DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the terms “comprising” in line 1, “comprises” in line 8, and “comprises” in line 9 are considered claim terminology that should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 11-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wade et al. (US 2018/0008452).
As to claim 1, Wade discloses a patient interface (CPAP nasal mask and headgear, Figs. 7A-7B) comprising a plenum chamber 158 pressurisable to a therapeutic pressure of at least 4 cmH20 above ambient air pressure (paragraph [0071]), the plenum chamber including:
at least one plenum chamber inlet port sized and structured to receive a flow of air at the therapeutic pressure for breathing by a patient (shown in Fig. 7A-7B on CPAP nasal mask 158);
a seal-forming structure that is constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways, the seal-forming structure having a hole therein such that the flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is delivered to at least an entrance to the patient's nares, wherein the seal-forming structure is constructed and arranged to maintain said therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (seal shown on nasal mask 158 where the mask meets the facial skin around the nose, see Fig. 7A-7B, paragraph [0071]),
the patient interface further comprising a positioning and stabilising structure (see annotated Fig. 7B below) to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient's head (paragraph [0071]),
the patient interface further comprising a hoop structure (see annotated Fig. 7B below) comprising:
a top portion configured to extend over a top of the patient's head (see annotated Fig. 7B);
a chin portion (jaw stop pocket 114) configured to extend below the patient's chin or lower jaw (see annotated Fig. 7B below, paragraph [0071]); and
an inflatable body (jaw stop 112, labeled in Fig. 6B, see annotated Fig. 7B below) positioned, in use, between a portion of the hoop structure and the patient's head (see Fig. 7B, paragraph [0064]).
As to claim 2, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the hoop structure is formed separately from the positioning and stabilising structure (paragraph [0065] – the device can be retrofitted to an existing CPAP mask and headgear).
As to claim 3, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the hoop structure is formed as part of the positioning and stabilising structure (paragraph [0065] – alternatively, the device can be integrated with a CPAP mask and headgear during manufacture of the CPAP equipment.
As to claim 6, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the inflatable body 112 is positioned in use between the patient's chin and/or lower jaw and the chin portion 114 (see Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B).
As to claim 11, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein an interior of the inflatable body 112 is not in fluid communication with an interior of the plenum chamber (see Figs. 7A-7B).
As to claim 12, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the inflatable portion 112 is detachable from the hoop structure (jaw stop device 112 is simply placed in pocket 114 and therefore, is capable of being detached from the pocket 114, see Figs. 7A-7B, Figs. 5A-5B, paragraph [0068]).
As to claim 13, Wade discloses a patient interface (CPAP nasal mask and headgear, Figs. 7A-7B) comprising a plenum chamber 158 pressurisable to a therapeutic pressure of at least 4 cmH20 above ambient air pressure (paragraph [0071]), the plenum chamber including:
at least one plenum chamber inlet port sized and structured to receive a flow of air at the therapeutic pressure for breathing by a patient (shown in Fig. 7A-7B on CPAP nasal mask 158);
a seal-forming structure that is constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways, the seal-forming structure having a hole therein such that the flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is delivered to at least an entrance to the patient's nares, wherein the seal-forming structure is constructed and arranged to maintain said therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (seal shown on nasal mask 158 where the mask meets the facial skin around the nose, see Fig. 7A-7B, paragraph [0071]),
the patient interface further comprising a positioning and stabilising structure (see annotated Fig. 7B below) to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient's head (paragraph [0071]),
the patient interface further comprising a chin portion 114 configured to extend below the patient's chin or lower jaw (jaw stop pocket 114) configured to extend below the patient's chin or lower jaw (see annotated Fig. 7B below, paragraph [0071]), the chin portion connected to the positioning and stabilising structure, the plenum chamber, or a frame of the patient interface (at regions 136, see Fig. 7B, paragraph [0071]), and
an inflatable body 112 (jaw stop 112, labeled in Fig. 6B, see annotated Fig. 7B below) positioned, in use, between the chin portion 114 and the patient's chin or lower jaw (see Fig. 7B, paragraph [0064]).
As to claim 18, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 13, wherein an interior of the inflatable body 116 is not in fluid communication with an interior of the plenum chamber 158 (see Figs. 7A-7B).
As to claim 19, Wade discloses a hoop structure (see Fig. 6A) for reducing or eliminating mouth drop in a patient during respiratory pressure therapy, the hoop structure comprising: a top portion 146 configured to extend over a top of the patient's head; a chin portion 114 configured to extend below the patient's chin or lower jaw; and an inflatable body 112 positioned, in use, between a portion 114 of the hoop structure and the patient's head (see Fig. 6A, paragraph [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 10, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (US 2018/0008452), in view of Berthon-Jones et al. (US 2010/0000543).
