DETAILED ACTION
AIR DUCT CONVERSION BIN INTEGRATED WITH SUCTION AND BLOWING
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 09-05-2025 have been entered. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendments overcome specification and drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 07-15-2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09-05-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that Ye (US2024/0122419A1) is not qualified to serve as prior art basis for this application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, prior art reference (US2024/0122419A1) can be applied under 102(a)(2) because the reference has a foreign priority date of June 9th 2021 which is before the effective filing date of November 3rd 2022 of the instant application. The disclosures and subject matter within the prior art reference (US2024/0122419A1) are adequately supported and disclosed within the foreign priority document Ye (CN202121281140.2). See MPEP 2152.05 (ii) and 2152.01 (D).
Regarding applicant’s argument that element 52 of Ye is not qualified to be regarded as the air outlet of claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the claim requires that in a dust suction mode an outlet end is sealed and a blowing mode in which the air outlet end acts as one sided inlet.
Prior art Ye discloses in para 0026 and 0027 that element 52 is closed when the suction mode function of the apparatus is running, and that element 52 acts as in inlet in when the blowing mode function of the apparatus is running. Therefore element 52 meets the requirements of the claim 1.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, prior art Kodato is relied on to teach the windproof sleeve structure which allows air supply flow to pass which helps reduce the chance of overheating (see Kodato para 0004) ,and prior art Hoffman is relied on to teach toggle switch that makes it easier for an user to the change the modes of an apparatus (see blower condition and vacuum condition described in para 0047-0048 of Hoffman).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US2024/0122419A1) in view of Kodato (US20150211535A1) and Hoffman (US20190159409A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches an electric machinery (3, figure 3) and an air duct switching member (6, figure 2) arranged outside the electric machinery for switching (capable of performing this action) the electric machinery to a dust suction mode in which an air inlet end (51, figure 2) is one-sided inlet and an air outlet end (52, figure 2) is sealed, or a blowing mode (abstract para 0004,0023-0028) in which an air outlet end (52, figure 2) is one-sided inlet and an air inlet end is sealed (51, figure 2); wherein the air duct switching member (6, figure 2) comprises an air suction end face and an air blowing end face that can be switched on and off, the opening and closing states of the air suction end face and the air blowing end face are opposite (abstract para 0004,0023-0028) the air duct switching member also includes a switch (9, para 0024); the switch is used to switch the opening and closing of the air suction end face and the air blowing end face simultaneously in a single time(para 0004,0023-0028).
Ye fails to teach a wind-proof sleeve which is covered on the outside of the electric machinery; the wind-proof sleeve corresponds to the air inlet end and the air outlet end; a toggle switch; the side wall of the wind-proof sleeve is also provided with a ventilation hole through which the air supply flow passes.
Kodato teaches a portable blower switching element (20, figure 7) that includes a wind-proof sleeve (34, 35, figure 8) which is covered on the outside of the electric machinery (1, figure 11); the wind-proof sleeve corresponds (para 0030-0037) to the air inlet end and the air outlet end the side wall of the wind-proof sleeve is also provided with a ventilation hole (38, figure 8) through which the air supply flow passes (para 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye to include a switching member that includes a wind-proof sleeve which is covered on the outside of the electric machinery based on the teachings of Kodato. This modification would help reduce the chances of overheating of a switching element that controls the motor. (See Kodato para 0004)
Hoffman teaches an air-flow generating device, that has an air duct switching member (para 0046-0049) that includes a toggle switch (134; para 0046-0049) that switches airflow generating device from a dust suction mode to a blowing mode (see para 0046-0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye to include the toggle switch based on the teachings of Hoffman. This modification would make it easy for a user to with adjust between the different modes within the apparatus. (see para 0025 ,0046-0049 of Hoffman)
