Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102(a)2
Claim(s) 1-7,9-10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Wu et al (US 11937215 B2) hereinafter as Wu.
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 20, Wu discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), a resource pool for reception of a sidelink (SL)- positioning reference signal (PRS) (See Fig(s). 5, a plurality of sidelink communication resource pools and sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource pools, See ¶ 101, The assignment of the reserved SL-PRS resources may be indicated in the SL-PRS resource reservation message 516 sent by the reserving UE, or it may be determined based on a pre-determined rule.);
receiving a slot at the UE (See Fig(s). 2, 4 slot structures, See ¶ 46, occupying resources scheduled for ongoing slot transmissions for the same or for different UEs. Any number of resource blocks may be utilized within a subframe or slot.);
determining, by the UE, whether the slot comprises resources in the resource pool for the SL-PRS (See ¶ 100, the first UE may reserve resources within the SL-PRS resource pool in one slot for both itself and the second UE. In the frequency domain, the resources assigned to the respective UEs may span the entire bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource pool, or a sub-band thereof….also See ¶ 104, the SL-PRS time resource location 620 may be given explicitly as a frame/slot/symbol index indication.) ; and
decoding, by the UE, SL control information (SCI) of the slot using a first format that indicates SL-PRS resource allocation, in case that the slot comprises the resources in the resource pool (See Fig(s). 5, See ¶ 67, 75,92) The SCI-1 in the PSCCH 406 may be blind decoded at the receiving wireless communication device. ……. SCI-1 may include information for resource allocation of a sidelink resource and for decoding ….. See ¶ 84, in mode 2, resource allocation may be based on sidelink sensing, which includes SCI decoding and reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement., Further See Fig(s). 5, See ¶ 92, coordinated transmissions of SL-PRSs among a plurality of sidelink UEs may be performed without a need to measure the RSRP of the reservation signal (e.g., measure RSRP of reference signal associated with PSCCH transmission, where the PSCCH carries the SCI-1) and without a need for changes (e.g., to support SL-PRS resource reservation) to the SCI-1. For example, according to one aspect (related to SL-PRS resource reservation message decoding only), if a SL-PRS resource (e.g., the subset 514 of resources) within the SL-PRS resource pool (e.g., SL-PRS resource pool 512b) was indicated as being reserved by a decoded SL-PRS resource reservation message (e.g., SL-PRS resource reservation message 516) transmitted by a first UE).
Further with respect to claim 20, Wu discloses See Fig(s). 10 a memory 1005 and processor 1004.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Wu discloses further comprising decoding, by the UE, the SCI using a second format for a physical SL shared channel (PSSCH), in case that the slot does not comprise the resources in the resource pool (See ¶ 67-68, four different SCI-2 formats may be supported. SCI-1 may include other information that is useful for establishing and decoding a PSSCH resource.).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Wu discloses wherein the resource pool is configured or preconfigured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (See ¶ 63, A radio resource control (RRC) configuration of the resource pools may be either pre-configured (e.g., a factory setting on the UE determined).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Wu discloses wherein decoding the SCI using the first format indicates time and frequency resource allocation information of the SL-PRS including an SL-PRS resource element offset and a comb size in a frequency domain, and a starting symbol of the SL-PRS and a symbol length in a time domain (See Fig(s). 2, see resource grid 204, See ¶ 43, An RE, which is 1 subcarrier x 1 symbol, is the smallest discrete part of the time—frequency grid, and contains a single complex value representing data from a physical channel or signal. Depending on the modulation utilized in a particular implementation, each RE may represent one or more bits of information.).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Wu discloses wherein the SCI is in a physical SL control channel (PSCCH) portion of the slot, and the PSCCH portion occupies a first two symbols or a first three symbols of the slot (See ¶ 67, SCI-1 may be transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)…. See ¶ 71).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Wu discloses wherein a portion of the SCI is in an SL-PRS portion of the slot, and symbols containing the portion of the SCI are multiplexed with SL-PRS symbols in time (See Fig(s). 8, See ¶ 106, The SL-PRS frequency resource indicator 624 may be a parameter indicating whether the SL-PRS occupies an entire frequency resource of the SL-PRS resource pool or a portion thereof. ).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Wu discloses wherein the PSCCH portion is repeated in a frequency domain of the slot (See ¶ 75).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Wu discloses wherein a first symbol at a beginning of the slot is for automatic gain control (AGC) training for the SL-PRS, and the first symbol is a repetition of a first SL-PRS symbol or a repetition of a first PSCCH symbol (See ¶ 76, See Fig(s). 4).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Wu discloses wherein the resources of the slot are shared by a plurality of UEs (See ¶ 149, The SL-PRS resource reservation message transmitting/receiving circuitry 1044 may further be configured to reserve a different SL-PRS resource identified in a different SL-PRS resource reservation message for use by another wireless communication device and/or reserve the first SL-PRS resource in the first SL-PRS resource reservation message for a shared use by the wireless communication device and another wireless communication device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 11937215 B2) hereinafter as Wu in view of Yoshioka et al (US 20220279451 A1) hereinafter as Yoshioka.
