DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 8, 2026. Claim 35 has been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 35 – 46 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 35 – 46 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35 – 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "said scanning device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is required.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret this phrase as the “material penetrating radar sensor”.
Any claims not specifically mentioned herein above, but nonetheless rejected as being indefinite, are rejected for incorporating the errors of their respective base claims by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Orr publication in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0363664 A1 to Mindell et al. (herein after "Mindell et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claim 35,
the Orr publication discloses an autonomous utility cart (200) for use by a worker to carry an item through a working environment with open areas, a floor and fixed structures (see Abstract and Col. 4, lns 33 – 58), the floor and fixed structures having optically hidden subsurface materials, said autonomous utility cart comprising:
a cart structure (202) adapted to carry the item, said cart structure having at least one rotatable and turnable wheel;
a platform (202) with first and second drive wheels (210, 212)(see FIGS. 2A – 2B and Col. 8, ln 67 through Col. 9, ln 3), said platform being secured to said cart structure and said drive wheels being spaced from said turnable wheel (see FIGS. 2A and 2B), said platform having a navigation and movement system including a first drive motor with a first drive shaft to selectively rotate said first drive wheel and a second drive motor with a second drive shaft to selectively rotate said second drive wheel (see FIGS. 2A and 2B and Col. 1, lns 40 – 43), a programmed processor (116) with a processor memory (118), circuitry electrically and communicatingly connecting said processor, memory, motors, said processor sending movement instructions to said drive motors sufficient to independently rotate said first and second drive shafts to propel said cart structure along straight and curved paths of travel (see Col. 9, lns 3 – 12, where “[t]he robotic system 200 may further include data storage 118 including program instructions 120 stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors 116 of the robotic system 200 while operating in an environment, cause the robotic system 200 to perform various operations. The operations may include (i) controlling the motor 216 to cause the robotic system 200 to navigate on a surface 218 within the environment based on data received from the one or more sensors 208”)(Emphasis added);
a communication device (124) with at least one key to obtain selected destination data when said platform is at a selected destination (see FIG. 1; Col. 8, lns 25 – 29 “the control system 108 may receive an input (e.g., from a user or from another robot) indicating an instruction to perform a particular set of one or more tasks. The input to control system 108 may be received via the communication link(s) 124”; Col. 9, lns 47 – 53, where “the operations of the robotic system 200 further include (i) receiving, via a wireless communication link 124 of the robotic system 200, a request for delivery of an item to a location in the environment, and (ii) controlling the motor 216 to cause the robotic system 200 to navigate on the surface within the environment to the location based on data received from the one or more sensors 208”)(Emphasis added), said communication device being in electrical communication with said navigation and movement system and mounted to one of either said cart structure and said platform, and the worker touching said at least one key to store said selected destination data in said processor memory (see Col. 8, lns 25 – 29);
a sensor (102, 208) configured to obtain working environment data sufficient to locate the open areas and fixed structures, said scanning device being mounted on one of either said platform and said cart structure and being in electrical communication with said circuitry (see FIG. 1; Col. 5, lns 4 – 10, where “sensor(s) 102 may include, for example, one or more force sensors, torque sensors, velocity sensors, acceleration sensors, position sensors, proximity sensors, motion sensors, location sensors, load sensors, temperature sensors, touch sensors, depth sensors, ultrasonic range sensors, infrared sensors, object sensors, and/or cameras, among other possibilities”; Col. 5, lns 26 – 31, where “sensor(s) 102 may include RADAR, LiDAR, infrared (IR), ultrasonic, one or more cameras (e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating”; see also FIGS. 3A – 4B and Col. 10, lns 11 – 12 for “one or more sensors 208”)(Emphasis added);
a power source (104) in electric power supplying communication with said circuitry (see FIG. 1 and Col. 5, lns 54 – 56, where “robotic system 100 may also include one or more power source(s) 104 configured to supply power to various components of the robotic system 100”), said communication device, said scanning device and said digital camera, said power source being mounted to one of either said platform and said cart structure (see FIGS 1 – 4B and Col. 8, lns 41 – 48); and,
wherein said navigation and movement system uses said working environment data, said selected destination data and said current location data to plan a route and movement instructions for said platform and cart structure to travel through the working environment to said selected destination (see Col. 9, lns 4 – 12).
