DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang (US 2009/0193676 A1) and in view of Matsuda (WO 2015/056416 A1) and further in view of Shen (US 2021/0404686 A1) and Liu (US 2021/0164685 A1) and Kim (WO 2019/004578 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Shengguang discloses a shoe care apparatus (see fig. 1 and abstract) including a main body (housing 10), a chamber formed in the main body (space within housing 10, see figs. 1-2), the chamber including an air inlet (inlet of duct 12 at the chamber) and an air outlet (outlet of duct 16 at the chamber); a first duct (duct 16) connected to the air outlet (see figs. 1-3); a second duct (duct 12 for supply air) connected to the first duct and the air inlet (see figs. 1-3); a holder (shoe holder 13 with shoe mold 14) arranged in the chamber to hold shoes to be cleaned (shoes 30 held by holder 13 within chamber, see fig. 2), the holder connected to the air inlet (holder 13 and mold 14 connected to the air inlet of the intake duct 12, see fig. 1); a fan (fan 21) configured to circulate air through the first return duct (16), the second air supply/intake duct (12), the holder (air moving through 13, 14, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 22), the chamber (space between mold 14 and duct 16, see fig. 1) and return to the first return duct (16, see fig. 1); and a controller (control circuit, see paragraphs 19-20) configured to control a heating device (23) to adjust heating operation for drying shoes (see paragraphs 19-20); wherein the controller (control circuit) is further configured to control the shoe heating operation to keep the temperature below an overheat protector temperature (see paragraphs 18-20).
However, Shengguang does not explicitly teach an evaporator and a condenser at the first duct; a compressor configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser; a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser; a control panel configured to obtain a user input; and the controller configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency, which is determined based on target and outside air temperatures and determine target temperature based on user input.
Matsuda discloses an apparel care apparatus (see figs. 2, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, 19-21 and abstract) comprising: a main body (housing 102); a chamber (drum compartment 104) formed in the main body (see fig. 2), the chamber including an air inlet (118) and an air outlet (117); a first duct (duct 119 for air ‘A, connected to outlet 117, see fig. 2) connected to the air outlet (see fig. 2), the first duct having an evaporator (evaporator 122) and a condenser (condenser 123) arranged inside (see fig. 2); a second duct (duct 119 for supply air, connected to inlet 118, see fig. 2) connected to the first duct and the air inlet (see fig. 2); a fan (fan 121) configured to circulate air through the first duct, the second duct, the chamber, and return to the first duct (see fig. 2); a compressor (compressor 125, see fig. 2) configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser (compressor 125 compresses refrigerant and supplies to the condenser 123, see fig. 2 and page 5, paragraph 1); a first temperature sensor (temperature sensor 133a) configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser (see fig. 2); a control panel (display unit 136 and operation unit 136a with plurality of buttons for selection, see fig. 5; page 6, paragraphs 4-5; and page 8, paragraph 3) configured to obtain a user input (user inputs/selects drying operation at the operation unit 136a, see page 6, paragraph 5); and a controller (control unit 135) configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency (controller 135 operates the compressor 125, see fig. 5, where an operation of the compressor is always at least at one operational frequency),
determine an operation frequency of the compressor (frequency at which compressor operates; Also see operation of the compressor motor is controlled, determined and stabilized, page 8, paragraphs 1-2 and page 23, paragraph 2) based on an outside air temperature (see page 10, paragraph 6, wherein operation of the compressor is based on ambient temperature T1),
determine and control an operation frequency of the compressor (frequency at which compressor operates during drying process is determined and preprogrammed in the controller 135) based on measured first heated air temperature (drying process, which includes compressor operation, based on the detected heated air temperature by sensor 133a and the desired/predetermined target temperature of the heated air, see page 7, paragraphs 4-8) and the target air temperature (compressor operation in drying mode based on the target/predetermined temperature, see page 7, paragraph 8 – page 8, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus of Shengguang by providing an evaporator and a condenser inside the first duct; a compressor configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser; a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser; a control panel configured to obtain a user input; and the controller configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency based on the teachings of Matsuda in order to appropriately vary heating/cooling temperature of airflow being supplied to the shoes/chambers along with controlling humidity to restrict the amount of moisture being injected to the shoe chamber during the drying process while allowing a user to set operational parameters that are executed by the controller as per the desires of the user.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach operating the compressor at an operation frequency that is determined based on target/sensed air temperatures and determining target temperature based on user input.
