DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 28, 2023 and January 24, 2025 is considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: There is a typo on Line 2, "a positon" should be "the position".
5. Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8, “an initial consonant” should be “the initial consonant”, and “a final consonant” should be “the final consonant” since it was already mentioned in claim 9.
6. Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4, “first base object generator” should be “first basic object generator” to match terminology in the Specification.
7. Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8, “an initial consonant” should be “the initial consonant”, and “a final consonant” should be “the final consonant” since it was already mentioned in claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"first base object generator" in claim 11,
"basic object rendering unit" in claims 11-12,
“second basic object generator” in claim 12,
“object forming unit” in claim 13,
“object transformation unit” in claim 13,
“object disposition unit” in claims 15-16,
“validation unit” in claim 18,
“input unit” in claim 20,
and “the first basic object generator” in claim 21.
Structure for the “basic object rendering unit”, “object transformation unit”, and “object disposition unit” can be found in Paragraph 56 of the Applicant’s specification. All exist in a graphics processing unit which is considered to be well known hardware in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
13. Regarding claim 11 and 21, the claim recites a “first base object generator” or “first basic object generator”. First base object generator is interpreted to be “first basic object generator”. Figure 1 shows the first basic object generator inside the artwork creation unit. However, the examiner could not identify definite structure in the specification for the first basic object generator or artwork creation unit. Thus, the “first base object generator” or “first basic object generator” lacks structural support in the Specification.
14. Regarding claim 12, the claim recites a “second basic object generator”. Figure 1 shows the second basic object generator inside the artwork creation unit. However, the examiner could not identify definite structure in the specification for the second basic object generator or the artwork creation unit. Thus, the “second basic object generator” lacks structural support in the Specification.
15. Regarding claim 13, the claim recites an “object forming unit”. Figure 1 shows the object forming unit in the artwork creation unit. However, the examiner could not identify definite structure in the specification for the “object forming unit” or the artwork creation unit. Thus, the “object forming unit” lacks structural support in the Specification.
16. Regarding claim 18, the claim recites a “validation unit”. Figure 1 shows the validation unit in the work order unit. However, the examiner could not identify definite structure in the specification for the “validation unit” or the work order unit. Thus, the “validation unit” lacks structural support in the Specification.
17. Regarding claim 20, the claim recites an “input unit”. Figure 1 and Specification Paragraph 51 explains the input unit. However, the examiner could not identify definite structure in the specification for the “input unit”. Thus, the “input unit” lacks structural support in the Specification.
Claims 14-17 and 19 are also rejected by dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
19. Claims 3, 5-7, and 11-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
20. Claim 3 recites the limitation "t" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 5-7 are also rejected by dependency on claim 3.
21. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the basic object primary creator" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 is also rejected by dependency on claim 19.
22. Claim 21 recites the limitation "the " in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
23. Claim limitations “first base object generator”, “second basic object generator”, “object forming unit”, “validation unit” and “input unit” in claims 11-13, 18, and 20-21 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure and specification do not clearly mention or associate any structure for the “first base object generator”, “second basic object generator”, “object forming unit”, “validation unit” and “input unit”.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 14-17 and 19 are also rejected by dependency on claim 11.
Claims 3, 5-7, 11-21 will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
26. Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0078660 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bacus, in view of Rose et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0263117 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rose.
27. Regarding claim 1, Bacus teaches a method of creating an artwork, the method comprising:
generating a set of random numbers (Paragraph 50 teaches generating a set of random numbers) (Paragraph 51 teaches using a set of random numbers to select a font size for a glyph from a set of font sizes and add gaussian noise. The glyph teaches a basic object. The glyphs put together form a word or an object like seen in Figures 8-13. The font size teaches first factors under broadest reasonable interpretation, and the font size value and gaussian noise selected based on the set of random numbers teaches realizing values of random variables corresponding to first factors; Paragraph 60 teaches other first factors like character spacing, width, serif size, ascender or descender size);
and creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information of the basic objects according to the values of the first factors (Paragraph 52 and Figure 9 teach displaying the result of the font size being randomized for each glyph. The original glyphs teach graphical information of the basic objects. The change of the font sizes of the glyphs teaches a transformation of the graphical information of the basic objects. The transformed result teaches the first graphical information transformed from the graphical information of the basic objects according to the values of the first factors).
