DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 12/05/2025 amendment or response in the application of ETZINE et al. for “SEAMLESS CONTINUATION OF COMMUNICATION SESSIONS” filed 02/23/2023. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. Claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 1-22 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOLATI et al. (US 2020/0287951 A1), hereinafter KOLATI.
Regarding claim 1, KOLATI discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first device (transmission participant device 100), an advertisement message corresponding to a communications session the first device is participating in with at least a second device (at operation 202, the transmission participant device 100 may establish the MC communication session with the plurality of MC devices 101 through the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0083);
receiving, by the first device and during the communications session, a communications session control message generated by a third device (the transmission control server 102), the communications session control message comprising information contained in the advertisement message (the transmission participant device 100 may receive, from the transmission control server 102, a media transmission notification indicating that a media reception is available from at least one of the plurality of MC devices 101. The transmission participant device 100 may receive, a user input for permitting the media reception. In response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102. In response to transmitting the media reception request, the transmission participant device 100 may create at least one instance of the transmission participant basic reception control state machine for controlling the media reception when a media reception request is transmitted, see ¶ 0085);
validating, with the first device, the third device based on the communications session control message (the transmission participant device 100 may receive a media transmission notification from the transmission control server 102 in the MC communication session. The media transmission notification may indicate that a media reception is available from one of the plurality of MC devices 103. The transmission participant device 100 may, if the media transmission notification requires acknowledgment, send a transmission control acknowledge message to the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0045); and
removing the first device from the communications session in response to successfully validating the third device (the transmission participant device 100 may enter the “call release” state of the transmission participant general reception control state machine to disconnect the established MC communication session. The transmission participant device 100 may retain the transmission participant general reception control state machine at operation 212, see ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 2, KOLATI discloses transmitting the advertisement message corresponding to the communications session comprises transmitting the advertisement message, by the first device during the communications session, to at least the third device (in response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0085).
Regarding claim 3, KOLATI discloses transmitting the advertisement message corresponding to the communications session comprises transmitting the advertisement message directly from the first device to the third device (the transmission participant device 100 may provide a notification message that the media reception request is granted to the user, through the MC client 103, see ¶ 0048).
Regarding claim 4, KOLATI discloses the advertisement message includes a session-specific participant ID and a stream ID, wherein the session-specific participant ID and the stream ID are both associated with the communications session and the first device (the transmission participant device 100 may store an identification (ID) and a synchronization source SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages. The transmission participant device 100 may display the ID and SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages, see ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 5, KOLATI discloses the communications session control message includes at least an account identifier associated with the third device, a participant handle associated with the third device, and a data object that includes a participant association information (the transmission participant device 100 may store an identification (ID) and a synchronization source SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages. The transmission participant device 100 may display the ID and SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages, see ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 6, KOLATI discloses the participant association information includes a session-specific participant ID and a stream ID, wherein the session-specific participant ID and the stream ID are both based on the advertisement message (the transmission participant device 100 may store an identification (ID) and a synchronization source SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages. The transmission participant device 100 may display the ID and SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages, see ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 7, KOLATI discloses the receiving the communications session control message comprises receiving the communications session control message from a communications session server via a wide area network (the transmission participant device 100, may be a UE (see figure 1A and 0042), thus- it receives session control message from the transmission control server 102 via existing network, see ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 10, KOLATI discloses the removing the first device from the communications session comprises transmitting, by the first device and to a communications session server, a leave message corresponding to the communications session (the MC reception engine 120b, in transmission participant device, may send the transmission control acknowledge message, including information indicating the message type and a source of the message to the transmission control server 102, in response to the communication session control message, see ¶ 0065, 0068).
Regarding claim 11, KOLATI discloses a device (transmission participant device 100) comprising: a processor configured to:
transmit an advertisement message corresponding to a communications session the first device is participating in with at least a second device (at operation 202, the transmission participant device 100 may establish the MC communication session with the plurality of MC devices 101 through the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0083);
receive, during the communications session, a communications session control message generated by a third device (the transmission control server 102), the communications session control message comprising information contained in the advertisement message (the transmission participant device 100 may receive, from the transmission control server 102, a media transmission notification indicating that a media reception is available from at least one of the plurality of MC devices 101. The transmission participant device 100 may receive, a user input for permitting the media reception. In response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102. In response to transmitting the media reception request, the transmission participant device 100 may create at least one instance of the transmission participant basic reception control state machine for controlling the media reception when a media reception request is transmitted, see ¶ 0085);
validate, the third device based on the communications session control message (the transmission participant device 100 may terminate the transmission participant basic reception control state machine based on the reception control messages. The reception control messages may include the transmission end notification, timeout of a first timer or second timer, a rejection response for the media reception request, and a media reception end request, see ¶ 0086); and
remove the first device from the communications session in response to successfully validating the third device (the transmission participant device 100 may enter the “call release” state of the transmission participant general reception control state machine to disconnect the established MC communication session. The transmission participant device 100 may retain the transmission participant general reception control state machine at operation 212, see ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 12, KOLATI discloses transmitting the advertisement message corresponding to the communications session comprises transmitting the advertisement message, by the first device during the communications session, to at least the third device (in response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0085).