However, Shen teaches determining (setting) a target temperature based on the user input (user setting a set temperature through a remote controller (see paragraphs 71, 83) for an electronic controller to determine (establish) the set temperature by the user as the target temperature (see paragraphs 46, 71, 83; fig. 6); and a controller (electronic control device, see paragraphs 36, 44, 61) is configured to:
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on an outside air temperature (frequency of compressor 1 increased based on ambient temperature rising, see paragraph 46) at a start of operation of the apparatus (obtaining operation frequency of the compressor at the time of turning ON the air conditioning apparatus, see paragraphs 5-6),
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on sensed indoor/first air temperature (frequency of compressor 1 is determined to operate the compressor based on indoor temperature T1 sensed by temperature sensor 10a, see paragraph 38), and
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on determined set/target air temperature (operational frequency of compressor 1 is determined and adjusted based on the set temperature of the air conditioner 100, see paragraph 46),
wherein the controller is further configured to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor (compressor frequency increased or decreased from first set value to second set value, see paragraphs 10-12 and 16) so that the first temperature follows (approaches/reaches) the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature (compressor frequency increase/decrease in a case when indoor ambient temperature T1 is in the first/second temperature interval, see paragraphs 10-14, 37-40 and 44) and the first temperature maintains the target temperature (compressor 1 operated at low frequency to maintain T1 at or close to target Tsc temperature, see paragraph 72 and fig. 6); and
the controller is further configured to stop an operation of the compressor (compressor shut down, see paragraph 61 and figs. 3-5) after the operation frequency has been reduced to the preset minimum frequency (see compressor stopped (shutdown) at TP greater than te, fig. 4, after compressor frequency is reduced every T minutes and maintained for at least 5 seconds, paragraphs 53-54; Also see frequency limit compressor operation, figs. 4-5 to operate compressor at minimum frequency before shutting down the compressor; Also see paragraph 45, where compressor is cycled through multiple frequencies until minimum operating frequency is achieved and compressor is operated at this minimum operating frequency) and
in response to the first temperature reaching a preset second threshold temperature (see compressor 1 shut down at temperature T3>TP4, see paragraph 61 and fig. 5) and the operation frequency reaching a preset minimum frequency (see frequency limit compressor operation, figs. 4-5), and operate the compressor (compressor restarted, see paragraph 53 and 65) which has been stopped in response to the first temperature reduced below a preset third threshold temperature (compressor restarted when temperature Tp < 90, see paragraph 53; Also see compressor restart after stoppage due to T2<0 degrees, see paragraph 65).
In addition, Shen discloses that the controller is further configured to determine a temperature difference between the target temperature and the first temperature (see paragraph 11), determine a value of variation in the temperature difference at preset intervals (preset indoor temperature intervals at which indoor ambient temperature T1 and set temperature difference is determined, see paragraph 11), and determine a control value of the operation frequency corresponding to the temperature difference (first compressor frequency obtained, which corresponds to the temperature difference at one interval, see paragraph 11) and the value of variation in the temperature difference (obtain first compressor operation frequency corresponding to the temperature difference value between the indoor ambient temperature T1 and the set temperature, see paragraphs 11-12; Also see decreased operation frequency corresponding to temperature difference variation, paragraph 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus by reprogramming the controller of Shengguang as modified to determine a target temperature based on the user input; to determine an operation frequency of the compressor at a start of operation of the shore care apparatus, to operate the compressor at a controlled operation frequency that is determined based on target and sensed first air temperatures based on the teachings of Shen in order to establish a minimum operating frequency of the compressor to avoid unnecessary compressor shut down due to excessive temperature and to reliable operate the compressor while guaranteeing the cooling or heating performance of air conditioner, so as to ensure user comfort (see paragraph 6, Shen). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor so that the first temperature follows the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature; and stop an operation of the compressor in response to the first temperature reaching a preset second threshold temperature and after the operation frequency of the compressor has been reduced to the preset minimum frequency, and operate the compressor which has been stopped in response to the first temperature reduced below a preset third threshold temperature based on further teachings of Shen for the advantage of adjusting speed of operation of the compressor directly based on the air temperature increase, decrease and movement towards/away from second and third target or preset threshold values and in response to the frequency reaching minimum frequency because variation in compressor frequency aims to achieve a particular range of supply air temperature by controlling the compressor operation state while maintaining efficiency of the compressor operation.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach referring to a fuzzy table or adopting a fuzzy control.
