DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on October 14, 2025, have been entered.
The previously raised claim objections have been withdrawn in light of the amendment submitted by the Applicant on October 14, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20110239390 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Secrets & Tricks Video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikCTkVlmoIw, hereinafter, S.T Video).
Claim 14. Park discloses a method for grasping a hairbrush (Fig 1and 3 and ¶0077-0078. Method of grasping the hairbrush shown in Fig 2 through the curved recess 2c and 7b), comprising: a recess (Fig 2, recesses 2c on both side of the head of the hairbrush, and ¶0077. recess 2c is a slip stopper in a practical aspect where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 2c) in a periphery of a head of the hairbrush (Fig 2, periphery of the head base part 2 of the hairbrush along recesses 2c and peak parts 2d), adjacent to a handle (Fig 2, handle 7) of the hairbrush (Fig 2); and a recess (Fig 2, 7b) in the handle of the hairbrush (Fig 2); and wrapping at the least one other finger around the handle of the hairbrush (¶0077-0078, recess 7b is functions as a slip stopper as the case of the base part 2, where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 7b when the user grips the periphery of the handle).
Park is silent to simultaneously grasping periphery of a head of the hairbrush and adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush with a thumb; and the handle of the hairbrush with at least one other finger.
S.T Video teaches a method of detangling hair (Video) including simultaneously grasping periphery of a head of the hairbrush and adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush with a thumb (annotated Fig 1, A. @ 2:20); and the handle of the hairbrush with at least one other finger (annotated Fig 1, B. @ 2:20) to provide an efficient grip of the head and the handle of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair in order to meet the user needs and preference.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the hairbrush with the recesses in the periphery of the head and the handle of Park’s hairbrush to simultaneously grasp periphery of a head of the hairbrush and adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush with a thumb; and the handle of the hairbrush with at least one other finger, as taught by the S.T Video, to provide an efficient grip of the head and the handle of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair in order to meet the user needs and preference.
Claims 15-16. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 14. Park further teaches a first recess on a first side of the head (annotated Fig 2, A. recess 2c) and a second recess on a second side of the head (annotated Fig 2, B. recess 2c); but silent to grasping the recess with the thumb comprises simultaneously grasping a first recess on a first side of the head of the hairbrush with the finger and a second recess on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with the thumb; the finger in grasping the first recess is an index finger.
S.T video further teaches simultaneously grasping on a first side of the head of the hairbrush with the finger (annotated Fig 2, C. @ 2:46) and on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with the thumb (annotated Fig 2, A, @ 2:46), the finger in grasping the first recess is an index finger (annotated Fig 2, C. @ 2:46) to provide an efficient grip of the head of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair and meet the user’s needs and preference; and to provide an alternative grasp of the hairbrush head during use.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the hairbrush with the first and second recess on the peripheries of the head of Park’s hairbrush to simultaneously grasp on a first side of the head of the hairbrush with the index finger and on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with the thumb, as taught by S.T video, to provide an efficient grip of the head of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair and meet the user’s needs and preference; and to provide an alternative grasp of the hairbrush head during use.
Claim 17. Park and S.T video teach the invention of claim 15. Park and S.T Video further teach the finger in grasping the first recess is a middle finger (annotated Fig 3. D. @1:55).
Claims 18-19. Park and S.T video teach the invention of claim 14. Park is silent simultaneously placing another finger in an indention in a back surface of the head of the hairbrush; wherein the another finger in the indentation is an index finger.
Park further teaches an indention in a back surface of the head (Fig 3 and ¶0071. depressions located in the rear face 2a of the head).
S.T Video teaches a method of detangling hair (Video) including simultaneously placing an index finger in a back surface of the head (annotated Fig 4, E. @ 1:05) to efficiently grip the head of the hairbrush in order to detangle the user’s hair. Thus, would also provide an alternative grasping of the hairbrush to meet the user’s needs and preference while brushing the hair.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the hairbrush with the indentation in the back surface of the head of Park’s hairbrush and place the index finger in a back surface of the head, as taught by S.T Video, to efficiently grip the head of the hairbrush in order to detangle the user’s hair. Thus, would also provide an alternative grasping of the hairbrush to meet the user’s needs and preference while brushing the hair.
Claim 20. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 14. Park further teaches said wrapping the at least one other finger includes placing a portion of the at least one other finger in a recess on a side of the handle (Fig 2, recess through part 7b on a side of handle 7) (¶0077-0078, fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 7b when the user grips the periphery of the handle and functions as a slip stopper); an enlarged middle portion of the handle (annotated Fig 2, G).
Park is silent to resting a tip of the at least one other finger on an enlarged middle portion of the handle.
S.T Video teaches a method of detangling hair (Video) including resting a tip of the finger on a portion of the handle (annotated Fig 5, F. @1:17) to efficiently grip the handle of the hairbrush while detangling user’s hair in order to meet the user’s needs while brushing the hair.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the handle with its recess on a side and its enlarged middle portion of Park’s hairbrush and to rest a tip of the finger on a portion of the handle, as taught by S.T Video. Thus, would allow the user to rest the tip of another finger on the enlarge middle portion of the handle to efficiently grip the handle of the hairbrush while detangling the user’s hair in order to meet the user’s needs while brushing the hair.