However, Bacus fails to teach: the method comprising generating a set of random numbers according to a seed.
Rose teaches the method comprising generating a set of random numbers according to a seed (Paragraph 3 teaches random number generators use a seed to produce a sequence of random numbers. This teaches generating a set of random numbers based on a seed).
Bacus is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus with the random numbers generated from a seed taught by Rose because it is well known in the art that random number generators can use a seed to create a deterministic algorithm of random numbers (Rose Paragraph 3).
28. Regarding claim 2, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bacus further teaches the method further comprising: realizing values of random variables corresponding to second factors to deform the basic objects according to random numbers selected from the set of random numbers (Paragraph 56 teaches using " the set of random numbers to select a random font weight for each glyph" and " the random numbers may be used to add, for each glyph, Gaussian noise". The font weight value and gaussian noise teaches random variables corresponding to the second factor, the font weight, which is used to modify or deform the glyph based on the random numbers selected from the set of random numbers; Paragraph 60 teaches other second factors like character spacing, width, serif size, ascender or descender size. This can also be second factors under broadest reasonable interpretation);
and creating second graphical information that is deformed according to realized values of random variables of the second factors from the first graphical information (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach the result of the font weight being randomized. It also teaches the rendering of the font weights in Figure 12 is done to the shapes and set font size of the glyphs in the string. The shape of the glyph includes the glyph size which teaches the first graphical information. The glyphs deformed by the font weight values and gaussian noise teach deforming the first graphical information to create the second graphical information; Paragraph 60 teaches "the text rendering engine may vary more than one parameter at a time". Thus, this teaches the font weight deformation taught in Paragraph 55-56 can be applied to the font size variation taught in Paragraph 52. The rendered font weight randomized glyphs teach second graphical information deformed according to realized values of the random variables like weight and noise from the first graphical information).
29. Regarding claim 3, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 2. Bacus further teaches the method further comprising: controlling to enlarge and shrink the object according to random numbers selected from the set of random numbers (Paragraph 51-52 teach using a set of random numbers to select a font size for a glyph from a set of font sizes. Changing the size of the glyph which makes up a sample text or object as seen in Figure 9 teaches enlarging and shrinking the object according to the random numbers selected from the set of random numbers);
and creating object graphical information from the secondary graphical information (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach rendering the sample text after the font weight is randomized. The glyphs with different font weights as seen in Figure 12 teaches secondary graphical information. The words in the sample text seen in Figure 12 with the different font weights or secondary graphical information teaches creating the object graphical information).
30. Regarding claim 4, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 2. Bacus further teaches the method wherein the first factors comprise at least one of a shape, a size, or a position of the basic objects (Paragraph 51-52 teach using a set of random numbers to select a font size for a glyph from a set of font sizes. The font size teaches a first factor. Thus, this teaches the first factor comprises at least one of a size), and the second factors comprise at least one of a thickness, a color, shading, or inclination (Paragraph 56 teaches using " the set of random numbers to select a random font weight for each glyph". The font weight teaches a thickness. Thus, this teaches the second factors comprise at least a thickness).
31. Regarding claim 5, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 3. Bacus further teaches the method further comprising creating artwork graphical information by disposing the object graphical information (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach rendering the sample text after the font weight is randomized. The words in the sample text seen in Figure 12 teach the object graphical information. The words rendered and arranged together to form a sentence teaches disposing the object graphical information to create artwork graphical information under broadest reasonable interpretation).
32. Regarding claim 6, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 5. Bacus further teaches the method wherein the creating of the artwork graphical information comprises realizing values of random variables for a position of object graphical information by using the random numbers (Paragraph 60 teaches other parameters can also be varied randomly such as character spacing. The character spacing affects the position of the word as a whole. Randomly setting the character spacing based on a set of random numbers teaches realizing values of random variables for a position of each glyph. The position of each glyph affects the position of the word and thus teaches realizing values of random variables for a position of the object graphical information by using the random numbers).
33. Regarding claim 7, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 6. Bacus further teaches wherein the object comprises one basic object, and the basic object includes a unit image or a figure (Paragraph 54-55 and Figure 12 teach rendering a sentence with multiple words. Each word teaches an object. Each word comprises of multiple glyphs and each glyph teaches a basic object. The glyph individually teaches a unit image or figure; Paragraph 66 teaches glyphs have their own glyph image or unit image).