However, Liu teaches a fuzzy logic control unit (see paragraphs 16-17), which is configured to calculate the temperature and determine conditions of operation (see paragraphs 66, 72-74) and calculate the difference between the indoor temperature and the set indoor threshold temperature (see paragraph 16), and wherein the fuzzy logic control unit refers to the indoor temperature difference stored in the fuzzy control process for determining heating/cooling conditions of operation (see paragraphs 66, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to perform a fuzzy control to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor so that the first temperature follows the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature based on the teachings of Liu in order to accommodate both increases and decrease in the operation frequency of the compressor so that the temperature follows the target value variations.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach referring to a fuzzy table.
However, Kim teaches referencing fuzzy table to calculate control value of the operation frequency of the compressor (see page 4, paragraph 4 and page 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus/method by reprogramming the controller of Shengguang as modified to refer a fuzzy table to establish a temperature difference and variation value based on the temperature difference between the indoor temperature and the threshold temperature based on the teachings of Kim in order to preserve values of the temperature difference variations that represent different compressor operation conditions, so as to refer and retrieve the establish operating frequency of the compressor for specific current temperature variations.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and Shen further discloses a third temperature sensor (10b) arranged on an inlet side of the evaporator (see fig. 1 and paragraph 27) and configured to measure temperature of the refrigerant (paragraph 35), wherein the controller is further configured to stop an operation of the compressor (paragraph 13) in response to the temperature of the refrigerant equal to or higher than a preset protection temperature (compressor turned off when T2 is equal to zero, see paragraph 13), and operate the compressor (compressor restarted, see paragraph 53 and 65) which has been stopped in response to the first temperature reduced below a preset third threshold temperature (compressor restarted when temperature Tp < 90, see paragraph 53; Also see compressor restart after stoppage due to T2<0 degrees, see paragraph 65).
In regards to claim 11, Shengguang discloses a method of controlling a shore care apparatus (see fig. 1 and abstract) including a main body (housing 10), a chamber formed in the main body (space within housing 10, see figs. 1-2), the chamber including an air inlet (inlet of duct 12 at the chamber) and an air outlet (outlet of duct 16 at the chamber); a first duct (duct 16) connected to the air outlet of the chamber (see figs. 1-3); a second duct (duct 12 for supply air) connected to the first duct and the air inlet of the chamber (see figs. 1-3); a holder (shoe holder 13 with shoe mold 14) arranged in the chamber to hold shoes to be cleaned (shoes 30 held by holder 13 within chamber, see fig. 2), the holder connected to the air inlet (holder 13 and mold 14 connected to the air inlet of the intake duct 12, see fig. 1); a fan (fan 21) configured to circulate air through the first return duct (16), the second air supply/intake duct (12), the holder (air moving through 13, 14, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 22), the chamber (space between mold 14 and duct 16, see fig. 1) and return to the first return duct (16, see fig. 1), and a controller (control circuit, see paragraphs 19-20), the method comprising:
controlling a heating device (23) to adjust heating operation for drying shoes (see paragraphs 19-20); wherein the controller (control circuit) is further configured to control the shoe heating operation to keep the temperature below an overheat protector temperature (see paragraphs 18-20).
However, Shengguang does not explicitly teach an evaporator and a condenser at the first duct; a compressor configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser; a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser; a control panel configured to obtain a user input; and the controller configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency, which is determined based on target and outside air temperatures and determine target temperature based on user input.
