DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, 14-17, 25-30, and 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al (US 2003/0060534) in view of Rajaiah et al (WO 2004/073661) and further in view of Utterodt et al (WO 2021083992).
With regards to claims 18 and 19, Fukushima teaches a photopolymerizable dental coating composition (abstract) for making crown restoratives and denture bases (abstract). Fukushima teaches the resin to include a (meth)acrylate compound (abstract) that includes, for example, methyl acrylate (reading on an alkyl acrylate) (0012) in an amount of 18.5% (0026 example 4), a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate (abstract) in an amount of 10% to 70% (0010), and an acylphosphine oxide polymerization initiator (abstract).
Fukushima does not teach the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate to be a polyalkylene glycol diacrylate, aliphatic urethane di(meth)acrylate, or alkoxylated bisphenol (meth)acrylate. Further, Fukushima does not teach the crosslinker to be an aliphatic urethane poly(meth)acrylate or ethoxylated (meth)acrylate wherein the compound has a functionality of greater than about 2.5.
Utterodt teaches a composition for a dental composite material (page 1) that includes a mixture of urethane (meth)acrylates (page 1). Utterodt teaches the mixture to include a di(meth)acrylate and a hexafunctional urethane (page 9). Utterodt teaches the motivation for using the mixture of the urethanes to be because it provides very good values for fracture toughness and has a homogeneous, monochrome stain before and after polymerization (page 1). Utterodt and Fukushima are analogous in the art of dental compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the urethane mixture of Utterodt to the composition of Fukushima, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Fukushima does not teach the addition of a silicone surfactant.
Rajaiah teaches a denture composition (abstract) that includes a silicone surfactant (abstract) and teaches the motivation for adding the surfactant to increase the antiplaque, antistain, and/or antideposition efficacy or effect in the oral cavity of the denture wearer. Fukushima and Rajiah are analogous in the art of compositions used for the formation of dental compounds. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the silicone surfactant of Rajaiah to the composition of Fukushima, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763