DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “utility grid” of claim 2 and the “transfer switch” and “smart panel” of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: In regards to claim 8, neither the “transfer switch” nor the “smart panel” are described within the specification and are lacking the requisite support for the claimed subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “by utility grid”, the examiner believes this is a typographical error and suggests changing it to “by a utility grid”. The claim also recites “vehicle is charged by” which the examiner believes is also a typographical error and recommends changing it to “the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa US 20200130520 in view of Kim et al. US 20230025134.
With regards to claim 1 Ichikawa discloses, an Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) [Figs 1, 3, and 7] connecting
a vehicle [Fig 1 vehicle 200] to
a house [Fig 1 power feeding facility 300 ¶36 “house”] via
a first input line [Fig 1 T11-T51 and Fig 7 T31-T41] and
a second input line [Fig 1 T12-T52 and Fig 7 T32-T42],
the first input line comprising a first contactor [fig 7 switch 151],
the second input line comprising a second contactor [fig 7 switch 152], the EVSE comprising:
an auxiliary power supply [fig 7 power supply circuit 120 which includes a secondary battery as in ¶66];
a third input line connecting the second input line on the vehicle side of the EVSE to neutral at the house [fig 7 line including switch 172, where neutral of the house corresponds to this terminal of the electrical outlet 180],
wherein the third line comprises a fourth contactor [fig 7 switch 172 where the 3rd line is neutral which is part of the standard wall outlet of a house];
wherein one or more of the first, second, third, and fourth contactors can be operated to provide bi-directional charging between the vehicle and housing [¶76 “Power conversion circuit PC2 in power conversion apparatus 100A is configured to perform bidirectional power conversion”]; and
wherein a charge coupler on the EVSE includes only two AC power pins for connecting to a charge port of the vehicle [fig 4 and 7 T31 and T32 AC power pins].
Ichikawa fails to disclose a third contactor configured to connect the first and second input lines at a house side of the EVSE, to support split phase power and provide loads from the vehicle to the house.
However, Kim discloses, a third contactor configured to connect the first and second input lines at a house side of the EVSE, to support split phase power and provide loads from the vehicle to the house [Fig 2 and 3a the switch between L1 and L2 just to the left of the input filter 260].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging equipment of Ichikawa and Kim to include bidirectional power in order to improve energy resilience and provide backup power.
With regards to claim 2 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein when the house is powered by utility grid, vehicle is charged by setting the third contactor in a first position [Kim fig 3a where the switch between L1 and L2 is in a “first position”] to allow the second input line to be connected to the second contactor and setting the fourth contactor in an open position [Ichikawa fig 7 switch 172 open, which would allow vehicle charging via the grid].
With regards to claim 3 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the EVSE is configured to communicate with the vehicle when grid power is unavailable for the house, wherein power for the communication is derived from an onboard energy source or from the auxiliary power supply [Ichikawa discloses a battery within the EVSE that would supply power to the equipment in the event of grid failure].
With regards to claim 4 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 3 wherein the auxiliary power supply comprises a rechargeable lithium-ion battery [Ichikawa fig 7 power supply circuit 120 includes a secondary battery as in ¶66] and an optional AC input that connects to the first and second input lines on the vehicle [Fig 7 and ¶66 “Power supply circuit 120 may generate the driving power of controller 111 using electric power of a secondary battery (not shown) in main body portion 101, or may generate the driving power of controller 111 using electric power flowing between AC inlet 102 and DC connector 103 (more particularly, between terminals T31 and T32 and terminals T41 and T42)].
With regards to claim 7 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the EVSE is configured to close the first contactor and the fourth contactor [Ichikawa fig 7 switches 151 and 152 closed] and set the third contactor in a second position [Kim fig 3a switch between L1 and L2 set to second position] to allow the second contactor to be connected to the first contactor to power the house using a power source in the vehicle when grid power is unavailable [the combination of switches being opened/closed would allow the power from the vehicle to be utilized by the house while grid power in unavailable].
With regards to claim 8 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the EVSE is configured to communicate with a transfer switch [Ichikawa fig 7 switches 161/162 which control power distribution between the power source, vehicle, and house/loads] or smart panel when grid power is unavailable to the house.
With regards to claim 9 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the charge coupler comprises 2 DC power pins [Ichikawa fig 7 DC connector 103 with DC pins T41 and T42]; and
wherein the EVSE is configured to utilizes one of the 2 DC power pins of the charge coupler to provide neutral to a split phase power application [fig 7 line including switch 172 connected to DC pin T42, where neutral of the house corresponds to this terminal of the electrical outlet 180].
Claims 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa US 20200130520 in view of Kim et al. US 20230025134 further in view of Harper et al. US 20160144728.
With regards to claim 5 Ichikawa in view of Kim fails to disclose, the EVSE of claim 3, wherein the auxiliary power supply comprises a control pilot line configured to allow the EVSE to draw power from the vehicle, wherein the control pilot line is powered by a vehicle side supply through a blocking diode.
However, Harper discloses, the EVSE of claim 3, wherein the auxiliary power supply comprises a control pilot line [fig 2 pilot driver circuit 252] configured to allow the EVSE to draw power from the vehicle,
wherein the control pilot line is powered by a vehicle side supply through a blocking diode [Fig 2 diode D1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Ichikawa in view of Kim with Harper to include the general electrical components in order to improve the safety and regulation of the electrical system.
With regards to claim 6 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 5, wherein the auxiliary power supply on the EVSE connects to the control pilot line through a MOSFET [Harper fig 2 switches S4/S9].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary power supply comprises a battery [Harper fig 2 power source 248];
control circuits [Harper fig 2 charge circuit 244 supply circuit 246];
a battery controller configured to power up the control circuits through the battery controller [Harper fig 2 charge circuit 244 supply circuit 246].
With regards to claim 11 the combination discloses, the EVSE of claim 10 wherein an AC input connecting the auxiliary power supply to the first input line can supply power from the battery to configure the contactors of the EVSE when the utility grid is unavailable to the house [Harper fig 2 where the power supply is coupled to the AC input and ¶56 “The supply circuit 246 is also electrically coupled to the power source 248 and configured to supply electrical power from the power source 248 to the other components of the electronic circuitry 240 when the EVSE 210 is uncoupled from the first coupler 232” where uncoupled reasonably reads on the grid being unavailable].
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859