Regarding claim(s) 8, Yoshioka discloses wherein a transmission power for a symbol containing the PSCCH portion and repetition of the PSCCH portion is equal to that of other symbols in the slot (See ¶ 101, the transmit power between the symbols is kept constant in one slot. For example, in FIG. 12, when the total transmit power allocated to one symbol is P in a portion where PSCCH and PSSCH are multiplexed, the total transmit power allocated to one symbol is P in the portion where the CSI-RS and PSSCH of the slot in FIG. 12 are multiplexed.). If the power is changed during the interval of one slot, it takes time for the RF device to change the power and a problem occurs on transmission characteristics of the RF device and therefore constant values are considered.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yoshioka within Wu, so to avoid power change transmission issues in the RF device and maintain constant power values for each slot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First off, Examiner requests changing of claim label from “Withdrawn” to “Cancelled” for claims 11-19.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. § 102(a) rejection of Claim(s) 1-7,9-10, Applicant contends inter alia “…The Office Action cites the SCI-1 format in Wu as allegedly corresponding to the claimed "first format." However, SCI-1 is a single, generic sidelink control format transmitted on PSCCH for general sidelink operations, including data transmission and sensing. While Wu discloses a sidelink positioning reference signal, SCI-1 does not indicate SL-PRS resource allocation, nor does SCI-1 define or signal a control-information format that is used to indicate allocation of SL-PRS resources when a slot comprises resources in a resource pool…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, First off, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Examiner fails to understand what is meant by “SCI-1 is a single generic sidelink control format”. One of skill readily appreciates that SCI provides essential control information related to resource allocation, scheduling, and coordination for devices of interest. That being stated, one of skill in the art understands that SCI-1 is a format while sent on PSCCH provides control information for the Rx UE. Wu explicitly discloses the use of SCI-1 format throughout the reference.
Second, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
To establish a case of patentability (against an Office Action), the Applicant must provide some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the conclusion that the cited reference(s) fails to teach/suggest the contended limitation(s). The Applicant must do more than merely "recite" each limitation and claim as being not taught within the referenced art(s).
Merely stating that “Wu does not indicate SL-PRS resource allocation” does not suffice in overcoming the reference. Applicant is advised a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention." MPEP §2141.02.VI, (Rev. 6, Sept. 2007) (citing W.L. Gore & Assoc. v. Garlock, Inc., 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984)). Thus, Examiner asserts that Wu clearly discloses SL-PRS resource allocation within the SCI-1 format (See Fig(s). 5, See ¶ 92, coordinated transmissions of SL-PRSs among a plurality of sidelink UEs may be performed without a need to measure the RSRP of the reservation signal (e.g., measure RSRP of reference signal associated with PSCCH transmission, where the PSCCH carries the SCI-1) and without a need for changes (e.g., to support SL-PRS resource reservation) to the SCI-1. For example, according to one aspect (related to SL-PRS resource reservation message decoding only), if a SL-PRS resource (e.g., the subset 514 of resources) within the SL-PRS resource pool (e.g., SL-PRS resource pool 512b) was indicated as being reserved by a decoded SL-PRS resource reservation message (e.g., SL-PRS resource reservation message 516) transmitted by a first UE).
While Examiner believes all of Applicant’s contentions have been appropriately addressed in this Office Action, however, the arguments made above are not intended to be exhaustive, and therefore nothing in this Action should be construed as an intent to concede with any issue with regard to any claim, except as specifically stated in this Office Action.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasoning’s’ Examiner asserts the cited references either alone or in combination teach/suggest limitations of claims 1-10,20 and therefore the rejection to said claims is sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411