DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 62-63 are cancelled and withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/6/2025.
Examiner notes that while subsequent applications may be filed for the non-elected cancelled claims, Examiner directs applicant to possible double patenting issues related to 18/111,057 and 18/114,078.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements received have been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. See the attached forms PTO-1449s.
The numerous references and materials listed on the submitted 158 sheets of the IDS's make it difficult to determine whether or not any of the references, or parts of the references, are material to applicants' claimed invention. It is noted that applicants, in their several IDS submissions, do not indicate any particular reference or parts of references which they deem "material" to the patentability of the pending claims under 37 CFR 1.56(b).
Applicants are reminded of the standard set forth in the leading inequitable conduct case of J.P. Stevens & Co. v. Lex Tex Ltd., 747 F.2d 1553, 223 USPQ 1089 (Nov. 9, 1984), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 73 (1985): Where none of the prior art cited during prosecution teaches a key element of the claim(s) and where a reference known to the applicants does, the applicants should know that reference is material. Thus, if applicants are aware of any cited reference from among the information disclosure(s) that are "material," applicants should make that reference known to the examiner. It appears the inventive concept for this application relates to the cantilevered arms coupled with specific mounting or locking features. Some of the supplied IDS documents are relevant, yet a multitude are submitted to what appears to be the general connector art. Some are entirely unrelated to the inventive concept.
It is also noted that a "misrepresentation is material if it makes it impossible for the Patent Office fairly to assess [the patent] application against the prevailing statutory criteria." In re Multidistrict-Litig. Involving Forst Patent, 540 F.2d 601, 604, 191 USPQ 241, 243 (3d Cir. 1976); see also Monsanto Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 456 F.2d 592, 600, 172 USPQ 323, 329 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 40'7 U.S. 934, 174 USPQ 129 (1972). And, the submission of voluminous documents in the instant information disclosure statements (here, in excess of 1,390 documents) make it difficult, and likely impossible, for the Patent Office to fairly assess applicants' application against the prevailing statutory criteria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: The X and Y-direction relationships. A Z-direction is claimed, however, the other two axes relationships are not defined. Examiner is left to guess and assume a Z-direction relationship.
Remaining claims are rejected on the basis of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0003785 to Raven et al. in view of US 2009/0148101 to Lu et al.
Raven discloses in the abstract and figure 5, a male plug optical connector and a conversion adapter for mating the male plug with a dissimilar connector:
The male plug optical connector (5) comprising:
A ferrule (46; figure 2) comprising a plurality of bores to receive one or more optical fibers (see unlabeled center portion in figure 9);
A nosepiece (front section in figure 5) with a front and rear portion where the rear portion has at least one cantilevered arm (61) and a ferrule backstop (the ferrule stops based upon formed structural recesses and edges such as in figure 2 as well as a locking member 7). Multiple chambers that define pockets are shown in figure 9;
A connector housing (sub-adapter 5) comprising a longitudinal passageway; and
A one-piece adapter (3) comprising a passageway capable of receiving a portion of the connector housing of the male plug connector therein, the one piece adapter comprising a female keyway on an outer surface (41; figure 4); and
As to claim 2, there are two arms (53 on both sides in figure 5).
As to claim 3, a locking feature associated with the housing (7 or 49).
Claim 4 is a re-worded independent claim which combines the features of claims 1-2 above. The rejection follows the disclosed respective features.
As to claims 5 and 7, the connector housing is made to receive the two cantilevered arms and a pass through for the ferrule (figure 2).
Independent claim 6 is a combination of the above claims 4-5 and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
Independent claim 8 appears to be a combination of claims 1 and 6 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
As to claim 9, “subtractive” features are shown in figure 4 (51).
Independent claim 10 appears to be a combination of claims 6 and 9 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
As to claim 11, a ramp with ledge is shown (49; figure 5).
Independent claim 12 appears to be a combination of claims 10 and 11 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
As to claim 19, a plug is disclosed.
As to claim 38, a fiber cable made of an optical fiber is disclosed (abstract).
As to claim 41, the connection is non-round.
As to claim 44, a connector boot is disclosed (portion 21 in figure 1).
In many of the claims, there exists language pertaining to male and female portions. For purposes of examination, the male portions such as 5 are considered male portions that are inserted into a corresponding portion such as 11 in figure 3.
However, Raven fails to explicitly disclose a coupling nut portion. It is noted that coupling nuts to secure a fiber cable end to a connector are commonly known and used in the art.
As to claim 13, specific limitation in movement is not disclosed, however, this movement would appear to fall within manufacturing tolerances of the device.
Independent claim 14 appears to be a combination of claims 12 and 13 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
As to claim 15, the prior art does not disclose the specific location of the female key. However, rearrangement would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Independent claim 16 appears to be a combination of claims 14 and 15 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
Claim 17 relates to additional male keying features not disclosed in Raven.
Independent claim 18 appears to be a combination of claims 16 and 17 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
Independent claim 10 appears to be a combination of claims 18 and 19 above and as such is rejected on a respective similar basis.
As to claims 21-22, threaded portions are not disclosed but are related to the threaded coupling nut taught by Lu below.
Claims 23-28 and 30-37 relate to alignment or locking key structure which is not arranged as claimed but is disclosed in Lu below.
Claim 39 relates to adhesives which Raven does not disclose.
Claim 40 recites well known strength members in optical fibers but not explicitly disclosed by Raven.
Claim 42 recites commonly known heat shrinks used in the art but not disclosed by Raven.
Claim 43 recites a ferrule boot commonly known in the art but not disclosed by Raven.
Claim 45 recites a biasing spring commonly known in the art but not disclosed by Raven.
Claims 46-61 recite method features of the above structural claims to define the general assembly or use of the structure.
Lu discloses such a threaded portion (52; figure 1) for an associated coupling nut (36) and with a tapered seat for optimally interfacing with different adapters and connectors such as in Figure 81 (also see column 1, lines 38-61). Lu also discloses many locations and arrangements for locking tabs, protrusions and associated locking features (figures 10, 12, 20-22, 30-31 and 43-46).
As to claim 29, the missing o-ring claimed is disclosed (49).
As to claim 39, adhesives are disclosed in paragraph 193 to secure internal components.
As to claim 40, strength members are disclosed in paragraph 3 as standard in optical fibers of the art.
As to claim 42, heat shrink common in the art is disclosed in paragraph 192.
As to claim 43, a ferrule boot portion (32; figure 9) is disclosed.
As to claim 45, a spring (102) is disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add threaded coupling nut portions with added supplementary features such as additional locking pockets, windows, arms, latches, adhesives and subsequent minor variants to a housing shape and the overall connector components as taught by Lu in Raven to secure the connector to an adapter.
Claims 46-61 recite method features of the above structural claims to define the general assembly or use of the structure. The use of anticipated structural features would therefore also be available to those having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7,744,286 to Lu (coupling but and cantilevered arms).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874