34. Regarding claim 8, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Bacus does not teach the method further comprising: verifying appropriateness of the one set of random numbers; and when the one set of random numbers is verified to be inappropriate in a validation unit, changing the seed to change the one set of random numbers.
Rose teaches the method further comprising: verifying appropriateness of the one set of random numbers; and when the one set of random numbers is verified to be inappropriate in a validation unit, changing the seed to change the one set of random numbers (Paragraph 12 teaches verifying the first seed and if it is not valid, using another seed from a shadow seed file. Verifying the first seed teaches verifying the appropriateness of the one set of random numbers since each seed produces a deterministic set of random numbers. When the first seed is verified to be inappropriate, it changes the seed which changes the deterministic set of random numbers; Paragraph 47 and Figure 2 teaches the secure file system 208 teaches the validation unit that verifies whether the seed, and thus its set of random numbers, is appropriate or not).
Bacus is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus with the changing the seed based on the appropriateness of a set of random numbers taught by Rose in order to quickly and securely obtain a seed (Rose Paragraph 7) and reseed the random number generator when the initial seed is corrupted (Rose Paragraph 39).
35. Regarding claim 11, Bacus teaches an apparatus for creating an artwork (Paragraph 24-25 teach an electronic device that can render text in different ways. This teaches an apparatus for creating an artwork), the apparatus comprising: a random numbers generator configured to generate one set of random numbers (Paragraph 50 teaches generating a set of random numbers using a random number generator)
a first base object generator configured to control realizing values of random variables corresponding to first factors to determine deformation of basic objects forming an object according to random numbers selected from the set of random numbers (Paragraph 51 teaches the text rendering engine uses a set of random numbers to select a font size for a glyph from a set of font sizes and add gaussian noise. The text rendering engine teaches a first base object generator. The glyph teaches a basic object. The glyphs put together form a word or an object like seen in Figures 8-13. The font size teaches first factors that determine the deformation under broadest reasonable interpretation, and the font size value and gaussian noise selected based on the set of random numbers teaches realizing values of random variables corresponding to first factors; Paragraph 60 teaches other first factors like character spacing, width, serif size, ascender or descender size);
and a basic object rendering unit configured to create first graphical information determined according to the realized values of random variables of the first factors from graphical information of the basic objects (Paragraph 51-52 and Figure 9 teach the text rendering engine can display the result of the font size being randomized for each glyph. The text rendering engine also teaches the basic object rendering unit creating the first graphical information under broadest reasonable interpretation. The original glyphs teach graphical information of the basic objects. The change of the font sizes of the glyphs teaches a transformation of the graphical information of the basic objects. The transformed result teaches the first graphical information transformed from the graphical information of the basic objects according to the realized values of the random variables of the first factors).
However, Bacus fails to teach a random numbers generator configured to generate one set of random numbers according to a seed.
Rose teaches a random numbers generator configured to generate one set of random numbers according to a seed (Paragraph 3 teaches random number generators use a seed to produce a sequence of random numbers. This teaches generating a set of random numbers based on a seed).
Bacus is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus with the random numbers generated from a seed taught by Rose because it is well known in the art that random number generators can use a seed to create a deterministic algorithm of random numbers (Rose Paragraph 3).
36. Regarding claim 12, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 11. Bacus further teaches the apparatus comprising a second basic object generator configured to control realizing values of random variables corresponding to second factors to determine a variation of the basic objects according to random numbers selected from the set of random numbers (Paragraph 56 teaches a text rendering engine using " the set of random numbers to select a random font weight for each glyph" and " the random numbers may be used to add, for each glyph, Gaussian noise". The text rendering engine can also teach the second basic object generator under broadest reasonable interpretation. The font weight value and gaussian noise teaches random variables corresponding to the second factor, the font weight, which is used to modify or deform the glyph based on the random numbers selected from the set of random numbers; Paragraph 60 teaches other second factors like character spacing, width, serif size, ascender or descender size. This can also be second factors under broadest reasonable interpretation),
wherein the basic object rendering unit is further configured to create second graphical information that is deformed according to realized values of random variables of the second factors from the first graphical information (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach the result of the font weight being randomized through the text rendering engine. The text rendering engine teaches the basic object rendering unit. Paragraphs 55-56 also teach the rendering of the font weights in Figure 12 is done to the shapes and set font size of the glyphs in the string. The shape of the glyph includes the glyph size which teaches the first graphical information. The glyphs deformed by the font weight values and gaussian noise teach deforming the first graphical information to create the second graphical information; Paragraph 60 teaches "the text rendering engine may vary more than one parameter at a time". Thus, this teaches the font weight deformation taught in Paragraph 55-56 can be applied to the font size variation taught in Paragraph 52. The rendered font weight randomized glyphs teach second graphical information deformed according to realized values of the random variables like weight and noise from the first graphical information).
