DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 13-15, 18-20, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bull (US 2002/0198055 A1) in view of Daoura (US 2021/0152976 A1).
1. Bull discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed by a processor cause a first mobile device to:
receive a location of the first mobile device and receive a location of one or more discoverable mobile devices, wherein at least one of the one or more discoverable devices is declared/assigned to be a target device for the first mobile device, (i.e. player 2 is assigned as a target to player 1), [0014]–[0015], [0023];
obtain a first distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices based on proximity operating mode (i.e. 10 feet) by obtaining multiple times during a duration of the proximity operating mode a second distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile device through use of a short-range communication protocol (Bluetooth or RF), [0005], [0014]–[0016];
display, on a user interface of the first mobile device, the locations of the first mobile device and one or more discoverable mobile devices based on the first distance or second distance, and display movement of the devices based on a plurality of locations received based on the first distance or second distance, (i.e. grid display with icons updating positions), [0018], [0022]–[0024];
determine when the first mobile device is within a pre-defined distance from the target device (i.e. 10 feet), [0005], [0014], [0016], claims 29 and 33;
establish a digital leash that tethers the first mobile device to the target device (sustained proximity maintenance required for tagging), [0014]–[0016], [0026], [0037];
alert the target device that the digital leash has been established (beeps, blinking icons, voice cues), [0020], [0026]–[0027];
provide an alert to a user of the first mobile device when the digital leash has been established for a first predetermined period of time (e.g., 2 minutes of sustained proximity), [0020], [0029]–[0030];
enable the target device to break the digital leash by moving to a location outside of the pre-defined distance within a second predetermined period of time (i.e. evade by separating before 2 minutes completes tag), [00016], [0026]; and
if the target device breaks the digital leash, informing the user of the first mobile device and a user of the target device that the digital leash has been broken (i.e. cessation of beeps/blinking informs both of failed tag), [0016]–[0017], [0026]–[0027].
Bull does not expressly teach creating a fused (or hybrid) distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices by combining the first (GPS-based) distance with the second (short-range communication protocol) distance, nor does it expressly teach the specific switching or hybrid operation triggered when the GPS-based distance falls below a predetermined threshold (i.e., entering proximity mode and using Bluetooth for the second/fused distance).
Daoura teaches a hybrid dual-radio tracking system that uses GPS/cellular (or network-assisted GPS/AGPS/PoLTE) for initial wide-area/coarse location and distance determination, and switches to or fuses with Bluetooth for precise proximity, distance estimation (via RSSI/signal strength), and hybrid operation when devices come within a proximity/distance threshold [0099]-[0101], [0181], [0185]. The system combines a Bluetooth Proximity Locator Services Toolkit with a Cellular Remote Locator Services Toolkit. Cellular/GPS provides general/coarse location over longer distances. When Bluetooth proximity is detected (e.g., RSSI indicates devices are within range/threshold, or a radio tether is established), the system activates hybrid mode wherein Bluetooth handles fine-grained proximity monitoring and low-power operation while cellular/GPS can sleep or be managed. If Bluetooth signal fades or the proximity threshold is breached, the cellular modem wakes to perform a fresh GPS/location fix.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bull in view of Daoura by implementing a fused/hybrid distance that combines the first (GPS-based) distance with the second (short-range/Bluetooth) distance, and by switching to or activating hybrid GPS + Bluetooth operation when the GPS-based distance falls below a predetermined threshold (entering proximity mode) and would have been motivated to do so to achieve significantly higher accuracy and reliability in proximity determination and digital leash enforcement while optimizing power consumption, using GPS/cellular only when necessary for wide-area tracking and leveraging Bluetooth’s low-power, precise ranging when devices are close (within threshold). The combination is a predictable improvement using known multi-radio/sensor fusion and power-management techniques and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
4. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the short- range communication protocol is Bluetooth, Bull [0016].
5. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the short- range communication protocol is ultra-wideband Bull [0016].
6. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein a geofence is established, the geofence defining an area of active play, wherein the first mobile device receives the GPS location when the one or more discoverable mobile devices are located in the area of active play (i.e. game is played/active only in game area/adventure zone), Bull [0005], [0014], [0022], [0036].
7. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 6 wherein, the geofence prevents the first mobile device from using the GPS location of the one or more discoverable mobile devices when the one or more discoverable devices are located outside of the area of active play (i.e. game is played/active only in game area/adventure zone), Bull [0005], [0014], [0022], [0036].
8. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein a geofence is established, the geofence defining an area off limits to active play, wherein receipt and/or usage of GPS locations of the one or more discoverable mobile devices are suppressed when the one or more discoverable mobile devices are located in the area off limits to active play (i.e. game is played/active only in game area/adventure zone), Bull [0005], [0014], [0022], [0036].
9. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein receipt and/or usage of GPS locations of the one or more discoverable devices are suppressed when the first mobile device is located in the area off limits to active play (i.e. game is played/active only in game area/adventure zone), Bull [0005], [0014], [0022], [0036].
10, 11, 13-15. Bull and Daoura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed by a processor cause a first mobile device to: enter a first operating mode to: receive a GPS location of the first mobile device; transmit the GPS location of the first mobile device to a system; receive a GPS location of one or more discoverable mobile devices, wherein at least one of the one or more discoverable devices is declared to be a target device for the first mobile device; estimate a first distance indicative of proximity between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices based on their respective GPS locations; when the first distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices based on the GPS locations becomes less than a predetermined threshold distance, enter a proximity operating mode to: obtain multiple times during a duration of the proximity operating mode a second distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices through use of a short-range communication protocol; create a fused distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices by combining the first distance with the second distance; transmit the estimated proximity between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices to the system based on one or more of the first distance, the second distance, and the fused distance; determine when an estimated proximity between the first mobile device and the target device is within a predefined threshold based on one or more of the first distance, the second distance, and the fused distance; establish a digital leash that tethers the first mobile device to the target device when the estimated proximity is within the predefined threshold; alert the target device that the digital leash has been established for a first predetermined period of time; and receive an alert when the digital leash has been broken within a second predetermined period of time, the digital leash being broken when the estimated proximity between the first mobile device and the target device is outside of the predefined threshold as similarly discussed above.
18, 24. Bull and Daoura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed by a processor cause a system to: enter a first operating mode to: receive location information of a first mobile device; receive location information of one or more discoverable mobile devices; determine a first distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices, wherein at least one of the one or more discoverable devices is declared to be a target device for the first mobile device; provide the location information of the target device to the first mobile device; receive, from the first mobile device, a second distance between the first mobile device and the target device through use of a short-range communication protocol; create a fused distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices by combining the first distance with the second distance; alert the first mobile device when the second distance and/or the fused distance is within a predefined distance threshold for a first predetermined period of time for creating a digital leash; and alert the first mobile device when the digital leash has been broken within a second predetermined period of time, the digital leash being broken when the second distance is outside the predefined distance threshold after the digital leash is created as similarly discussed above.
19-20. Bull and Daoura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18 and further comprising receiving, from the first mobile device, information to establish an enhanced distance between the first mobile device and the one or more discoverable mobile devices, wherein the enhanced distance is determined by RSSI, Bull [0016].
Claim(s) 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bull (US 2002/0198055 A1) and Daoura (US 2021/0152976 A1) as applied above and further in view of Hall (US 2012/0157210 A1).
21-23. Bull and Daoura discloses the invention above, but does not expressly disclose wherein a reward geofence is established, the reward geofence defining a reward area, wherein the target device receives a bonus, a new life, or other reward when the target device is located within the reward geofence. Hall disclose wherein a reward geofence is established, the reward geofence defining a reward area, wherein the target device receives a reward when the target device is located within the reward geofence [0090]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Bull with Hall and would have been motivated to do so to increase the entertainment value of the game with a rewarding process.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715