Claim 21. Park discloses a method for grasping a hairbrush (Fig 1and 3 and ¶0077-0078. Method of grasping the hairbrush shown in Fig 2 through the curved recess 2c and 7b), comprising: a first recess (Fig 2, recesses 2c on both side of the head of the hairbrush, and ¶0077. recess 2c is a slip stopper in a practical aspect where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 2c) in a first side of a periphery of a head of the hairbrush adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush (Fig 2, periphery of the head base part 2 of the hairbrush along recesses 2c and peak parts 2d); a second recess (Fig 2, 2c) in a second side of the periphery of the head of the hairbrush adjacent to the handle of the hairbrush (Fig 2); and a recess ( Fig 2, 7b) in the handle of the hairbrush; and wrapping the at least one third finger around the handle of the hairbrush (¶0078, recess 7b is functions as a slip stopper as the case of the base part 2, where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 7b when the user grips the periphery of the handle).
Park is silent to simultaneously grasping a first side of a periphery of a head of the hairbrush adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush with a first finger or a thumb; a second side of the periphery of the head of the hairbrush adjacent to the handle of the hairbrush with a second finger, handle of the hairbrush with at least a third finger.
S.T Video teaches a method of detangling hair (Video) including simultaneously grasping a first side of a periphery of a head of the hairbrush adjacent to a handle of the hairbrush with a thumb (annotated Fig 6, G. @ 2:20); a second side of the periphery of the head of the hairbrush adjacent to the handle of the hairbrush with a second finger (annotated Fig 6, H. @ 2:20), handle of the hairbrush with at least a third finger (annotated Fig 6, I. @ 2:20) to provide an efficient grip of the head and the handle of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair and control the hairbrush in order to meet the user needs and preference.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the hairbrush of Park with first and second recesses on the peripheries of the head of the hairbrush and the recess on its handle; and simultaneously grasp thumb on first side of periphery of the hairbrush head, second finger on second side of periphery of the hairbrush, and on the handle of the hairbrush with a third finger; as taught by S.T Video. Such arrangement would provide an efficient grip of the head and the handle of the hairbrush to efficiently detangle the user’s hair and control the hairbrush in order to meet the user needs and preference.
Claim 22. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 21, and further teach the thumb grasps the first recess (annotated Fig 6 above, G. @ 2:20).
Claim 23. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 22, and further teach the second finger grasping the second recess is an index finger (annotated Fig 2 above, C. @ 2:46)
Claim 24. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 22, and further teach the second finger grasping the second recess is a middle finger (annotated Fig 6 above, H. @ 2:20).
Claims 25-26. Park and S.T Video teach the invention of claim 24. Park is silent to simultaneously placing another finger in an indentation in a back surface of the head of the hairbrush; wherein the another finger in the indentation is an index finger.
Park further teaches an indention in a back surface of the head (Fig 3 and ¶0071. depressions located in the rear face 2a of the head).
S.T Video teaches a method of detangling hair (Video) including simultaneously placing an index finger in a back surface of the head (annotated Fig 4 below, E. @ 1:05) to efficiently grip the head of the hairbrush in order to detangle the user’s hair. Thus, would also provide an alternative grasping of the hairbrush to meet the user’s needs and preference while brushing the hair.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the hairbrush with the indentation in the back surface of the head of Park’s hairbrush and place the index finger in a back surface of the head, as taught by S.T Video, to efficiently grip the head of the hairbrush in order to detangle the user’s hair. Thus, would also provide an alternative grasping of the hairbrush to meet the user’s needs and preference while brushing the hair.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 14, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that: Park does not expressly or inherently describe grasping a trough part 2c in the base part 2 with a finger or a thumb while simultaneously grasping a trough part 7b in the handle 7 with another finger. Park also lacks any express or inherent description of wrapping a finger that enters a trough part 7b around the handle 7.
In response: Park teaches the recesses (Fig 2, 2c) on both sides of the peripheries of the head of the hairbrush, and recess (Fig 2, 7b) in the handle, wrapping at the least one other finger around the handle of the hairbrush (¶0077-0078, recess 7b is functions as a slip stopper as the case of the base part 2, where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 7b when the user grips the periphery of the handle). S.T videos teaches simultaneously grasping the side of the periphery of the head of the hairbrush with a thumb (see annotated Fig 1 above, A), while simultaneously grasping the handle with another finger (see annotated Fig 1 above, B). The combination of the structure of the hairbrush with the recesses of Park’s device with the method of using the hairbrush taught by ST. Video meet the claimed limitations above.
Applicant remark and argument: Secrets & Tricks does not provide any express teaching about how to grasp a hairbrush or, more specifically, regarding grasping specific portions of the hairbrush with an individual ' s fingers and a thumb; Secrets & Tricks does not teach or suggest (or show) simultaneously grasping a first recess on a first side of a hairbrush with a finger or grasping a second recess on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with a thumb.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. ST. Video clearly shows grasping the hairbrush while detangling and brushing the user’s hair (see S.T Video) and shows simultaneously grasping of a first side of the hairbrush with a finger (annotated Fig 2 above, C), grasping a second side of the head of the hairbrush with a thumb (annotated Fig 2 above, A).
