DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/24/2024 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 forms).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,592,489 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiley et al. [US Patent Number 6,031,354; hereinafter “Wiley”].
Regarding claim 1, Wiley teaches an energy management system, comprising:
one or more local units associated with energy storage devices configured to store and discharge electric energy for powering one or more loads (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27), the one or more local units configured to (multiplexers - C17L9-17) compare values of one or more operating parameters of the energy storage devices with at least a first setpoint value (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) and to generate an output signal representative of a comparison of the one or more operating parameters with the at least the first setpoint value (alarm – a visual and/or audible indication - C6L20-30); and
a monitoring unit operably coupled with the one or more local units (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27), the monitoring unit configured to receive the comparison of the one or more operating parameters with the first setpoint value from the one or more local units, the comparison representing a number of the energy storage devices having the values of the one or more operating parameters that are outside of a designated range associated with the at least the first setpoint value (monitored parameters of an individual cell exceeding (or falling below) a predetermined set point, may have two set point values - C6L20-30),
the monitoring unit configured to generate and output a time-varying, repeating signal (figure 7 - C19L25-43) that is based on the comparison of the one or more operating parameters with the first setpoint value and that has one or more characteristics indicative of the number of the energy storage devices having the values of the one or more operating parameters that are outside of the designated range (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) (C11L10-32).
Regarding claim 2, Wiley teaches the one or more local units include a first local unit configured to compare voltages of the energy storage devices with one or more of an upper voltage threshold or a lower voltage threshold as the at least the first setpoint value (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 3, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to load balance one or more of the energy storage devices by charging or discharging the one or more of the energy storage devices (C21L13-20) based on the time-varying, repeating signal value (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 4, Wiley teaches the one or more local units include a first local unit configured to compare temperatures of the energy storage devices with one or more of an upper temperature threshold or a lower temperature threshold as the at least the first setpoint value (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 5, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to change the temperatures of one or more of the energy storage devices based on the time-varying, repeating signal (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 6, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include an amplitude of the time-varying, repeating signal (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 7, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include a frequency of the time-varying, repeating signal (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 8, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit includes an oscillator circuit configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal as an oscillating signal (figure 7, various capacitors are shown - C19L25-43).
Regarding claim 9, Wiley teaches an energy management system, comprising:
one or more local units associated with battery cells configured to store and discharge voltage (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27), the one or more local units multiplexers - C17L9-17) configured to compare one or more operating parameters of the battery cells with a designated range associated with a setpoint value (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) and to generate an output signal representative of a number of the one or more operating parameters that are outside of the designated range (alarm – a visual and/or audible indication - C6L20-30); and
a monitoring unit configured to receive a comparison between the one or more operating parameters with the designated range from the one or more local units (monitored parameters of an individual cell exceeding (or falling below) a predetermined set point, may have two set point values - C6L20-30), the monitoring unit configured to generate and output a time-varying, repeating signal (figure 7, various capacitors are shown - C19L25-43) having one or more characteristics that are based on the number of the battery cells having the one or more operating parameters that are outside of the designated range (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) (C11L10-32).
Regarding claim 10, Wiley teaches the one or more local units are configured to compare voltages of the battery cells with the designated range (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 11, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to change a state of charge of one or more of the battery cells based on the one or more characteristics of the time-varying, repeating signal (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 12, Wiley teaches the one or more local units are configured to compare temperatures of the battery cells with the designated range (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 13, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to change the temperatures of one or more of the battery cells based on the one or more characteristics of the time-varying, repeating signal (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 14, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include an amplitude of the time-varying, repeating signal (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 15, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include a frequency of the time-varying, repeating signal (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 16, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit includes an oscillator circuit (figure 7 - C19L25-43)configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal as an oscillating signal (C10L1-5) (C17L1-7) (C19L7-24) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 17, Wiley teaches an energy management system, comprising:
one or more local units associated with battery cells, the one or more local units configured to (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27) compare one or more operating parameters of the battery cells with a designated range associated with a setpoint value (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) and to generate an output signal representative of a number of the one or more operating parameters that are outside of the designated range (alarm – a visual and/or audible indication - C6L20-30); and
a monitoring unit configured (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27) to receive a comparison of the one or more operating parameters with the designated range from the one or more local units (monitored parameters of an individual cell exceeding (or falling below) a predetermined set point, may have two set point values - C6L20-30), the monitoring unit configured to generate and output a time-varying, repeating signal (figure 7 - C19L25-43) having one or more characteristics that are based on the number of the battery cells having the one or more operating parameters that are outside of the designated range (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) (C11L10-32),
the monitoring unit configured to test the one or more local units for failure by changing the setpoint value and monitoring for changes in the output signal from the one or more local units (test - C25L50-56) (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 18, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include an amplitude of the time-varying, repeating signal (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 19, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit is configured to generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal with the one or more characteristics that include a frequency of the time-varying, repeating signal (figure 12J, C25L35-44) (figure 3, C16L3-23) (figure 4 controller unit and multiplexer/load unit of the battery monitoring system – C16L24-27).
Regarding claim 20, Wiley teaches the monitoring unit includes an oscillator circuit configured to (figure 7 - C19L25-43) generate and output the time-varying, repeating signal as an oscillating signal (calculated parameter exceeds red set point – C10L35-41) (C11L10-32).
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ghotra et al. (US Patent Number 10,181,724 B2) discloses a power conversion system for transitioning between different control modes in a first control mode where a first setpoint for operating the inverter and a second control mode where a second setpoint used for operating the inverter;
Sengupta et al. (US Patent Number 5,838,141) discloses a method for generating a continuously variable reference signal for controlling battery cell charging.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857