DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/27/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 4 - 25 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues that Jannard fails to teach wherein the camera modules are each separately coupled to the distribution unit.
Applicant argues that the arrangement of the camera modules in Jannard differs from the claimed arrangement in that Jannard's camera modules are connected in a daisy chain topology while in accordance with the claimed invention, the camera modules are connected in a star topology, with the camera modules being separately connected to the distribution unit. That is, Jannard teaches the opposite of the claimed arrangement, namely communication of the camera modules via the system bus.
Examiner notes that Jannard clearly teaches wherein the camera modules are each separately coupled to the distribution unit. Examiner notes that each of the camera modules (items 112 – 128 and 114 - 116) are separately coupled to the distribution unit (brain module 112) as show in 1A. In fact, at least item 114/116 and item 128 are on either side of item 112 separately coupled to item 112.
In response to Applicant's argument that Jannard does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., star topology) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is the claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc. , 7 USPQ 2d 1064. Note: applicant does not clearly define in the specification as filed what entails star topology, applicant only states in the specification as filed: “star topology, for example, with a central switch or with distributed switches” which Jannard teaches with item 112 being a brain module performing control of whole system i.e. switching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 – 6, 9 – 17, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jannard (US PgPub No. 20150296104).
Regarding claim 1, Jannard teaches a modular electronic camera (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12), comprising a plurality of camera modules: and a control unit (figure 1A item 112 brain module), the control unit configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: at least one of control or configure the camera (paragraph 0070; electronics module 112 are digital signal processing electronics for processing image data captured by the sensor. The brain module may be configured to deliver any of a variety of desired performance characteristics); acquire and process camera images using an image sensor and an image processing unit coupled to the image sensor (paragraphs 0027, 0067, 0037, 0070, and 0073; capturing and image processing); and display the camera images (paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0117, 0186); wherein plurality of camera modules are connected to one another by a common data network (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus), with the common data network having a distribution unit that is configured to receive data via the common data network from the plurality of camera modules and to forward data from one of the plurality of camera modules to at least one other of the plurality of camera modules (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus, with figure 1A item 126, input/output module), wherein the camera modules are each separately coupled to the distribution unit (figure 1A; each of the camera modules (items 112 – 128 and 114 - 116) are separately coupled to the distribution unit (brain module 112) as show in 1A. In fact, at least item 114/116 and item 128 are on either side of item 112 separately coupled to item 112), and wherein one of the plurality of camera modules or the distribution unit performs the functions of the control unit (figure 1A item 112 brain module performs the functions of the control unit).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches the distribution unit comprises a switch, a hub, a router and/or a gateway (figure 1A item 126, input/output module i.e. switch/hub/gateway also paragraph 0215 the brain module 112 can act as a hub for distributing power).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the distribution unit is designed in a cascaded manner and/or from part units (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the distribution unit is configured to recognize camera modules connected to the distribution unit via the data network and to perform the forwarding of data of the camera modules based on the connected camera modules (paragraphs 0014, 0107 – 0108, 0157; identify and forward).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein each of the camera modules is configured as an independent network component (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 – 12; each of the camera modules is configured as an independent network component).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the data network comprises an Ethernet network, a fieldbus network or a non-IP network (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the distribution unit is configured to communicate with the camera modules via the data network by means of the same protocol (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches with wherein the camera is configured to achieve a synchronization of the camera modules by means of a time synchronization (paragraphs 0123, 0199, and 0206; synchronization).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the camera is configured to achieve the synchronization of the camera modules by means of the Precision Time Protocol or by Time-Sensitive Networking (paragraphs 0123, 0199, and 0206 synchronization; note applicant does not specifically define Precision Time Protocol or Time- Sensitive Networking).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the camera has a central unit having a separate housing, wherein the distribution unit is arranged in the central unit (figure 1A item 126, input/output module).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein only some of the camera modules are arranged in and/or at the housing of the central unit (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein one or more of the camera modules have a separate module housing (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 16, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Jannard teaches wherein the module housings are fastened to the housing of the central unit (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 – 12; modules fastened together).
Regarding claim 20, Jannard teaches an operating method (paragraphs 0043 – 0044, and 0160) for a modular electronic camera (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12), comprising steps of at least one of controlling or configuring the camera (figure 1A item 112 brain module controls the camera and the system; paragraph 0070; electronics module 112 are digital signal processing electronics for processing image data captured by the sensor. The brain module may be configured to deliver any of a variety of desired performance characteristics); acquiring and processing camera images using -an image sensor and an image processing unit coupled to the image sensor (paragraphs 0027, 0067, 0037, 0070, and 0073; capturing and image processing); displaying the camera images (paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0117, 0186); wherein the steps are performed by a plurality of camera modules (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12), the plurality of camera modules are connected to one another by a common data network (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus), with the data network having a distribution unit (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus, with figure 1A item 126, input/output module), with the distribution unit receiving data via the data network from the plurality of camera modules and forwarding data from one of the plurality of camera modules to at least one other of the plurality of camera modules (figure 1A item 112 brain module performs the functions of the control unit also paragraphs 0014, 0107 – 0108, 0157; identify and forward); wherein the camera modules are each separately coupled to the distribution unit (figure 1A; each of the camera modules (items 112 – 128 and 114 - 116) are separately coupled to the distribution unit (brain module 112) as show in 1A. In fact, at least item 114/116 and item 128 are on either side of item 112 separately coupled to item 112).