The Orr publication, however, does not specifically disclose
a material penetrating radar sensor that senses the optically hidden subsurface materials and obtain working environment data and current location data, said working environment data being sufficient to locate the open areas and fixed structures, said current location data being sufficient to allow said navigation and movement system to localize said platform and cart in said working environment, said radar sensor being mounted on one of either said platform and said cart structure and being in electrical communication with said circuitry, and said processor using said current location data to determine when said platform is at a current location.
The Mindell et al. publication discloses “a system and method for detecting a position of a subsurface imaging system, such as a ground penetrating radar (GPR) device”. (See ¶110.)
According to Mindell, “[the] GPR device 606 is . . . usually controlled by an operator 610, that generates ground penetrating radar waves 612 that propagate underground. When the propagating underground radar waves 614 interact with structural details under the ground, such as objects, material changes, cracks, and voids, the structural details cause reflections, or echoes, of the radar waves. The reflected waves 614 are received by the GPR device 606 and data is stored indicating the relative location under the surface and character of the reflected waves 614 to generate images of the subsurface.” (See ¶112.)
“[The] system can include a controller 710 that receives measured data 712 from the GPR device 606 and position data 714 from the TOF ranging system, and can map and/or overlay or otherwise superposition the GPR measured data with the position data 714 to provide a 3D model or image data 716 of whatever is measured beneath the surface of the ground by a GPR device 606.” (See ¶116.)
Such disclosure suggests a material penetrating radar sensor that senses the optically hidden subsurface materials and obtain working environment data and current location data, said working environment data being sufficient to locate the open areas and fixed structures, said current location data being sufficient to allow said navigation and movement system to localize said platform and cart in said working environment, said radar sensor being mounted on one of either said platform and said cart structure and being in electrical communication with said circuitry, and said processor using said current location data to determine when said platform is at a current location.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to substitute the sensor(s) of the Orr publication with a material penetrating radar sensor that senses the optically hidden subsurface materials and obtain working environment data and current location data, said working environment data being sufficient to locate the open areas and fixed structures, said current location data being sufficient to allow said navigation and movement system to localize said platform and cart in said working environment, said radar sensor being mounted on one of either said platform and said cart structure and being in electrical communication with said circuitry, and said processor using said current location data to determine when said platform is at a current location, as suggested by the Mindell et al. publication, in order to facilitate self-contained operation of the autonomous cart.
As to claim 36,
the Orr publication discloses that said radar sensor is a plurality of radar sensors mounted to said cart structure, said working environment data includes local environment data, and each of said radar sensors obtains moving object data and is in electrical communication with said circuitry, and wherein the working environment includes temporary obstacles, and said system uses said local environment data and said moving object data to avoid the temporary obstacles when traveling along said route to said selected destination. (See Col. 5, lns 16 – 36.)
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Orr publication in view of the Mindell et al. publication, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0040409 A1 to Biber et al. (herein after "Biber et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claim 37,
the Orr publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
said autonomous cart traveling on a floor surface supported by a subsurface including subsurface structures, said radar sensor obtains subsurface data for at least one of said subsurface structures, and said navigation and movement system uses said subsurface data to localize said platform and said cart structure in the working environment.
Using at least one sensor to obtain subsurface data is old and well-known, as demonstrated by the Biber et al. publication who discloses “a robotic vehicle (1), in particular a robotic vehicle (1) designed for self-contained operations, with drive means (5) for the movement of the vehicle (1) on the subsurface (11), and with control means (7) for the activation of the drive means (5) in accordance with the measured intensity of the infrared radiation.” (See Abstract.) In particular, the Biber et al. publication discloses “sensors 8, 9 measur[ing] the intensities 13, 14 that are shown in FIG. 4, whereby the intensity that is labeled with the reference sign 13 represents the intensity of the infrared radiation reflecting from the subsurface 11 and the intensity that is labeled with the reference sign 14 represents the intensity of visible light reflecting from the subsurface 11.” Such disclosure suggests an autonomous cart traveling on a floor surface supported by a subsurface including subsurface structures, wherein the radar sensor obtains subsurface data for at least one of said subsurface structures, and the navigation and movement system uses the subsurface data to localize the platform and the cart structure in the working environment.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify the Orr publication so that said autonomous cart travels on a floor surface supported by a subsurface including subsurface structures, wherein said radar sensor obtains subsurface data for at least one of said subsurface structures, and wherein said navigation and movement system uses said subsurface data to localize said platform and said cart structure in the working environment, as suggested by the Biber et al. publication, in order to facilitate self-contained operation of the autonomous cart.