37. Regarding claim 13, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 12. Bacus further teaches the apparatus further comprising: an object forming unit configured to control to enlarge and shrink the object according to random numbers selected from the set of random numbers (Paragraph 51-52 teach the text rendering engine uses a set of random numbers to select a font size for a glyph from a set of font sizes. The text rendering engine teaches the object forming unit. Changing the size of the glyph which makes up a sample text or object as seen in Figure 9 teaches enlarging and shrinking the object according to the random numbers selected from the set of random numbers);
and an object transformation unit configured to create object graphical information from the second graphical information under control of the object forming unit (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach the text rendering engine renders the sample text after the font weight is randomized. The text rendering engine teaches the object transformation unit. The glyphs with different font weights as seen in Figure 12 teaches secondary graphical information. The words in the sample text seen in Figure 12 with the different font weights or secondary graphical information teaches creating the object graphical information).
38. Regarding claim 14, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 12. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 4. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 4 applies herein.
39. Regarding claim 15, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 13. Bacus further teaches the apparatus further comprising an object disposition unit configured to dispose the object graphical information so that artwork graphical information corresponding to an object disposition result is created (Paragraph 55-56 and Figure 12 teach the text rendering engine rendering the sample text after the font weight is randomized. The text rendering engine teaches the object disposition unit. The words in the sample text seen in Figure 12 teach the object graphical information. The words rendered and arranged together to form a sentence teaches disposing the object graphical information to create artwork graphical information. The words arranged together teach an object disposition result).
40. Regarding claim 16, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 15. Bacus further teaches wherein the object disposition unit is further configured to realize values of random variables for a position of object graphical information by using the random numbers (Paragraph 60-61 teaches other parameters can also be varied randomly by the text rendering engine such as character spacing. The character spacing affects the position of the word as a whole. The text rendering engine teaches the object disposition unit. Randomly setting the character spacing based on a set of random numbers teaches realizing values of random variables for a position of each glyph. The position of each glyph affects the position of the word and thus teaches realizing values of random variables for a position of the object graphical information by using the random numbers).
41. Regarding claim 17, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 16. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 7. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 7 applies herein.
42. Regarding claim 18, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 11. However, Bacus fails to teach the apparatus further comprising a validation unit configured to verify appropriateness of the one set of random numbers, wherein, when the one set of random numbers is verified to be inappropriate, the random number generator is further configured to change the seed to change the one set of random numbers.
Rose teaches the apparatus further comprising a validation unit configured to verify appropriateness of the one set of random numbers, wherein, when the one set of random numbers is verified to be inappropriate, the random number generator is further configured to change the seed to change the one set of random numbers (Paragraph 12 teaches verifying the first seed and if it is not valid, using another seed from a shadow seed file. Verifying the first seed teaches verifying the appropriateness of the one set of random numbers since each seed produces a deterministic set of random numbers. When the first seed is verified to be inappropriate, it changes the seed which changes the deterministic set of random numbers; Paragraph 47 and Figure 2 teaches the secure file system 208 teaches the validation unit that verifies whether the seed, and thus its set of random numbers, is appropriate or not).
Bacus is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus with the changing the seed based on the appropriateness of a set of random numbers taught by Rose in order to quickly and securely obtain a seed (Rose Paragraph 7) and reseed the random number generator when the initial seed is corrupted (Rose Paragraph 39).
43. Claim(s) 9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0078660 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bacus, in view of Rose et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0263117 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rose, as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Choi (Korean Patent Publication No. 10187454 B1).
44. Regarding claim 9, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Bacus and Rose fail to teach the method wherein the object includes Korean character, the basic object includes an initial consonant, a middle vowel, or a final consonant of Korean character, and the creating of the first graphical information comprises, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determining the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant.
