DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/9/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 11-28 in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the driving panel comprising one of a pneumatic driving panel, a mechanical driving panel, or an electrical driving panel” in lines 4-6. Claim 11 additionally recites “wherein the mechanical driving panel” in line 7 and “the electric driving panel” in line 11. It is unclear if claim 11 requires both the mechanical driving panel and the electric driving panel, or only one of a pneumatic driving panel, a mechanical driving panel, or an electric driving panel. For examination purposes, claim 11 is interpreted to require only one of a pneumatic driving panel, a mechanical driving panel, or an electric driving panel, and specifically claims 11-28 are interpreted to only require the specific limitations of a pneumatic driving panel.
Claim 14 recites “at least one inflation tube” in line 2. It is unclear if this language is referring to the inflation tube recited in claim 12, line 8, or an additional inflation tube. For examination purposes, the at least one inflation tube recited in claim 14 is interpreted to refer to the inflation tube recited in claim 12.
Claim 19 recites “at least one inflation tube” in line 2. It is unclear if this language is referring to the inflation tube recited in claim 12, line 8, or an additional inflation tube. For examination purposes, the at least one inflation tube recited in claim 19 is interpreted to refer to the inflation tube recited in claim 12.
Claim 25 recites “at least one inflation tube” in line 2. It is unclear if this language is referring to the inflation tube recited in claim 12, line 8, or an additional inflation tube. For examination purposes, the at least one inflation tube recited in claim 25 is interpreted to refer to the inflation tube recited in claim 12.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 17-20, 22-26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuchs (EP 2128350; machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 11, Fuchs discloses a hidden water tank, comprising:
a water tank body (1), comprising a water inlet assembly (inlet shown in Fig. 1) and a pneumatic drainage assembly (8); and
a driving panel (4) detachably connected to the water tank body (via hinges 9), the driving panel comprising one of a pneumatic driving panel (6), a mechanical driving panel, or an electric driving panel,
wherein the mechanical driving panel and the pneumatic drainage assembly are connected through a first driving conversion module configured to convert a mechanical driving force generated by the mechanical driving panel into a first air pressure-driving force (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim), and
wherein the electric driving panel and the pneumatic drainage assembly are connected through a second driving conversion module configured to convert an electrical signal generated by the electric driving panel into a second air pressure-driving force (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 12, Fuchs discloses wherein the water inlet assembly comprises:
a water inlet joint (water inlet joint shown in Fig. 1) configured to be connected to a water supply pipeline (see Fig. 1-2; ¶ 0010-0011); and
a water inlet valve (water inlet valve shown in Fig. 1) disposed on a water inlet pipeline and configured to connect the water inlet pipeline to the water supply pipeline (see Fig. 1-2; ¶ 0010-0011), and
wherein the pneumatic drainage assembly comprises:
a pneumatic drainage valve (8); and
an inflation tube (7) disposed on the pneumatic drainage valve and configured to receive a driving force on the driving panel and convert the driving force into an air pressure change in the inflation tube so as to open or close the pneumatic drainage valve (¶ 0010-0011).
Regarding claim 13, Fuchs discloses wherein the pneumatic driving panel comprises a first panel body (body of 6) and a first flushing button (¶ 0010-0011) disposed on the first panel body,
wherein the inflation tube is connected to an output end of the first flushing button (¶ 0010-0011), and
wherein a piston or an airbag (¶ 0010-0011) is disposed in the first flushing button.
Regarding claim 14, Fuchs discloses wherein the pneumatic drainage assembly comprises at least one inflation tube (7),
wherein the pneumatic driving panel comprises at least one first flushing button (¶ 0010-0011), and
wherein a quantity of the at least one first flushing button corresponds to a quantity of the at least one inflation tube (¶ 0010-0011).