Regarding claim 2, modified Ye teaches the wind-proof sleeve comprises the inner bush (see Kodato’s 35, figures 6-7) and the outer bush fitted (see Kodato’s 34, figures 6-7) and fixed with an outer wall of the inner bush (see Kodato’s figures 6 and 7); the two end faces of the inner bush are respectively provided with an inner air inlet hole and an inner air outlet hole which in one-to-one correspondence (see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”) and the two end faces of the outer bush (see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”)are respectively provided with the outer air inlet hole and the outer air outlet hole which are offset from each other; one group of the inner air inlet hole and the outer air inlet hole are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, one group of the inner air outlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are arranged offset from each other, then the air suction end face is correspondingly open; one group of the inner air outlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, one group of the inner air inlet hole and the outer air inlet hole are arranged offset from each other, then the air blowing end face is correspondingly open (see Ye para 0004,0023-0028; see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”, figures 4-12).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ye teaches the wind-proof sleeve comprises an inner bush (see Kodato’s 35, figures 6-7) and an outer bush (see Kodato’s 34, figures 6-7) fitted and fixed with an outer wall of the inner bush (see Kodato figures 6-12); the two end faces of the inner bush are respectively provided with an inner air inlet hole and an inner air outlet hole which are offset from each other and the two end faces of the outer bush (see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”) are respectively provided with an outer air inlet hole and an outer air outlet hole which in a one-to-one correspondence (see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”); one group of the inner air inlet hole and the outer air inlet hole are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, one group of the inner air outlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are arranged offset from each other, then the air suction end face is correspondingly open; one group of the inner air outlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, one group of the inner air inlet hole and the outer air inlet hole are arranged offset from each other, then the air blowing end face is correspondingly open (see Ye para 0004,0023-0028; see Kodato’s para 0030-0032 “air passage”, figures 4-12)
Regarding claim 4, modified Ye teaches wherein the inner air inlet hole and the inner air outlet hole as well as the outer air inlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are evenly distributed around the center of the corresponding end face (see Kodato para 0030-0045 “air passages”), the side walls of the outer bush (see Kodato 34, figures 6-12) and the inner bush (see Kodato 35, figures 6-12) close to the two side end faces are respectively provided with the outer air inlet hole, and the outer air outlet hole, as well as the inner air inlet hole and the inner air outlet hole which are consistent with the circumferential distribution uniformity of the outer ventilation hole and inner ventilation hole; the inner ventilation hole on two sides of the inner bush are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, and the outer ventilation hole on two sides of the outer bush are arranged in a mutually staggered manner (see Kodato discloses the penetration/cooling holes communicate with the air passages within 35 and 34; para 0030-0032; figures 6-12).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ye teaches wherein the inner air inlet hole and the inner air outlet hole as well as the outer air inlet hole and the outer air outlet hole are evenly distributed around the center of the corresponding end face (see Kodato para 0030-0045 “air passages”), the side walls of the outer bush and the inner bush close to the two side end faces are respectively provided with the outer air inlet hole and the outer air outlet hole, as well as the inner air inlet hole and the inner air outlet hole which are consistent with the circumferential distribution uniformity of the outer ventilation hole and inner ventilation hole; the inner ventilation hole on two sides of the inner bush are arranged in a mutually staggered manner, and the outer ventilation hole on two sides of the outer bush are arranged in one-to-one correspondence (see Kodato discloses the penetration/cooling holes communicate with the air passages within 35 and 34; para 0030-0032; figures 6-12).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ye teaches wherein the toggle switch (see Hoffman 134, figure 3) is a push rod (see Hoffman para 0033-0037 0045-0050,figures 3-8 connected to transmission shaft) which is relatively fixed with the inner bush and is located in a correspondingly provided sliding groove on the outer bush (see kodato, 34 and 35 figures 6-10 and hoffman figure 3); the push rod (see hoffman 134; para 0040-0058) is placed at both ends of the sliding groove to open the air suction end face, as well as the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole far from the air suction end face respectively, so as to close the air blowing end face; or
opening the air blowing end face, as well as the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air blowing end face so as to close the air suction end face and the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air suction end face (see Hoffman para 0045-0050,0058 discloses changing the mode using 134 and see Kodato discloses the penetration/cooling holes communicate with the air passages within 35 and 34; para 0030-0032; figures 6-12)