Matsuda discloses an apparel care apparatus (see figs. 2, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, 19-21 and abstract) comprising: a main body (housing 102); a chamber (drum compartment 104) formed in the main body (see fig. 2), the chamber including an air inlet (118) and an air outlet (117); a first duct (duct 119 for air ‘A, connected to outlet 117, see fig. 2) connected to the air outlet (see fig. 2), the first duct having an evaporator (evaporator 122) and a condenser (condenser 123) arranged inside (see fig. 2); a second duct (duct 119 for supply air, connected to inlet 118, see fig. 2) connected to the first duct and the air inlet (see fig. 2); a fan (fan 121) configured to circulate air through the first duct, the second duct, the chamber, and return to the first duct (see fig. 2); a compressor (compressor 125, see fig. 2) configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser (compressor 125 compresses refrigerant and supplies to the condenser 123, see fig. 2 and page 5, paragraph 1); a first temperature sensor (temperature sensor 133a) configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser (see fig. 2); a control panel (display unit 136 and operation unit 136a with plurality of buttons for selection, see fig. 5; page 6, paragraphs 4-5; and page 8, paragraph 3) configured to obtain a user input (user inputs/selects drying operation at the operation unit 136a, see page 6, paragraph 5); and a controller (control unit 135) configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency (controller 135 operates the compressor 125, see fig. 5, where an operation of the compressor is always at least at one operational frequency),
determine an operation frequency of the compressor (frequency at which compressor operates) based on an outside air temperature (see page 10, paragraph 6, wherein operation of the compressor is based on ambient temperature T1),
determine and control an operation frequency of the compressor (frequency at which compressor operates during drying process is determined and preprogrammed in the controller 135) based on measured first heated air temperature (drying process, which includes compressor operation, based on the detected heated air temperature by sensor 133a and the desired/predetermined target temperature of the heated air, see page 7, paragraphs 4-8) and the target air temperature (compressor operation in drying mode based on the target/predetermined temperature, see page 7, paragraph 8 – page 8, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care method of Shengguang by providing an evaporator and a condenser inside the first duct; a compressor configured to discharge a refrigerant to the condenser; a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first temperature of air heated by the condenser; a control panel configured to obtain a user input; and the controller configured to operate the compressor at an operation frequency based on the teachings of Matsuda in order to appropriately vary heating/cooling temperature of airflow being supplied to the shoes/chambers along with controlling humidity to restrict the amount of moisture being injected to the shoe chamber during the drying process while allowing a user to set operational parameters that are executed by the controller as per the desires of the user.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach operating the compressor at an operation frequency that is determined based on target/sensed air temperatures and determining target temperature based on user input.
However, Shen teaches determining (setting) a target temperature based on the user input (user setting a set temperature through a remote controller (see paragraphs 71, 83) for an electronic controller to determine (establish) the set temperature by the user as the target temperature (see paragraphs 46, 71, 83; fig. 6); and a controller (electronic control device, see paragraphs 36, 44, 61) is configured to:
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on an outside air temperature (frequency of compressor 1 increased based on ambient temperature rising, see paragraph 46) at a start of operation of the apparatus (obtaining operation frequency of the compressor at the time of turning ON the air conditioning apparatus, see paragraphs 5-6),
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on sensed indoor/first air temperature (frequency of compressor 1 is determined to operate the compressor based on indoor temperature T1 sensed by temperature sensor 10a, see paragraph 38), and
determine an operation frequency of the compressor, to operate/control the compressor, based on determined set/target air temperature (operational frequency of compressor 1 is determined and adjusted based on the set temperature of the air conditioner 100, see paragraph 46),
wherein the controller is further configured to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor (compressor frequency increased or decreased from first set value to second set value, see paragraphs 10-12 and 16) so that the first temperature follows (approaches/reaches) the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature (compressor frequency increase/decrease in a case when indoor ambient temperature T1 is in the first/second temperature interval, see paragraphs 10-14, 37-40 and 44) and the first temperature maintains the target temperature (compressor 1 operated at low frequency to maintain T1 at or close to target Tsc temperature, see paragraph 72 and fig. 6);
the controller is further configured to stop an operation of the compressor (compressor shut down, see paragraph 61 and figs. 3-5) after the operation frequency has been reduced to the preset minimum frequency (see compressor stopped (shutdown) at TP greater than te, fig. 4, after compressor frequency is reduced every T minutes and maintained for at least 5 seconds, paragraphs 53-54; Also see frequency limit compressor operation, figs. 4-5 to operate compressor at minimum frequency before shutting down the compressor; Also see paragraph 45, where compressor is cycled through multiple frequencies until minimum operating frequency is achieved and compressor is operated at this minimum operating frequency) and