Choi teaches wherein the object includes Korean character, the basic object includes an initial consonant, a middle vowel, or a final consonant of Korean character (Paragraph 11 teaches creating a layout to place an initial consonant, medial vowel, and final consonant. The medial consonant teaches a middle vowel. The consonants and vowel placed together on the selected layout teach a basic object. Figure 3 and 4 teach the consonants and vowels are Korean characters.),
and the creating of the first graphical information comprises, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determining the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant (Paragraph 70-71 teaches randomly placing the consonant around the vowel using a random value from a random number function. It also teaches the consonant and vowel are both randomly arranged as shown in Figure 4B. The placement of the consonant and vowel can teach the first factors. Randomly placing the consonant teaches determining the first factor of the initial consonant or final consonant after determining the first factor of the middle vowel. The resulting placements of each vowel and consonant teaches creating first graphical information).
Bacus and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus in view of Rose with the creating of first graphical information for Korean characters taught by Choi in order to create a calligraphy automatic generation system that enables users unfamiliar with illustration programs to produce and use calligraphy “more quickly, conveniently, and at a low cost with only simple tasks” (Choi Paragraph 1).
45. Regarding claim 19, Bacus in view of Rose teaches the limitations of claim 11. However, Bacus and Rose fail to teach the apparatus wherein the object includes Korean character, the basic object includes an initial consonant, a middle vowel, or a final consonant of Korean character, and the basic object primary creator is further configured to, after controlling to determine the first factors of the middle vowel, determine the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant.
Choi teaches the apparatus wherein the object includes Korean character, the basic object includes an initial consonant, a middle vowel, or a final consonant of Korean character (Paragraph 11 teaches creating a layout to place an initial consonant, medial vowel, and final consonant. The medial consonant teaches a middle vowel. The consonants and vowel placed together on the selected layout teach a basic object. Figure 3 and 4 teach the consonants and vowels are Korean characters.),
and the basic object primary creator is further configured to, after controlling to determine the first factors of the middle vowel, determine the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant (Paragraph 66 and 70-71 teaches the arrangement unit randomly places the consonant around the vowel using a random value from a random number function. The arrangement unit teaches the basic object primary creator. It also teaches the consonant and vowel are both randomly arranged as shown in Figure 4B. The placement of the consonant and vowel can teach the first factors. Randomly placing the consonant teaches determining the first factor of the initial consonant or final consonant after determining the first factor of the middle vowel. The resulting placements of each vowel and consonant teaches creating first graphical information).
Bacus and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus in view of Rose with the creating of first graphical information for Korean characters taught by Choi in order to create a calligraphy automatic generation system that enables users unfamiliar with illustration programs to produce and use calligraphy “more quickly, conveniently, and at a low cost with only simple tasks” (Choi Paragraph 1).
46. Regarding claim 20, Bacus in view of Rose and Choi teaches the limitations of claim 19. Bacus further teaches the apparatus further comprising an input unit configured to store graphical information corresponding to the basic object, wherein the graphical information corresponding to the basic object comprises any one of font graphical information, handwriting graphical information, or calligraphy graphical information (Paragraph 31 teaches each glyph has a font defined by an image. The glyph teaches a basic object. This font image teaches graphical information wherein the graphical information corresponding to the basic object comprises font graphical information; Paragraph 85 teaches the font data is stored in a data storage 214. The font data teaches graphical information corresponding to the basic object. This data storage teaches an input unit under broadest reasonable interpretation).
47. Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0078660 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bacus, in view of Rose et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0263117 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rose, and Choi (Korean Patent Publication No. 10187454 B1) as applied to claim 9 and 19 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. 102349506 B1).
48. Regarding claim 10, Bacus in view of Rose and Choi teaches the limitations of claim 9. However, Bacus, Rose, and Choi fail to teach the method wherein the creating of the first graphical information comprises, by using a system diagram in a form of a decision tree, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determining the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant, the system diagram in the form of the decision tree including information about a combination method considering spatial and morphological relationships of the initial consonant, the middle vowel, and the final consonant, the determining of the first factors of the middle vowel and the determining of the first factors of an initial consonant or the first factors of a final consonant being correspond to branching based on a probability in the system diagram in the form of the decision tree.
