarding claim 17, Blum ‘741 discloses a method comprising: applying an electroactive stick-on component (“electro-active refractive matrix 1720, an insulator 1730 separates an activated partial field 1740 from a framed non-activated field (or region) 1750”, Fig. 17) to at least one lens of eyeglasses (a lens optic 1710; col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9), wherein the electroactive stick-on component is reversibly attachable to the at least one lens of the eyeglasses (electro-active refractive matrix 1720 capable of being attached at different orientations, Fig 17); electrically coupling the electroactive stick-on component to a controller (controller 140 and wires 130, and controller/programmer 160, Fig. 1) using a low profile low-profile connector (“single wire or conducting strip interconnect 1760 connects the activated field to a power supply and/or controller”; col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9); and a controller (controller 140 and wires 130, and controller/programmer 160, Fig. 1) included in the electroactive stick-on component, wherein the low-profile connector includes a flexible substrate (flexible due to material thicknesses in the disclosed layered lens application) holding one or more electrical interconnects (Fig. 17), wherein the electroactive stick-on component and the controller are configurable to be placed on the pair of eyeglasses and removed from the pair of eyeglasses by a user of the pair of eyeglasses (“single wire or conducting strip interconnect 1760 connects the activated field to a power supply and/or controller”; col. 19, ln. 66-col. 20, ln. 9); and treating at least one optical condition with the electroactive stick-on component powered by the electrical system (col. 20, ln. 18-54).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the Fig. 5 embodiment referencing “generic electroactive lenses” means that the electroactive lenses explicitly detailed elsewhere in Blum ‘741 are combinable in the disclosed frames and silence as to the specifics of the lenses would be understood as for the purpose of brevity.
In Fig. 5, Blum ‘741 discloses connecting an electrical connection area of the electroactive stick-on component comprising another low profile conductor of an electrical system attached to a frame of the eyeglasses (Fig. 5; col. 7, ln. 52-col. 8, ln. 17).
Even if it is disputed that Blum ‘741 singularly discloses a combination of the frames and electronics of Fig. 5 and the lenses of Fig. 17, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood such a modification to be obvious. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to attach controls to a frame as taught by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to program the optical device to meet patient’s needs (col. 7, ln. 52-col. 8, ln. 17).
Blum ‘741 discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to be detached by a user of the eyeglasses from a frame of the eyeglasses and configured to be reattached by the user of the eyeglasses to the frame of the eyeglasses, the controller being configured to be entirely supported by the frame of the eyeglasses when the controller is attached to the frame of the eyeglasses.
Blum ‘594 discloses applying an electroactive stick-on component attachable to a portion of an eyeglass lens of a pair of eyeglasses (“adhesives can be utilized applying the adhesive directly to the lens optic and then laying down the electro-active layer … the electro-active refractive matrix can be manufactured so it is attached to a release film in which case it can be removed and reattached adhesively to the lens optic”; col. 18, ll. 7-21 & col. 27, ll. 45-63); connecting an electrical connection area of the component to an electrical connection area of a controller (controller 3160, Fig. 31) configured to be detached by a user of the eyeglasses from a frame of the eyeglasses and configured to be reattached by the user of the eyeglasses to the frame of the eyeglasses (“the controller 3160 has been mounted onto strap 3170… coupled to the electro-active refractive matrix 3190 through signal conductors 310 that are positioned within the hollow lumen frame stem 3130 of the frame 3110 and travel to the controller 3160 via the strap 3170” and “By placing the controller 3160 on a strap 3170, a user's prescription can be carried with them from lens system to lens system by simply uncoupling the strap 3170 and placing it onto an alternative frame to be worn by the user”; col. 43, ll. 16-32), the controller being configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame when the controller is attached to the temple portion (Fig. 31).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller entirely supported by the eyeglasses frame as taught by Blum ‘594 with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to carry a user’s prescription from lens system to lens system (col. 43, ll. 16-32).
Regarding claim 21, Blum ‘741 and Blum ‘594 disclose the modular system of Claim 1 and the controller configured is attached to the eyeglass frame as shown.
Further, Blum ‘594 discloses that the controller is configured to be released from being coupled to the electroactive stick-on component (“uncoupling the strap 3170 and placing it onto an alternative frame to be worn by the user”).
Regarding claim 22, Blum ‘741 discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose when the controller is attached to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame, an entire weight of the controller is configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame.
Blum ‘594 discloses when the controller is attached to the temple portion of the eyeglass frame, an entire weight of the controller is configured to be entirely supported by the eyeglass frame (Fig. 31).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller entirely supported by the eyeglasses frame as taught by Blum ‘594 with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to carry a user’s prescription from lens system to lens system (col. 43, ll. 16-32).
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum ‘741 in view of Blum ‘594 as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. 8,915,588 to Blum, et al. (hereinafter Blum ‘588).
Regarding claim 3, Blum ‘741 discloses the electrical connection area of the controller further comprises a low-profile connector including at least one electrical interconnect (Figs. 17 & 20).
Blum ‘741 discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet disposed within a flexible substrate of the low-profile connector included in the controller.
Blum ‘588 discloses at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet disposed within a flexible substrate of the low-profile connector included in the controller (flexible tether 1860 with magnet plate 1840 and contact points 1850-1851, Fig. 18).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a magnet as taught by Blum ‘588 with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to make secure electrical connections repeatedly (col. 16, ll. 26-45).
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum ‘741 and Blum ‘594 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US Pat. No. 8,643,933 to Brown (hereinafter Brown).
Regarding claim 3, Blum ‘741 discloses the interface between the electroactive stick-on component and the electronic system interface in the electrical connection area with a pair of low-profile conductors, each of the pair of low-profile conductors comprises at least one electrical interconnect (Fig. 5).
Blum ‘741 discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the interface comprises at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet.
Brown discloses: the interface between the electroactive component (smart window embodied as electrochromic structure 505, Fig. 5) and the electronic system interface (control connected to wires 545, Fig. 5) in the electrical connection area with a pair of low-profile conductors, each of the pair of low-profile conductors comprises at least one electrical interconnect and at least one magnet (“connector 535 includes a surface having two pads, 540, that provide electrical contact to wires, 545, of the wire assembly. Second connector 535 further includes a ferromagnetic element, 550, configured to register and mate with ferromagnetic element 529 of the first connector”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a magnetic and electric connector as taught by Brown with the system as disclosed by Blum ‘741. The motivation would have been to provide mechanical and electrical engagement and repeatable, non-destructive detachment of connectors (col. 2, ll. 8-34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to some claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/09/2026 have been fully considered but some are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues “Blum ‘741 … is silent regarding any low profile connector having a flexible substrate holding one ore more electrical interconnects”. Examiner respectfully disagrees as a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the form factor, defined by the integration into spectacles and the materials used for interconnects by Blum ‘741, would necessitate that the interconnect 1760 embodied as a single wire matches the claimed “low-profile connector having a flexible substrate holding one or more electrical interconnects”. While the arguments are not specific as to the differentiating structure required in the claim limitation, it is believed that Applicant may believe the claim to require a distinct substrate separate from the stick-on component having distinct electrical contacts disposed on a surface or via through-holes with a particular thickness profile and a particular degree of rigidity. The claim is not so-limited. The Blum ‘741 interconnect reads on the claimed low-profile connector as drafted and in combination with other prior art renders the claimed invention obvious.
In response to applicant's argument that Brown is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the electrical connection to an optically transparent device with variable optical characteristics designed to be powered and controlled externally provides a disclosure that is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872