in response to the first temperature reaching a preset second threshold temperature (see compressor 1 shut down at temperature T3>TP4, see paragraph 61 and fig. 5) and the operation frequency reaching a preset minimum frequency (see frequency limit compressor operation, figs. 4-5), and operate the compressor (compressor restarted, see paragraph 53 and 65) which has been stopped in response to the first temperature reduced below a preset third threshold temperature (compressor restarted when temperature Tp < 90, see paragraph 53; Also see compressor restart after stoppage due to T2<0 degrees, see paragraph 65); and
the controller is also configured to determine a temperature difference between the target temperature and the first temperature (see paragraph 11), determine a value of variation in the temperature difference at preset intervals (preset indoor temperature intervals at which indoor ambient temperature T1 and set temperature difference is determined, see paragraph 11), and determine a control value of the operation frequency corresponding to the temperature difference (first compressor frequency obtained, which corresponds to the temperature difference at one interval, see paragraph 11) and the value of variation in the temperature difference (obtain first compressor operation frequency corresponding to the temperature difference value between the indoor ambient temperature T1 and the set temperature, see paragraphs 11-12; Also see decreased operation frequency corresponding to temperature difference variation, paragraph 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus by reprogramming the controller of Shengguang as modified to determine a target temperature based on the user input; to determine an operation frequency of the compressor at a start of operation of the shore care apparatus, to operate the compressor at a controlled operation frequency that is determined based on target and sensed first air temperatures based on the teachings of Shen in order to establish a minimum operating frequency of the compressor to avoid unnecessary compressor shut down due to excessive temperature and to reliable operate the compressor while guaranteeing the cooling or heating performance of air conditioner, so as to ensure user comfort (see paragraph 6, Shen). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Shengguang as modified to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor so that the first temperature follows the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature; and stop an operation of the compressor in response to the first temperature reaching a preset second threshold temperature and after the operation frequency of the compressor has been reduced to the preset minimum frequency, and operate the compressor which has been stopped in response to the first temperature reduced below a preset third threshold temperature based on further teachings of Shen for the advantage of adjusting speed of operation of the compressor directly based on the air temperature increase, decrease and movement towards/away from second and third target or preset threshold values and in response to the frequency reaching minimum frequency because variation in compressor frequency aims to achieve a particular range of supply air temperature by controlling the compressor operation state while maintaining efficiency of the compressor operation.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach referring to a fuzzy table or adopting a fuzzy control.
However, Liu teaches a fuzzy logic control unit (see paragraphs 16-17), which is configured to calculate the temperature and determine conditions of operation (see paragraphs 66, 72-74); and further configured to calculate the difference between the indoor temperature and the set indoor threshold temperature (see paragraph 16), and wherein the fuzzy logic control unit refers to the indoor temperature difference stored in the fuzzy control process for determining heating/cooling conditions of operation (see paragraphs 66, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to perform a fuzzy control to increase or decrease the operation frequency of the compressor so that the first temperature follows the target temperature in response to the first temperature reaching a preset first threshold temperature based on the teachings of Liu in order to accommodate both increases and decrease in the operation frequency of the compressor so that the temperature follows the target value variations.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach referring to a fuzzy table.
However, Kim teaches referencing fuzzy table to calculate control value of the operation frequency of the compressor (see page 4, paragraph 4 and page 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus/method by reprogramming the controller of Shengguang as modified to refer a fuzzy table to establish a temperature difference and variation value based on the temperature difference between the indoor temperature and the threshold temperature based on the teachings of Kim in order to preserve values of the temperature difference variations that represent different compressor operation conditions, so as to refer and retrieve the establish operating frequency of the compressor for specific current temperature variations.
Claims 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang in view of Matsuda and Shen and Liu and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Ariga (WO 2017/138167 A1).
In regards to claims 6 and 16, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 except a current sensor configured to measure a compressor current, wherein the controller is further configured to control the operation frequency of the compressor so that the compressor current is equal to or less than a preset limit current.