Lee teaches the method wherein the creating of the first graphical information comprises, by using a system diagram in a form of a decision tree, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determining the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant, the system diagram in the form of the decision tree including information about a combination method considering spatial and morphological relationships of the initial consonant, the middle vowel, and the final consonant (Paragraph 47-48 teaches the method can be applied on hangul characters which thus include the voxel and initial or final consonant; Paragraph 82-83 teaches a decision tree that decides where to place text, including hangul, on a background by assigning a probability to certain ranges. The probability assignment deciding the placement teaches a decision tree or system diagram that decides the placement. The claim does not define the combination method. Thus, the positioning of the hangul character teaches a combination method considering spatial relationships of the middle vowel, initial consonant, and final consonant; Paragraph 69 teaches the thickness of each character can be selected from a probability assigned to each thickness. This probability assignment deciding the thickness teaches a decision tree which decides which thickness or branch to select based on the probability. The claim does not define the combination method. Thus, the thickness of the hangul character teaches a combination method considering the morphological relationships of the middle vowel, initial consonant, and final consonant),
the determining of the first factors of the middle vowel and the determining of the first factors of an initial consonant or the first factors of a final consonant being correspond to branching based on a probability in the system diagram in the form of the decision tree (Paragraph 69 teaches the thickness of each character can be selected from a probability assigned to each thickness. This probability assignment deciding the thickness teaches a decision tree or system diagram which decides which thickness or branch to select based on the probability).
Bacus, Choi, and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus in view of Rose and Choi with the system diagram in the form of a decision tree determining the first factors of vowels and consonants in a Korean character taught by Lee in order to create automatically create images with diverse font effects and geometric transformations (Lee Paragraph 32).
49. Regarding claim 21, Bacus in view of Rose and Choi teaches the limitations of claim 19. However, Bacus, Rose, and Choi fail to teach the apparatus wherein the first basic object generator is further configured to, by using a system diagram in a form of a decision tree, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determine the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant, the system diagram in the form of the decision tree including information about a combination method considering spatial and morphological relationships of the initial consonant, the middle vowel, and the final consonant, the determining the first factors of the middle vowel and the determining the first factors of an initial consonant or the first factors of a final consonant being performed by branching based on a probability in the system diagram in the form of the decision tree.
Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the first basic object generator is further configured to, by using a system diagram in a form of a decision tree, after determining the first factors of the middle vowel, determine the first factors of the initial consonant or the first factors of the final consonant, the system diagram in the form of the decision tree including information about a combination method considering spatial and morphological relationships of the initial consonant, the middle vowel, and the final consonant (Paragraph 32 teaches a training data generation unit that creates images with diverse fonts. This teaches a first basic object generator; Paragraph 47-48 teaches the method can be applied on hangul characters which thus include the voxel and initial or final consonant; Paragraph 82-83 teaches a decision tree that decides where to place text, including hangul, on a background by assigning a probability to certain ranges. The probability assignment deciding the placement teaches a decision tree or system diagram that decides the placement. The claim does not define the combination method. Thus, the positioning of the hangul character teaches a combination method considering spatial relationships of the middle vowel, initial consonant, and final consonant; Paragraph 69 teaches the thickness of each character can be selected from a probability assigned to each thickness. This probability assignment deciding the thickness teaches a decision tree which decides which thickness or branch to select based on the probability. The claim does not define the combination method. Thus, the thickness of the hangul character teaches a combination method considering the morphological relationships of the middle vowel, initial consonant, and final consonant),
the determining the first factors of the middle vowel and the determining the first factors of an initial consonant or the first factors of a final consonant being performed by branching based on a probability in the system diagram in the form of the decision tree (Paragraph 69 teaches the thickness of each character can be selected from a probability assigned to each thickness. This probability assignment deciding the thickness teaches a decision tree or system diagram which decides which thickness or branch to select based on the probability).
Bacus, Choi, and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of randomly modifying character characteristics. Rose is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because it is in the same field of using random numbers from a random number generator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of creating first graphical information transformed from graphical information taught by Bacus in view of Rose and Choi with the system diagram in the form of a decision tree determining the first factors of vowels and consonants in a Korean character taught by Lee in order to create automatically create images with diverse font effects and geometric transformations (Lee Paragraph 32).
Conclusion
50. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eschbach et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0205569 A1) teaches defining glyphs through a matrix and random number generator.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/JAMES A THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615