DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amatucci (US 20080199772 A1) and further in view of Yazami (US 20070231697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Amatucci discloses a positive electrode material, comprising a composite material, wherein
the composite material comprises a metal fluoride (claim 1, [nanocomposite comprising … a metal fluoride]),
a molar ratio of fluorine F to metal element M in the metal fluoride is y (para. 0083, [a nanocomposite is prepared by … a) combining metal fluoride and a conductive matrix to form a first product b) combining the first product with a phosphate … forming a second product c) fabricating the second product into a nanocomposite …. a suitable conductive matrix may be one selected from CF0.8])(para. 0064 and 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides[CuF2]) (para. 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides [FeF3]) and
a molar ratio of fluorine F to metal element M in the composite material is z, wherein y <z< y + 2 (para. 0083, [a suitable conductive matrix may be one selected from CF0.8]).
M comprises at least one of Ag, Cu, Co, Ni, Mn, or Fe (claim 2, [Fe, Ag, Co, Ni, Mn, Cu, Mn])
a mass ratio of the graphite fluoride to the metal fluoride is w, wherein 0 < w ≤ 0.2 (para. 0074, the nanocomposites of the present invention … includes … 5 to 50% of a conductive matrix [graphite fluoride] to form a first product… then milled with 2-50 weight percent of a phosphate material).
Amatucci does not teach:
the composite material further comprises graphite fluoride, a structural formula of the graphite fluoride is CFX, and a molar ratio of fluorine F to carbon C in CFx is x, wherein 0.8 < x ≤1;
Yazami, in the same field of endeavor, positive electrode materials, teaches
the composite material further comprises graphite fluoride, a structural formula of the graphite fluoride is CFX, and a molar ratio of fluorine F to carbon C in CFx is x, wherein 0.8 < x ≤1 (Yazami, abstract, [subfluorinated carbonaceous materials [have] an average chemical composition CFx in which … 0.7 < x ≤ 0.95]);
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized a graphite fluoride (CFX ) in the range of 0.7 < x ≤ 0.95 for Amatucci’s positive electrode material, as taught by Yazami. Yazami teaches that subfluorinated carbonaceous materials within the aforementioned range are capable of electrochemical performance superior to commercial CF at relatively high rates of discharge (Yazami, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the composite material further comprises graphite fluoride, a structural formula of the graphite fluoride is CFx, and a molar ratio of fluorine F to carbon C in CFx is x, wherein 0 <x<1 (para. 0083, [a suitable conductive matrix may be one selected from CF0.8]).
Regarding claim 3, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 2, wherein a mass ratio of the graphite fluoride to the metal fluoride is w, wherein 0 < w ≤ 0.2 (para. 0074, the nanocomposites of the present invention … includes … 5 to 50% of a conductive matrix [graphite fluoride] to form a first product… then milled with 2-50 weight percent of a phosphate material).
Regarding claim 4, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the metal fluoride comprises at least one of FeF3 or CuF2 (para. 0064 and 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides[CuF2]) (para. 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides [FeF3]).
Regarding claim 5, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein 2 ≤z≤ 4 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8. Table 1 of the instant specification also provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8).
Regarding claim 6, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein 2 ≤z≤ 3 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8. Table 1 of the instant specification also provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8).
Regarding claim 7, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode material according to claim 1, wherein 3 ≤z≤ 4 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8. Table 1 of the instant specification also provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8).
Regarding claim 9, Amatucci discloses a positive electrode, comprising a positive electrode material (claim 1, [a graphene-enabled hybrid particulate for use as a lithium battery cathode active material])
the positive electrode material comprises a metal fluoride (claim 1, [nanocomposite comprising … a metal fluoride]),
a molar ratio of fluorine F to metal element M in the metal fluoride is y (para. 0083, [a nanocomposite is prepared by … a) combining metal fluoride and a conductive matrix to form a first product b) combining the first product with a phosphate … forming a second product c) fabricating the second product into a nanocomposite …. a suitable conductive matrix may be one selected from CF0.8])(para. 0064 and 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides[CuF2]) (para. 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides [FeF3]) and
a molar ratio of fluorine F to metal element M in the composite material is z, wherein y <z< y + 2 (para. 0083, [a suitable conductive matrix may be one selected from CF0.8]).
M comprises at least one of Ag, Cu, Co, Ni, Mn, or Fe (claim 2, [Fe, Ag, Co, Ni, Mn, Cu, Mn]).
Regarding claim 12, The positive electrode according to claim 9, wherein the metal fluoride comprises at least one of FeF3 or CuF2 (para. 0064 and 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides[CuF2]) (para. 0067, provides examples of metal fluorides [FeF3]).
Regarding claim 13, The positive electrode according to claim 9 wherein 2 ≤z≤ 4 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8. )
Examiner notes that Table 1 of the instant specification provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8. Furthermore, Table 1 indicates that the percentage of carbon fluoride in the composite ranges from 2% to 25%. Similarly, Amatucci teaches that the nanocomposite includes 5 to 50% of a conductive matrix [graphite fluoride] to form the first product.
Regarding claim 14, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode according to claim 9 wherein 2 ≤z≤ 3 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8.)
Examiner notes that Table 1 of the instant specification provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8. Furthermore, Table 1 indicates that the percentage of carbon fluoride in the composite ranges from 2% to 25%. Similarly, Amatucci teaches that the nanocomposite includes 5 to 50% of a conductive matrix [graphite fluoride] to form the first product.
Regarding claim 15, Amatucci discloses the positive electrode according to claim 9 wherein 3 ≤z≤ 4 (para. 0067 and 0083, Amatucci teaches that the metal fluoride can be either FeF3 or CuF2 and the conductive matrix can be CF0.8.)
Examiner notes that Table 1 of the instant specification provides examples using FeF3, CuF2, and one example where the fluorine stochiometric coefficient in CF is equal to 0.8. Furthermore, Table 1 indicates that the percentage of carbon fluoride in the composite ranges from 2% to 25%. Similarly, Amatucci teaches that the nanocomposite includes 5 to 50% of a conductive matrix [graphite fluoride] to form the first product.
Regarding claim 16, Amatucci discloses an electrochemical apparatus, comprising the positive electrode according to claim 9 (claim 18 and para. 0011 [for use in electrochemical cells]).
Regarding claim 17, Amatucci discloses the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the electrochemical apparatus is an all-solid-state lithium secondary battery (para. 0011 [for use in electrochemical cells, such as lithium battery cells]).
Regarding claim 18, Amatucci teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 16, and in the background of the invention, teaches that energy storage and delivery systems [can be used] for all manner of advancing technologies (para. 0006).
Amatucci does not teach an electronic apparatus comprising the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 16.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the electrochemical apparatus to power an electronic apparatus, such as a portable device, as mentioned by Amatucci in the background of the invention (para. 0006).
Other Pertinent References
US 20180212247 A1
US 20200067080 A1
US 20020061437 A1
CN-110112394-A
NPL: Influence of particle size and fluorination ratio of CFx precursor compounds on the electrochemical performance of C–FeF2 nanocomposites for reversible lithium storage, Anji Reddy, Maximilian Fichtner
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721