However, Ariga teaches a current sensor (62) configured to measure a compressor current (see fig. 6 and page 5, paragraph 7), wherein the controller is further configured to control the operation frequency of the compressor so that the compressor current is equal to or less than a preset limit current (compressor 52 operated under load rotational speed to allow power, which is directly proportional to the current value, to be below the upper power threshold value, see page 6, paragraphs 6-8 and page 7, paragraphs 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus/method by reprogramming the controller of Shengguang as modified to include a current sensor configured to measure a compressor current, wherein the controller is further configured to control the operation frequency of the compressor so that the compressor current is equal to or less than a preset limit current based on the teachings of Ariga in order to prevent damaging the components of and around the compressor from working under overload conditions (see page, 2, paragraph 2, Ariga).
Claims 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang in view of Matsuda and Shen and Liu and Kim and Ariga as applied to claims 6 and 16 above and further in view of Isshiki (US 5,673,568 A).
In regards to claims 7 and 17, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claims 6 and 16 except determining compressor current at intervals and determining a control value of the operation frequency of the compressor corresponding to compressor current.
However, Isshiki teaches a current sensor (29) configured to measure a compressor current (see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 5-15), wherein the controller is further configured to control the operation frequency of the compressor so that the compressor current is equal to or less than a preset limit current (compressor speed adjusted according to current profile, see figs. 6-8); and a controller (60) configured to determine a current difference between the preset limit current and the compressor current at preset intervals (current pattern Ist and total current It1 are compared, see col. 9, lines 60-65, and fig. 7), and determine a control value of the operation frequency corresponding to the current difference (compressor rotation speed control according to the current difference, see col. 9, line 63 – col. 10, line 9) by referring to a current control table (current values of chart of figs. 7, 11 and 16, stored in memory of controller 60, see col. 4, lines 11-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the shoe care apparatus/method of Shengguang as modified to measure a compressor current, control the operation frequency of the compressor so that the compressor current is equal to or less than a preset limit current, determine a current difference between the limit current and the compressor current at preset intervals, and determine a control value of the operation frequency corresponding to the current difference by referring to a current control table based on the teachings of Isshiki in order to avoid large temperature fluctuations in the room/space due to inaccurate temperature calculations by calculating future compressor operation frequency/speed based on previous compressor operation frequency cycle, current consumption and current target values (see abstract, Isshiki).
Claims 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang in view of Matsuda and Shen and Liu and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Hamada (WO 2015/173868 A1).
In regards to claims 8 and 18, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and Matsuda further discloses a second temperature sensor (temperature detection unit 133b) configured to measure a second temperature of air having passed the air outlet (at the outlet 117, see fig. 2), wherein the second temperature measured at a beginning of operation of the apparel care apparatus (temperature detector 133b continuously detects temperature of the air passed outlet 117, including before, during and after apparel care operations, see page 6, paragraph 3; page 7, paragraph 8).
However, Shengguang does not explicitly teach determine the outside air temperature based on the second temperature sensor.
Hamada teaches a second temperature sensor (temperature sensor 1g) configured to measure a second temperature of air at the outlet of the heat source device (see fig. 2), wherein the controller (30, 40) is further configured to determine the outside air temperature based on the second temperature measured (temperature measured by sensor 1g used as outside air temperature, see page 6, paragraph 5, and figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus/method of Shengguang as modified by providing a second temperature sensor as taught by Hamada and configured to measure a second temperature of air passed the outlet and outside the apparatus, which is the ambient environment, in order to operate the shoe care apparatus efficiently while conserving energy by utilizing warm/hot outdoor air when hot and dry outdoor air is available for heating the show care apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the shoe care apparatus/method of Shengguang as modified to measure the second temperature using second temperature sensor to determine the outside air temperature based on the second measured temperature at a beginning of operation of the shoe care apparatus based on the teachings of Hamada in order to keep track of all the monitored temperature values at the controller and determine the ideal time periods for supply hot and dry outdoor air to the inside of the shoe care apparatus.
Claims 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang in view of Matsuda and Shen and Liu and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Yoo (US 2021/0401127 A1) and Zhang (US 2016/0242620 A1).
In regards to claims 9 and 19, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 except a sterilizer, and controller configured to operate fan and sterilizer for a time before and after drying.