Regarding claim 25, Jannard teaches a camera module for connecting to a modular camera (figure 1a – 1c, 2, 3A – 3B, 5, 10A – 10B, 11 - 12), wherein the camera module can be connected to the modular camera by a common data network (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus), wherein the camera module is configured to receive data via the common data network from at least one other camera module and to transmit data to at least one of the other camera modules (paragraphs 0195 – 0199; system bus, with figure 1A item 126, input/output module), wherein the common data network comprises a distribution unit, which receives the data from the at least one other camera module and forwards the data to the camera module, and which receives the data from the camera module and forwards the data to the at least one of the other camera modules, wherein the camera module is configured to be coupled to the distribution unit separately from the other camera modules (figure 1A; each of the camera modules (items 112 – 128 and 114 - 116) are separately coupled to the distribution unit (brain module 112) as show in 1A and sending data from and to item 112. In fact, at least item 114/116 and item 128 are on either side of item 112 separately coupled to item 112 and sending data from and to item 112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 8, 18 – 19, and 21 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jannard (US PgPub No. 20150296104) in view of Odamaki (US PgPub No. 2018/0054595).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Jannard fails to teach with wherein at least one of the camera modules, in particular after the connection to the data network, transmits a device profile via the data network, wherein the device profile comprises a device class of the camera module and information about the functional scope of the camera module. Odamaki, on the other hand teaches with wherein at least one of the camera modules, in particular after the connection to the data network, transmits a device profile via the data network, wherein the device profile comprises a device class of the camera module and information about the functional scope of the camera module.
More specifically, Odamaki teaches wherein at least one of the camera modules, in particular after the connection to the data network, transmits a device profile via the data network, wherein the device profile comprises a device class of the camera module and information about the functional scope of the camera module (paragraphs 0093 – 0094, 0106, 0127, 0157, 0165, and 0219; identify and control modules and transmit data via transmitting information identifying type of component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 7, Jannard in view of Odamaki teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Odamaki teaches wherein said at least one of the camera modules is configured to transmit the device profile after the connection to the data network (paragraphs 0093 – 0094, 0106, 0127, 0157, 0165, and 0219; identify and control modules and transmit data via transmitting information identifying type of component when connected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Jannard fails to teach wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: control of a focus motor and/or of an aperture motor; inputting and/or outputting sound signals; detecting a spatial position of the camera; determine distances between the image sensor and objects to be recorded. Odamaki, on the other hand teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: control of a focus motor and/or of an aperture motor; inputting and/or outputting sound signals; detecting a spatial position of the camera; determine distances between the image sensor and objects to be recorded.
More specifically, Odamaki teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: control of a focus motor and/or of an aperture motor (figure 2 item 118 also paragraphs 0081, 0121, and 0169 lens with focus control; also paragraphs 0144 aperture control); inputting and/or outputting sound signals (paragraph 0141; audio data signals; also paragraph 0166 sound data); detecting a spatial position of the camera (paragraph 0099; location/position); determine distances between the image sensor and objects to be recorded (paragraph 0057 – 0059 and 0080; depth map and depth of focus). Note: some of these steps can individually be done by the primary references, examiner only cited secondary reference for simplicity of combined steps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Jannard fails to teach wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: store camera images; play back stored camera images; at least one of process or modify camera images; provide a radio interface for accessories; convert analog and/or digital signals for the transmission by means of the data network. Odamaki, on the other hand teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: store camera images; play back stored camera images; at least one of process or modify camera images; provide a radio interface for accessories; convert analog and/or digital signals for the transmission by means of the data network.
More specifically, Odamaki teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to perform or initiate the following steps using the plurality of camera modules: store camera images (paragraph 0087); play back stored camera images (paragraph 0088, 0168, and 0172; display preview); at least one of process or modify camera images (figure 2 item 114; image processing); provide a radio interface for accessories (figure 8); convert analog and/or digital signals for the transmission by means of the data network (paragraphs 0075, 0090, 0112 – 0113, and 0202; a wireless connection can be used between a user device and a component). Note: some of these steps can individually be done by the primary references, examiner only cited secondary reference for simplicity of combined steps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 21, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 20, Jannard teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Jannard fails to teach with wherein the camera is coupled to a second camera via the data network and the camera uses at least one camera module of the second camera. Odamaki, on the other hand teaches wherein the camera is coupled to a second camera via the data network and the camera uses at least one camera module of the second camera.
More specifically, Odamaki teaches wherein the camera is coupled to a second camera via the data network and the camera uses at least one camera module of the second camera (figure 2 plurality of cameras items 200 including a second camera and module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 22, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 21, Jannard in view of Odamaki teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Odamaki teaches wherein the at least one of controlling or configuring of the camera is done by the second camera (figure 2 item 216; camera control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 23, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 21, Jannard in view of Odamaki teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Odamaki teaches wherein the at least one of controlling or configuring of the camera is done by the second camera (figure 2 item 216; camera control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Regarding claim 24, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 21, Jannard in view of Odamaki teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Odamaki teaches wherein the step of acquiring comprises synchronizing the acquisition of images by the camera with acquisition of images by the second camera via the common data network (figure 2 item 216; camera control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Odamaki with the teachings of Jannard to have a system that can easily identify device/module type thereby improving the processing of Jannard.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Presler (US PgPub No. 2010/0111489) teaches a camera system with camera modules connected.
Odamaki (US PgPub No. 2018/0054595) teaches a camera system with camera modules connected.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
04/07/2026