Regarding claim 13, KOLATI discloses the advertisement message includes a session-specific participant ID and a stream ID, wherein the session-specific participant ID and the stream ID are both associated with the communications session and the device (the transmission participant device 100 may store an identification (ID) and a synchronization source SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages. The transmission participant device 100 may display the ID and SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages, see ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 16, KOLATI discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform one or more operations comprising:
transmitting, by a first device (transmission participant device 100), an advertisement message corresponding to a communications session the first device is participating in with at least a second device (at operation 202, the transmission participant device 100 may establish the MC communication session with the plurality of MC devices 101 through the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0083);
receiving, by the first device and during the communications session, a communications session control message generated by a third device (the transmission control server 102), the communications session control message comprising information contained in the advertisement message (the transmission participant device 100 may receive, from the transmission control server 102, a media transmission notification indicating that a media reception is available from at least one of the plurality of MC devices 101. The transmission participant device 100 may receive, a user input for permitting the media reception. In response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102. In response to transmitting the media reception request, the transmission participant device 100 may create at least one instance of the transmission participant basic reception control state machine for controlling the media reception when a media reception request is transmitted, see ¶ 0085);
validating, with the first device, the third device based on the communications session control message (the transmission participant device 100 may terminate the transmission participant basic reception control state machine based on the reception control messages. The reception control messages may include the transmission end notification, timeout of a first timer or second timer, a rejection response for the media reception request, and a media reception end request, see ¶ 0086); and
removing the first device from the communications session in response to successfully validating the third device (the transmission participant device 100 may enter the “call release” state of the transmission participant general reception control state machine to disconnect the established MC communication session. The transmission participant device 100 may retain the transmission participant general reception control state machine at operation 212, see ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 17, KOLATI discloses transmitting the advertisement message corresponding to the communications session comprises transmitting the advertisement message, by the first device during the communications session, to at least the third device (in response to receiving the user input, the transmission participant device 100 may transmit a media reception request requesting the reception to the transmission control server 102, see ¶ 0085).
Regarding claim 18, KOLATI discloses the advertisement message includes a session-specific participant ID and a stream ID, wherein the session-specific participant ID and the stream ID are both associated with the communications session and the first device (the transmission participant device 100 may store an identification (ID) and a synchronization source SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages. The transmission participant device 100 may display the ID and SSRC of the MC device 101 related to the media transmission notification messages, see ¶ 0045).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 14-15, 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Interview
The examiner had attempted to call the applicant’s representation of record Michael G. Dreznes on February 19 and 20 and left a voice message to set up an interview time and day. As of this writing, there is no response from the applicant’s representative.
Responding to the applicant’s arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Responding the applicant’s first argument, although the cited reference KOLATI did not use the term “advertisement message,” the message sends from transmission participant device 100 performs the same function as claimed. KOLATI discloses the transmission participant device 100 establish an MC communication session with the plurality of MC devices 101 via a transmission control server 102 (see ¶ 0043, 0083). The transmission participant device 100 comprises of MC communication session organizer 120a for establishing the MC communication session with the plurality of MC devices 101 through the transmission control server 102 (see ¶ 0065). Furthermore, the descriptive name of “transmission” participant device 100 should be apparent to one skill in the art that transmission participant initiates or begins the communication session. The function of the claimed subject matter “advertisement message” is to set up communication session with at least a communication device. Therefore, KOLATI discloses the claimed limitation “transmitting, by the first device, an advertisement message corresponding to a communication session the first device is participating in with at least a second device.”
Responding the applicant’s second argument, KOLATI discloses the claimed subject matter. At operation 204, the transmission participant device 100 may create a transmission participant general reception control state machine after the establishment of the MC communication session (see ¶ 0083). Also, at operation 206, the transmission participant device 100 may create the transmission participant basic reception control state machine to handle reception control messages and the reception controller state to handle at least one of MC media transmission notifications, MC media requests, MC media transmission end notification messages (see ¶ 0084). In another word, the transmission participant device receives during MC communication session control messages from the transmission control server 102 and the transmission participant device 100 create transmission participant basic reception control state machine to handle reception control messages and the reception controller state to handle at least one of MC media transmission notifications, MC media requests, MC media transmission end notification messages. The created control state machine is for the MC communication session. Therefore, KOLATI discloses “receiving, by the first device and during the communications session, a communications session control message generated by a third device, the communications session control message comprising information contained in the advertisement message”. The terms “advertisement message” is nominal citation to setup a communication between two entities (see above).
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s third argument. KOLATI discloses the transmission participant device 100 may receive a media transmission notification from the transmission control server 102 in the MC communication session. The media transmission notification may indicate that a media reception is available from one of the plurality of MC devices 103. The transmission participant device 100 may, if the media transmission notification requires acknowledgment, send a transmission control acknowledge message to the transmission control server 102 (see ¶ 0045). The process of setting up MC communication between the transmission participant device 100 and the transmission control server 102 is considered as validating, with the first device, the third device based on the communications session control message.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s fourth argument. KOLATI discloses that the transmission participant device 100 may terminate the transmission participant basic reception control state machine based on the reception control messages. The reception control messages may include the transmission end notification, timeout of a first timer or second timer, a rejection response for the media reception request, and a media reception end request (see ¶ 0086). The transmission participant device 100 response based on the control messages from the transmission control server 102 including transmission end notification or media reception end request. Therefore, KOLATI also discloses the claimed subject matter “removing the first device from the communications session in response to successfully validating the third device.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412