However, Yoo teaches a sterilizer (steam generator 24 or sterilizer 212) arranged in the chamber or the first duct (24, 212 within casing 10, see fig. 1 and 11) and configured to sterilize air (supply sterilization steam, see paragraph 73), wherein a controller (240) is further configured to operate the fan (blower 22, fan 84, 150) and the sterilizer (24, 212) for a stabilization time before/after drying operation (sterilization operation performed at a time other than drying operation, see paragraph 22, 39, 73-74; claim 2; and figs. 20-21; Also see sterilization steam supplied through third supply portion, paragraphs 230-231 at a time different from drying operation, paragraphs 219-221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoe care apparatus/method of Shengguang as modified by providing a sterilizer arranged in the chamber or the first duct of the shoe care apparatus/method of Shengguang based on the teachings of Yoo and reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to operate the fan and the sterilizer for times before/after the drying operation, wherein compressor is operated in the drying operation, based on the teachings of Yoo in order to quickly and effectively dry and sterilize variety of shoe sizes within one shoe care apparatus without the conventional cumbersome and time consuming washing and drying operations where the moisture/odor may not be removed from all areas within the shoe.
Shengguang also does not explicitly teach a stabilization time before shoe drying.
However, Zhang teaches a shoe sterilizer (20, 60) and a main control circuit (40) configured to operate the sterilizer for a preset stabilization time (ozonizer 20 operated for a specific time period and repeated to eliminate odor and bacteria, see paragraph 49) before drying operation (after ozonizer operation, fan 10 operated to dry the shoe, see paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to operate the fan and the sterilizer for a preset stabilization time before drying operation based on the teachings of Zhang in order to provide limited amount of ozone that is necessary to remove odor, germs and bacteria within a prescribed time while not exceeding the allowed limit that my be harmful to human health and body (see paragraph 3, Zhang).
Claims 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengguang in view of Matsuda and Shen and Liu and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Koslar (WO 9619139 A1).
In regards to claims 10 and 20, Shengguang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 11 and Matsuda further teaches determining a target temperature based on a selection of apparel type (see page 11, paragraph 3) and a caring optimum temperature set by a user through control panel (see page 17, paragraph 3 and page 6, paragraphs 5-7).
However, Shengguang also does not explicitly teach determining/selecting temperature based on shoe type.
Koslar teaches a shoe drying process (see abstract and page 2, paragraph 2), wherein a temperature of the show drying device is set below a maximum temperature depending upon a type of shoe (see page 2, paragraph 4 and page 5, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Shengguang as modified to determine the target temperature based on a selection of a shoe type, where different shoes are made of different leathers, based on the teachings of Koslar for the advantage of protecting shoe leather from being damaged due to overheating by extremely high temperatures (see page 5, paragraph 2, Koslar).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Shen does not describe stopping a compressor after operation frequency has been reduced to minimum frequency in para 60-61 rather compressor stop is in response to first temperature reaching a second threshold temperature," examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1 and 11 and points out that the claimed minimum frequency, which represents an operational state of the compressor is equivalent to the constant interval or the frequency limiting interval of the compressor operation (see fig. 5, Shen) because frequency limiting also represents an operational state of the compressor before stopping the compressor and the compressor frequency limiting is followed by the compressor shutdown state (see fig. 5, Shen). In addition, the compressor, in Shen, is involved in a continuous operation of establishing a minimum frequency (see frequency reduction process, paragraph 53 and achieving minimum operation frequency of the compressor, paragraph 45). Also the electronic control device (see paragraph 36) of Shen stops (shuts down) the operation of the compressor (see compressor shutdown state above t7, fig. 3; between te and tf, fig. 4; and above TP4, fig. 5) after the frequency of the compressor has been limited/reduced within frequency limiting intervals just before shutting down the compressor (see figs. 3-5) and the compressor stop or shutdown state is directly following the compressor frequency reduction that is maintained for at least 5 or 9 seconds, paragraphs 53-54, 62). In addition, as pointed out by the applicant (page 11, Remarks), Shen discloses stopping the compressor in response to the first temperature reaching a shutdown interval, where the shutdown interval also begins at preset second threshold temperature (compressor 1 shut down at temperature T3>TP4, see paragraph 61 and fig. 5). Therefore, applicant’ above argument was not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763