Park teaches the first and second recesses (Fig 2, 2c) on the first and second sides of the peripheries of the hairbrush. The combination of the structure of the hairbrush of Park’s device with the method of using the hairbrush taught by ST. Video meet the claimed limitations above.
Applicant remark and argument: Park does not teach or suggest that any of the curved trough parts 2c can be grasped by an individual ' s thumb.
In response: Park teaches hairbrush with recesses (Fig 2, 2c) on the side of the periphery of the hairbrush (Fig 2) as a slip stopper in a practical aspect where fingers of the user easily enter the curved trough part 2c when the user grips the periphery of the base part (¶0077). S.T Video shows grasping side of the periphery of the hairbrush by an individual’s thumb (annotated Fig 1 above, A). The combination of the structure of the hairbrush of Park’s device with the method of using the hairbrush taught by ST. Video meet the claimed limitation above.
Applicant remark and argument: While the Secrets & Tricks video, at 1:05, shows Lori grasping an edge of the head of the hairbrush with her thumb and placing her index finger on the back of the head, her middle finger merely rests against the handle of the hairbrush; Lori ' s middle finger does not grasp an opposite edge of the head of the hairbrush.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. ST. Video shows grasping the head of the hairbrush with her thumb and placing her index finger on the back of the head, and middle finger grasping an opposite edge of the head of the hairbrush (see Fig 5 below).
Applicant remark and argument: Moreover, while the Secrets & Tricks video, at l : 17, shows Lori's middle finger against the edge of the head of the hairbrush, Lori ' s thumb is only momentarily positioned near the opposite edge of the head of the hairbrush; Lori ' s thumb does not actually rest on the edge of the head of the hairbrush, as the Office has asserted, and it certainly does not grasp the edge, as required by claim 15.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. S.T video shows simultaneously grasping peripheries of the head of the hairbrush with a thumb and a finger (see annotated Fig 5 above. @ 2:20), as required by claim 15.
Applicant remark and argument: Lori does not grasp the opposite edge of the head with her middle finger, as would be needed for Secrets & Tricks, at 1:46, to teach or suggest the method of claim 15.
In response: Claim 15 does not require grasping opposite edge of the hairbrush with middle finger, but rather with a finger. S.T videos shows grasping opposite edge of the hairbrush with a thumb and a finger (see annotated Fig 2 above, A and C).
Applicant remark and argument: Park and Secrets & Tricks, as combined by the Office, do not teach or suggest grasping a first recess on a first side of a head of a hairbrush with a finger and simultaneously grasping a second recess on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with a thumb, as required by claim 15.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the applicant’s assertion. Park teaches recesses (Fig 2, 2c) on both sides of the peripheries of the hairbrush. S.T video teaches simultaneously grasping on a first side of the head of the hairbrush with the finger (annotated Fig 2above, C. @ 2:46) and on a second side of the head of the hairbrush with the thumb (annotated Fig 2 above, A, @ 2:46). The combination of the structure of the hairbrush of Park’s device with the method of using the hairbrush taught by ST. Video meet the claimed limitations of claim 15.
Applicant remark and argument: Park nor Secrets & Tricks teaches or suggests grasping a first recess in a first side of a head of a hairbrush with an index finger. In all of the images included in the Office Action, Lori ' s index finger rests on the back of the head of the hairbrush.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion, see (annotated Fig 6, A) below.
Applicant remark and argument: Claim 17, which depends from claim 15, is further allowable because neither Park nor Secrets & Tricks teaches or suggests grasping a first recess in a first side of a head of a hairbrush with a middle finger. Instead, the Secrets and Tricks video shows Lori grasping the handle of the hairbrush with her middle finger (at 1:05) or resting her middle finger on the back of the head of the hairbrush, with a portion of her middle finger extending over an edge of the head (at 1:46).
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. Park and S.T Video further teach the finger in grasping the first recess is a middle finger (annotated Fig 3. D. @1:55), as required by claim 17.
Applicant remark and argument: Regarding claim 18, neither Park nor Secrets & Tricks teaches or suggests placing a finger in an indentation on a back surface of a head of a hairbrush. Park does not teach or suggest placing a finger in any of the depressed portions 3a-3f. Although Secrets & Tricks shows Lori placing her index finger on the back surface of the head of a Wet Brush, the back surface of the Wet Brush lacks any indentations; thus, she does not place her index finger in an indentation. If Lori were using the hairbrush I of Park, her index finger wouldn't necessarily be placed within any of the depressed portions; instead, based on the ways she holds the hairbrush, her index finger would more likely rest on the projections 4a-4g.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. Park teaches indention in a back surface of the head (Fig 3 and ¶0071. depressions located in the rear face 2a of the head, see Fig 3). S.T Video teaches placing finger on a back surface of a head of a hairbrush (see annotated Fig 4 below, E). Based on the way she holds the hairbrush, her index finger, or at least a portion of the her index finger, would be within one of the indentions/ depressions located in the rear face 2a of the head.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772