Regarding claim 7, modified Ye teaches wherein the toggle switch (see Hoffman 134, figure 3) is a push rod (see Hoffman para 0033-0037 0045-0050,figures 3-8 connected to transmission shaft) which is relatively fixed with the inner bush and is located in a correspondingly provided sliding groove on the outer bush see kodato, 34 and 35 figures 6-10 and hoffman figure 3); the push rod (see hoffman 134; para 0040-0058) is placed at both ends of the sliding groove to open the air suction end face, as well as the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole far from the air suction end face respectively, so as to close the air blowing end face; or
opening the air blowing end face, as well as the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air blowing end face so as to close the air suction end face and the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air suction end face; or opening the air blowing end face, as well as the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air blowing end face so as to close the air suction end face and the inner ventilation hole and the outer ventilation hole away from the air suction end face (see Hoffman para 0045-0050,0058 discloses changing the mode using 134 and see Kodato discloses the penetration/cooling holes communicate with the air passages within 35 and 34; para 0030-0032; figures 6-12).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ye teaches wherein the inner bush (see Kodato 35, figures 6-7) comprises a first inner sleeve and a second inner sleeve (see Kodato 35, figures 6-12); the electric machinery (see Kodato 34 and 35; para 0029-0034 discloses electrical machinery situated within 34 and 35) is correspondingly assembled in the accommodating cavity formed by the butt joint of the first inner sleeve (see Kodato figures 8-11) and the second inner sleeve; the outer bush comprises a first outer sleeve and a second outer sleeve (see 34 Kodato figures 6-11) ; the inner bush (see 35 Kodato figures 6-11) is correspondingly assembled in the accommodating cavity formed by the butt joint of the first outer sleeve and the second outer sleeve.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ye teaches wherein the inner bush (see Kodato 35, figures 6-7) comprises a first inner sleeve and a second inner sleeve (see Kodato 35, figures 6-12); the electric machinery (see Kodato 34 and 35; para 0029-0034 discloses electrical machinery situated within 34 and 35) is correspondingly assembled in the accommodating cavity formed by the butt joint of the first inner sleeve (see Kodato figures 8-11) and the second inner sleeve; the outer bush (see 34 Kodato figures 6-11) comprises a first outer sleeve and a second outer sleeve; the inner bush (see 35 Kodato figures 6-11) is correspondingly assembled in the accommodating cavity formed by the butt joint of the first outer sleeve and the second outer sleeve.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ye teaches wherein the first inner sleeve and the second inner sleeve, as well as the first outer sleeve and the second outer sleeve are respectively provided with a buckle assembly for butt fixation; the buckle assembly comprises an elastic barb (see Kodato area surrounding 23, figure 6-11) arranged at the butt opening of sleeve on one side and a clamping groove arranged on the sleeve on the opposite side corresponding to the elastic barb; the elastic barb is clamped and buckled (see Kodato figures 6-11 para 0029 and 0037) in the clamping groove to form the complete inner bush and the outer bush (see Kodato 34 and 35, figures 6-11).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ye teaches an electric machinery cover (see Kodato 42, figures 6-11) is provided on one side of the electric machinery (see Kodato para 0029-0035, and an inner wall of the first inner sleeve is provided corresponding to the electric machinery with an embedded groove adapted to an outer surface of the electric machinery cover (see Kodato 42, figures 6-11); an end face of the second inner sleeve is provided with a fixing hole, and a fixing block is additionally arranged to be clamped in the fixing hole and clamped with the bottom wall of the embedded groove from both ends of the electric machinery and fix the electric machinery (see Kodato para 0029-0035 describes a plurality of fixing holes).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US2024/0122419A1) in view of Kodato (US20150211535A1) and Hoffman (US20190159409A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Phillip (US 20220395151 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Ye as modified in claim 1 fails to teach wherein a heating element is also mounted on the outside of the air blowing end face.
Phillip teaches modular household blower system (abstract) that includes a heating element (para 0013-0014,0019-0020, claims 2 and 3) is mounted within air channel of the blowing end face (para 0019-0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye to include heating element that is also mounted on the outside of the air blowing end face based on the teachings of Phillip. This modification would allow the apparatus be used in a wider range of applications such as melting ice. (See Phillip para 0020)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huo (US 20180146628 A1) discloses a blow-suction device.
Ichino (WO2010134577A1) discloses an electric cleaner that can switch between dust.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723