Regarding claim 17, Fuchs discloses the mechanical driving panel comprises a second panel body and a second flushing button disposed on the second panel body, and wherein the first driving conversion module comprises: a cylinder, comprising a cylinder block and a cylinder head; a piston disposed in the cylinder and configured to be connected to the second flushing button through a connecting rod; a pressurized seal element disposed in the cylinder, wherein a sealing chamber is formed between the pressurized seal element and the cylinder block, and the inflation tube is connected to the sealing chamber; and a spring disposed in the cylinder and configured to push a first end of the piston to abut against the cylinder head and push a second end of the piston to act on the pressurized seal element (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 18, Fuchs discloses when the second flushing button is triggered, the piston is moved to deform a pneumatic rubber cup, and the pneumatic rubber cup compresses air in the sealing chamber to generate an air pressure acting on the pneumatic drainage valve through the inflation tube so as to open the pneumatic drainage valve (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 19, Fuchs discloses the pneumatic drainage assembly comprises at least one inflation tube (7),
wherein the mechanical driving panel comprises at least one second flushing button, and wherein a quantity of the at least one second flushing button corresponds to a quantity of the at least one inflation tube (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 20, Fuchs discloses the at least one second flushing button comprises a high-volume flushing button and a low-volume flushing button, and wherein the pneumatic drainage valve is configured to open for a longer opening time duration when the high-volume flushing button is triggered than when the low-volume flushing button is triggered (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 22, Fuchs discloses the electric driving panel comprises a third panel body and a human body sensor disposed on the third panel body, wherein the second driving conversion module comprises an inflator pump, and wherein the inflation tube is connected to an output end of the inflator pump (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 23, Fuchs discloses the human body sensor comprises one of an infrared sensor, a microwave sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, or a remote control sensor (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 24, Fuchs discloses when the human body sensor detects a human body present within a preset distance, the human body sensor sends a detection signal to a controller; wherein in response to the detection signal, the controller controls the inflator pump to inflate and act on the inflation tube so as to open the pneumatic drainage valve (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 25, Fuchs discloses the pneumatic drainage assembly comprises at least one inflation tube (7),
wherein the second driving conversion module comprises at least one inflator pump, and wherein a quantity of the at least one inflator pump corresponds to a quantity of the inflation tubes (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 26, Fuchs discloses the at least one inflator pump comprises a first inflator pump and a second inflator pump, wherein the first inflator pump is configured to output more air than the second inflator pump within a preset output time duration, wherein the first inflator pump is triggered when the human body sensor detects a human body present within the preset distance longer than a first preset time duration, and wherein the second inflator pump is triggered when the human body sensor detects a human body present within the preset distance longer than a second preset time duration and shorter than the first preset time duration (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Regarding claim 28, Fuchs discloses the electric driving panel further comprises a prompt window, and wherein the prompt window is configured to notify a user about a working state of the inflator pump (as set forth in the 112(b) rejection above, the claims are interpreted to require only the pneumatic driving panel; therefore, Fuchs meets the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16, 21, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs (EP 2128350; machine translation attached) in view of Varotti (EP 1555354).
Regarding claim 15, Fuchs discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 14.
However, Fuchs does not disclose wherein the at least one first flushing button comprises a high-volume flushing button and a low-volume flushing button as claimed.
Varotti discloses a flush device for a flush tank wherein the at least one first flushing button comprises a high-volume flushing button (¶ 0018) and a low-volume flushing button (¶ 0023), and
wherein the pneumatic drainage valve is configured to open for a longer opening time duration when the high-volume flushing button is triggered than when the low-volume flushing button is triggered (¶ 0018-0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the flushing button of Fuchs, to have a high-volume flushing button and a low-volume flushing button as claimed, as taught by Varotti, in order to provide a full and partial flush control assembly (¶ 0012)
Regarding claim 16, the combination above and specifically Varotti further discloses wherein the at least one inflation tube comprises a high-volume flushing tube (¶ 0018) and a low-volume flushing tube (¶ 0023),
wherein when the high-volume flushing button or the low-volume flushing button is triggered, the corresponding piston or the corresponding airbag (43-44) is compressed to fill air into the pneumatic drainage valve (4a) via the high-volume flushing tube or the low-volume flushing tube (¶ 0018-0023), and
wherein a distance of the high-volume flushing button acting on the high-volume flushing tube is larger than a distance of the low-volume flushing button acting on the low-volume flushing tube (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Fuchs discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 20.
However, Fuchs does not disclose at least one inflation tube comprises a high-volume flushing tube and a low-volume flushing tube as claimed.
Varotti discloses a flush device for a flush tank wherein the at least one inflation tube comprises a high-volume flushing tube (¶ 0018) and a low-volume flushing tube (¶ 0023), and
wherein when the high-volume flushing button or the low-volume flushing button is triggered, the first driving conversion module generates the air pressure and fills the air into the pneumatic drainage valve (4a) via the high-volume flushing tube or the low-volume flushing tube (¶ 0018-0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the flushing tube of Fuchs, to have a high-volume flushing tube and a low-volume flushing tube as claimed, as taught by Varotti, in order to provide a full and partial flush control assembly (¶ 0012)
Regarding claim 27, Fuchs discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 26.
However, Fuchs does not disclose at least one inflation tube comprises a high-volume flushing tube and a low-volume flushing tube as claimed.
Varotti discloses a flush device for a flush tank wherein the at least one inflation tube comprises a high-volume flushing tube (¶ 0018) and a low-volume flushing tube (¶ 0023), and
wherein the pneumatic drainage valve (4a) is configured to open for a longer opening time duration when the high-volume flushing tube is triggered than when the low-volume flushing tube is triggered (¶ 0018-0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the flushing tube of Fuchs, to have a high-volume flushing tube and a low-volume flushing tube as claimed, as taught by Varotti, in order to provide a full and partial flush control assembly (¶ 0012)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reynolds (US 1943041) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a concealed flush tank including a flush tank (15), a plate (20), a handle (22), a supply pipe (24), and a water outlet (26).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754