Claims 41 – 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Orr publication in view of the Mindell et al. publication, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0179329 A1 to Keivan et al. (herein after "Keivan et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claims 41 – 42,
the Orr publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
said cart structure includes an item supporting surface to support the item and a payload area above said item supporting surface, the item having an item location when placed on said item supporting surface, said radar sensor being aimed at said item supporting surface and said payload area to obtain radar sensor item data including item location data pertaining to said item location, and wherein said item location extends beyond said perimeter of said cart structure and said navigation and movement system uses said radar sensor item data to plan said route and movement instructions for said platform and said cart structure to travel through the working environment.
Using at least one sensor mounted to a mobile vehicle to sense items carried by the mobile device is old and well-known, as demonstrated by the Keivan et al. publication who discloses a cart structure including an item supporting surface to support the item and a payload area above said item supporting surface, the item having an item location when placed on said item supporting surface. (See FIG. 1A.) The Keivan et al. publication also discloses that “[t]o obtain the weight of the payload, the weight of the cart body is subtracted from the accumulated total weight sensed by the load cells.” (See 72.)(Emphasis added.) Such disclosure suggests a cart structure that includes an item supporting surface to support the item and a payload area above said item supporting surface, the item having an item location when placed on said item supporting surface, said radar sensor being aimed at said item supporting surface and said payload area to obtain radar sensor item data including item location data pertaining to said item location, and wherein said item location extends beyond said perimeter of said cart structure and said navigation and movement system uses said radar sensor item data to plan said route and movement instructions for said platform and said cart structure to travel through the working environment.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify and/or provide the Orr publication with an item supporting surface to support the item and a payload area above said item supporting surface, the item having an item location when placed on said item supporting surface, wherein said radar sensor is aimed at said item supporting surface and said payload area to obtain radar sensor item data including item location data pertaining to said item location, and wherein said item location extends beyond said perimeter of said cart structure and said navigation and movement system uses said radar sensor item data to plan said route and movement instructions for said platform and said cart structure to travel through the working environment, as suggested by the Keivan et al. publication, in order to indicate the autonomous cart maybe overloaded, which may be used by other components of the system to notify an operator or stop the cart's motion.
As to claim 43,
the Orr publication is considered to disclose one of the fixed structures being an obscuring structure that visually obscures a moving object in an adjacent open area beyond the obscuring structure, and said moving object data includes obscured adjacent moving object data, and said navigation and movement system uses said obscured adjacent moving object data to plan an alternate route to avoid a collision with said moving object. (See Col. 5, lns 16 – 36.)
Double Patenting
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 – 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,592,815 (‘815 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance,
instant claim 35 corresponds to claims 11 and 12 of the ‘815 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38 – 40 and 44 – 46 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner's Note: The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent No. 10,747,223 B1 to Eade et al. discloses a downwardly-directed optical array sensor may be used in an autonomous vehicle to enable a velocity to be determined based upon images of a ground or driving surface captured from multiple downwardly-directed optical sensors having different respective fields of view. According to Eade et al., various types of sensors may be used as an additional sensor from which to determine a redundant lateral velocity for use in controlling a vehicle to implement a controlled stop. For example, a RADAR sensor, e.g., similar to RADAR sensor 134 in primary vehicle control system 120, may be used as an additional sensor. In some implementations, a RADAR sensor may be a short range Doppler sensor and/or a ground penetrating RADAR sensor.
Electronic Communications
Prior to initiating the first e-mail correspondence with any examiner, Applicant is responsible for filing a written statement with the USPTO in accordance with MPEP § 502.03 II. All received e-mail messages including e-mail attachments shall be placed into this application' s record.
/RODNEY A BUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666