As to claim 4, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that the inflatable body comprises one or more folds and/or thinned regions. However, Berthon-Jones teaches an inflatable body (bladder/raviolis 145, Fig. 2) for a patient interface headgear, the inflatable body 145 comprising one or more folds (see pleated shape, Fig. 6-9, paragraphs [0084], [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inflatable body of Wade to have the pleated shape as taught by Berthon-Jones to provide an alternative known shape for the inflatable body that can adjust to different sizes.
As to claim 5, modified Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 4, comprising a bellows portion (see pleated shape, Fig. 6-9, paragraphs [0084], [0090]).
As to claim 10, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that an interior of the inflatable body is in fluid communication with an interior of the plenum chamber. However, Berthon-Jones teaches an inflatable body in fluid communication with the plenum chamber of a patient interface (Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inflatable body of Wade to allow the inflatable body to adjust with the change in pressure (paragraph [0084]).
As to claim 14, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that the inflatable body comprises one or more folds and/or thinned regions. However, Berthon-Jones teaches an inflatable body (bladder/raviolis 145, Fig. 2) for a patient interface headgear, the inflatable body 145 comprising one or more folds (see pleated shape, Fig. 6-9, paragraphs [0084], [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inflatable body of Wade to have the pleated shape as taught by Berthon-Jones to provide an alternative known shape for the inflatable body that can adjust to different sizes.
As to claim 15, modified Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 14, comprising a bellows portion (see pleated shape, Fig. 6-9, paragraphs [0084], [0090]).
As to claim 17, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that an interior of the inflatable body is in fluid communication with an interior of the plenum chamber. However, Berthon-Jones teaches an inflatable body (bladder/raviolis 145, Fig. 2) for a patient interface headgear, the inflatable body 145 comprising one or more folds (see pleated shape, Fig. 6-9, paragraphs [0084], [0090]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inflatable body of Wade to have the pleated shape as taught by Berthon-Jones to provide an alternative known shape for the inflatable body that can adjust to different sizes.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (US 2018/0008452), in view of Kooij et al (US 2019/0022343).
As to claim 7, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that the inflatable body is positioned in use between the top of the patient's head and the top portion. However, Kooij teaches a patient interface having a hoop structure (3350, Fig. 16) including an inflatable body (inflatable loop insert member 3420 in the form of a U-shaped bladder, see Fig. 16) positioned in use between the top of the patient’s head and a top portion 3350, 3600 of the hoop structure (paragraphs [0279]-[0280]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the patient interface of Wade to include an inflatable body between the top of the patient’s head and a top portion of the patient’s head, as taught by Kooij, in order to allow the patient to alter the size and fit of the patient interface as desired (paragraph [0280]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (US 2018/0008452), in view of Kahlert et al (US 2023/0218427).
As to claim 8, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the inflatable body creates in use a force which acts on the patient's chin and/or lower jaw region (paragraph [0051]), but does not disclose that the inflatable body further comprises one or more sensors configured to measure the magnitude of the force. However, Kahlert teaches an inflatable body for a patient interface (expandable member 306, Fig. 3, paragraph [0070]), which includes a sensor (pressure sensor) for measuring the magnitude of force applied to the patient by the inflatable body (paragraph [0070]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the patient interface of Wade so that the inflatable body includes a sensor for measuring the magnitude of force applied to the patient, as taught by Kahlert, in order to provide a feedback loop for controlling the level of inflation to a achieve a desired level of force on the patient’s head.
As to claim 16, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 13, wherein the inflatable body creates in use a force which acts on the patient's chin and/or lower jaw region (paragraph [0051]), but does not disclose that the inflatable body further comprises one or more sensors configured to measure the magnitude of the force. However, Kahlert teaches an inflatable body for a patient interface (expandable member 306, Fig. 3, paragraph [0070]), which includes a sensor (pressure sensor) for measuring the magnitude of force applied to the patient by the inflatable body (paragraph [0070]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the patient interface of Wade so that the inflatable body includes a sensor for measuring the magnitude of force applied to the patient, as taught by Kahlert, in order to provide a feedback loop for controlling the level of inflation to a achieve a desired level of force on the patient’s head.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (US 2018/0008452), in view of Veliss et al. (US 2008/0060649).
As to claim 9, Wade discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but does not disclose that the top portion is connected to the chin portion by the plenum chamber and/or a frame of the patient interface. However, Veliss teaches a patient interface 1600 having a hoop structure in which the top portion 1605 is connected to a chin portion 1606by a frame of the patient interface (see paragraph [0371], Fig. 27-1, 27-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the patient interface of Wade to have the alternative strap arrangement, as taught by Veliss, in order to provide an equally suitable alternative strap arrangement for a CPAP headgear which performs equally well to secure the patient interface while retaining the mouth in a closed position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Quinn (US 2016/0089261) discloses a cervical collar for a patient interface which includes a chin supporting member.
Rafiqpoor (US 2024/0058559) discloses a head harness with a pusher 41 for urging the jaw closed.
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785